Based on the forum recommendation when to service my bike (5 yrs old) at Planet at Ubi last friday. Before the service, everything was except changing gear when engine is hot - due to previous owner top up to 1.2 litre for engine oil.

Was waiting there for an hour and did nothing, so when for lunch. Come back, bike is de-oil, chain tighten, air filter out. Change filter and Motul EO 10W40fully syn is $36. Expensive. On the day itself, find the half clutch position is too far, idling not smooth and engine misfire!. I thou' normal. So today, ride again (after a week). Shocked! bike cannot idle! engine when dead even after running for 10 minutes. I have to keep throttling to keep the engine alive!. Worst, one in a while at low throttle, engine go 'pop' 'pop', misfiring. It is obvious the idling spped is set too low and the valve timing was set forward causing mis firing.

Anyway, I am giving them the benefit of doubt since bros here say they are good and hear what they have to say tomorrow.

i shall break down on wat symptoms u had which u can rectify on ur own...

if u plan to go to planet for svcing...do it in the morning where its less crowded and hence almost total attention being spend on it...keep kpkb to e boss say u really need it urgent and he'll start %#*$%# his workers...

pop pop sound is very common, wanna know wats call backfiring???eva heard a harley whack and close the throttle??? google and see wats backfire

ur bike cant idle, u simply tune e idle switch or u juz adjust ur clutch cable freeplay...

valve timing can be retarded or advance, but how do u know???unless u use a timing meter...care to explain???did they take out ur timing chain???

alright hope this above mention helps

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

• Replies 3.9k

haha... if i leave my house at 8.50, I'll be early by 5 min.. ^_^

wher u leave sia?

dun tell me tp hq?:giddy:

jus kiddin..

liddat leave ard 9 la..

jus nice..come abt 9++

aniwae hope the ts has solve the prob..

.the Raven travels alone.

bro planet tune S4 carb for how much?any other hidden cost like wear n tear?

plz advice ty

Thank you all bros for the advise. Went back today to check. Apparently the choke was broken and it was glue back together and it so happened to give way completely yesterday. It probably was halfway dislodge during the servicing. From the broken joint and the super glue used, can't really tell when it was glued back. It may be already broke when I bough the bike 3 months ao. Anyway pay $15 to get a new choke.Like one bro say, just 'suay'

Yes, would agree the shop do take pride and responsibility for their work. As for the EO, don't mind using any fully syn 10w40 and it so happened that Motul is $20 out of the few options given ie. from $18 to $22. As phantom is a 4T engine, can use those for car and it is less than $20 per litre for a good one.

Thank you all bros for the advise. Went back today to check. Apparently the choke was broken and it was glue back together and it so happened to give way completely yesterday. It probably was halfway dislodge during the servicing. From the broken joint and the super glue used, can't really tell when it was glued back. It may be already broke when I bough the bike 3 months ao. Anyway pay $15 to get a new choke.Like one bro say, just 'suay'

Yes, would agree the shop do take pride and responsibility for their work. As for the EO, don't mind using any fully syn 10w40 and it so happened that Motul is $20 out of the few options given ie. from $18 to $22. As phantom is a 4T engine, can use those for car and it is less than $20 per litre for a good one.

Glad you have your problem fixed. :)

U mentioned Phantom is a 4 stroke engine and can use car EO? I dun think so man...the viscosity is different amongst other things.

I am with you man!!!

Been going to Planet for the last 5 years, after being utterly disappointed by some other bike shops in Singapore.

Zero complaints.

Reasonable prices, friendly boss, just damn good.

5 years with Planet says a lot more than 1 isolated case.

Perhaps the threadstarter just plain suay.

Wait for his reply after he go back Planet today.

i stay in the west, rain or shine

i will still go send my bike to Ah Chong

been patronising him since 1996.

Ah Chong not stingy with bike knowledge

he even can joke "next time u know how to do yrself den knn i cannot do business"

If he know u well, u will even throw all kind of jokes under the sun.

Best part he dun carrot or ketuk u.

things can use he will @%*# u not to waste money go n change

if other shop ah dun say la

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b361/Blackhonda666/IMGA0691.jpg

Doctor Ah Chong

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

yup..

the motul is quite ex leh..try maxima la..i think cheaper..

Planet is always bz, the best time to come is at 9.30 if u can wake up one la..

thats my fav timing..relax..can talk2 to ah chong and the rest of the mechs..

haha very true. can talk **** sing song

my personal record is from 830am to 830pm staying there

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

thats great that everything is settle!

ah ching saved the day..

ah ching? new mech ah?

typo leh..:cheeky:

ah chong..

when read back oso, whu da hell is ah ching?

blackhonda, what u do sia until 12hrs liddat at planet..

Glad you have your problem fixed. :)

U mentioned Phantom is a 4 stroke engine and can use car EO? I dun think so man...the viscosity is different amongst other things.

Beg to differ. All 4 stroke engines are the same. The different between car and bike is car engine is more precise, more bells and whistles e.g. variable valve timing, swivel piston. also API andSAE stds give the same viscosity. There is no stds as per se for engine for car, bikes, boats or even planes.

For bike engine, especially 2b bike, the engine is less precise and ramp to 8k plus rpm. As such it may not take lower viscosity oil such as 0w30 since car engine is lower rpm and more precise.

also 2b bike tend to use EO for the clutch operation hence has to be careful on what additive was added in EO that may be bad for the clutch.

furthermore 10w40 are multi-grade oil meaning it has different viscosity levels.

In conclusion i believe can use and will do it for my next service. Just make sure is another 10w40 without the following additives:

1. grahpite

2. molybdenum.

Beg to differ. All 4 stroke engines are the same. The different between car and bike is car engine is more precise, more bells and whistles e.g. variable valve timing, swivel piston. also API andSAE stds give the same viscosity. There is no stds as per se for engine for car, bikes, boats or even planes.

For bike engine, especially 2b bike, the engine is less precise and ramp to 8k plus rpm. As such it may not take lower viscosity oil such as 0w30 since car engine is lower rpm and more precise.

also 2b bike tend to use EO for the clutch operation hence has to be careful on what additive was added in EO that may be bad for the clutch.

furthermore 10w40 are multi-grade oil meaning it has different viscosity levels.

In conclusion i believe can use and will do it for my next service. Just make sure is another 10w40 without the following additives:

1. grahpite

2. molybdenum.

I second that

Cars oil or bike oil is the same thing in terms of viscosity.10W 50 is the same for car or motor. Just make sure it has SH classification which i for petrol engines.

Personally I am using Mobil 1 10W 50 5Litres for $53. The maths are simple with 1 L. ~12-13$, fully synthetic

Cheers and sorry for going a lot off topic

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

There is sure to be a reason behind those price right? Everybody knows how to do maths.

Most motorcycles engine oil have addictives to prevent clutch slippage.

Correct, its almost the same thing, but even if some might not contains addictive that can damage your clutch friction plates, but does it contains addictives that optimise wet clutch operation. When almost all bikes are using wet clutch?

I am unsure, but i am just doing some thinking after i read some post here.

There is sure to be a reason behind those price right? Everybody knows how to do maths.

Most motorcycles engine oil have addictives to prevent clutch slippage.

Correct, its almost the same thing, but even if some might not contains addictive that can damage your clutch friction plates, but does it contains addictives that optimise wet clutch operation. When almost all bikes are using wet clutch?

I am unsure, but i am just doing some thinking after i read some post here.

mark, you can ask the DR. for us loh ... hahaa... His answer sure tok gong one. :lol:

typo leh..:cheeky:

ah chong..

when read back oso, whu da hell is ah ching?

blackhonda, what u do sia until 12hrs liddat at planet..

Lick ah chong balls hahahahahha

no lah do my bike lor, i wanna hands on and learn

dats y i stay whole day

So when I go planet to do my servicing, I have to look for Ah Chong isit? Won't the other mechs have nothing to do if everyone finds him only?

Sorry if that's a stupid question I'm gonna bring my bike for servicing for the first time...

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
So when I go planet to do my servicing, I have to look for Ah Chong isit? Won't the other mechs have nothing to do if everyone finds him only?

Sorry if that's a stupid question I'm gonna bring my bike for servicing for the first time...

ah chong is like the main man of the shop, the all powerful leader of his clan..hahaha..

no la, u go there..tell ah chong what u want la..

den if he's free he do up ur bike..if nt any mech free will do up la under his instructions.

usually servicing no major task one..

Hey guys...i think we should divert all our chit chat abt ah chong & planet to the Planet thread..

since its already available for a long time...

Furthermore, the TS has solved his problem leh..

dun buy anything 1st..basically clean the shop so it can be more frenly to customers and a better environment to work n visit..IT LOOKS LIKE A RUBBISH DUMP no offence but juz advice to get more ppl to patronize

NSR250F3,NSR250MC21SP,NSR250MC28SP,ZXR400R,CBR400 NC29,ZXR750RK,M,GG250

looks dont really matter. and besides, he has more than enuff customers.

just ask him to help check ur bike as u just bought it. then he'll go 1 round and tell u if theres anything wrong or not.

http://pics.livejournal.com/itsnotmytime/pic/0000d38qhttp://pics.livejournal.com/itsnotmytime/pic/00009csy/s320x240

honda nsr150sp - FS1*1*G

yamaha 125z - FY5*7*E

U scroll on top at posting #37

see that pic and look for that fella

U scroll on top at posting #37

see that pic and look for that fella

dun flame me plez where is planet address once again? and wat bike they specialise in ah?:cheeky:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment