I have switched to Esso-Mobil since they started the ruling,,,

am a happy user of their speed pass now.

not only don't have to get off to pump, I don;t even have to get off to pay

For you O Lord, will bless the righteous; with favor You shall surround him as with a shield. Psalm 5:12

• Replies 268

Originally posted by enfant@March 19, 2007 02:05 pm

we are constantly improving in this society and many changes are being implemented for our own wellbeing. there were many things that were dangerous in the past but people were IGNORANT about such dangers until technology and science came into the picture. now that we are equipped with such knowledge, why should we choose to be ignorant ?

I agree fully with you about the benefits science and technology in battling ignorance but there's a science to the simple act of pumping petrol into your tank? It's not that hard. You either sit or get off and pump petrol in. Why all the commotion about not letting us pump while sitting on the bike? It wasn't the issue but now it is because, all of a sudden, it's just not safe anymore when authority says so.

What's next? Not letting taxi drivers shake their taxis during top up because petrol might spill off?

Whatever it is, as aiya4 said, adhere to the "house rules" or go elsewhere. It's as simple as that.

Current Rides:

FEB 07 -> NOV 08 [CBR 150]

AUG 08 -> AUG 12 [XJR400]

AUG 12 -> ??? [DUCATI MONSTER 696]

maybe ask riders down 2 pump is becoz scared some petrol will be spilled out n kena our pants/shorts/jeans, den ppl hu smk go out light fire, hu knows tat hab spark luckily kena tat spot n cause fire. maybe tats e point.

went down to pump at shell again at bukit timah kiosk, attandant ask me to get off i said "ok, no problem you pump, i go pay" his face not very happy but he still pump while i went in and pay, will try again went tank is empty,

Like that when ever they ask you to get off and pump then you ask them to pump.

everybody happy except attandant, who got more work.

Originally posted by Lonewolf@March 29, 2007 03:11 pm

went down to pump at shell again at bukit timah kiosk, attandant ask me to get off i said "ok, no problem you pump, i go pay" his face not very happy but he still pump while i went in and pay, will try again went tank is empty,

Like that when ever they ask you to get off and pump then you ask them to pump.

everybody happy except attandant, who got more work.

Ahahaha.... You're the best! I go try this out. Ask them pump for me.

Actually i think the focus of this thread got kinda distracted along safety and equality lines, that car drivers dun have to get out and its a safety measure in our interests.

These are important things. I used to sit on my bike. After glancing thru this thread i understood the regulations.

I thought the thread starter was peeved about his individual rights more than anything else. I felt he posted because he was pissed he is being told to sit ot stand when pumping, which is what led him to go to Esso instead.

In my opinion, this could have been an advisory notice. Each driver does what he wants. Whats the point of double standards implementation? Its not as if fire risks while pumping are that high. Advisory notices at pumps to dismount or get of the car would suffice. We are after all, responsible for our own safety. Its more likely we get hurt on the road then from sitting on our bikes and pumping. So whats the big deal with some idea the petrol men came up with. I laugh at them.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

I fill at the local Shell station because it's handy.

I always get off the bike because it suits me to - I fill my own bikes because I care for my paintwork more than any attendant.

And the time to pay the cashier, put on gloves, put on and secure helmet and remount the bike gives me time to get my 'Ride Mind' spinning up so I'm ready to focus when I ride off.

YMMV...

sometimes is not we don wana come down n pump.. is because some bike don hav main stand like sport bike.. if we put side stand how do we pump to full?? i myself find it difficult to pump while sitting but no choice , else we onli pump half tanks nia.. unless they offer things like the attendent hold the rite side of the bike for us, so that it is straight up.. then i nvm... rite??

that time the attendent ask me to come down politely, so i LL cause he speak nicely...actually i was thinking of asking thr guy to hold the bike for me.. but nv.. hhaaha

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1150/1426483839_2b47be539c_o.jpg

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Originally posted by zell_teo@March 29, 2007 10:04 pm

sometimes is not we don wana come down n pump.. is because some bike don hav main stand like sport bike.. if we put side stand how do we pump to full?? i myself find it difficult to pump while sitting but no choice , else we onli pump half tanks nia.. unless they offer things like the attendent hold the rite side of the bike for us, so that it is straight up.. then i nvm... rite??

that time the attendent ask me to come down politely, so i LL cause he speak nicely...actually i was thinking of asking thr guy to hold the bike for me.. but nv.. hhaaha

wah, ur side stand beri side wor. wif side stand can onli pump 1/2 tank. :giddy:

@ most get oso few more ml nia.wun b xtra 2-3l rite?

Originally posted by ZzGaNgStErzZ@March 29, 2007 10:15 pm

wah, ur side stand beri side wor. wif side stand can onli pump 1/2 tank. :giddy:

@ most get oso few more ml nia.wun b xtra 2-3l rite?

:cheeky: i comp my bike wif others.. mine side stand abit lower.. i tired pump on side stand, most i pump is 12L if straight is about 16L.. sorri for stating half tank :sweat: .. 4L can how to run min extra 80km... so no need to visit them so offen... hehe.. then how u pump your s4 bro?? esp if wana calculate the km/L

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Originally posted by Lonewolf@March 20, 2007 12:22 pm

I was not angry about their ruling, I was angry that they off the pump while i was already pumping.

My argument is, to tell me politely after i finished pumping or advise me that there is a safety hazard or in the future do not sit on the bike, but NOT switching off the pump halfway thrue me pumping the tank, when i am paying them for the fuel.

Or at least have a sign that indicates that they will off the fuel if we sit on the bike.

ONLY Shell has this ruling, personaly i find their fuel better then the rest, but that has made them too confidant, the first post of this tread was more then one year ago still no gov ruling or BBQ disaster at the other petrol stations.

If their customer service is so good, then i might as well ask the attandent to pump full for me and walk off, read mags and pay. I think i am going to do that, next time the ask.

Usually for me, the pump attendants volunteer to pump petrol for me.. So u can ask dem to do for u, if u r lazy or watsover :) Its all abt how u behave n stuff.. if u show attitude they gonna show it.. if u r nice they wil be nice.. u respect them they respect u.. simple as dat.

Originally posted by zell_teo@March 29, 2007 10:28 pm

:cheeky: i comp my bike wif others.. mine side stand abit lower.. i tired pump on side stand, most i pump is 12L if straight is about 16L.. sorri for stating half tank :sweat: .. 4L can how to run min extra 80km... so no need to visit them so offen... hehe.. then how u pump your s4 bro?? esp if wana calculate the km/L

Errr.. so after you pump 16L of full tank, then u put on side stand and go cashier pay rite? then whr do the extra 4L goes to?? dun tell me the tank is fully seal and the petrol will get topped like a bottled coke coz most, if not ALL, the bike comes with a breather/overflow outlet for excess petrol to flow out.

I had experience pumping FULL tank with me straddling the bike upright, but then when i come out from the cashier, the breather hose was dripping petrol...

Hope your bike do not have the same prob as my lousy bike... :sweat:

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

i also came across this recently..was sitting on my bike abt to pump in when the pump attendant told me in a very rude manner to get off my bike b4 pumping.as such,i told him to pump full tank for me while i stand there looking at him pump..after he pumped finished,i took my own sweet time in wiping my tank clean before walking to the cashier to pay up.before i walked towards the cashier,he told me to push my bike aside as he needs the pump area to be cleared in case any car comes in..i told him if there is any car behind is impatient,tell them to knock my bike down n i will take care of the rest..double standards for bikers i guess..

Originally posted by mat-vtech@March 31, 2007 03:37 pm

i also came across this recently..was sitting on my bike abt to pump in when the pump attendant told me in a very rude manner to get off my bike b4 pumping.as such,i told him to pump full tank for me while i stand there looking at him pump..after he pumped finished,i took my own sweet time in wiping my tank clean before walking to the cashier to pay up.before i walked towards the cashier,he told me to push my bike aside as he needs the pump area to be cleared in case any car comes in..i told him if there is any car behind is impatient,tell them to knock my bike down n i will take care of the rest..double standards for bikers i guess..

bloody double standard......! :mad: so far i haven met anyone like this in Shell. Though me myself have the habit to side stand and pump, cos the handle of the pump thingy too biggie liao, i tried sitting and pump but keep hitting my stomach (PS: I'm not fat hor.... :mad: ). so everytime have to stand beside pump...

but i hate the idea like everytime i go to any pumpo station, the pump guys will say "Need help not......?" (In a doubting tone) Like as if i cant lift up my phantom like that.... :sian: KAO!!!!! As if im too small size for the bike.... so off topic! :offtopic: KPO!!!!!!

- i pump shell cos nearer to my place... but actually which brand makes any difference? lets say V power and 98? :offtopic:

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/bikesmall.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/Image006-1-1.jpg

Flaws Imperfects My Perfection

waaaa... will catch fire when pump petrol de ah? omg.. i always sit on bike then pumpp..

im in a very dangerous situation sia.. hmmz..

199x TZR125

199x TZR125 again

200x GSXRR400

200x CBR400

2007 RVF400

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a251/arvthon/avatar/yamaha_gen-ryu.jpg

My FuTuRe BikE !!!

Originally posted by scooterist@March 31, 2007 05:32 pm

but i hate the idea like everytime i go to any pumpo station, the pump guys will say "Need help not......?" (In a doubting tone) Like as if i cant lift up my phantom like that.... :sian: KAO!!!!! As if im too small size for the bike.... so off topic! :offtopic: KPO!!!!!!

wa pian a.. u female ma.. ask ard the male riders, does the pump attendents help us?? no man.. female everytime profit...:smile: mayb ppl c u pretty wana woo u le?? u nv know .. hahaha.. think if u ah ma, think the guy don even bother u.. hahaha..:cheeky:

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

once i pumped at the new Shell station at Loyang.. dunno if it's cuz it's a new station or wat.. when i stopped my bike there.. one of the attendants came to my bike n asked me wat petrol i wanted and he helped me to pump while i was sitting on the bike.. while pumping.. he juz directed me to the cashier.. hehe.. ups for the attendant.. :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

Originally posted by nGuOrEn@April 01, 2007 06:10 am

once i pumped at the new Shell station at Loyang.. dunno if it's cuz it's a new station or wat.. when i stopped my bike there.. one of the attendants came to my bike n asked me wat petrol i wanted and he helped me to pump while i was sitting on the bike.. while pumping.. he juz directed me to the cashier.. hehe.. ups for the attendant.. :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

wa.. so good ah... think not the place new.. is the guy newbie la... hahaha.. :cheeky: last time i work at shell too.. the lao ah pei onli help those ppl who will give tips pump petrol.. super kiam pa..

oct05 - oct06 runner 200

oct06 - july07 vtec1

july07 - ?? runner200

may09 - ?? vtec2

Went to 2 shell along geylang road, the pump attendant just tell me politely that not sitting on bike while pumping petrol, I just dun pump there and rode off.

I do notice that they had install surveillance video cam that can see every single pump. My stand is that i will just not pump when ever they tell me cannot sit on bike and pump petrol. Any way singpaore got so many petrol kiosk.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w221/tricker_juan/Tricker/DSC00476.jpg?t=1177510513

I Been riding her since 2005:angel:

I think it is a good idea to get off the bike for one simple reason. If you overflow your tank, it will run down and get petrol all over your pants. It takes about 10 minutes for the family jewels to start burning from being soaked in petrol. Don't ask me how I know.

Originally posted by Strong Eagle@April 06, 2007 09:39 am

I think it is a good idea to get off the bike for one simple reason. If you overflow your tank, it will run down and get petrol all over your pants. It takes about 10 minutes for the family jewels to start burning from being soaked in petrol. Don't ask me how I know.

I'm with you on this too! Make it a habit.

It's for your safety guys.

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/1-112.jpg
Originally posted by Strong Eagle@April 06, 2007 09:39 am

totally agree. frm day 1 i get off e bike n pump petrol.