Both side. Tightening only the chain side will result in your wheel being pulled one side, not good. Be sure to maintain equal tension on both side of bolts and nuts. Use a jack and prop up the rear of the bike. Find a secure spot for u to put the jack on (I learn from my shop is put it under the rear swing arm, but its risky cause it can slide out, but one of the only ways i can find.). Jack the bike up, check to ensure rear wheel is free spinning. Tighten the chain, while doing so check that you didnt over tighten. Allow some slack (about 1" of vertical movement) for the chain, check this while spinning the rear wheel so you know the chain has proper slack all round. Once done, oil the inner link and rollers of the chain while spinning the wheel to lube the chain.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

• Replies 3.6k

Both side. Tightening only the chain side will result in your wheel being pulled one side, not good. Be sure to maintain equal tension on both side of bolts and nuts. Use a jack and prop up the rear of the bike. Find a secure spot for u to put the jack on (I learn from my shop is put it under the rear swing arm, but its risky cause it can slide out, but one of the only ways i can find.). Jack the bike up, check to ensure rear wheel is free spinning. Tighten the chain, while doing so check that you didnt over tighten. Allow some slack (about 1" of vertical movement) for the chain, check this while spinning the rear wheel so you know the chain has proper slack all round. Once done, oil the inner link and rollers of the chain while spinning the wheel to lube the chain.

Thank you so much! Much appreciated.

Hello guys, I am new here. After reading what all the seniors posted in this thread, I have so many doubts in my mind. Haha brain dead already. Lol anyways I'm going for my TP test for my 2B next week. Plan to get a phantom TA200 after I pass. Phantoms for the win!

Any advices or tips from people who rode phantom will be kindly appreciated. Thanks.

I think the 75 pages of this thread would suffice.

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

Hey bros,

Kindly bear with me on this. Recently i noticed my chain having alot of slack and want to tighten it. I looked through the manual and it say the tightening is to be done on the side of rear brake and not on the side of the chain itself. Is this right?

I mean,the manual didnt exactly say but it showed a picture of the nuts with the disc brake. So am i to adjust on the brake side,the chain side or both? Confused lah.

First bike...so not entirely sure about it. I would like to do the greasemonkey-ing myself,ya know? So i can get to learn more about the guts of this machine.

Thanks in advance,knights!

pay to do it first and watch :)

Hey guys, I'm thinking of getting a 2B bike recently and been tossing between a few models to chose from; and the TA200 is one of them. I've got a few questions to ask but before I ask the other questions, I want to have a better idea (general) 2B bike's endurance.

During my hay-days, I used to travel very long distances within a single day on my class 2. I think my record was about 5 full tanks within 24 hours. But its not speeding like a mad person kind of riding, its very relaxed 100 to 140kmh on highways. I don't think nor do I want to try that with a class 2B cos it'll be way too stressful on me even if the bike can make it. But I do want to try maybe around 800 to 1,000 km @ 80 to 100kmh within like 12hrs riding.

Has anyone completed such distances/time on the Phantom? I don't mean finish that trip and after that the bike need to do an overhaul or something. At most after finishing the trip, just do a normal oil change service. I'm asking becos I've seen a number of Malaysian 2B bikes having their piston jammed on the highway (strangely no cub cai with jammed pistons, or maybe they were light enough to be carried back home). Trust me, it isn't fun for a Singaporean and his bike to be stranded there alone.

Hey guys, I'm thinking of getting a 2B bike recently and been tossing between a few models to chose from; and the TA200 is one of them. I've got a few questions to ask but before I ask the other questions, I want to have a better idea (general) 2B bike's endurance.

During my hay-days, I used to travel very long distances within a single day on my class 2. I think my record was about 5 full tanks within 24 hours. But its not speeding like a mad person kind of riding, its very relaxed 100 to 140kmh on highways. I don't think nor do I want to try that with a class 2B cos it'll be way too stressful on me even if the bike can make it. But I do want to try maybe around 800 to 1,000 km @ 80 to 100kmh within like 12hrs riding.

Has anyone completed such distances/time on the Phantom? I don't mean finish that trip and after that the bike need to do an overhaul or something. At most after finishing the trip, just do a normal oil change service. I'm asking becos I've seen a number of Malaysian 2B bikes having their piston jammed on the highway (strangely no cub cai with jammed pistons, or maybe they were light enough to be carried back home). Trust me, it isn't fun for a Singaporean and his bike to be stranded there alone.

I would say phantom ta200 is a very durable and reliable bike. It requires little maintenance to run smoothly. The only concern I think is you will feel tired for long journey as its top speed is only ~130km/hr.

Anyway, if you don't mind the slower speed, this bike is the best candidate for long journey touring in class 2b category.

Check out this link below. This ang moh couple manage to ride the phantom and ride up to China! :thumb:

My Ride History:

1997 - 2003 : Yamaha SRE 100 a.k.a My First Love

2001 - 2004 : Yamaha Sports Y110SS a.k.a My First 2-Stroke Bike

2005 - 2012 : Honda Phantom TA200 a.k.a My First Cruiser Bike

2012 - 2012 : Honda CB400 Spec II a.k.a My First VTEC Love

2013 - NOW : Yamaha YZF-R1 a.k.a My First SuperBike :cool:

Anyone have reasonable price tow bike service number? My bike rear tyre burst, so dun think normal tow lorry can tow right? Urgent needed as my bike is at road side. Thanks alot!

u can try tis link below:

http://www.bikerescue.com.sg

My Ride History:

Is it normal for your carb to 'sweat' after a ride? Mine seems to have like water droplets condense at the carb after a long ride.

a good sign...your carb is working nicely..

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

bro mind asking why does the carb sweat?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Hi all, cn a normal balancer and throttle be fixed on phantom handle bars? I want to fix to my cb400 bt wen i called the agent they say i cn use phantom's handlebar bt wif no balancers as normal ones cant fit. Cn any1 pls advise?

Hi all, occasionally I've issues engaging into neutral gear whenever I stop at traffic junction. Does this scenario occurs to anyone here? Anything that I'll need to worry abt? Please advise.

Thanks for the replies.

Engine oil was changed a mth ago. This does not occurs all e time, whenever this difficulty occurs, e gear level is like 'stuck', and it gets back to normal when I'm moving off.

I currently own a Phantom TA200. I am looking to sell it as I am getting another bike. My only concern is that I don't know how much I can sell it for. I just want to be realistic before I post.

Some details:

It runs perfectly.

Some scratches.

Stock except for box.

COE expires Aug 14.

Thanks bros.

I currently own a Phantom TA200. I am looking to sell it as I am getting another bike. My only concern is that I don't know how much I can sell it for. I just want to be realistic before I post.

Some details:

It runs perfectly.

Some scratches.

Stock except for box.

COE expires Aug 14.

Thanks bros.

Try sgd1000 n nego. If sell to motor shop definitely lower, mayb sgd400-500.

My Ride History:

Thanks for the replies.

Engine oil was changed a mth ago. This does not occurs all e time, whenever this difficulty occurs, e gear level is like 'stuck', and it gets back to normal when I'm moving off.

sometimes you can shift into neutral only when the rear wheel is advanced to a certain position, hence the difficulty. just some quirk most of us experience. just clutch out abit and roll forward a little and try again until you find that magic spot.

if its difficult even if u roll forward for maybe a feet or two, maybe your clutch free play too much (clutch doesnt fully disengage).

recommended in specs is 10-20mm of freeplay.

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Hi, may I ask if whats the problem if usually after a long ride of more then 20km with speed 110 and bike tend to died off by itself when coming to a stop at traffic light.