For people who work at an office job (or any job where you have to wear office clothes)and ride to work, do you find that you frequently are considerably more disheveled than your colleagues and sometimes people will treat you differently and view you as less "professional" because of your appearance?

When it's sunny, your hair and clothes get blown around by the wind, once in a while clothes will pick up black stains from the bike...

When it's raining, have to wear raincoat, shoes usually all wet and need to change in office, clothes crumpled because of raincoat

For women, cannot wear makeup (sometimes people find it unprofessional), need to wear covered shoes (safety reasons) and then change to work shoes in the office, hair cannot be styled too much because will be blown by the wind, cannot wear skirts, need to carry backpack instead of handbag (if bike don't have box)

Not to mention some people automatically form an impression of you when they see your helmet at your desk... and sometimes this impression may not be a positive one... e.g. you ride to work, you are lower-class, etc. Especially if the office is full of non-riders (like my office full of OLs, they either drive or take public...)

(My colleagues always ask me when I am going to "upgrade" to car... :sian:

How do you cope with riding a bike to work (for those whose work requires you to wear office attire)?

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

• Replies 61

These people seriously need to get a life. I work at Centennial Towers and there are quite a number of expats who ride to work.

I have been riding to work in office attire for 15 years. Absolutely no isses at all. Just put on the tie when reach office.

Opinions of frogs-in-wells don't count for s.h.i.t. to me.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Most of the time i go in a bit earlier to cool down, got aircon in the office mah.. As for those people who look look, i f*** care them. Have you seen their faces when they get off the super crowded bus or train??? Super black! I'd rather be happy and a bit dishevealed than to be stuck in a crowded public transport. Plus depending on what you ride, it might be even cheaper and time saving than taking public....

If they ask you to 'upgrade' to car, ask them how much they spend a year, with that money you can probably afford to buy and maintain a few bikes...

http://scooterlounge.com/blog/Archives/SeiGiorni.jpg
Most of the time i go in a bit earlier to cool down, got aircon in the office mah.. As for those people who look look, i f*** care them. Have you seen their faces when they get off the super crowded bus or train??? Super black! I'd rather be happy and a bit dishevealed than to be stuck in a crowded public transport. Plus depending on what you ride, it might be even cheaper and time saving than taking public....

If they ask you to 'upgrade' to car, ask them how much they spend a year, with that money you can probably afford to buy and maintain a few bikes...

Lol, I'm currently maintaining 2 bikes... my cheap and reliable transport bike and another bigger bike that I'm planning to restore...

Most of my colleagues taking public transport, they have the mentality that cars are better than bike... i tell them that only a bike allows me to de-stress and come to work with a smile on my face, reach home with a smile on my face too :)

I have been riding to work in office attire for 15 years. Absolutely no isses at all. Just put on the tie when reach office.

Sigh... maybe my office is more conservative then...

Think women probably have it worse when it comes to such issues, after all people judge them more on their appearance than men...

These people seriously need to get a life. I work at Centennial Towers and there are quite a number of expats who ride to work.

Singaporeans mentally is that it's hip and cool when an angmo rides bike but when a local rides bike, it's because cannot afford a car :angel:

For people who work at an office job (or any job where you have to wear office clothes)and ride to work, do you find that you frequently are considerably more disheveled than your colleagues and sometimes people will treat you differently and view you as less "professional" because of your appearance?

This is all about organisation.

Whenever I send my car in for servicing, I will ride my Mountain bike from the workshop to my office, about 7 km. You have to plan ahead, like standby a set of office cloth & shoe, toiletries etc in office, and don't bring that notebook back the day before, try not to hold any meetings or appointments that day...etc, and arrive early so that you have time to freshen up before everyone turns up for work.

Not to mention some people automatically form an impression of you when they see your helmet at your desk... and sometimes this impression may not be a positive one... e.g. you ride to work, you are lower-class, etc.

Ultimately, people judge you by how you carry yourself, and not that you are a biker.

Especially if the office is full of non-riders (like my office full of OLs, they either drive or take public...)

Play that to your advantage such as sharing, if they are interested, about your bike trips or track session. Basically, bring out the interesting side of biking, and people can be fascinated with your experience, and who knows, maybe you can convert a few.

This is all about organisation.

Whenever I send my car in for servicing, I will ride my Mountain bike from the workshop to my office, about 7 km. You have to plan ahead, like standby a set of office cloth & shoe, toiletries etc in office, and don't bring that notebook back the day before, try not to hold any meetings or appointments that day...etc, and arrive early so that you have time to freshen up before everyone turns up for work.

Unfortunately I only have bikes, so I have to ride whether there are meetings or not. However, the leaving office clothes etc. at office, coming early are good suggestions :thumb:

Play that to your advantage such as sharing, if they are interested, about your bike trips or track session. Basically, bring out the interesting side of biking, and people can be fascinated with your experience, and who knows, maybe you can convert a few.

Haha, everyone is curious and some think it's cool, but no one is willing to try cause they all say it's too dangerous... :dot:

most of the jobs that i find usually do not require make up one or if require will try to go early to put loh.. of coz need to prepare wet tissue to remove the make up before wearing helmet lah..

sometimes i managed to convert some of my colleagues to like bikes heehhe :D coz it seems very cool to ride for me.. but then of coz they must know the danger of riding oso lah.. anyway im not bothered by ppl who dun like bikes one coz its my passion and i love riding esp my current ride :D

i guess my office peeps still alright... rarely to see them criticizing bikers... maybe my peeps r more modern? anyway, percentage of drivers r much more than bikers too... some even envy wad i'm riding, and my previous ride too... : )

for me, i usually wore my office attire to work while riding... when it's raining, i'll keep my office attire in my box and wear only singlet and shorts (of cus in rain jacket) to work... no issues with me hanging my wet jacket and pants near my desk too... : )

safe ride to all biker bros! ;D

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

i have been riding to work for the past 1 year :) new rider

sure the occasional bird poop and weird stains is rather annoying. but i have learnt to counter that by wearing my waterproof raincoat when I ride regardless of rain or shine. they also help to keep out dust and stains. maybe becos i bought a larger sized raincoat so it doesn't really crease my office shirt.

i think girls that ride are cool leh. i can't speak for other guys la.. but i think in general should be along the same line. i think girls judge girls more harshly than girls judge guys.

sure the occasional bird poop and weird stains is rather annoying. but i have learnt to counter that by wearing my waterproof raincoat when I ride regardless of rain or shine. they also help to keep out dust and stains. maybe becos i bought a larger sized raincoat so it doesn't really crease my office shirt.

not hot meh? i tried that and i was burning away cause the raincoat doesn't let air through... now wearing a mesh jacket but that has to be tight-fitting to be effective and therefore creases my clothes...

Singaporeans mentally is that it's hip and cool when an angmo rides bike but when a local rides bike, it's because cannot afford a car :angel:

Ultimately, people judge you by how you carry yourself, and not that you are a biker.

Yah its not cheap buying a car, but bikes are not cheap either... *not saying CLS2/2A but CUB or regular 2B bikes. To fork out that sum for payment really not easy lor, fortunately enough installment is available to make most of our dream comes true.

some local mindset really need some re-education, ang mo "moon" doesn't really round OK. But their willingness and attitude in coaching staff quite impressive *subjected to pple to pple too.

riding to work and sch daily is a very enjoyable moment.

wait till they come across a locally born CEO who rides to work... oh... then again... he'll automatically be in the same class as the expat. :faint:

I ride to work everyday. What helps is my work place is only abt 10 mins ride away. I'm in management level so I'm usually dressed in pants and jacket. For riding, I wear my work pants with riding boots, t-shirt and the riding jacket over it. My work jacket I bring it along to change. I wish I could find a pair of overpants so that I can wear them over my work pants. I keep some formal shoes at work; otherwise I bring them into the office and change.

As for hair and makeup, I wear makeup prior to going to work. Sometimes I do arrive sweaty but 10 minutes in the aircon plus a trip to the washroom will solve it. I have short hair so styling was not an issue. If you have long hair, you can always tie it up in a bun. I do keep deodorant/anti-perspirant at work in case I need it but so far, no issue.

Most of my office people were surprised but now they're nonchalant about me riding to work. Almost all of them had words of admiration and some even asked to pillion. My CEO was also surprised and he cautioned me on safe riding, that was about it. Another VP used to ride when he was in Bangkok but he drives a BMW here now. All in all the response has been very positive.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

As for hair and makeup, I wear makeup prior to going to work. Sometimes I do arrive sweaty but 10 minutes in the aircon plus a trip to the washroom will solve it.

I assume you're not wearing a full face helmet?

not hot meh? i tried that and i was burning away cause the raincoat doesn't let air through... now wearing a mesh jacket but that has to be tight-fitting to be effective and therefore creases my clothes...

Maybe you can just wear those thinner windbreaker instead (i do), helps to keep out the dirt but lets wind in at the same time...

http://scooterlounge.com/blog/Archives/SeiGiorni.jpg

When it's sunny, your hair and clothes get blown around by the wind, once in a while clothes will pick up black stains from the bike...

When it's raining, have to wear raincoat, shoes usually all wet and need to change in office, clothes crumpled because of raincoat

Not to mention some people automatically form an impression of you when they see your helmet at your desk... and sometimes this impression may not be a positive one... e.g. you ride to work, you are lower-class, etc. Especially if the office is full of non-riders (like my office full of OLs, they either drive or take public...)

How do you cope with riding a bike to work (for those whose work requires you to wear office attire)?

I don't face any of these problems that you mention. With a full face helmet, a riding jacket, gloves and waterproof boots, I don't have any issues of arriving dishevelled. The others in the building who ride in shirts, they look fine and not dishevelled when they walk out of the car park.

My boots don't let water in through all the rainy days. Once I get to work, I put on my shoes (which helps to keep my boots alive for longer too).

Are you saying that you are adversely affected if others think you are lower-class? "It's not the end of the world when others look down on you. It's the end of the world when you look down on yourself."

He who hesitates is lost!

i think riding with a suit looks kinda cool. just wear a mesh jacket over your shirt and wear leather sport touring boots. the Oxtar matrix 2 look like a classy leather shoe but the rubber shift protector is a dead giveaway. still, i think it looks nice when polished and worn with a tailored shirt and pants, put on a tie and you will can still go to work in style.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

how is the mesh jacket like.. im looking 4 sum thing tight-fitting de.. got pic?

24 Oct 2009 - Current: Honda CBR600 RR 04 FBA8**8P

Class 2 - 03 Feb 2009

14 Mar 2009 - 26 April 2010: Honda CB400 SPEC III FY2993T

Class 2A - 20 Dec 2005

25 Mar 2002 - 9 Mar 2009: KIA Spectra HB 1.6 SDR1499X

Class 3 - 29 Nov 2001

Most of my colleagues taking public transport, they have the mentality that cars are better than bike... i tell them that only a bike allows me to de-stress and come to work with a smile on my face, reach home with a smile on my face too :)

QUOTE]

yup.. this is how i feel when i was in ns.. everyday jus looking forward to work n off from work, reason is i can ride bike..LOL...

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

i ride to work as well.. i dun really bother about how pple think about riders.. my superior also rides..

no1 knew i rode until when taking the lift then i go basement instead of stopping on the 1st floor.. if not means i told them that i ride.. so from this i think i dun look shabby at all when i just arrive from work..

i have a deodorant in my bag as well.

i ride to work and am quite happy doing so although i could've claimed cab fares

my manager rides too and he rides a KTM Duke

another director rides a CB1300

and these 2 managers / directors are all non local...

Grounded... :/

When i'm in sch or when i'm in work pple always give me the "why you ride look". Then also ask why don't buy a car.. I always tell them, why not you go buy a car then stand on my point of view.. After that they juz keep quiet. I always say bike is so much cheaper then owning a car..

But of cuz wearing office wear and going to work is far especially for me.. I work at bugis stay at west.. far far.. Then reach already shirt full of persperation.

I ride to work everyday wearing jeans, street soccer shoes, gloves and a thin jacket. Then when i arrive to work just change to my attire. Shoes, pants, shirt, belt everything. If not i just fold nicely and put inside my box. All keep there or in office. The good thing about my workplace is that alot of people ride. Most of the time when its time to go home, we all would congregate at the basement, warm up our bike, talk about stuff, some would smoke. No one would critise that i ride a bike to work. We all understand that we all have different reasons to ride. Some don't have money, some find its easy to rush to work or some just enjoy the thrill of riding when they can afford an MPV easily.

I feel it doesnt matter that you ride a bike. How you perform at work is how you should be judged and if you do a good job, it should not be an issue at all. If a superior judges you by your mode of transportation, all i can say is that he/she is not fit to be in charge. Its just shallow.

Edited by crazydj

I dun see any prob riding in office wear (shirts and pants) at all. At least we rider own wat we can afford.

I downgrade from driving and I enjoy riding. Its so jam on the road now.. When I make letf/right turn or make my way in to carpark. Can cut all the way to the front.. wow so good feeling.. dun have to "queue". Fast then those big big car..

24 Oct 2009 - Current: Honda CBR600 RR 04 FBA8**8P

Class 2 - 03 Feb 2009

14 Mar 2009 - 26 April 2010: Honda CB400 SPEC III FY2993T

Class 2A - 20 Dec 2005

25 Mar 2002 - 9 Mar 2009: KIA Spectra HB 1.6 SDR1499X

Class 3 - 29 Nov 2001