Did you charge the batt prior u fix onto the bike, can try recharging the battery first.

• Replies 18.1k

Did you charge the batt prior u fix onto the bike, can try recharging the battery first.

His battery is a new one and charging is not necessary once the electrolite is applied. If its a new battery bought one or two weeks ago and got flatted out...than ur suggestion is right.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

His battery is a new one and charging is not necessary once the electrolite is applied. If its a new battery bought one or two weeks ago and got flatted out...than ur suggestion is right.

We nv know how long the batt is kept before anyone buys it resulting the voltage might drop slightly thus charging the new batt prior to installation ensures the batt at its "peak" performance.

hello s4 friend any kind soul out there can help me..i wanted to do servicing on 10-2-12 but i dont know what is the best engine oil spark plug and coolent to use for my servicing any kind soul can help me please

KiNkY PiNkY

We nv know how long the batt is kept before anyone buys it resulting the voltage might drop slightly thus charging the new batt prior to installation ensures the batt at its "peak" performance.

Regardless of how long the battery is stored..it's still not neccessary like what u said..as long as the electrodelite (battery acid) is not injected into the battery. Its the acid that interact with the electrode plates that chemically generate a charge to the battery. If you are referring to those that comes direct from Japan factory like those of Yuasa YTZ 10s or 12s which is FACTORY ACTIVATED..than yes..those battery shelf life span is only 3 months. Measure it with a "BATTERY ANALYSER" and not a voltage multimeter and you can read the battery internal resistance in ohms that tells you the ability of the battery to hold charge...and oso the CCA (Cold Cranking Current) in amperes of the battery. If these batteries shows a below 12.4V DC reading..it then need to be rechargeg. Other than just said..for normal battery like those from FB BS9/10s/12s (Furukawa), Shinko 10s/BS9, Yuasa YTX BS9..no one has to charge or worry about how long its' storage is as long as the acid is not mixed into the battery electrode plates. I believe Metal_Plate case is likely a new Yuasa YTX BS9 and when new..meaning the acid just added into the battery should be a fully self charge up 12.6V DC unit. He was referring to the "charging voltage" not battery charged up status.

Hope what I wrote here is not at all not too 'complex' to grapse.

hello s4 friend any kind soul out there can help me..i wanted to do servicing on 10-2-12 but i dont know what is the best engine oil spark plug and coolent to use for my servicing any kind soul can help me please

KiNkY PiNkY

Hmmm..what is 10-2-12? Check out the "Technical Oil" thread..lots of recommendation base on individual preference. Spark plug standard type will do if u r not running continous long distance ride and for coolant..they are all somewhat similar and can have mixes of brand hen topping out. Just BE SURE that no TAP water is used and that the coolant u bought is either already premixed or concentrated type where u have to mixed with distilled or deionised water.

I believe Metal_Plate case is likely a new Yuasa YTX BS9 and when new..meaning the acid just added into the battery should be a fully self charge up 12.6V DC unit. He was referring to the "charging voltage" not battery charged up status.

Meaning when acid is added, the battery will be fully self charged?

If the mech in the first place nv check/ensure the batt is at its ideal voltage, how is the batt going to charge fully if the rider always goes for short trips, meaning insufficient operating time to charge the batt.

IMO i feel the rider's batt is a YTX9BS.

Got an article to share.

How to Add Acid & Charge a Motorcycle Battery

http://www.ehow.com/how_7298832_add-acid-charge-motorcycle-battery.html

The impt point from the article: After adding the acid, you will need to charge the battery before use.

Got an article to share.

How to Add Acid & Charge a Motorcycle Battery

http://www.ehow.com/how_7298832_add-acid-charge-motorcycle-battery.html

The impt point from the article: After adding the acid, you will need to charge the battery before use.

U ae way back bro...people don't buy the kind of battery ur link shows for a S4. Tell me honestly...have you EVER bought a Yuasa MF battery like YTX or YTZ before and installed on ur own bike? If u said u have...no one is gonna believe u after all my posting to educate u.

Ur link shows things that what they do with non MF batteries. Do u know what battery a Vtec and non Vtec uses? Ok bro..I'm tired of this..go find out from ur buddies at ur favourite mototiam and them come back and tell me again.

Meaning when acid is added, the battery will be fully self charged?

If the mech in the first place nv check/ensure the batt is at its ideal voltage, how is the batt going to charge fully if the rider always goes for short trips, meaning insufficient operating time to charge the batt.

IMO i feel the rider's batt is a YTX9BS.

"Meaning when acid is added, the battery will be fully self charged? "...yes.

"If the mech in the first place nv check/ensure the batt is at its ideal voltage"...nothing to ensure..it be fully charge by itself in less than 5 mins for a electrolite activated MF battery. I have done more battery replacement to answer u this question. From what you have written and the other post with regards to this matter..anyone can tell that u never done so for a battery for a S4...prove me wrong or come over I show you. Asked some of the S4 owners...even Revo owners how I have help them replace there battery.

Btw..let us not get off topic..the issue with Metal_Plate case is talking about "charging voltage"..not battery. Even the battery is fully chrage or half dead...the charging showing less than 13v dc indicates that the coil is screwed.

Edited by Ah Pek

U ae way back bro...people don't buy the kind of battery ur link shows for a S4. Tell me honestly...have you EVER bought a Yuasa MF battery like YTX or YTZ before and installed on ur own bike? If u said u have...no one is gonna believe u after all my posting to educate u.

Ur link shows things that what they do with non MF batteries. Do u know what battery a Vtec and non Vtec uses? Ok bro..I'm tired of this..go find out from ur buddies at ur favourite mototiam and them come back and tell me again.

"Meaning when acid is added, the battery will be fully self charged? "...yes.

"If the mech in the first place nv check/ensure the batt is at its ideal voltage"...nothing to ensure..it be fully charge by itself in less than 5 mins for a electrolite activated MF battery. I have done more battery replacement to answer u this question. From what you have written and the other post with regards to this matter..anyone can tell that u never done so for a battery for a S4...prove me wrong or come over I show you. Asked some of the S4 owners...even Revo owners how I have help them replace there battery...don't know..learn..don't argue for the sake of not loosing face bro.

I have no idea u feel so offended regarding my posts, i am just sharing some info thou.

I have no intention of arguing wif u anything either, i am very surprised that you think tat way.

Which part of my posts show tat? Maybe my replies dun seems to be discussing and sharing this batt topic very conductively from your view. :(

Regarding MF or non MF, Wet or dry batt, people can buy whatever they wan within their budget.

Two of my friends ever change to wet type batt due to budget constraint.

Btw just to clarify, i do change S4 batt, check and charge if needed, not only for myself but for my friends in regardless of bike models. But i take alot of time doing it cos i prefer to do things at my own pace.

Peace out:cool:

I have no idea u feel so offended regarding my posts, i am just sharing some info thou.

I have no intention of arguing wif u anything either, i am very surprised that you think tat way.

Which part of my posts show tat? Maybe my replies dun seems to be discussing and sharing this batt topic very conductively from your view. :(

Regarding MF or non MF, Wet or dry batt, people can buy whatever they wan within their budget.

Two of my friends ever change to wet type batt due to budget constraint.

Btw just to clarify, i do change S4 batt, check and charge if needed, not only for myself but for my friends in regardless of bike models. But i take alot of time doing it cos i prefer to do things at my own pace.

Peace out:cool:

AMEN...:cool:

mr apek, im goin to thailand on my ver s next month, wat kind of spark plug good for long distance? Plus my cdi is oozing out epoxy.. Nid to change? Since im going far?

.... Thailand on our Ver S.... long distance le. Got to really check throughly before heading on the road giving you headaches. A group of frens organise a Malacca trip weeks ago i rejected, haha no confident in my Ver S.

Just throughly before u go on trips.

mr apek, im goin to thailand on my ver s next month, wat kind of spark plug good for long distance? Plus my cdi is oozing out epoxy.. Nid to change? Since im going far?

The epoxy gluely stuff is ok..in fact..it let u CDI runs cooler. At any rate, I always advise the group going up at least to bring a spare CDI for each type model just in case...same for rectifier. B4 going..just make sure all things are check like condition of rectifier connector and some others connects that invovles hi-current transist..look out for burn out drie connectors. Make sure that there is charging voltages to ur battery. As for spark plug..would recommend iridium for ur purpose and just my preference..Denso brand. Lube ur chain well and check tyre pressure..not too hi but lower than usual by 10..example usual front 250..make it 240..as u ride more than 5-10km..the pressure would expand as the air hgets hot inside the tyre for long continous riding. Last but not least..make sure ur chain is not too tight (recommended looser that specified from the manual) and make sure ur EO is good. Have fun and enjoy ur trip.

Oh almost 4got..bring along a spare clutch cable, chain lube, spare 10 amps (red) and 30 amps (green..car type) fuses and at least a size 5 allen key just in case.

.... Thailand on our Ver S.... long distance le. Got to really check throughly before heading on the road giving you headaches. A group of frens organise a Malacca trip weeks ago i rejected, haha no confident in my Ver S.

Just throughly before u go on trips.

If ur pace is at 90 km/hr to 140 km/hr...with good EO and plugs..no worries lah.

Thks apek.. Will call u soon.. For the engine oil change n if can juz wanna u check my bike.. its now or never.. Hav to go at least once in my lifetime

Always welcome. Matter of factly..most season mech from mototiam can do it lah checking bike wise but its just a question of how honest they are or value ur bike like theirs when u give them business.

i just wish one day i hit big toto and im sure i take ah pek as my werker or 2nd boss im sure ill make gd profit in future if i have ah pek by my side cheers LONG LIVE AH APEK

ah pek die hard fan

KiNkY PiNkY

I wish too. . . One day when kena 4d or toto. . . Comfirm I want ahpek to be my right hand man.

But I don't gamble sooo fat hope in this area

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

I wish too. . . One day when kena 4d or toto. . . Comfirm I want ahpek to be my right hand man.

But I don't gamble sooo fat hope in this area

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

Wah Shahrul and Kinky...u both so serious arh?....LOL! I think by then u both kena lottery etc...u be sitting in a car with ur driver mannn!..and definitely I'm not the driver.

Guys. I jus bought a version s. however, whenever i brake (front ), it will not brake smoothly n it makes the braking like jerking till the bike comes to a complete stop. Any idea what is the problem?

maybe brake hose needs changing or brake pad has uneven wearing