She meant she passed the lesson 6 months ago but until now still haven't master the skill of u-turning yet... Haha.

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
  • Replies 128

She meant she passed the lesson 6 months ago but until now still haven't master the skill of u-turning yet... Haha.

Oic.

Hi 'scream', still never use the avatar i recomended ar. lol

i failed my 7.01 (U-turn) for 3 times already.

taking in bbdc. really no form to go anymore ):

they kept saying wide turning .. help me!

When I was taking 2B, I passed on my 2nd try. I remembered that one instructor told me to do this...

1. Control your throttle and clutch like you are doing plank.

2. Even before doing the turn, you have to look towards the centre of the lane.

3. The moment you have executed the turn, throttle and change to 2nd gear.

This advice worked for me though! :thumb:

I hope it will work for you as well!

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

When I was taking 2B, I passed on my 2nd try. I remembered that one instructor told me to do this...

1. Control your throttle and clutch like you are doing plank.

2. Even before doing the turn, you have to look towards the centre of the lane.

3. The moment you have executed the turn, throttle and change to 2nd gear.

This advice worked for me though! :thumb:

I hope it will work for you as well!

I still remember it well too :smile:

Life is short, live nacked!

Oic.

Hi 'scream', still never use the avatar i recomended ar. lol

That one cartoon lar. :dot:

amberlight is a "she"? i was wondering wats up with the pink outfit avatar.. haha..

***Ride Safe***

Well, I'm not too sure too actually. Gives me that impression from the avatar. :lol: :cheeky:

for those of u hu mentioned in earlier posts about nvr heard of braking while turning..lemme explain... when u r in a corner or doin a u-turn try this...

if u r goin abit wide in e turn depress e rear brake lightly..e bike will lean in abit more causing e turn to be tighter

if u feel u leaning too much press front brake lightly n ur bike will start to go upright

if u wan u can try this out at slow corners first if u dun believe me if tis works or nt..

one more thing when doin u-turns n tight cornering is confidence in ur machine n tires..

ur bike can actually lean further n grip e road more than we all actually think!! so have confidence n try to find ur bike's limits when turning..but remember u dun need to find e limits only at high speed!!! at different speed e limit is very different so wadeva speed u comfortable wif always try to find e limit wif tt speed. have confidence tt ur bike can do much more than u thought possible.

and eyepoint!! practise this on an empty road:

ride in a straight line n then focus on somethin that is not directly in line to e direction u r riding in.. for example look at a lampost ahead of u to the left side..u will find ur bike slowly drifting to the left.. so its e same as in a uturn... look at where u wan ur bike to exit out of the u-turn and with practice u'll notice that it'll come naturally to u

Nov '06 - Mar '08 -------> '01 NSR150SP [Red/Black Honda Wings]

Mar '08 - Feb '10 -------> '07 CB400SF 'SuperFour' Spec III [Gun Metal Grey]

Nov '10 - current --------> '08 CBR1000RR 'Fireblade' [Candy Red/Black]

alot of good points there...also must mention,some junctions where pedestrians waiting for green-man,beware of them.ESPECIALLY cyclist.their front wheels always jut out.Happen to me when i was u-turning on my phantom--did a quite wide turn and (ah-pek already half a cycle on the road) kanina,scrapped his front and he fell while me accelerated like no tomorrow to counter balance(also paddle alot).stop abt 15m ahead and step off go check back on him.

1st thing is he say (AH DEE---CALL AMBULANCE)...Walau..i panicked and then reflect on the accident..not my fault and luckily got 2 school-gals witness.Anyway really not serious and no bleeding --NO NOTHING yet he claim want to call ambulance so i call lor.His cycle also no damage at all leh.Sway sway got patrol car come and all this time he die die dun wanna shift from the road back onto the pavement.police step in and advise him:

Police:ah pek..can u move?where pain?if can tahan pain move onto pavement hor.

ah pek:cannot my back hurts.(cars start to slow down and kaypo)

Police:ah pek..we try to pull u in la.dangerous la.got cars la.

Ambulance came within 15min.wa..SCDF personel come and HE CAN STAND AND WALK ONTO PAVEMENT.(BULLS**T)

Long story cut short--2 school-gal witness gave their feedback not my fault and i almost buang by ah-pek's inconsiderate act.I also gave my side story la.Luckily green light in my favour(not flickering green turn).Statement taken i wave bye bye to ah pek who LOOKS none the worse.

almost 1yr after tht accident and no calls from TP or insurance company..tink i'm safe..any comments from bros or sis?

i think ah pek too free play with you.

No la,tink he wanna sensationlize the whole thing hope (STOMP SINGAPORE) or (THE NEW PAPAER) got article on him.Sibeh buay tahan this kind of cyclist.If he ask me for medical claims,i will definitely go civil court all the way with him.

anyway,thread starter,u-turn too many things to worry eg:oncoming cars,curb,throttle control..too long list.My advice:PRACTISE until ur croutch sore,not shameful to paddle with legs down.i also doing tht now with my dragstar.but dun carb corner when expert liao hor.kekeke..

Go into the U-turn, at almost 75% completion of the turn, full throttle the bike, let it powerslide out of the turn. Let the handle bar slip into countersteering by itself trying to correct the lean, smell the white smoke abit. Now pull a wheelie once the front corrects itself onto straight line.

Now... Just dream abit. :p

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg

Cey cey! Skali u check blindspot, uncle also wheelie beside u..

Past: RXZ, KR, R1 07

Present : Wave S

How it feels like when you pass TP

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m1j2s91VkL1qcsknu.gif

How do people find doing U-turns on sports bikes like R1's or ZX-10s/ZX-6's with longer first gears? Do experienced riders on sports bikes find it really easy to do U-turns? :confused:

U lean into the turn.

And look where you're going, and not focus on not hitting the curb ('cos you'll most probably ride into what you're looking at).

Don't use your front brakes while turning, or you'll tip over.

Keep that throttle handy and use clutch to modulate your speed.

Lastly, don't wear neon pink leather suits... as the rider behind you might get distracted, and if you should slow down, will ride up your ass end.

haha...it's not me on the pic :smile:

thanks for ur advises!

Life is short, live nacked!

How do i do u-turns with my zx-10r? Very, very carefully.

Heh, like i said above, eyepoint eyepoint eyepoint. I shift my right foot to cover the rear brake in case i need to regulate my speed while turning (normally ride on the balls of my feet and don't use my rear brake), lean with the bike, relax my arms and swivel my head around like an owl to look far. Just like my riding instructors taught me.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

• 11 months later...

hm, i also got alot of prob with u-turn. actually, i feel that right turn is harder than left turn also. is there a reason? i feel very comfortable turning left sharply but i cant seem to turn that well with right. is there a solution to this problem? im riding a sportsbike btw

2008 July - 2010 March: Daelim Roadwin R 125 (FBC 8363 K)

2010 March - 2011 September: SYM GTS 200 (FBD 7445 J)

2011 September - 2013 April: Yamaha Fazer fz6s2 (FBB 5824 Y)

2013 March - now: Honda NC700XD (FBH **** D)

i actually have the opposite, i hate left turning.

im riding a sportbike as well, a small and light weight one although. i usually make use of body to lean instead of using the handlebars. i go in gear 1 without half clutch, fully clutch out. seems to work fine with me. obviously the initial 1st few week of the bike, i cant do it properly

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif