I can comment that

Even ur oem guage fuel meter is not accurate. Usually I will go by how many km can one full tank go. Then keep resetting the clock.

$300 - $400 vs $ 800

To me its a clear answers. To me lar that is.

Sent from my MB511 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk

• Replies 18.1k

Went fjt and was late by 5 min.. shop close cant buy my thermo sensor.. went to bikeworkz and alot of people so decided to just go home.. i hope its really a faulty thermo switch.. Called fjt and was quoted $35.. if after change still spoil lan lan must go bike shop..

Btw AHM motor got the koso meters.. Cos he recommend me that when my meter spoil.. but at last i go buy ah boy chiong one.. cheap2..

blurrrr.....................:thumb::gun:

Didn't know spec meter so expensive. Is ver s meter around same price?

http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/ae167/m0hs3n_2009/pulsar200ns.jpg

"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool."

  fi_east said:
Went fjt and was late by 5 min.. shop close cant buy my thermo sensor.. went to bikeworkz and alot of people so decided to just go home.. i hope its really a faulty thermo switch.. Called fjt and was quoted $35.. if after change still spoil lan lan must go bike shop..

Btw AHM motor got the koso meters.. Cos he recommend me that when my meter spoil.. but at last i go buy ah boy chiong one.. cheap2..

Hi bro! Sorry if i suddenly appear n interrupt the convo. How much AHM selling the Koso meters? I went around surveying for Koso RX2 & RX2N. So may i know how much they are selling? :)

  fi_east said:

Tell them "temperature sensor" not thermo sensor. If u know what it looks like..u may even find it at Sim Lim Tower..that shops selling temperature and electrical stuff at basement and 3rd floor I think..but u have to make sure the crew threads fits.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

  arsonist said:
What you say quite true but dunno whether digital meter will be as accurate, also fuel gauge will it be accurate?

anyone here installed digital meter on their s4 can comment?

Spoiled faster due to heat exposure from sun...so better cover up when park in open sunny day.

  micheal said:
Bro Pek, thank you for yr detail explainaing .

I have just come back from testing my fan.

Wow, it's work after I throttle the rpm to 8 to 11 in a stationary position .

Then I let it run a while without throttle, the fan start running, but running less then 10 second, it's stop... Izzit normal?

I didn't test until the temp red light lighten up...

Cos I afraid it will hurt the engine or block may crack....

Bro Pek, izzit before the coolant boil, the red temp light will lighten up?

Or must wait till coolant boil then will lighten up?

I have checked earlier post on "Thermal" meanings = Relating or associated with heat. All e while, I m taking wrongly( I m really sorry if I have mislead others), no such things as themoswitch, it's call thermal switch or easy way to call raditior switch :)

And also themostate and temperature sensor are both different things n serve diff function , at first I thought same...

So I think temperature sensor is not so important, as long as yr themostate is working , then yr coolant will not jam.

Hope capture all the things u share correctly.

When u said 'wrong', my heart sink....

Thanks again Bro Pek for all yr sharing.

Sorry again to trouble u...

I wan to knw more abt my bike... So tat I can take gd care of it.....

Don't worry anymore lah and no need to test further...just ride safely as long as the temp light don't comes out..u r doing good.

Tks Pek, I just ride n hope for the best :)

Anyone encounter this prob before,

When u clutch one while on the move, u can heard click click sound at the left side near mirror there or left hand side meter there.... the sound not loud, soft sound, when u let go the clutch , no sound, stationary clutch in, also no sound , only on the move clutch in got sound.... Dnt knw wat happen....

Ytd just DIY changed Blub.... Don't knw got affected anot....

Anyone got version S or proj big one meter letting go? I believe version s n proj big using the same type.....

  Ah Pek said:
Tell them "temperature sensor" not thermo sensor. If u know what it looks like..u may even find it at Sim Lim Tower..that shops selling temperature and electrical stuff at basement and 3rd floor I think..but u have to make sure the crew threads fits.

hmm, anyone has a pdf manual for our bike?, so easier for me to see the part number.. is the part number: 37750-PC1-004 - THERMO UNIT ASSY..btw, does the temperature sensor look like this??..

$(KGrHqV,!nsE8VF,VM4sBPN0Tgwge!~~60_12.JPG

thermo-unit-assy_medium13384.jpg

Edited by fi_east

  arsonist said:
What you say quite true but dunno whether digital meter will be as accurate, also fuel gauge will it be accurate?

anyone here installed digital meter on their s4 can comment?

I think most of our Ver S fuel gauge are not accurate. Relay on your full tank and how many KM u can get is the best and most accurate way. Usually 3 full tank monitor u can get your average KM/L. For me full tank can travel up to 380km before hit reserve. So relay on your KM clock is the most accurate. I thought of changing to digital although it is really tempting but, thinking that it may cock up my wiring if the mechanic is not skill and also may not be that accurate after all, still a aftermarket meter. To me stock meter is the best, if have money change a new meter. Thats my own point of view.

  fi_east said:
hmm, anyone has a pdf manual for our bike?, so easier for me to see the part number.. is the part number: 37750-PC1-004 - THERMO UNIT ASSY..btw, does the temperature sensor look like this??..

[ATTACH=CONFIG]243067[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=CONFIG]243068[/ATTACH]

Second one is correct..the first one is more like ur fan thermal switch.

  CBR888 said:
I think most of our Ver S fuel gauge are not accurate. Relay on your full tank and how many KM u can get is the best and most accurate way. Usually 3 full tank monitor u can get your average KM/L. For me full tank can travel up to 380km before hit reserve. So relay on your KM clock is the most accurate. I thought of changing to digital although it is really tempting but, thinking that it may cock up my wiring if the mechanic is not skill and also may not be that accurate after all, still a aftermarket meter. To me stock meter is the best, if have money change a new meter. Thats my own point of view.

Not so much about accuracy really..especially if it has to do with "moving" liquid as the float switch is always 'drifting. All float gauage are accurate..if the fuel or water levek don't move that's.

  ducktale83 said:
Wah..u all is fan didnt turn on,mine is after 20min slow riding confirm on..must use ahpek coolant liao..haha

Somewhere..something is making things hot.

  Ah Pek said:
Somewhere..something is making things hot.

I think the coolant no gd cos tat time change top gasket ur coolant all the mech drain out..hv to change bck to ur coolant:)ur coolant really cool dwn my bike man...

  ducktale83 said:
Wah..u all is fan didnt turn on,mine is after 20min slow riding confirm on..must use ahpek coolant liao..haha

will never go wrong with ah pek coolant. use for trip to thai and my no issue. use for 3 years plus still going strong. just top up when is below low . dont even need to flush and change new coolant.

Ah pek im tot diy my harness.. Its not to complicate to fix right? Juz replace the plugs one by one? Plus i want to change the spark plug caps coz mine is almost torn.. Can this be diy too?

Hi guys, looking for a pair of original rectangular mirror for my ver S. Anyone with an extra or old pair that is suitable for VerS, please PM me. Thanks!

  eddie_ash said:
Ah pek im tot diy my harness.. Its not to complicate to fix right? Juz replace the plugs one by one? Plus i want to change the spark plug caps coz mine is almost torn.. Can this be diy too?

Yes..not that difficult but time and the corect cable is all u need...and simple tools of course.

Seems like my top gasket is leaking.. would cost $120 right to fix?.. Also want to ask how much will a valve clearance cost?, got include service of carb in valve clearnce?.. doing my gasket change at planet or bikeworkz as its nearer my house..

20120424_225207.jpg

  fi_east said:
Seems like my top gasket is leaking.. would cost $120 right to fix?.. Also want to ask how much will a valve clearance cost?, got include service of carb in valve clearnce?.. doing my gasket change at planet or bikeworkz as its nearer my house..

Why do u need to do valve clearance..base on why and what? There is no valve clearance to do unless u need to change shims which is ur valve clearance.

  Ah Pek said:
Why do u need to do valve clearance..base on why and what? There is no valve clearance to do unless u need to change shims which is ur valve clearance.

cos the millage already hit more than 80k, thought of doing a valve clearance.. hows to know if shims need to be change?.. thanks ah pek..

  fi_east said:
cos the millage already hit more than 80k, thought of doing a valve clearance.. hows to know if shims need to be change?.. thanks ah pek..

There is no such thing as reference for mileage..just a guide and does not applies literally. When I say "guide" meaning..in other countires where there is mostly highway and never ending horizon roads where the bike is regulary used and at high speed..most engine of such just need to be monitored. Singapore road to them is like bach alley lanes. My own bike already when two rounds of the Odometer over the 16 yrs run and never need to change shims yet. When the shims (normally one or two..depends) only need to be change when they are worn out. The thickness of each shim is the 'valve clearance". They would make a excessively tick-tacking sound near your engine top head cover in prolong period..that's is the time to do a top head overhaul. S4 is a freaking hardy bike and last..like catus done need much rain in the desert. Btw..top overhaul and just to change shims is not cheap in labor..can easily cost $500+ to $600+..even more if other parts of its assembly need to be replace along with it. So..don't soo_kark_soo_kark want to change shims. Changing one or two new ones might make those less wear ones worst and depend on how experience the mech of the mototiam is. If the mototiam ahop do not have a Vernier Caliper..you better go elsewhere that has one..its forprecise shim's thickness gauage measurements.

  Ah Pek said:
There is no such thing as reference for mileage..just a guide and does not applies literally. When I say "guide" meaning..in other countires where there is mostly highway and never ending horizon roads where the bike is regulary used and at high speed..most engine of such just need to be monitored. Singapore road to them is like bach alley lanes. My own bike already when two rounds of the Odometer over the 16 yrs run and never need to change shims yet. When the shims (normally one or two..depends) only need to be change when they are worn out. The thickness of each shim is the 'valve clearance". They would make a excessively tick-tacking sound near your engine top head cover in prolong period..that's is the time to do a top head overhaul. S4 is a freaking hardy bike and last..like catus done need much rain in the desert. Btw..top overhaul and just to change shims is not cheap in labor..can easily cost $500+ to $600+..even more if other parts of its assembly need to be replace along with it. So..don't soo_kark_soo_kark want to change shims. Changing one or two new ones might make those less wear ones worst and depend on how experience the mech of the mototiam is. If the mototiam ahop do not have a Vernier Caliper..you better go elsewhere that has one..its forprecise shim's thickness gauage measurements.

Wow,sound like my bike leh..2years already got tat sound but bike still going..haha