• Replies 2.3k

how about malaysia as a safety officer/Manager ??

if you are a true blue malaysian, by all means, work in malaysia and be safety person there. no problem, you will find job there.

but i do not think any singapore company who has a project or branch office there would deploy a singapore safety officer for long term.

unless you are happy with a monthly salary package of rm3000 to rm4000?

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

Guest aircraft

If really so low then no point going there liao.

With the experience & certificate i sure ask for higher. is either take it or leave it . Is because i love the life there , And i'm from Msia last time too.

Safety Manager over there i guess it should more than just a RM4000?

i once recruited a malaysian safety manager for a wafer project in kulim for rm9700 (monthly pay) on a contract basis. throughout the project, the site management was dying to replace him with cheaper safety person.

that's reality in life.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

With the experience & certificate i sure ask for higher. is either take it or leave it . Is because i love the life there , And i'm from Msia last time too.

we always wish to return to our homeland after much experience and education, to contribute our part and do our role, but our home country may not need our type of skill and thus, they will not compensate accordingly.

i always dream that we singaporeans can be an expatriate in some other developing countries.... afterall, we are highly trained and qualified, experience and hardworking ppl being cultivated and nurtured in a developed, advance nation like singapore.... just like the many angmohs who came to work in singapore in our early years of nation building.... given big package which includes housing, transport, wife and children allowance, hardship allowances, air ticket etc etc etc.... how come when it is our turn, they say we are too expensive?

any one care to enlighten when our ministers are paid millions (and they still claimed that they are underpaid) and we are just trying to make end meets?

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest Jay_R1

Being in this line..ive seen many a time someone with drive and passion just go down the drain due to lack of company suppport and instead twds productivity. Another batch is those who hear stories from friends and join the bandwagon for e $ and just slack there hoping for "Jackpot". Then we have those FT who will willing take $1800 and werk 7am-10pm for 'S' pass and in no time the sgporean doing it for $3000 will be outta job.

Being a certified SS is not a prob...but getting a job and werkin for the RIGHT company is the tough part...and dun even think bout joining BIG PLAYERS less ur experienced and know the right string to pull...Then u can see $$$...

Eg - New Dad lifestyle. Wake up 6am. Reach work 7am (kid sleeping)

return home 10pm(OT makes it shiok) - Kid sleeping...Wife tired...Sat SUN OT will make u wanna werk for $$$...but where is the FAMILY LIFE?

True $ talks..but for how long? All about cutting costs nowdays.. and FT invasion.. not to be mean but ive seen FT SO w/pri 5 standard english

Mostly Safety are employed to meet MOM requirements. Go onside then see the politics..

Last but not least...

Not everyone can be a good safety personnel... and not all safety personnel is gd.

What come 1st? Safety 1st !

Guest Jay_R1

MArket being spoilt now la...ever see S.Sup getting 1.2k !!! WTF ! but u also get Sups earning 8k...LOL...tatz e diff between Heaven & Earth...

i am happy for the safety sups who earn 8k. but sad to say that doesn't last long.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest aircraft

I think the pay depends on the sector and company. SS quite difficult to get 8K now, coordinator and WSHO still can ba...

Now Coordinator will need advance cert right ?

Guest aircraft
coordinator either have to own a Certificate in WSH or Advance certificate in WSH .

Oic, thanks. Like tat most would not go for advance cert already, unless they wanna go for WSHO someday

The old safety coordinator cert cannot go take specialist dip meh?

Dun scare me leh....

-= I live my life a quarter mile at a time. =-

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Prankster_Siggy.jpg

Guest aircraft
The old safety coordinator cert cannot go take specialist dip meh?

Dun scare me leh....

Can lah, but that is obsolete already. I'm referring to current market.

I think the pay depends on the sector and company. SS quite difficult to get 8K now, coordinator and WSHO still can ba...

Now Coordinator will need advance cert right ?

of cos only the oil and gas can pay lah but hope they are not doing it out of ignorance.

wsho want to make 8k a month oso must look out for opportunity in oil and gas. only this sector is able and willing to pay such salary. for your info, oil and gas don't need wsh co-ordinator.

for construction industry only:

bcss (building construction safety course for supervisor) is a course for all site supervisors or foremen at construction industry.

safety supervisor (ss) for construction no longer a requirement as all site/trade supervisors will and shall double up as a ss. in another word, there is no value for ss. when a blanga worker can pass the course, what value do you think the job worth? it is only upon the request of the main contractor or client that a separate ss shall be provided to supervise workers on site. otherwise, the safety of workers will be directly upon the shoulders of their site supervisor or trade foreman.

the construction regulations require projects with contract sum less than $10m to engage a wsh co-ordinator. this is where the value comes. die die the main contractor needs to engage a wsh co-ordinator. if the contract sum is $10m or more, a wsh officer is needed.

bear in mind that wsh co-ordinator is only needed for building and construction projects. other sectors do not need the wsh co-ordinator. it is therefore naturally and necessarily for wsh co-ordinator (or ppl who are taking the course) to pursue the role of wsh officer in time to come.

industries which continue to engage ss for their processes are either living under the old factories act or got money but no where to spend.

worksites who continues to engage ss likely they need an extra pair of eyes. most likely a pair of "foreign" eyes. you can't pay well as it is not a legal requirement but an internal need.

just like wat they said, if you can't be a mm, don't be a ss.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest aircraft

Hi cstay66,

Appreciate your sharing of knowledge.

Actually according to the legislation, a lot of companies beside the construction worksite needs a WSH coordinator. e.g small time general contractors providing services including constructing/ installation of platforms, ramps, in fact anything, no matter how small the projects are.

But I don't see any of my contractors engaging coordinators, just an issue of enforcement.

Hi cstay66,

Appreciate your sharing of knowledge.

Actually according to the legislation, a lot of companies beside the construction worksite needs a WSH coordinator. e.g small time general contractors providing services including constructing/ installation of platforms, ramps, in fact anything, no matter how small the projects are.

But I don't see any of my contractors engaging coordinators, just an issue of enforcement.

as long as the contract sum is less than $10m, they need a wsh co-ordinator. so for a minor job that requires a factory licence to carry out, you (the occupier, or the main contractor) need to employ a wsh co-ordinator.

sub-contractors, as long as they are not the official occupier, no need wsh co-ordinator lah. bear in mind, wsh co-ordinator is for main contractor only. don't make subcon engage wsh co-ordinator or you will see so many of them running around, doing nothing. liddat, safety career becomes worthless.

enforcement? just any how empower a bangla worker and make him a king on site and he can enforce what you want lah. once again, no need wsh co-ordinator.

Edited by cstay66

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest aircraft
as long as the contract sum is less than $10m, they need a wsh co-ordinator. so for a minor job that requires a factory licence to carry out, you (the occupier, or the main contractor) need to employ a wsh co-ordinator.

sub-contractors, as long as they are not the official occupier, no need wsh co-ordinator lah. bear in mind, wsh co-ordinator is for main contractor only. don't make subcon engage wsh co-ordinator or you will see so many of them running around, doing nothing. liddat, safety career becomes worthless.

enforcement? just any how empower a bangla worker and make him a king on site and he can enforce what you want lah. once again, no need wsh co-ordinator.

What minor jobs requires a factory licence? Is it the > 2 months requirement ?

I was told by a MOM trainer that even a 1 day minor installation job needs a coordinator (either the contractor or occupier must provide). Although it doesn't seem to be a financially viable rule, but that's how the law is written.

By enforcement I meant by MOM on Occupier/ main contractors.

What minor jobs requires a factory licence? Is it the > 2 months requirement ?

I was told by a MOM trainer that even a 1 day minor installation job needs a coordinator (either the contractor or occupier must provide). Although it doesn't seem to be a financially viable rule, but that's how the law is written.

By enforcement I meant by MOM on Occupier/ main contractors.

if there is a retrofitting job (such as renovating of hotel rooms) for less than 2 months, and you choose not to apply for a factory licence or the client does not require you to apply for factory licence, then forget about the wsh co-ordinator thingy. however, bear in mind that the wsh act still make the contractor liable for safety whether or not you register the workplace.

more than 2 months duration for a similar job? pls register the workplace. it's the requirement of the act and regulations.

but piling, demolition job (and more to that, pls check out the registration of factories regulations), even take less than one week, you jolly well apply for factory licence. and while you fill up the licence application form on line, there will be a blank for you to fill in the wsh co-ordinator's name.

the mom trainer you came across is the typically kiasu type. if what he said is correct then all hdb renovation work less than 2 months also must apply for factory licence liao.

still didn't get what you mean by "enforcement"?

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Guest aircraft
if there is a retrofitting job (such as renovating of hotel rooms) for less than 2 months, and you choose not to apply for a factory licence or the client does not require you to apply for factory licence, then forget about the wsh co-ordinator thingy. however, bear in mind that the wsh act still make the contractor liable for safety whether or not you register the workplace.

more than 2 months duration for a similar job? pls register the workplace. it's the requirement of the act and regulations.

but piling, demolition job (and more to that, pls check out the registration of factories regulations), even take less than one week, you jolly well apply for factory licence. and while you fill up the licence application form on line, there will be a blank for you to fill in the wsh co-ordinator's name.

the mom trainer you came across is the typically kiasu type. if what he said is correct then all hdb renovation work less than 2 months also must apply for factory licence liao.

still didn't get what you mean by "enforcement"?

You got a point regarding the HDB reno.

Yes. Unless you want to be WSHO one day. U got to take this advance lo! If not you can stay with Certificate in WSH as a Coordinator in the company.

Guest Jay_R1
Yes. Unless you want to be WSHO one day. U got to take this advance lo! If not you can stay with Certificate in WSH as a Coordinator in the company.

Advance cert than qualified to be Coord... Cert in WSH is just basic to replace BCSS/OPSS

Oil/Gas also need WSH Coord if ur company is service provider eg. civil/mechanical/scaffold/insulation..

SS can earn 8k if big player, contract and just main con/client over see subbies..

some companies sup/coord just a term but same jobscope...