afiQ said:
Ouhya. how come water can get into the tire?

haha. yst uncle Chong was pumping my front tire and he starts laughing,

then he call me come and hear the sound. Inside really do have water.

He ask me I pump air or water inside. :cheeky:

if the air pump was wet... not surprising if some water get blown in... dun pump air on rainy days! :cheeky:

dwpang said:
hey guys, i have a problem here. while i riding my ta200, i realised that when i grasp onto the engage gear handle on my left hand for 'free-wheeling', the engine got this 'tak tak tak tak' sound. any guys know what problem i am facing? thanks!

dwpang said:
esp when high speed clutch in can hear more evidently the tak tak tak tak sound. haha it feels like the engine like gona split apart man. mayb like u say its the sound produced from the knocking of the chain. any bros here have any other comments?

hmmm... tak tak tak sound...? and other than clutching in, you change gear to neutral as well...? I think its just that you have changed more than one gear at a time to reach neutral (e.g. gear 5 > gear neutral), thus the alignment of the gears were off... so the gears and/or clutch were happily grinding each other...

try changing a gear, clutch out, clutch in, then change the next gear and see if the horrible sound still remain... :cheers:

• Replies 3.6k

  dwpang said:
esp when high speed clutch in can hear more evidently the tak tak tak tak sound. haha it feels like the engine like gona split apart man. mayb like u say its the sound produced from the knocking of the chain. any bros here have any other comments?

Yeap. the knocking sound is indeed scary. But what I always do to avoid the knocking sound is when changing gear up with a bit of throttle. And when changing gear down i brake first then change gear down. Well, not every time successful. Need to get the hang of it.

"We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."

  afiQ said:
Ouhya. how come water can get into the tire?

haha. yst uncle Chong was pumping my front tire and he starts laughing,

then he call me come and hear the sound. Inside really do have water.

He ask me I pump air or water inside. :cheeky:

hahah...where is this place u pump the air??

i would avoid this air pump...looks like either their dryer is out or they dont have one...

yeah where you pump air?:angel:

actauly this is a fantastic idea to..have some water in your tyre...it will balance your tyre when u ride..

but than after a long ride the pressure will increase..auto increase...yeah maybe some coolant with high boiling point would be perfect..

i have heard of peolple putting in beads in their tyre for this purpose..

Edited by mepkoh

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

  mepkoh said:
hahah...where is this place u pump the air??

i would avoid this air pump...looks like either their dryer is out or they dont have one...

yeah where you pump air?:angel:

The last two places i remember pumping air was at Tampines SHELL near ST Hilda's Secondary School. Spend some time pumping air at there cos can't seem to inflate my tires. Then gave up and went near my house SHELL at along the stretch of road near EXPO. There was when the problem arise. My rear tire pump normally but my front tire first time put into the nozzle thingy, some water spat into my face.

So I don't know which SHELL is the cause.haha

"We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."

  dwpang said:
hey guys, i have a problem here. while i riding my ta200, i realised that when i grasp onto the engage gear handle on my left hand for 'free-wheeling', the engine got this 'tak tak tak tak' sound. any guys know what problem i am facing? thanks!

VidaK said:

hmmm... tak tak tak sound...? and other than clutching in, you change gear to neutral as well...? I think its just that you have changed more than one gear at a time to reach neutral (e.g. gear 5 > gear neutral), thus the alignment of the gears were off... so the gears and/or clutch were happily grinding each other...

try changing a gear, clutch out, clutch in, then change the next gear and see if the horrible sound still remain... :cheers:

i used to have this tak tak sound also... and its either the chain hiting the chain guard or piston problem.. ( What ahchong said)

ever since i practice what vidak did, Not to change gear from clear 5 to gear 1.. sound gone already ;-)

afiQ said:
The last two places i remember pumping air was at Tampines SHELL near ST Hilda's Secondary School. Spend some time pumping air at there cos can't seem to inflate my tires. Then gave up and went near my house SHELL at along the stretch of road near EXPO. There was when the problem arise. My rear tire pump normally but my front tire first time put into the nozzle thingy, some water spat into my face.

So I don't know which SHELL is the cause.haha

My phantom 150cc fuel cap is spoilt. ccannot lock with key, as it is stuck. Now the cap is just fitting onto fuel tank, cannot lock. If high speed kena bump on the road, the cap will fall off.

Any idea where can I get a replacement for the cap?? recond parts also can. no need to get new one. Pls advise.......

go and see a chong...the phantom specialist or the bikeyard.com

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Hey peeps, i am trying to put together a tool kit for my phantom which didn't come with it as it was 2nd hand.....:(

any kind brothers able to list down the things and the sizes to get? Tried to search liao but cannot find much info.

So far wat i gather is this

1. 1 X Spanner Size 12
  2. 1X Spanner Size 8

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

might as well buy a set of 6 to 8 pieces..from 6 to 14??

doesnt cost a lot..if u buy by the pieces very soon u find that the size u need is not there..

best to buy the one end open ended the other closed ended type..

a good set of screw drivers..dont forget the spark plug tool..

x

Hey peeps, i am trying to put together a tool kit for my phantom which didn't come with it as it was 2nd hand.....

any kind brothers able to list down the things and the sizes to get? Tried to search liao but cannot find much info.

1 X Spanner Size 12

1X Spanner Size 8

you'll need allen keys..cable ties..electrician tape..

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

  ckoonyin said:
Hey peeps, i am trying to put together a tool kit for my phantom which didn't come with it as it was 2nd hand.....:(

1. 1 X Spanner Size 12
  2. 1X Spanner Size 8

Maybe can compile a list for those who don't have the standard tool kit which comes along with the Phantom

making a switch box for additional lightings..brought a couple of switches a piece of acrylic 30x30 cm ..wiring..heat shrink..plugs all "free" from sch..the switches are supposed to light up but can't figure out how to make them work..haha ...

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/4762/img0125wo.th.jpg

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/8325/img0120jb.th.jpg

http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/8994/img0126j.th.jpg

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/472/img0121th.th.jpg

  wesone3 said:
making a switch box for additional lightings..brought a couple of switches a piece of acrylic 30x30 cm ..wiring..heat shrink..plugs all "free" from sch..the switches are supposed to light up but can't figure out how to make them work..haha ...

http://img30.imageshack.us/img30/4762/img0125wo.th.jpg

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/8325/img0120jb.th.jpg

http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/8994/img0126j.th.jpg

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/472/img0121th.th.jpg

I knew that my suspicions are correct... these switches are designed for high voltage a/c usage... although they would work normally for d/c circuits too... however, the switch would not light up as the light is generated by letting the massive high voltage current to pass through :cheers:

p.s. my switches aren't that different from yours :cheeky:

rawr...nooo..got scammed by the uncle..hahahaa.. :faint: is there any way to make it light up? like a external power source?

tested on my spare batt dosent work either.. the switch states 6A/12A250~ what does this mean?

Edited by wesone3

  wesone3 said:
rawr...nooo..got scammed by the uncle..hahahaa.. :faint: is there any way to make it light up? like a external power source?

tested on my spare batt dosent work either.. the switch states 6A/12A250~ what does this mean?

your bike's battery is 12v... you need 19 more batteries to light it up... :cheeky:

  tankee1981 said:
Maybe can compile a list for those who don't have the standard tool kit which comes along with the Phantom

Yeap, that'll be good.

So far wat i have gather is as below

1. 1 full set of spanners from size 6 - 14
  2. Allen keys
  3. Cable Ties
  4. Black Tape

anything else anyone can add? :)

Edited by ckoonyin
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg
  wesone3 said:

juz change it to a 12v bulb or if not u can use led then ur switch will light up....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

  hamsterwhale said:
juz change it to a 12v bulb or if not u can use led then ur switch will light up....

ha... I don't think he can put a led in that small switch... even if its my switch's size I think it is still difficult...

anyway he is now busy adding wires to his bike... hardworking... :clap:

Bros~~ Wonder how you guys oil your chain?

Do you guys use jet? Or simply push and oil?

What is the cheapest but good oil?

Is those commercial chain lubricant good?

-= Ride to Freedom, Freedom to Ride =-

  Cruiserian said:
Bros~~ Wonder how you guys oil your chain?

Do you guys use jet? Or simply push and oil?

What is the cheapest but good oil?

Is those commercial chain lubricant good?

I use maxima chain guard... :smile:

I used to jack up the bike... but nowadays I just lube push lube push... :cheeky:

i use cheap EO...or even 2T...someone mentioned 2T..3 bottles for $10...

hahahah...u should see my oiler..

just spend 2 minutes cleaning my chain after 3 months ride...

one of these days will visit carrefour in jb...last time saw castrol 4t selling at rm$8/L

cheapo eo..

incident:

there was once i was travelling on PIE, 130-140km/h on my meter for about 2-3 minutes consistent. Then exit PIE, slowed down.

Feel that something is wrong. After slowing down to about around 70km/h, had to throttle back to keep my speed constant at 70, but theres no reaction in the throttle, and i keep feeling the engine brake. Must turn the throttle alot, in order to feel the engine accelerate again.

Played around with the throttle, cause was trying to find the correct engine rev to meet my cruising speed, then i maintained the throttle at a point where i feel the engine brake, accelerate, brake, accelerate. aka like jerking.

Finally come to traffic light, clutch in, then engine died. Pull choke no use, turn throttle no use. Cannot start for like 15-20minutes? after the 15-20min wait, then can start already.

Then next few days, tot bike ok already, then try to ride. From home car park, go out main road, haven 2 minute, same thing happen, throttle... then the jerking thing come back again, clutch in, and yar, died again.

Anybody can help diagnose? or anyone with similiar encounter?

similar experience..cdi died..

took me 3 months to solve this and more than 10 tows to workshop..

intermitten...can start and go some where and return trip died..or as u mentioned rode for a few minutes out of condo and died..

  mepkoh said:
similar experience..cdi died..

took me 3 months to solve this and more than 10 tows to workshop..

intermitten...can start and go some where and return trip died..or as u mentioned rode for a few minutes out of condo and died..

Sorry but whats a cdi?