Harley Riders gather

Guest easyrider

Originally posted by Swing 7777@March 13, 2007 12:38 pm

hmmm...below 1500 like idling speed...lol..hmm..for me i do harder run in...i tink its better on the bike...sumthing like hard running in...dun fire or shoot me!! i`m just stating my pt of view!!

Wah fierce~~ :sweat:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Current ride: Harley Wide Glide, Aprilia Tuono V4R

I have check out some exhaust webpage in the net, very interesting.

Seems like in the US there are many shops selling staff on-line, any of you guys have reference? :smile:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Originally posted by gohjohan@March 13, 2007 11:15 am

low is below 1,500 RPM. I've lugged my engine before when I was running in, so I'm afraid that it'll also be bad for the engine. 7,500 km so far and it's still going strong.

Wow Johan, thats fast to reach 7500km!! mine's still stuck at 4000++...

guess i muz join u guys more often for RIDES!! :lovestruck:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/TMAX-3.jpg

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e73/ChrisCheong8800/DSC_3871-1.jpg

'Old ladies in the Midwestern US...now have to pay higher taxes to finance...Wall Street's Maseratis. That's horribly immoral - and bad economics.'

Jim Rogers-19/20/08

Originally posted by Ah Fai@March 13, 2007 11:59 am

Well, I just hope it will not be too serious. :pray:

Because I think most of us are too concern about revving too hard will spoil the engine, yet lugging will also do damage to the engnie too~~

Aiyaya, I better go dealership later after work to check with the mech, must share with them my worries, hehehe :D

I believe the key word in the manual is "prolonged". Something to do with the engine oil being pumped into the engine instead of a passive dry sump. So lugging reduces delivery of engine oil and thus it is bad. I think short periods should be fine.

I've asked my sales person, and he basically said that just ride normally when breaking in, don't have to worry.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

Any H-D audiophiles here replaced their exhaust with the 07 "Screaming Eagle Street Performance"? How does it sound compared to stock?

Originally posted by cgl@March 13, 2007 02:37 pm

I believe the key word in the manual is "prolonged". Something to do with the engine oil being pumped into the engine instead of a passive dry sump. So lugging reduces delivery of engine oil and thus it is bad. I think short periods should be fine.

I've asked my sales person, and he basically said that just ride normally when breaking in, don't have to worry.

Well, then from now onwards I will try to rev a bit higher for 4th gear before changing to 5th gear, to avoid the tak tak tak sound :smile:

Originally posted by cgl@March 13, 2007 02:45 pm

Any H-D audiophiles here replaced their exhaust with the 07 "Screaming Eagle Street Performance"? How does it sound compared to stock?

'H-D audiophiles' chim... ur '07 "Screaming Eagle Street Performance' exhaust.. I think my pipes got Screaming Eagle wording there..regarding street performance... not too sure got performance... but drink alot of petrol for abt 17km/L... scare huh....

ANY kind soul can recommend a THICK PADDED gloves.... for what else..... the vibrating sewing machine!!! Dunno its just me or the bike?

How to load a picture here?

Originally posted by n@kan0@March 13, 2007 02:24 pm

Wow Johan, thats fast to reach 7500km!! mine's still stuck at 4000++...

guess i muz join u guys more often for RIDES!! :lovestruck:

Nakano.... there's alot of rides coming out... will still sms u when there's ride... till u ask me to stop... :cheeky:

How to load a picture here?

I just came from Dealership

Was asking Mech the same question that I posted in the forum (lugging issue)

What they told me is for a 70km/h travelling speed, a 5th gear is too high for that speed, yet 3rd or 4th gear is ok for 70km/h. Travelling at 5th gear at 70km/h will stress the engine.

Walau A, I said like that engine die liao loh. :faint: They say the engine is ok one, engine is built to last, ask me not to worry :sweat:

So from now on~~ I whack it like how I whack my Z1000, anyway what done is done, I blame myself for not asking the mech when I first got my toy & must blame the bike doesn't come with tech meter, hehehe :D

Your opinion :smile:

Originally posted by TTL@March 13, 2007 05:50 pm

'H-D audiophiles' chim... ur '07 "Screaming Eagle Street Performance' exhaust.. I think my pipes got Screaming Eagle wording there..regarding street performance... not too sure got performance... but drink alot of petrol for abt 17km/L... scare huh....

ANY kind soul can recommend a THICK PADDED gloves.... for what else..... the vibrating sewing machine!!! Dunno its just me or the bike?

Can go Chiap Lee to check out the gloves, near Mustafa shopping centre. :smile:

haha, vibrating sewing machine, I feel the same especially 5th gear, leg hand body also vibrate :giddy:

Wow, a minor discovery.

I read the manual again, and hey, there is a small box stating the upshift (acceleration) gear speed table~!! ( :slapforehead: blame myself again not to read the manual fully)

1st to 2nd --- 25km/h

2nd to 3rd --- 40km/h

3rd to 4th --- 55 km/h

4th to 5th --- 70km/h

5th to 6th --- 85km/h

Heng tio~~ I still travel the within 10km/h difference, hopefully that doesn't mean I am riding & lugging at the same time :sweat:

Edit to add: Hey I like this~~ As the manual says:

The shifting points shown in the tables constitute a recommendation. vehicle owners may determine that their own individual shifting patterns may differ than those stated and are additionally appropriate for individual riding styles

Originally posted by Ah Fai@March 13, 2007 07:04 pm

I just came from Dealership

Was asking Mech the same question that I posted in the forum (lugging issue)

What they told me is for a 70km/h travelling speed, a 5th gear is too high for that speed, yet 3rd or 4th gear is ok for 70km/h. Travelling at 5th gear at 70km/h will stress the engine.

Walau A, I said like that engine die liao loh. :faint: They say the engine is ok one, engine is built to last, ask me not to worry :sweat:

So from now on~~ I whack it like how I whack my Z1000, anyway what done is done, I blame myself for not asking the mech when I first got my toy & must blame the bike doesn't come with tech meter, hehehe :D

Your opinion :smile:

Nice meeting you at the dealership today dude.

Born to be Wild : Steppenwolf (1968)

07 models or rather efi models have softer n more tame exhaust sounds compared to the carbs 1...tt's wad the sales personal frm the dealership n mech frm the dealership told me la..changed to screaming eagle also...still not as loud...very tame..erm,but the muffler still can remove..but i tink it`ll be too obvious..haha..coz mine is baloney cut

Owned: Nsr 125 SP,CBR 400 RRL,Fazer 600 '04,ST1100,Runner 200 VXR,VFR800 ABS '05 + X8,XP500 BlackMax + KSR 111,Copen 660T, FXSTB Night Train Custom,YP250 Classic Limited,HyperMotard S ,Golf GTI DSG Mk5 ,MX-5 NCEC PRHT + W124 220TE, E92 325XL ,Golf GTI MKVI ,'08 XP500 [4B5] ,AE 101,ZC31S ,DC5 , NCP42

Current : Tmax 530

Originally posted by wild i@March 13, 2007 10:37 pm

Nice meeting you at the dealership today dude.

Hey pal, nice meeting you too :smile:

Guest fengdrew

hey another new harley in e house.. welcome welcome..

TTL, oso must jio me out for rides hor..

haven been riding w u guys for some time le..

Originally posted by Ah Fai@March 13, 2007 08:54 pm

Wow, a minor discovery.

I read the manual again, and hey, there is a small box stating the upshift (acceleration) gear speed table~!! ( :slapforehead: blame myself again not to read the manual fully)

1st to 2nd --- 25km/h

2nd to 3rd --- 40km/h

3rd to 4th --- 55 km/h

4th to 5th --- 70km/h

5th to 6th --- 85km/h

Heng tio~~ I still travel the within 10km/h difference, hopefully that doesn't mean I am riding & lugging at the same time :sweat:

Edit to add: Hey I like this~~ As the manual says:

The shifting points shown in the tables constitute a recommendation. vehicle owners may determine that their own individual shifting patterns may differ than those stated and are additionally appropriate for individual riding styles

Strange, that's what I have in my manual too, except that I don't have a gear 6!

When I ride nowadays, I add 10 km/h to their recommendation. Sometimes I even drag the 3rd gear to 80 km/h when I not in a good mood!

Originally posted by TTL@March 13, 2007 05:50 pm

I thought most H-D owners are also "audiophiles" that love bassy "bum bum bum"?

I'm talking about the new 07 "Street Performance" exhaust, read somewhere that it is less loud than SEII and some say it improved their mileage. Guess few in Singapore had installed it.

My mileage, without mods, is not that good too. Hovering between 18.5 km/l to 20 km/l. Tried hard but can't get it pass 20 km/l. 3 months and clocked 3600km already and still not any better.

Nevertheless, I love my vibrating sewing machine!

Originally posted by cgl@March 14, 2007 10:33 am

Strange, that's what I have in my manual too, except that I don't have a gear 6!

When I ride nowadays, I add 10 km/h to their recommendation. Sometimes I even drag the 3rd gear to 80 km/h when I not in a good mood!

Bikes from this year onwards have 6 gears. I think there's a light somewhere that will come on when the 6th gear is engaged.

Originally posted by cgl@March 14, 2007 10:33 am

I have spend an hour yesterday to browse through the net/yahoo answers/oversea forum, about the issue of lugging. Very imformative, overall stating that lugging of engine is more harmful than revving it high :help:

But there is a point I noticed when reading through foreign HD forums, let me quote:

1) if riding in slow speed with high gear, yet can smoothly increase the speed without changing gear, that is not lugging, the rider is just running the engine out of its powerband.

2) if riding in slow speed with high gear, yet cannot smoothly increase the speed where the rider must down shift the gear to acceralate, that point is lugging.

3) Most HD riders lug :faint:

These are some points I read through..

Yes, even foreign HD forumers state that if the rider follows the manual table given by HD, the rider will feel lugs, adding 10km/h is safer bet. :smile:

Has read throught Yahoo answer, there is a issue on Compression Test

Says that it is a test to see weather your engine is healthy or not.. Any of you guys know where to get this test? :smile:

Is Compression Test = Dyno Run :confused:

Originally posted by gohjohan@March 14, 2007 10:51 am

Bikes from this year onwards have 6 gears. I think there's a light somewhere that will come on when the 6th gear is engaged.

Yes, there is a little-cute-green 6 at the meter screen.

That will appear when you engage in 6th gear include you fully let go of the hand clutch. Engage in 6th gear with clutch pull back will not light up the little 6 light. :smile:

Originally posted by Ah Fai@March 14, 2007 11:15 am

Yes, there is a little-cute-green 6 at the meter screen.

That will appear when you engage in 6th gear include you fully let go of the hand clutch. Engage in 6th gear with clutch pull back will not light up the little 6 light. :smile:

Interesting, this light. Thank you for the other info, Ah Fai :smile:

Originally posted by gohjohan@March 14, 2007 10:51 am

Yeah, all Sportsters are still stuck at gear 5, even though the rest had moved on to gear 6.

There is an inner desire in me for a 6th gear though, or how can I explain I keep wanting to kick up from 5 on the expressway. Feeling the Dynas calling me....

Originally posted by cgl@March 14, 2007 11:31 am

Yeah, all Sportsters are still stuck at gear 5, even though the rest had moved on to gear 6.

There is an inner desire in me for a 6th gear though, or how can I explain I keep wanting to kick up from 5 on the expressway. Feeling the Dynas calling me....

Go for it~~ yeah :cheer: