• Replies 61

I always don proper riding gear like armored jacket, gloves, riding boots and full face helmet. I'll ride with my t-shirt and jeans inside, I'll carry my formal office wear in a bag. I will always leave my formal wear shoes at office, then I will change into the formal wear once I reach office. Then change out of it, into riding boots when I leave.

It sounds abit too much of a hassle, spending that extra time in toilet, changing, cleaning up and stuff. But it will definitely start your day off cleaner, fresher and giving yourself more confidence.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg
I always don proper riding gear like armored jacket, gloves, riding boots and full face helmet. I'll ride with my t-shirt and jeans inside, I'll carry my formal office wear in a bag. I will always leave my formal wear shoes at office, then I will change into the formal wear once I reach office. Then change out of it, into riding boots when I leave.

It sounds abit too much of a hassle, spending that extra time in toilet, changing, cleaning up and stuff. But it will definitely start your day off cleaner, fresher and giving yourself more confidence.

Same here, I don’t have box on my bikes. I carry a big foldable bag with me. When I reached my office car park, I will keep all the riding gears in the bag, helmet in the helmet bag.

First thing that I will do when I am in the office is changing my riding boots to the pair of shoes I keep in the office then bring along the small bag that store my office wears + grooming kit and head straight to the toilet. 10 minutes later I will return to the office with combed hair and fresh clothes.

Most of my colleagues don’t know that I ride to work, when they see my jumbo size bag and the helmet bag they always think that I am carrying a gym bag and a bowling ball…. :thirsty:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

Those ppl who TS describe are sterotype if they have this kinna mentality. And if im a boss i rather you spend time and effort WORKING than making up. But well SG society is like that. So i dun really care much abt them i prove them all wrong by being efficient in work.

At first my boss didnt say anything abt me riding but mabbe he havent got any employer rider. But after years of working with him i think he likes me riding. cos he can call me go here go there as and when and fast. Not like other colleague who have to get there by cab or bus then end up submitting claims to him.

I have colleague who are positive that im riding too and also ask me to pillion them but i usually purposely dun bring extra helmet. Cos they are not trained pillion and so danger for them. And i also told them that and they actually admire and thank me for thinking of their safety.

Edited by bernardk

for me i am lucky that i can get away with casual wear for my office.

i wear jeans / casual pants and a polo most days

on days when i have to wear shirt - short or long sleeve, pants & shoes it's also no biggie with a flip up, mesh, gloves & boots

sometimes i wear the boots for the whole day, sometimes i change

it may get a little warm, so when i have to wear a shirt, i'd usually wear an thin vest underneath to prevent perspiration stains and all. but dishevelled - No.

for all we care, others can view us in any view point they want to

but on my way to Tuas nearly everyday

i'll see all sorts of riders from you regular malaysian commuter all the way to dingaporean bikes with nicely dressed guys / gals on them. some with proper riding gears, and of course, most not...

Grounded... :/

I ride to work and put my full face helmet,gloves on my table.

Because I am damn proud of the fact that i ride to work, not stuck in jams like idiots or packed like sardines like 90% of them.

Since I wear a armour jacket, most of the road crud/dust do not get to me. And I also got a pair of riding boots, which I change to working shoes when I reach office.

When it rains, just raincoat on and raincoat off. Its rather troublesome, but I guess it is a LL thing when you ride bikes.

have to ride to work because my working location is super wulu. have shelter area for bikes too.

Riding to work - nothing to be ashamed of, and nothing to be proud of. It gets you there and that's all there is to it.

It's amusing to see how some respond to perceived slights from others. If you think others look down on you, and your best response is to make yourself feel superior by looking down on others, then how are you any different?

He who hesitates is lost!

It's amusing to see how some respond to perceived slights from others. If you think others look down on you, and your best response is to make yourself feel superior by looking down on others, then how are you any different?

This could not be said any better...... :)

Riding to work - nothing to be ashamed of, and nothing to be proud of. It gets you there and that's all there is to it.

Tat is so true .... Vouch hands down yah ...

Be humble on the road at all times coz u'll neva noe wen u need any rider's help...

of course got something to be proud of.. u can get to work faster, u dun get stuck in jam like cars, no need to be like sardine in public transports.

riding really feels good, its no way a response to make ourselves feel better.

becoz we aredi feel better.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg

"So what is it about riding a bike that make you guys such assh0les?"

Quote modified from that dumbass piece of crap movie, Torque. :lol:

Seriously, biking.... it's just a mode of transport. It gets you there.

And in the rain, it gets you there wet. :lol: Gotta admit, in that aspect cars are better despite being caught in the jam.

So... What IS the big deal about riding a bike anyway, huh?

(Oh yeah... I forgot... this is a bike forum, so we're all supposed to act like a mob..... :lol: )

only those who can afford to go to work in a mercedes or a helicopter and yet choose to ride to work, now these are the real ride to work crazies!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

I would ride to work more often if I didn't have to attend meetings. The TS is right in that regardless of how you dress up, you will somehow have a more disheveled look because of the heat, wind and humidity. The hot, humid air acts like an "iron" on our clothes and makes it wrinkly. The heat in the helmet also gives us helmet hair.

For those of us who work in an office, looking neat is important. Much as we want to rubbish those who look down on us bikers, the point that we have to give a professional image is still valid.

I personally have tried various combinations and the only thing I find that works is to have one set of clothing for riding and another for work. Where possible, take a shower or at least freshen up before changing to work clothes. After work, change back to your riding clothes again. That way, you can have a clear demarcation between your "riding life" and "work life". No point mixing those two up; why do you want to spend your whole career fighting those people who have a negative impression?

In cooler climates like Taiwan, EVERYONE rides to work and it is commonly accepted indeed expected. Ladies with full make up, skirts and high heels get on scooters and look none the worse for wear when they step off. Call it a cultural difference, but if their weather was as muggy as ours, you can bet that they wouldn't want to look disheveled going into work.

Just my 2 cents worth...

Actually for bikers going to work isn't much of a prob. Though there are lots of cars and there are pple whom work different timings. But the worst part is after work. Most pple off work around the same time and that's a big prob for us bikers too.

For me when i off work, i juz wear my office wear back home cos it's also going to get dirty. And another thing i really dun like is those J** plate bikers.. Those bikers are crazy and i wonder how can they lane split so dangerously at 80 ~ 100km/h.

actually i dun care lah...if i drive....i cant sleep untill so late cos got jam...so need wake up earlier to avoid jam...i rather ride bike ...so i can sleep more and still reach office earlier then ppl who drives. :)

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

For people who work at an office job (or any job where you have to wear office clothes)and ride to work, do you find that you frequently are considerably more disheveled than your colleagues and sometimes people will treat you differently and view you as less "professional" because of your appearance?

When it's sunny, your hair and clothes get blown around by the wind, once in a while clothes will pick up black stains from the bike...

When it's raining, have to wear raincoat, shoes usually all wet and need to change in office, clothes crumpled because of raincoat

For women, cannot wear makeup (sometimes people find it unprofessional), need to wear covered shoes (safety reasons) and then change to work shoes in the office, hair cannot be styled too much because will be blown by the wind, cannot wear skirts, need to carry backpack instead of handbag (if bike don't have box)

Not to mention some people automatically form an impression of you when they see your helmet at your desk... and sometimes this impression may not be a positive one... e.g. you ride to work, you are lower-class, etc. Especially if the office is full of non-riders (like my office full of OLs, they either drive or take public...)

(My colleagues always ask me when I am going to "upgrade" to car... :sian:

How do you cope with riding a bike to work (for those whose work requires you to wear office attire)?

Hmm.. who says women cannot wear make-up when riding? I do whenever I have to meet clients, and nothing wrong with girls wearing pants to work... As for covered shoes, i dun see an issue wearing flats... As for handbags, I dunno why it's so low class not to carry a handbag... I mean if there's a presentation, we would be carrying laptops over, so meant to say ladies carrying laptop bag is uncool? I dunno. I've ridden with my heels when I need to do so when going for interview, I often get the thumbs up for being different, and independent when I say I'm riding, not waiting for bf to pick me up or anything like that.

Whilst I was working, I had a thumbs up from my manager, and only gets words of wisdom and sharing of experiences..... My boss envied me for riding my dearest baby.. Oh well.. I guess it depends on how you answered them. I mean yes, I do get the raised eyebrows from the conservative ones who prefered if I drive than ride, like others, i only asked them if they wanna sponsor me one.. haha.

-blast3dGal-

2B since 07/07/08

Aprilia RS125'05 (FBC9258A) 21/08/08 - 31/07/10

Piaggio ______ (FB______) 31/07/10 - ???

rain or shine. always ride to work.

but if bike breeks down. take Urgent Leave until bike repaired:)

Hm I work in office job too. Helps when u have a spare suit in offce. especially when raing time. for shoes? if rain wear slippers but bring ure shoes in a bag.

Edited by Yatz86

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

Not only riding to work... I'm gonna ride to school!!!! Everyone is shocked that I'm riding bike... It's getting common to have more ladies doing that... Basically I hate squeezing in buses / MRTs and sometimes don't even have chance to squeeze in... =_=

Die die have to get my 2B. Prac1-26Apr09, Prac2-27Apr, Prac3-2May, Prac4-10May, RTT-21May, Prac5-23,30,31May, Prac6-3,6,7Jun, Prac7-13Jun, TP-30Jul.

TA200-1Aug2009 till present

Why must we pay 1/2 the price of ERP when we are 4 times smaller & more than 5 times lighter than a car?

Riding to work is not an issue if you goes to work early before the jam pile up.

Newsflash: Bikes can lanesplit!

http://previous.aeroplastics.net/2003_WFOR/art/04_Newscaster_4.jpg

And now, back to your regular programme.....

Not only riding to work... I'm gonna ride to school!!!! Everyone is shocked that I'm riding bike... It's getting common to have more ladies doing that... Basically I hate squeezing in buses / MRTs and sometimes don't even have chance to squeeze in... =_=

Yeah man! I hate that stoopid feeling when taking bus or MRT. Before riding, i have to squeeze into the sardine carriage every morning. Almost every morning got young lady or old lady or just ladies like to "tsk" or "csk" or make grunting noises when we guys squeeze into the carriages. Full to the brim i also LL make sure got room for one more. Sure got space. Never say die. Just got to make it. Lucky i tall. I pity those who short can smell ppl BO. Wah sian. I felt that my life was controlled by "The Train". The feeling is so traumatic. You feel so powerless. If wake up late, confirm go work late. Then have to jog to MRT station. Then run up the stairs like some dog on steroids. The squeeze like sardine. Then smell ppl BO. Like want to cry sia. I wished i had a bike earlier. :cry:

Last time go school, the bus the timing super random. Everytime have to rush to school. Sprint towards the schoolgate. If the security guard wanna close gate, just ram through. When closed already, find hole in fence or climb gate, commando style. After climb gate, have to avoid detection and hide in library or toilet, then tell the teacher got stomache ache cannot attend assembly. Bloody hell. Even my lecturer that time Malaysian from Penang ride Goldwing to school. Sometimes in bus can see him cut vehicles like Rossi like that if he late.

So what is the most effective way to get rid of helmet hair? Assuming there is no shower facilities at work.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky: