kipsgal,

the most serious part is the exhaust system. Because of the heat, the rusting/corrosion process is most accelerated in this area. You'll have to visit your mech periodically, and ask him to sand down the rust the black part of the exhaust pipe and spray heat-resistant paint. After that you'll be good for another few more months before you need another visit. Take care not to start the bike immediately after your mech has applied the paint, lese blisters will form. Let it dry before you start your engine and move off.

The other parts of your bike should be ok. Just take care not to scratch your paintwork (eg. result of a fall). Once scratched, there will be no more paint protecting the bare metal, and the rusting process starts.

Good luck !

halLO pEePs hearD tahT a PaRT of KIps wiLL rUst...how We Can Do TO pREvENt IT ya??? i M a ReaL gOOnDU....dUNNo bouT the BIke carE and its afteR serVIce.......plS gib ME gOOd adVIcE as nOT to cOmmIt ani REgrEts ON my bike...THKs a MIllION

I am a hermit, looking for my own island ...

ThaNks U Noah...reaLLI appreciatED ya aDVice...now i noe what is Gtg on..keke..so that when i got mY bike i wonT "hands like leg..leg like hand le".....kekeke

MEANING OF CAR NAMES.

BMW--->Brings Me Women But Broke My Wallet.

FORD---> Fast Only Rolling Downhill.

HYUNDAI---> Hope You Understand Nothing Driveable And Inexpensive.

Subaru---> Screwed Up Beyond A Repair Usually.

Volvo---> Very Odd Looking Vehicular Object.

PORSCHE---> Proof Of Rich Spoiled Children Having Everything

See ur brand of your car falls into which category? =)

I have never changed a brake pad myself, but I think it involves some prying, from the way my mech does it; unless you want to take out the whole brake unit. You'll need some tools and some skills. Advice here is leave it to the mechs.

As an estimation, a brake pad costs something like $28. I only changed once in my 3 years, so I couldn't really remember the price. The one I used, I think is not a really well-known brands pad. But if it works, it's ok for me.

Tks for the advice... Anyways i'm a technician so shouldn't be a problem to D.I.Y the brake pads myself... Just wanted to know what the brand for the brake pads which is reliable...

how bout 2t ani good reccommends?

MEANING OF CAR NAMES.

kipsgal,

i use Castrol R2 personally and have not changed to any others. You might want to give it a try.

how bout 2t ani good reccommends?

is this 2t available easily..meaning i dunwan go round finding for juz a 2t u seee.......

MEANING OF CAR NAMES.

You know LAB ? You can buy a few bottles and keep at home. It seems to be cheaper at LAB and also the bottle design is much better. Alternatively, BP stations (although not all) also carries the oil.

Good luck !

is this 2t available easily..meaning i dunwan go round finding for juz a 2t u seee.......

You know LAB ? You can buy a few bottles and keep at home. It seems to be cheaper at LAB and also the bottle design is much better. Alternatively, BP stations (although not all) also carries the oil.

Good luck !

HKL at Bukit Merah also got ... heard they sell cheaper than LAB ...

Fairly common oil ... refer to this thread on Castrol R2:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/viewto...t=18085&start=0

Adventure

Getting lost is part of the fun

Aug 2003 - Oct 2004: Kawasaki KRR150

Oct 2004 - Feb 2006: Honda CBR400RRR

Oct 2005 - Jun 2006: Honda Wave R

Nov 2005 - ???: Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird

Akan Datang: Suzuki GSX-R600K6

Ooh ... really ?

What's the address ? Can post here ?

HKL at Bukit Merah also got ... heard they sell cheaper than LAB ...

Ooh ... really ?

What's the address ? Can post here ?

juz posted the other thread in my earlier message ... the shop is near the entrance into Alexandra Village, directly opposite AIA tower. I went there yesterday, saw the price tag at $14, so maybe u may need to bargain down to $12 (which someone managed to get at that price).

BP kiosk selling at $19.90 :giddy:

Adventure

hmm ... I see ... LAB selling at $14++ ...

juz posted the other thread in my earlier message ... the shop is near the entrance into Alexandra Village, directly opposite AIA tower. I went there yesterday, saw the price tag at $14, so maybe u may need to bargain down to $12 (which someone managed to get at that price).

BP kiosk selling at $19.90 :giddy:

hmm ... I see ... LAB selling at $14++ ...

You are most welcomed :smile:

This Hock Kim Leong shop is also selling Esso Gold 2T at $10 .. cheaper than R2, tempted to try :D

Adventure

hi guys... 1 qns to ask...

recently tried to drag my rpm for each gear to 7 but whenever it reaches 7... it seems to me that the bikes doesn't have that power as before and seems to be like choking... :confused:

what is the problem here, may i ask? i suspect it has gotta do with the piston... correct me if i'm wrong... thanks thanks...

wahz... a bottle of 2t so ex... hehe... i'm using shell advance vsx... not bad... cheap too... 4.70... ;)

oh yeah... now almost 15k milage... is it time for servicing already?

if yes, what to do for servicing?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/style_images/1/logo4.gif

I'm reckless; but I'm responsible!

if yr svcing gt plus svc block n piston then u no need to worry,if they take out already gt anyting wrong they will tell u,krr rpm at 7k gt power meh?my 1 is reach 8k then that 1 i call power :sweat:

recently tried to drag my rpm for each gear to 7 but whenever it reaches 7... it seems to me that the bikes doesn't have that power as before and seems to be like choking... :confused:

what is the problem here, may i ask? i suspect it has gotta do with the piston... correct me if i'm wrong... thanks thanks...

wahz... a bottle of 2t so ex... hehe... i'm using shell advance vsx... not bad... cheap too... 4.70... ;)

Ur's new bike rite,So fast milage 15k liao... mine 1yr liao milage still 11k... KR 7rpm no power 8rpm den have... U must know ur own bike when to change gear not every time v/v open change gear like that u can't feel the full power... need more praticing... ;)

Not adviseable to use shell advance vsx 2T if u like to drag ur bike... spend abit more get better 2T likewise R2-$14 or Pennzoil-RM18

mr bean always go there buy 2t huh?anyway their 2t price already quite cheap,also can dont bargain 1 :sweat: .HKL nw also gt their own helmet bag already

i need to go bt merah every month to repay debts :sweat:

so its quite convenient place to stock up in 2T there ;)

guys, if i ride mostly at rpm 3000-4000, will have any bad effects on the bike on not? somehow, got this feeling the engine not smooth at low revs ... become smooth and 'sound normal' only when rev increase beyond 7000rpm :D

Adventure

15K and due for servicing ?

Just do the normal checks.

1. Check 2T, 4T, Coolant, Brakefluid (brakefluid change about every half to 1 yr, coolant every half year, 4T flush after 5000K mileage)

2. Check chain pressure, lubrication, sprocket wear

3. Check your exhaust for corrosion (sand down and respray)

4. Check air filter (it's under your fuel tank)

5. Check battery water

6. Check tyre pressure (I check every week)

7. Check your fuel enrichment setting

8. Check your idling speed

Other than these, I dun advise you to open up the engine cylinder. My philosophy is simple, "What ain't broken, dun open up". This is my personal opinion. It occurred to me that sometimes after opening up certain parts, put back already, you get problems, when in the first place there was no problem.

er, mine 1yr plus already 15k milage... and so? it all depends on the distance each individual travel; not means bike about the same year so milage should be about the same...

anyway i guess you guys dont know what i meant when i say 'dont have that power as before'... i dont mean that my bike's power comes in at 7rpm... and oh yea, of cuz i know when to change gears and so... and i dont like to open throttle too... i'm trying to remove carbon here for ya info...

thanks for the recommendation of the 2t ...

noah... thanks for the info!!! i agree with you... don't open what's ain't broken... hehe...

but i think my question is still left unanswered... has the 'symptoms' from the engine gotta do with the piston or anything?

which gear were you in when you dragged into the 7K RPM region ?

You mean it wasn't like that before ? Provide more info, I might have some suggestions to this.

Good luck !

15K and due for servicing ?

Just do the normal checks.

1. Check 2T, 4T, Coolant, Brakefluid (brakefluid change about every half to 1 yr, coolant every half year, 4T flush after 5000K mileage)

2. Check chain pressure, lubrication, sprocket wear

3. Check your exhaust for corrosion (sand down and respray)

4. Check air filter (it's under your fuel tank)

5. Check battery water

6. Check tyre pressure (I check every week)

7. Check your fuel enrichment setting

8. Check your idling speed

Other than these, I dun advise you to open up the engine cylinder. My philosophy is simple, "What ain't broken, dun open up". This is my personal opinion. It occurred to me that sometimes after opening up certain parts, put back already, you get problems, when in the first place there was no problem.

been riding for 9 months , 23k km le, time to wash carb ?

but i still find riding is smooth, hahaa

http://alpha.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1115.jpg

why get a 1 when you can have a perfect 10 ?

noah...for every gear...but i think itz okay now...cuz just tried to do that again earlier in the morning...it felt okay...hehe...

sorry! =)

my mileage is 42K, and have never washed my carb before. Like I said before, "if it ain't broken, dun open".

been riding for 9 months , 23k km le, time to wash carb ?

but i still find riding is smooth, hahaa

I see ... good luck then !

noah...for every gear...but i think itz okay now...cuz just tried to do that again earlier in the morning...it felt okay...hehe...

sorry! =)