use this starhub utility to "troubleshoot" ur maxOnline connection speed.

Starhub speed test

personally i found that MaxOnline is OK for me. Im using MaxOnline6500, my average download speed is satisfy for me. for FTP & HTTP download i can reach 700+ KB/s, my BT ever hit 400+ KB/s.

to me, download from HTTP & FTP depend on what speed the "opponent" server give u. hope help. :smile:

• Replies 52

Originally posted by mutant_sheep@Nov 2 2006, 09:54 AM

use this starhub utility to "troubleshoot" ur maxOnline connection speed.

Starhub speed test

personally i found that MaxOnline is OK for me. Im using MaxOnline6500, my average download speed is satisfy for me. for FTP & HTTP download i can reach 700+ KB/s, my BT ever hit 400+ KB/s.

to me, download from HTTP & FTP depend on what speed the "opponent" server give u. hope help. :smile:

Thanks, it is indeed helpful.... :smile:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough

MaxOnline Ultimate:* at least 21Mpbs

MaxOnline 6500: at least 4.2Mbps

MaxOnline 4000: at least 2.8Mbps

-------------------------------

Average Transfer Rate: 5.35 Mbps

?? seems like over the "at least".. but personally it's still slow.. eg i go webbie.. surf web.. the loading can kill.. nrml webs like neopets, forums.. of cus sometimes oso depends on the server loads on the web..

haha i using singnet 10MBps. i hit 1megabyte per second on bittorrent before but they are the rare case where seeders > downloaders at a rate of 2 to 3 times ah haha. but on average for my bt is from 10kbs to 500kbs depend on torrents ba?

anyway off topic.

rias hitting on bittorrent yet?

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

if not wrong bittorent,uses multiple connections to dl,thats is why some sites dun allow this type of prog. thus it uses single connection,so its slower bah....

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

i m using 6500 normally d/l something off frm some webby ....can do abt 100+ to 800kb on average abt 300+ is common la..

but other d/l u know wat are normally below on 10kb. so i guess it all depends on our d/ling source speed its not jus our maxonline speed but i feel sometimes its slow itself too.

Yamaha LC 125 03/02 - 04/03

Yamaha RXZ 03/03 - 04/05

Suzuki Bandit VV 04/05 - 02/06

Yamaha Fazer 1000 03/06 - 10/07

Honda Blackbird 10/07 - 08/08

Yamaha Fazer 600 10/08 - 02/10

Honda Blackbird 02/10 - 03/12

after complaint so many times. finally there is a reply from starhub. :smile:

below is the email from starhub:

Dear Mr mutant_sheep,

Thank you for your email of 8 November 2006, we apologise for the

delay.

All MaxOnline customers will enjoy an automatic speed upgrade. From

28 December, MaxOnline 4000 and MaxOnline FlexiSurf 4000 will be

upgraded to speeds of up to 6,000Kbps. MaxOnline 6500 will zoom at

speeds of up to 12,000Kbps at no additional cost.

To receive the new bandwidth, you will need to do a power-cycle (on

and off the main power to the Cable Modem) on 28 December 2006.

If you have further enquires, please contact us at this email address

or fax to 6725 1603.

Best regards

Lin Guoliang

Customer Affairs

seems starhub still take their customer quite important :smile:

This year alone upgraded their speed two times. Nice....

Anyone wants the Compaq desktop? I sign contract sell full set desktop at $900. hee

Compaq Presario 64-bit desktop

Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 631 3.0GHz supporting Hyper-Threading Technology (2MB L2 Cache)

256MB/40GB

CD-RW/DVD Combo

Integrated Graphics

17" flat-screen CRT Monitor

90-day on-site limited warranty

Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition

Originally posted by mutant_sheep@Nov 20 2006, 10:32 PM

after complaint so many times. finally there is a reply from starhub. :smile:

below is the email from starhub:

Dear Mr mutant_sheep,

Thank you for your email of 8 November 2006, we apologise for the

delay.

All MaxOnline customers will enjoy an automatic speed upgrade. From

28 December, MaxOnline 4000 and MaxOnline FlexiSurf 4000 will be

upgraded to speeds of up to 6,000Kbps. MaxOnline 6500 will zoom at

speeds of up to 12,000Kbps at no additional cost.

To receive the new bandwidth, you will need to do a power-cycle (on

and off the main power to the Cable Modem) on 28 December 2006.

If you have further enquires, please contact us at this email address

or fax to 6725 1603.

Best regards

Lin Guoliang

Customer Affairs

seems starhub still take their customer quite important :smile:

great news

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by mutant_sheep@Nov 20 2006, 10:32 PM

after complaint so many times. finally there is a reply from starhub. :smile: ...

...seems starhub still take their customer quite important :smile:

you statement very contradicting leh... :sweat:

anyway, the new is already out... read here

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....howtopic=136464

After recontracting and upgrading my MOL from 4000 to 6500, I am getting my downloads even faster!

Under MOL4000: Highest rate 490KB/s, Average rate 30-150KB/s

Under MOL6500: Highest rate 790KB/s, Average rate *300KB/s

*This is my first download using MOL6500, will test out more to determine average speed. :smile:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

Starhub is a pos, but i hear from my friends that singnet is a bigger pos...

My starhub DL speed for Bt is like 1kb -5kb?! wth

Things done so far:

Brand new rear suspension, new rubbers in carbs, serviced carbs, double bubble windscreen, voltmeter, Pilot Sport tyres, Did o ring + VAZ sprokets, front brake pump, gaskets + waterpump oil seal, Maxima CoolAid, 2nd hand rear hugger, 2nd hand front brake disc, Fizz Power brake pads front and back, 2nd hand front and back rims, Yusa battery, Reconditioned 2nd hand carbs by Planet, Front sticker number plate, front wheel bearings, new clutch plates, fortuna paintwork sponsored by spastic driver, Keitin tank pad.

Need sugar mommy for : Hel brake lines and top end overhaul.

Originally posted by none@Nov 25 2006, 12:36 PM

After recontracting and upgrading my MOL from 4000 to 6500, I am getting my downloads even faster!

Under MOL4000: Highest rate 490KB/s, Average rate 30-150KB/s

Under MOL6500: Highest rate 790KB/s, Average rate *300KB/s

*This is my first download using MOL6500, will test out more to determine average speed. :smile:

How did you check the average speed? Currently using 6500..

using pacnet 512k

SG server, DL 382kb/s, and UL at only 167kb/s...

Downloading is faster than uploading...hahaaa...

indo server DL 458kb/s, and UL at 215kb/s

How come indo server faster than our local SG server?

MOL upgrade was done early :)

Connecting to Server ...

Logging on to Server ...

Starting 1st download

Starting 2nd download

Download Successful !!

Download Stats:

Transfer Time: 6699 milliseconds

Total File Size: 10240000 bytes

Average Transfer Rate: 11.66 Mbps

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

My M1 3G broadband only $22/month for 384 kbps unlimited access. Good enough for web surfing, coz most oversea website speed below 100 kbps.

I think the higher speed is important for fast paced online games only.

I would have renewed my 2 years Maxonline contract if they had given a better free gift for the $58 plan. Apart from this , their so called 4mbps are advertising gimmicks for a very selective condition only.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

mmm..i've been using wireless and he connection is sometimes FU**ED UP!..I think after my plan's over, im gonna use singnet..heard its very fast...

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

i believe starhub's surfing speed depends on ur location since its very much a bandwidth sharing concept. so if ur location has lotsa pple using MOH...blabla...

here's the catch. say a pipeline to a block of users.. starhub 'obviously' do not expect everyone to use the net at the same time, rite? so they expects some idle bandwidth of which they would squeeze in a couple more users. say a pipe meant for 10xMOH12000 users would end up having more users eg 13?15? since these pple r not expected to all be online at once. but wat happens if they try overstretching the limit?? or majority of users r doing massive downloads like we all do?? or everyone happens to be online at once?? in a nutshell, tats how ISP makes their dough.

yet, its impt for many to note tat the so called XXXXMbps means mega BITS per sec, not byte.. try dividing tat by 8 & u got ur new 'real' speed.

Originally posted by krazyfist@January 16, 2007 02:39 pm

mmm..i've been using wireless and he connection is sometimes FU**ED UP!..I think after my plan's over, im gonna use singnet..heard its very fast...

at the same time, ahem, many also do not know tat its almost always the singnet guys tat gets their a$$ burned for downloading copyrighted materials.

Originally posted by mitosis@December 25, 2006 11:56 pm

Starhub is a pos, but i hear from my friends that singnet is a bigger pos...

My starhub DL speed for Bt is like 1kb -5kb?! wth

with regards to ur slow BT dl speeds, if u r using a router, have u configured ur port forward???

i have problem surfing net.i owis nid to off e MOL modem, router n lappy.wait 15sec then on modem follow by router then lappy.

after tt can surf.izzit my lappy prob or my router or is e modem?anyway i using wireless....

2005-2006 TA150 FR36XXL

2006-2006 CBR400 FL32XXE

2006-2007 CB400 PB1 FN18XXB

2007-2010 CITI ACE110 FZ38XXZ

http://hometown-art.aol.com/htp/clipart/entertainment_and_arts/Looney32Tunes/source/porky2.gif

Originally posted by standlee@January 22, 2007 12:19 pm

i believe starhub's surfing speed depends on ur location since its very much a bandwidth sharing concept. so if ur location has lotsa pple using MOH...blabla...

here's the catch. say a pipeline to a block of users.. starhub 'obviously' do not expect everyone to use the net at the same time, rite? so they expects some idle bandwidth of which they would squeeze in a couple more users. say a pipe meant for 10xMOH12000 users would end up having more users eg 13?15? since these pple r not expected to all be online at once. but wat happens if they try overstretching the limit?? or majority of users r doing massive downloads like we all do?? or everyone happens to be online at once?? in a nutshell, tats how ISP makes their dough.

yet, its impt for many to note tat the so called XXXXMbps means mega BITS per sec, not byte.. try dividing tat by 8 & u got ur new 'real' speed.

1024Mbits = 1 Mbyte. Divide? Hmmmm :nono:

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jsDmFPg_Qm8/TKHV3JmJX_I/AAAAAAAABQc/l3AA9IAbbtI/s1600/Scan_01_Biker%2520Mice%2520from%2520Mars_8x10_RGB_BG_TX%2520copy.gif