wha lau, you jio rokok and petrol run in side here ah ??? until now still hit fly ley. ha

Hahahahaa... I talking cock lah. I have a teleconference at 11pm... JB kee lan loh. :dozed:

#ShutUp_and_Ride

• Replies 3.4k

Hi planning to buy a tourer, in terms of performance how is the tenere compared to the gsa and ktm? What is the comfortable speed for riding in north south highway for the tenere?

Hmmm.... Did I or didn't I bought a pair of Forma Nero from u? Hehehehe :p

As for your question, I'm sure there'll be plenty of diff opinions from diff people. I'll try to be as objective as possible to your queries since I don't ride a GSA nor a KTM.

For the Beemer. There's GS and GSA aircool and the all new GS water cool. Comments of the GS/GSA are usually the cost of maintenance. Parts are relatively more expensive to replace although servicing costs if done by 'outside' shops are significantly lower and comparable/similar to other makes. The Beemer uses many sensors on their machine and hearsay is that they can cause a lot of issues if they go haywire. Accessories are plentiful but maybe the makers think Beemer owners are richer so the prices are also higher in tandem. Ride wise they are as competent as the S10 (short for Super Tenere). If u have deeper pockets, I think the Beemer offers more 'branding' feel.

KTM? Which model? Adventure 990? This is a more offroad bias bike with a 21" front. KTM parts are also expensive and i think pretty much limited as compared to the other 2 unless u order online. If u do frequent offroad then this is far superior than the S10 and the GS/GSA. But on NSHW it'll not be as comfortable. Or are u lookin at the SMT or SMR? These are street oriented and quite rare in Singapore. Good for long distance ride but as said, parts are hard to come by.

Now for the S10. It's said to be best of both worlds for on and off road like the GS/GSA, but much easier on the wallet in terms of parts and maintenance. Accessories are plentiful. So much so that sometimes we are spoilt for choices. Being Japanese, u know u can trust the technology but of course there might be some issues here and there. But which bike doesn't? I did a 180+ on NSHW before on the S10 but can't say it's comfortable due to the poor aerodynamics of the bike. Personally I feel 130-150 is comfortable and the bike is competent at this range without any surprises expected. Things to note though is that the S10 is the heaviest among the lot at a dry weight of 261kg. On the move its fine but at slow offroad terrain one must really have a certain level of experience to handle this beast.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Thanks for the advise how much is the price of s10 cause I go different bike shop they quote me differently and should I buy the agent or PI bike ?

I don't know if the offer at agent HL is still on... Some shops also take their stock from HL. Looi's is one of the PI that brings in themselves that I know.

But the machine price is all around $31-32k range. All depends on what are the other goodies u can.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hey Mr Apek . . .

U too old oredi lah . Leg not strong oredi dats why e s10 is way too heavy for u . . . . hahaha !!

Smoke lesser n ride harder lah Apek oi !!

Hey Mr Apek . . .

U too old oredi lah . Leg not strong oredi dats why e s10 is way too heavy for u . . . . hahaha !!

Smoke lesser n ride harder lah Apek oi !!

Hahaha!! Speaking of this. My bike nearly topple over this morning when I reached the carpark... Used up all the strength I have left in me to hold on and upright the beast. Phew!!!

Frankly it's also very much in the mind, cos for a split sec I thought the bike confirm will drop and I almost nearly wanted to start slowly let the bike down. Then another came to me telling me to hold on and don't let it topple. And through some divine intervention of some sort I managed to hold through. Hahahhaa!!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

It is a better bike even when all 3 (KTM + BMW + S10) are combined.

Agreed... well said...

Well... To reach its own and beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. A Beemer rider will say the GS is best, a KTM owner will swear by the bike's capabilities, and S10 riders will of course endorse the bike.

The Explorer 1200 is the new kid on the block with plenty of features. And personally on the looks compartment it is better looking than the S10, KTM Adventure and the older aircool GS. But unless its the XC model, it can't be referred to as a true adv bike with the alloys.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Ohhhhh boy...u did not just say thattttt wakakaka. Here comes the storm! HCM trail on the Explorer I think is ADV enough man. U guys should have seen them. There was a GS, Super10 & Explorer. Sayang no KTM. I'm not for or against any bike makes or models here but each got its own pros & cons. Mahdi wers the HCM write up link? *peace* to all!!!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

http://sk1.yt-thm-a04.yimg.com/image/9720b100db4951d4
But unless its the XC model, it can't be referred to as a true adv bike with the alloys.

Personally, i feel that whatever we have tried before, be it Tanah Merah trail, Endau Rompin, Plentong or even the HCMT, none of these calls for a need for spoke rims. What have we not seen yet in those trails that could possibly bewilders us more? A bicycle?

Even a Honda Cub with sports rims and 'sotong' tyres can trudge on without breaking into pieces.

I have not attained a level to have the audacity to claim that the TE is not an adventure bike just because it does not come with spoke rims. I am just a normal rider on borrowed items from God.

Mahdi wers the HCM write up link? *peace* to all!!!
Here you go Sir, written by Sir Umar:-

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/376702-In-search-of-War-Relics-in-Ho-Chi-Minh-Trail-of-Laos

One thing for sure... It's that I always find it amusing when I see the locals riding their kup chais up and down the same trail as some of us did be it at Endau Rompin, Siam Reap, MHS or some beat up tracks, and wonder what goes through their mind when they see Singaporeans on big 'adventure' bikes wearing in their full gear prowling through their backyards.

I did mentioned that I never ridden the other makes hence I can't really assert their capabilities. But all boils down to what the rider expects for his machine. For me it's not only the ride functionality & capabilities, but also down to engine durabilities, parts availabilities, workshops' support etc.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

Hie all. is it really true that explorer is made up of S10/Ktm/Gsa? Im interested to get one. Which bike suits our asian region?

http://dailypop.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/union_jack_hed1.jpg

Wandi ModH8

~A Lie is A Lie,Just because they wrote it down and call it history,Doesn't make it the truth~

--------------------------------------

One thing for sure... It's that I always find it amusing when I see the locals riding their kup chais up and down the same trail as some of us did be it at Endau Rompin, Siam Reap, MHS or some beat up tracks, and wonder what goes through their mind when they see Singaporeans on big 'adventure' bikes wearing in their full gear prowling through their backyards.

I did mentioned that I never ridden the other makes hence I can't really assert their capabilities. But all boils down to what the rider expects for his machine. For me it's not only the ride functionality & capabilities, but also down to engine durabilities, parts availabilities, workshops' support etc.

Hi Apek ,

1st of all u only riden ur S10 thru endau rompin but I bet u didn't tried e whole endau rompin trails. S10 is a good adventure bike but rims be it spokes or alloy rims doesn't really matters.

When we sporeans ride our big expensive bikes n expensive gears thru all e places that was mentioned, we feel "sikit atas" . (No doubt safety is top priority) just take you for example , u going to office in e morning like going to MHS oredi . Ur S10 all souped/dolled up oredi n shd go touring more than just for posing purposes .

All adv bikes are awesome in its each own ways . The rider is e one dats makes hell lots of different !! For the four of them dat went thru e HCMT . . . . kudos to u all !!

(ps: mr Apek , no hard feelings . U know I luv u deep deep !!)

Hi Apek ,

1st of all u only riden ur S10 thru endau rompin but I bet u didn't tried e whole endau rompin trails. S10 is a good adventure bike but rims be it spokes or alloy rims doesn't really matters.

When we sporeans ride our big expensive bikes n expensive gears thru all e places that was mentioned, we feel "sikit atas" . (No doubt safety is top priority) just take you for example , u going to office in e morning like going to MHS oredi . Ur S10 all souped/dolled up oredi n shd go touring more than just for posing purposes .

All adv bikes are awesome in its each own ways . The rider is e one dats makes hell lots of different !! For the four of them dat went thru e HCMT . . . . kudos to u all !!

(ps: mr Apek , no hard feelings . U know I luv u deep deep !!)

KNN ah Mac... U kajiao me arh?! U already call me apek liao... My old bones can't take too much abuse. Hahaha!!

My bike souped up for show purpose only. Deep inside I'm a ah gua rider. Hehehe!!

#ShutUp_and_Ride

I'm actually a newbie when it comes to adventure bikes. In fact... The S10 is my first adv bike after the TDM900 and these 2 bikes are my first bikes after a 11years absence from 2 wheelers. My 'adventure' had been largely on 4wheels across the countries.

Every rider loves his ride, just like me loving every car I drove (even my Lada Samara) and every bike I owned. The S10 might be the best to some, and Papabread after his trip will attest to his so much so that to him it's better than the GS, S10 & KTM put together, while I'm sure a KTM adventure 950/990 owner will be laughing his balls out reading this... But what bike is best can only be judged by the individual cos its what the bike can offer to him that matters.

As what Mac said, it's the rider who makes the difference and brings out the best in the bike...

Maybe @hockie69 can enlighten us abit since he ridden both the S10 and the Explorer. Hahaha.... But he like retired liao no sound no picture so long.

#ShutUp_and_Ride

hey, heard that many of s10 owners are giving up their 'best adv bike'(currently) to get a triumph explorer(the 3 in 1 bike) mentioned by someone.think its

@papabread79 or sumthin. is it true that alloy/cast rims is just as good as spokes? hmm.perhaps @papabread79 considering to change his OEM triumph rims for the marchesini rims.Wooo.that'll be awesome adv bike.i wana hear his review when he does adv riding again.

and btw @papebread79 bro,how many times u ride to up to HCM trail?10 times? how fast did u go on the trail?200kph?i heard explorer can do 300kph on trail? or were pushing it thru the trail that there were barely any damage on ur 3-1 bike?(3 in 1 sounds like instant coffee. Haha)

Marc Coma oso resign sia hearing about u.u sound like a real hardcore adv rider that every trail/tour,u'll have a new bike.i wana join ur kakis can?so cool. but i

can effort to sell my bike after a single HCM trip.

Its sad to know that a there still a prick of riders who would brag just because theyve ridden up to Vietnam. Likedat,i ride to india means i got privilege to talk 'more atas' is it? doesnt mean u have a link of ur whole bedtime stories about ur HCM trail made you a aristocrat. Cheers and dun give riding ur 3 in 1 yeah!

http://dailypop.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/union_jack_hed1.jpg

Wandi ModH8

~A Lie is A Lie,Just because they wrote it down and call it history,Doesn't make it the truth~

--------------------------------------