What about the other end of the cable, the end connected near the wheel?

Maybe BOTH ends loose?

And if you want to test very easy, hold the wire in your hand like in your pic, then push the bike a few meters, if you can see the wire flat head rotate, that means the cable inside is ok.

If not then either the cable other end is loose as well or the inside snapped, so cannot connect to rotate.

Went to take a look again. I checked the end at the wheel , nothing wrong with it, works fine. I did the test that you suggested, and the wire head does rotate.

Mine wire head is a little rusty, any possibility that it affects the rotating mechanism within the speedo socket?

If not , and if the wire is considered working condition through these tests, what are the other possible problems of the speedo not working?

speedo itself spoilt?

Anyway, slightly at the bottom right hand side of the speedo, there is this L shaped rubber tubing. Is it supposed to be connected to anything?

If the cable is working, then the speedo should be working when the cable is connected to it CORRECTLY. ie: the flat head of the cable is fitted nicely and not forced anyhow into the speedo hole.

I think the L shape rubber thing is the light bulb connection.

There should be 2 heads for the rubber thingy right?

And they should be clamped to the back of the meter by a small metal bar with 2 screws.

Very very very very rarely do we see speedo spoil for a Phantom. If you so "lucky" then just get a 2nd hand one from Planet lah.

• Replies 1.7k

Guess I didn't ride much of a distance and speed to check my speedo's condition previously. Just went down to test again and ride around the estate. The speedo is working !! yay~~

Thanks SilentHunter and kmjoe for your help =) Learned something new at the same time ~

Adventure.

hi guys.. i am new in ta200.. just got it for 2 weeks.. can i check with you all?

how much should i top up my eo?

i ride alot as a despatch covering ard 1300km per week.. so i am actually changing eo every week but i have different answer for how much to top up

1.25 litre?

1.5 litre?

2 litre?

thanks for the effort bros..

if possible can mgs me?83588694:cheeky:

hi guys.. i am new in ta200.. just got it for 2 weeks.. can i check with you all?

i ride alot as a despatch covering ard 1300km per week.. so i am actually changing eo every week but i have different answer for how much to top up

1.25 litre?

1.5 litre?

2 litre?

hi.. firstly welcome to the home of the phantom knights:cheers:

we change our Eo every 1500km.. Don't need to top up EO unless your bike needs to overhaul soon....

It's a 4 stoke bike after all....

if u'r unsure if engine is healty or not, check your EO level once you hit 1000km..

1.25 litre?

1.5 litre?

2 litre?

different machine are in difference condition.

get your machine checked by a reliable mech & get him to advise you.

recommended in pk thread are 2 places, surgeon koon & dr chong.

redhill & ubi respectively.. visit em to your convenience..

my machine require topping up once a fortnight & a change once a month.

my ride need to maintain 1.3L

due to th ride habit & age of machine.

some riders uses a mere 1L & can last em for 2month.

its th distance you ride. for myself, i go by weeks & months cause my distance travelled is roughly th same everyday.

counting / checking by distance wld be a better choice, but a more troublesome choice too..

its up to you to decide..

2L is too much i believe, unless you'r riding on a totally loose piston ring which burns EO like nobody's business, if not 2L is simply drowning yer gearbox.

welcome to th world of 2wheelers,

ride safe, ride hard, live anthr day. \m/,

black&white saves life.

enquire @ [email protected] | 94786'999

for me it's every 2k millage for eo change and 1L to 1.2L max... ah chong recommends 1.2L though...

for me 1 L every 2000km....but now i think i am running close to 2.5k liao :( no time to change EO

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

1.25 litre?

1.5 litre?

2 litre?

I first got the bike with 2 litres of EO. No kidding.

Loud, slow revving, sluggish, very jerky, backfires all day and oil spurts out into the airbox. I'm amazed it didn't rupture a seal or go up in a cloud of white smoke, because manual specifically states 1L. Which is more than adequate.

Went back to shop and educated them on proper maintenence stuff.

I have run with 500ml before, due to Motul semisynthetic liking to evaporate under 'my style' of riding and tuning.

1L is perfect; just check the oil level weekly or more frequently. Or every day, like me.

1.2 is when say, a stone damaged the oil drain cap and it develops a leak. While riding to get it fixed, overfill slightly to give yourself an oil reserve.

If there isn't a leak, no need to overfill, just keep an eye on the oil level.

For an accurate measurement of the oil level, level the bike, don't turn on the engine (or wait until the oil has flowed into the sump after running), do the necessary thing to check.

hi.. firstly welcome to the home of the phantom knights:cheers:

we change our Eo every 1500km.. Don't need to top up EO unless your bike needs to overhaul soon....

It's a 4 stoke bike after all....

if u'r unsure if engine is healty or not, check your EO level once you hit 1000km..

thanks bro for the help:cheeky:

different machine are in difference condition.

get your machine checked by a reliable mech & get him to advise you.

recommended in pk thread are 2 places, surgeon koon & dr chong.

redhill & ubi respectively.. visit em to your convenience..

my machine require topping up once a fortnight & a change once a month.

my ride need to maintain 1.3L

due to th ride habit & age of machine.

some riders uses a mere 1L & can last em for 2month.

its th distance you ride. for myself, i go by weeks & months cause my distance travelled is roughly th same everyday.

counting / checking by distance wld be a better choice, but a more troublesome choice too..

its up to you to decide..

2L is too much i believe, unless you'r riding on a totally loose piston ring which burns EO like nobody's business, if not 2L is simply drowning yer gearbox.

welcome to th world of 2wheelers,

ride safe, ride hard, live anthr day. \m/,

cool.. btw i just did a overhaul so i guess don need a 2 litre eo..lolz:thumb:

I first got the bike with 2 litres of EO. No kidding.

Loud, slow revving, sluggish, very jerky, backfires all day and oil spurts out into the airbox. I'm amazed it didn't rupture a seal or go up in a cloud of white smoke, because manual specifically states 1L. Which is more than adequate.

Went back to shop and educated them on proper maintenence stuff.

I have run with 500ml before, due to Motul semisynthetic liking to evaporate under 'my style' of riding and tuning.

1L is perfect; just check the oil level weekly or more frequently. Or every day, like me.

1.2 is when say, a stone damaged the oil drain cap and it develops a leak. While riding to get it fixed, overfill slightly to give yourself an oil reserve.

If there isn't a leak, no need to overfill, just keep an eye on the oil level.

For an accurate measurement of the oil level, level the bike, don't turn on the engine (or wait until the oil has flowed into the sump after running), do the necessary thing to check.

bro.. thanks for the help that day.. cheers
cool.. btw i just did a overhaul so i guess don need a 2 litre eo..lolz:thumb:

Nope, but you need to change Engine oil alot more.

When was your bike overhauled?

If just changed, 500km need to change already.

Edited by Silent Hunter

Nope, but you need to change Engine oil alot more.

When was your bike overhauled?

If just changed, 500km need to change already.

thanks .. i change the 1st eo at 500km and still doing so at 500.. now already 2000km.. change 4 times already.. waste alot of money throwing the eo lor.. cos i 3 day 500km so 1 week change 2 times..:cry:

to be honest, ta 200 is real comfortable..:cheeky:

Yep! Once upon a time I rode the thing 6 hours a day. Very durable little thing too. After riding for some months, I'd say there's no issues with the low speed handling too. It can balance while moving slower than ah pek walking on the huge tyres.

Since you've done some significant mileage after the overhaul you may safely return to the normal oil change interval :3

Yep! Once upon a time I rode the thing 6 hours a day. Very durable little thing too. After riding for some months, I'd say there's no issues with the low speed handling too. It can balance while moving slower than ah pek walking on the huge tyres.

Since you've done some significant mileage after the overhaul you may safely return to the normal oil change interval :3

thanks.. now next plan is to fix my timing chain.. sound like a mega clock ticking sound in my engine sound,and when riding 100km, it sound like the whole bomb is counting down to BooMzZz:cheeky:

I outcornered a litre bike up a winding series of uphill bends. Class 2B ftw - can go full throttle in tight technical courses :3

it sound like the whole bomb is counting down to BooMzZzhttp://172.31.254.244/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/smilies/icon-touguecheeky.gif

So I can say don't worry, it won't explode :D

agreed!!! ta can whack like no body business but i just don like the weight of it..

i already mod my exhaust (exhaust too weak)

my front sprocket to 14 (too much pick up)

so now at gear 6 just slightly throttle already 100 but it would be better if the bike is not so heavy..

so u guys know what tyre size we ta should use except the stock size..

agreed!!! ta can whack like no body business but i just don like the weight of it..

i already mod my exhaust (exhaust too weak)

my front sprocket to 14 (too much pick up)

so now at gear 6 just slightly throttle already 100 but it would be better if the bike is not so heavy..

so u guys know what tyre size we ta should use except the stock size..

Finally some proper modding - indeed once you poke the Phantom a bit it can be much less stressful and more fun to ride (with power in reserve, instead of full throttle all day).

As the trend goes however, other Phantoms get heavier and heavier with cosmetic additions.

As far as weight goes you can use some advanced riding techniques to counter them but since they're not taught locally... PM time. LOL.

With a firmer suspension setup you can do snap turns, high speed switchbacks at a rate that impresses S4 riders.

new to riding. just pass tp and bought ta200 2 weeks ago.

recently i notice that my bike has high idling after running for 20 mins or so.

the rpm when cold start is actually quite low. engine will seize if i dun open abit of throttle after starting engine.

the high idling is abit annoying, my friend suggested that there might be a problem with the carb, most likely air leakage or something, which feed air to the engine even when throttle is closed.

went over to my bike shop today, and the mech told me that its all normal for higher revs when engine is warmed up. is that so?

plus, today i also started hearing small 'ppop pop pop' sounds from the exhaust when going at low gears(1, 2,3 )

is it normal? i haven hear this sound before.

and thanks in advance for your answers.

new to riding. just pass tp and bought ta200 2 weeks ago.

recently i notice that my bike has high idling after running for 20 mins or so.

the rpm when cold start is actually quite low. engine will seize if i dun open abit of throttle after starting engine.

the high idling is abit annoying, my friend suggested that there might be a problem with the carb, most likely air leakage or something, which feed air to the engine even when throttle is closed.

went over to my bike shop today, and the mech told me that its all normal for higher revs when engine is warmed up. is that so?

plus, today i also started hearing small 'ppop pop pop' sounds from the exhaust when going at low gears(1, 2,3 )

is it normal? i haven hear this sound before.

and thanks in advance for your answers.

if your idling is high, th engine shdnt die, it shd be vibrating alot instead.

play with th screw, to set your idling..

th pop pop pop is backfire.. nthg much.

alil unhealthy for th bike thou..mine has alot of it, sometimes loud bangs too.. nd im fine with it.

black&white saves life.

enquire @ [email protected] | 94786'999

i want to have backfire also dun have la.... how to tune the cub to backfire?

just checking any one happen to know if the clinic session is still on tomorrow?

Thread was closed =X

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Finally some proper modding - indeed once you poke the Phantom a bit it can be much less stressful and more fun to ride (with power in reserve, instead of full throttle all day).

As the trend goes however, other Phantoms get heavier and heavier with cosmetic additions.

As far as weight goes you can use some advanced riding techniques to counter them but since they're not taught locally... PM time. LOL.

With a firmer suspension setup you can do snap turns, high speed switchbacks at a rate that impresses S4 riders.

hope to learn more abt the suspension stuff.. heard alot of a better suspension will have a great impact on the overall power.. mine is stock..

although i throttle abit can mantain 100km but on highway sometimes i see uncle riding ta can just pass by me like no body business.. i bet his speed must be at least 120km and the point is that i don hear his engine screaming..lolz..

so kaylan , should i adjust my suspension stiffer?

correct me if i am wrong.. i not pro just hear abit here abit there..

stiffer suspension = poorer traction in turns but better highend n fc but cannot absorb bumpy road

softer suspension = better traction in turns but poorer highend but can absorb bumpy road better

We're at risk of creating the first ever SBF Giant Suspension Discussion :3

Well I could post all I know here but it's more efficient to discuss them over a chicken chop and ice coffee LOL.

The things I'll explain are not for public consumption - the very concept of a TA going against a S4 is unheard of (but definitely possible and done before). Not even that. Who uses a TA to play corner? It's brilliant, I love it :D

As you suspect, the suspension settings have a part to play in that. I don't have skidding problems; on the contrary, deliberately inducing oversteer and/or instability is my game.

hope to learn more abt the suspension stuff.. heard alot of a better suspension will have a great impact on the overall power.. mine is stock..

although i throttle abit can mantain 100km but on highway sometimes i see uncle riding ta can just pass by me like no body business.. i bet his speed must be at least 120km and the point is that i don hear his engine screaming..lolz..

so kaylan , should i adjust my suspension stiffer?

correct me if i am wrong.. i not pro just hear abit here abit there..

stiffer suspension = poorer traction in turns but better highend n fc but cannot absorb bumpy road

softer suspension = better traction in turns but poorer highend but can absorb bumpy road better

100 on our meter is only abt 80, most likely his going 90 or + abit which will b abt 110 +- on our meter, which is still considered legal :cheeky: