Another question. It stats that "Please produce a valid vehicle inspection certificate if you wish to renew road tax for more then 6 months."

so means if i renew 1 year road tax i need to go inspection to get the cert?

• Replies 439

Another question. It stats that "Please produce a valid vehicle inspection certificate if you wish to renew road tax for more then 6 months."

yes :thirsty:

once your bike is more than a few years old it has to be inspected once a year

Yepp if your bike is more than 3 years old, you need to do inspection, 18 dollars.

If your bike is all stock no problem, if got modifications especially to electrical, might need to check. You can either go to the insurance company or bike shop also can.

They can also do your road tax for you once you present the inspection cert (if needed)

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

@jtzx: ai seh joshua so zai ar, remember me so well.

of cause la! cause jeremy my senior from school ma ;) see see... feel touch right.... just buy me drink can le.. dont ask for much;DD Tsktsk

So do i go to the insurance company itself or the bike shop can do for me?

go to shop = confirm they charge you for admin fees and stuff...

yes.. so if your insurances left 6 mths or lesser, u cannot renew 1 year road tax = dun need inspection also.

Yepp if your bike is more than 3 years old, you need to do inspection, 18 dollars.

If your bike is all stock no problem, if got modifications especially to electrical, might need to check. You can either go to the insurance company or bike shop also can.

They can also do your road tax for you once you present the inspection cert (if needed)

Hmm im having a problem.. My Road tax was last updated last 6 months and it is ending this 6 Dec but unable to get the new road tax because my insurance ends at april. Need advice on what needs to be done.

encounter similar situation before.

if u plan to renew ur tax for another 6 months only,

1)jus call up ur insurance agent , explained ur scenario to the agent, jus extend ur insurance to june.

2)They will giv u the quotation for the prorated insurance.

3)pay the amount via cheque or axs machine

then insurance date and road tax will end same time, and u can renew both together if u intend to..

imho if u wanna enjoy the NCD earliler for ur nex cycle of insurance, extend the current insurance to the expected road tax expiry date.

*if u have any NCD*

encounter similar situation before.

if u plan to renew ur tax for another 6 months only,

1)jus call up ur insurance agent , explained ur scenario to the agent, jus extend ur insurance to june.

2)They will giv u the quotation for the prorated insurance.

3)pay the amount via cheque or axs machine

then insurance date and road tax will end same time, and u can renew both together if u intend to..

Alright thanks dude. Well noted.

Because i have done inspection before for my first road tax renew and i only renew 6 months. So need to go inspection again?

@jtzx: ai seh joshua so zai ar, remember me so well.

@Phantom_maverick: i riding phantom 06 ta200, 23, no accidents before for all licenses....

2b 1+++ years, class 3 4 years (not sure if they take this into consideration)

1st year comprehensive, no claim

2nd year drop to 3P + 10% NCD = 375

Same accompany is AXA did it through dealer.

Was quoted 527 (if i remember correctly) for TPFT at that point in time

Class 3 is Class 3. Class 2B is Class 2B. They dun take Class 3 into consideration. The older you get, the cheaper the insurance it is. if I'm not wrong, your next insurance would cost you about 300 +/- $20. Last year, My TA200 TPFT insurance cost me less than $300. Last year I am 28, btw.

ahh okay, thank you for clearing that up. =)

Cool, will probably revert to 2nd party next year on though, this year still studying so money a bit tight all around. =S

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

kk just to update,

just renewed insurance today....

23 yo , riding exp 1 year 1++

Bought AXA insurance, 10% NCD, bought for $375.60

Third party...

Out of curiousity i checked, TPFT is 527..

Hi fellas... Any ideas how much it would cost for a 23 yr old p plater? Just plus back NCD?

Will be taking tp in dec and now sourcing for phantoms.

Live to Ride. Ride to Live

Hi fellas... Any ideas how much it would cost for a 23 yr old p plater? Just plus back NCD?

Will be taking tp in dec and now sourcing for phantoms.

AXA quote 749 for TPFT for p plate..TP not sure but shld be 600+

TPFT quote from NTUC for TP is almost compareable to AXA's TPFT

call em directly for more accurate quotation..

aiya... pass first ba..good luck to ya=)

thanks =)

Wah.. so expensive.. must borrow money le. zZZz.

Haha must always plan ahead otherwise pass alr no money buy phantom also sian.

thanks =)

Wah.. so expensive.. must borrow money le. zZZz.

Haha must always plan ahead otherwise pass alr no money buy phantom also sian.

haha yeap smart move bro, the monthly maintenance actually quite light, is the insurance and stuff that one year come one time quite pain..... especially if you're a student... so ai zai =)

Hey, I enquired about NTUC's PA recently. If you want motorcycle coverage for your PA, you have to pay additional 25% for the plan you chose (plan I/ II/ III), also depends on the class your occupation falls into. Please clarify with your agent before buying it, I went down on thurs and the agent who attended to me was totally clueless about the policy. I had intended to buy the policy on the spot, but then I was so annoyed that I changed my mind and decided to seek my insurance agent friend opinion first. So no riding until policy bought! :)

Here is the link for your reference. Best to read the contractual terms before signing. I requested for the agent to print out for me.

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/PA/premium.asp

however, i heard some storied bout NTUC's policies being inadequate for most riders. meaning, repairs etc they will get 3 shops to quote, and they will pay for the least expensive one.. so a shop could quote them really cheap, and do a lousy job. just my 2 cents :cheeky:

This only applies if you are getting 1st party/comprehensive insurance.

I just passed TP, riding TA200, 30+ years old, $325 with NTUC 3rd party.

This only applies if you are getting 1st party/comprehensive insurance.

I just passed TP, riding TA200, 30+ years old, $325 with NTUC 3rd party.

congrats bro... ride safe..

Thanks so far so good. I always ride full gear, never lanesplit and try to be obvious on the road and even then my spider senses are on high alert. Riding a bike is really not safe. Even now after the initial fear is over, I feel that as soon as I let my guard down and become complacent, it's easy to make a small but painful mistake. Really need to be careful. Always kenna bully from other vehicles especially taxis and lorries.

Hey, I enquired about NTUC's PA recently. If you want motorcycle coverage for your PA, you have to pay additional 25% for the plan you chose (plan I/ II/ III), also depends on the class your occupation falls into. Please clarify with your agent before buying it, I went down on thurs and the agent who attended to me was totally clueless about the policy. I had intended to buy the policy on the spot, but then I was so annoyed that I changed my mind and decided to seek my insurance agent friend opinion first. So no riding until policy bought! :)

Here is the link for your reference. Best to read the contractual terms before signing. I requested for the agent to print out for me.

http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/PA/premium.asp

Yes, you are right, in most of the PA plans available in the market, the benefits will be reduced 50% if you claim for motorcycle accident, be it you are the rider or pillion. You can have the full benefits by paying addition premium.

If you desire to benefit full or higher coverage for motorcycle accident, I would recommend a plan like this:- http://www.lifeisgreat.com.sg/en/jsp/pdf/brochure_pdf/ep.pdf.

You will get double the benefits if you on public transport or private car, and triple the benefits if you on air travel.

The premium for above plan from Great Eastern is very affordable, which is 1st year @ $157.90/year or $13.56/mth. There is renewal discount regardless of your claim status, the premium is $150/year or $12.87/mth.

Please pm me if you need more informations regarding PA plans. :cheers:

Got my Phantom today!

NTUC Third Party insurance, 23yo P plater: $681

Not much cash left for accessories & stuff o_O

Got my Phantom today!

NTUC Third Party insurance, 23yo P plater: $681

Not much cash left for accessories & stuff o_O

wah, thats alot sia....did u compare with aiviva, msig, axa???

Too lazy to check... Was in a rush to get my bike lol. Sun view, Mon get ins, tues transfer. Wed fix up some minor stuff. Now enjoy

oic, i assumed you bought a third party with theft n fire with ntuc. understand that axa will be much cheaper as compared with other companies.

Yea, mine also AXA, ride safe bro! =) enjoy your lovely new iron horse

Yeah i will :) Bought a FF helmet on thurs. haha

Is the NCD the same for all companies?