Which is the most effective way to keep thieves away  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the most effective way to keep thieves away

• Install alarm
    • Using additional locks
    • Avoid parking at isolated place

off track a bit.... another rzx owner just had his front wheel stolen, this morning.. poor chap. police was there, but don;t think they can help much.. (btw, happen @bt batok ard blk 13*)

onething for sure, the parking lot for the bike are not well lit. better to park in the well lit lots as per mentioned by dexus, even though you've to walk extra 20meters.

looks like my plan to 'delay' the alarm will need to scrap. gonna look for 2 way alarm immediately liao...

oh.. lastly, curse the bas***d, who stole from others... hope he suffer twice as much as the owner. :smile:

• Replies 67

Originally posted by mechwira@Mar 17 2005, 11:50 PM

QUESTION: Will putting a lock on the ERP unit deter thieves or izzit gonna attract thieves?

Mechwira hi there,

For your question "YES" it will attract the thief- it is a matter of twisting the lock only it's opens, same time breaking the the IU plastic lock holder.

This things ever happen to my friends!!

As for your IU unit the best thing is to buy those bungy cord key chain or those key chain with a long chain with a cliping hook its about $2 to $2.50 sometimes can find it at pasar malam or hardware shops---whenever you use the cash card(IU)- hook the key chain to it, from your ignition key (the chain is long enough), this will be the best reminder for those(riders) who seldom enters CBD area.

Don't waste time on those mini locks...! unless you have some kind of plain to ambush :confused: that ass*ole..he,he,heee!

Or another Option ~(If you have the Xtra$$) go to seng kwang(SK) ask them to modify like an extension from the IU base plate-support(SK's) the lock part like 'U or C' bracket covering the locking area (covering the rear and the sides of the IU locks' hole) only exposing the front so you can open it, when you use the lock, the lock need to go thru the rear steel plate! the thief have no chance to twist to break the IU unit lock...with the use of bike alarm helps more!!!

I hope you get/understand what I'm saying....!

Silverghost... o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by Jupri123@Mar 18 2005, 12:44 PM

off track a bit.... another rzx owner just had his front wheel stolen, this morning.. poor chap. police was there, but don;t think they can help much.. (btw, happen @bt batok ard blk 13*)

Hi Jupri123,

For those bike likely things to be stolen if can scribble your bike numbers on it. It will help alot to prevent or deter -thieves after he saw your bike number on it...!

For expensive common rims 'If ' can stamp using the number punch bike number on it may help...only a suggestions! I never expect rims also, people want to steal..! (bonus comes with a tyre).

Stamping can be done on exclusive exhaust cans unless it have a sserial number to follow up...!

Hey jupri123- it is good that you put up the place, block numbers , time roughly and things get stolen -it will help other riders to look out or to stay alert...!this can get a witness/rider passing by during that time! or may have seen something!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Mar 18 2005, 01:26 PM

Mechwira hi there,

For your question "YES" it will attract the thief- it is a matter of twisting the lock only it's opens, same time breaking the the IU plastic lock holder.

This things ever happen to my friends!!

thanx for the warning. i not worried so much bout the lock, $1 only no big loss, but if the fella damage my unit trying to break the lock gonna be dam troublesome.

and thanx for the cord suggestion too, except that i ride a TA150 and if you know where the ignition is on the TA150, that idea not gonna work haiz..... but idea ah, my next bike i'll do that thanx.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by Fragile@Mar 18 2005, 12:37 AM

cover your bike with a very dirty bike cover. those kind that with any physical contact and it will dirtied your hands..

i guess will keep theft away.. cos they wont be bothered to lift up the cover.

wouldnt that dirty your hands all the time? :confused:

befriend ur neighbors and get them to watch things...

luckily my neighborhood consists of pretty friendly peeps.

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

Guest Y()HJI
Originally posted by Keynes@Mar 15 2005, 08:05 AM

How about in Malyasia?

I believe it is notorious of motor vehicle thefts.

If park in hotel, if we give some tips to security guards to pay more attention to our bike, advisable? I have not tried tt before.

How abt Malaysia public carpark? Shd we totally avoid?

Anyone has experience parking in Malaysia and would like to share?

hmzzz......be honest,even though what alarm u install or how many lock u have put is still equal to zero.tat will only let those thief to take longer time to take away ur bike.If ur bike is their target they will still steal ur bike no matter what sh*t is on ur bike...as a malaysian i see this happen before at KL batu cave...got a biker just go to dapao something after a few minits time his bike kena stolen!the biker was so surprise tat he tot tat install alarm is the better way to prevent bike thief(depend of place also lah)i don't think s'pore have so jialat lah...no to say malaysia dangerous the only thing is malaysia "Mam da" all sleeping and the place too big liao gua.

talk about put more lock on ur bike,i don't think got so many ppl will do tat if u going to bring ur "GAL GAL" go out or go clubbing as well.Don't tell me when u reach the place already then u start lock ur bike wif another few lock....will feel paiseh rite.later the gal will say only a bike what! why put so many lock then u will just forget it and park down there rite(tat's what i think lah)

Em....i think the better to prevent tis happen at car park is ask HDB put cam(but it won't happen)ahaha..

Install a bomb, take the as*hole out. wun mind trading a total loss of my bike for his life. :sweat:

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Mar 26 2005, 09:19 PM

Install a bomb, take the as*hole out. wun mind trading a total loss of my bike for his life. :sweat:

u al-qaeda trained huh???????????

:sweat: :sweat:

why not ambush hime wif a platoon of armed guards.........

:gun: :gun: :gun: that bas***d .....

alarm is the best..... keeps the cats away oso..... or else they scratch ur seat...... :giddy:

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2003 - HONDA CB 400 VTEC I

2004 - HONDA TELEFONICA MOVISTAR CBR 1000 RR4

2005 - SUZUKI GSX 1300RX HAYABUSA

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2007 - HYUNDAI GETZ 1.6 FL

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

will feel paiseh rite.later the gal will say only a bike what!

I wouldn't feel paiseh if i were you... Rather than potentially losing a bike easily, it's better to make it harder for the thief...

I'm a cantankerous lugubrious weirdo. Enraptured by stone walls. Demented by love. Disparaged by my own soul. Besieged by languor. Suffered from acute distress triggered by terminal boredom and elucidation of rhodonderons and deciduous seedlings. Searched for serenity amidst the chaos but failed miserably.

Originally posted by mechwira@Mar 17 2005, 11:50 PM

QUESTION:

Will putting a lock on the ERP unit deter thieves or izzit gonna attract thieves?

i just bought a small lock at pasar malam, tested it and it fit nicely. i intended to just leave it there (without cashcard inside obviously) so anytime i use cashcard, the extra effort will remind me to take out plus if i still forget, well its locked. i very rarely go pass erp gantry, so those few times i put in, confirm i forget take out. and confirm gone........

but when i alk away from bike, it suddenly occurred to me that placing the lock there might end up attracting thieves who will think i leave cashcard inside and lock the unit. i then considered leaving it there a few days see if it end up broken; then i'll know. then i realized fella break the lock no worries but if the lock realli good its my erp unit he's gonna break........

so i wanna ask if anybody tried this method before. typically would-be thieves will see lock and decide not to waste time and effort in breaking, or they really even more determined?

hey..

i did exactly what u did.

"jus buy a lock n leave it there..."

the funny part is when i left the lock there without a cash card, nothin happened..

but one day when i went shopping at marina square, i forgot to take out the cashcard, but even tho i realised afterwards, i din really care cos the lock was there rite?

wrong! i dunno how, but the a****** actually knew a cashcard was inside(i even blocked the view of the cashcard with a piece of paper!!)

knnbccb..the plastic supposed to hold the lock was broken, and cashcard gone...

damn ****ers got a cashcard detection device is it?

dunno la...thieves will always be thieves, so jus be more carefull...

locks, no point..

Originally posted by binkaboink@Apr 5 2005, 02:38 PM

damn ****ers got a cashcard detection device is it?

Lol... i always wonder too... those fellas r damn good...

I just can't do it... dun talk abt looking at other bike's IU for cashcards, i dun even remember to look at mine most of the time...:giddy:

I guess bikers hv to live with tat... you see, with too much deterrence(locks), the frustrated thief can simply push your bike over, dent your fuel tank or do some other nasty stuff... haiz...:mad:

IMO still think its best just to cover the bike wherever u park... out of sight out of mind... stay low profile...

My Dream bike ~ ~ ~ ~ http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b54/Spenx75/mospeada3.jpg

how about keyless ignition systems?this way without our card or fingerprint they can never ever start the bike.

Originally posted by kona@Apr 20 2005, 09:44 AM

how about keyless ignition systems?this way without our card or fingerprint they can never ever start the bike.

Hi there,

If the thief or thieves are interested in your bike they carry the whole bike put inside the van and drive off -this is normal in Britan... malaysia is nothing new with this tactics...either -with blaring alarm or ton of locks.. they either remodify the whole bike or take as for spare parts...:faint:

In Britan they lock their bike to a lamp pole, railings or few bikes together if they can...

We are lucky that we are in Sgp...dare enough to park anywhere...! not bothering about thief so much but worry about Aunties with the grey hat..he,he,he...!

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

i think the best way to prevent thef...

dun make your bike stand out...

stay low profile..

i dun think is real safe...

last time i park my bike at hotel...

the carpark of carema...

so i think it safe to park my bike there afterall there a camera...

so i stupid stupid lock my helmet on my bike...

and when i came back...

SAD!!!

my helmet gone...

so i go to the guard room to see the camera...

hiaz...

sad...

those LUCKLY Basxxxx.....

did not manage to get they number plate down...

hiaz....

those cheapstake assxxx...

i park my bike outside cineleasure...

so many bike....

so many people...

they also dare to steal my windscreen...

really dam sad lay....

hiaz...

wat is the world becoming?

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Park in a public place. With many people walking past. Safest bet

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/vjjam/SBFpic3.jpg

Bikes Owned Previously : Aprilia RS125 / Suzuki GSX 400RR / Aprilia RS250 / Honda Phantom TA150 / Yamaha YZF-R1 2004 / Yamaha X1 2005

Bikes Owned Currently : Yamaha YZF-R6 2006

Sponsorship by : SPA TREASURES

but sometimes the place you are going in itself is quite isolated..what to do?

take my house for example..its already quite quiet...

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Mar 18 2005, 02:16 AM

There're 4 common things you can do to deter theft.

1) Park in a well lit spot where many ppl pass by in the day, and is visible from many points at night (hopefully your house windows, or a street)

2) Install a good alarm, with good shock sensors and ultra loud siren... and arm it when you park... :p

3) Get a brake disc lock. Real strong one.

4) Cover your bike. Make sure it's tied up tight enough that undoing it will set off the alarm if armed.

Basic things. But used together, provides an effective deterrence. Of course, if someone really wants your bike, it's probably a goner... but at least this will stop small time crooks.

Oh yeah... there is a no. 5....

5) Get at least TPFT (3rd Party Fire & Theft.... aka 2nd party) insurance in case ALL ELSE FAILS.

3) Where to get a strong brake disc lock? Any suggestions? Thanks!

u can try xena disk lock...

looks quite strong and reliable...

I'm a cantankerous lugubrious weirdo. Enraptured by stone walls. Demented by love. Disparaged by my own soul. Besieged by languor. Suffered from acute distress triggered by terminal boredom and elucidation of rhodonderons and deciduous seedlings. Searched for serenity amidst the chaos but failed miserably.

tink alarm will deter small time thiefs who go after helmets, parts, etc...

but will not help much in the event where big timers wan the whole bike....

putting extra locks is not a bad idea but where and wat to lock? tyre to fork, fork to handle, handle to tank, tank to frame, frame to seat, seat to fork, fork to tyre again??? and if forget to remove??? will it get in the way during riding??? will it cause accident???

cover is one of the best and cheapest option.... once the bike is covered, others not sure wat bike it is... take extra time to uncover = risk of getting caught....

the longer time a thief spend on a bike = higher risk of getting caught.....

brightly lited area, lots of human traffic, all good ideas... but it is not possible to find such ideal parking place all the time.... even tings get stolen at cine carpark.... tat place well lited, lots of human traffic rite....

long time ago, me had a mini lock on my IU wif my cashcard inside... park at PS... went for a movie... cum back cashcard gone.... my IU cover was broken.... dunno how the thief did it.... btw it was broken nicely somemore....

nowadays, me got myself a Cash Card Reminder, buzzer goes off when cash card is in IU and key is at off..... tis remind me to take my cash card....

my 2 cents worth...

Life is too short to be complianing............

1996 - Yamaha TW200

1999 - Suzuki DR350R

2003 - Honda XR400R

Now - Aprilia Atlantic 200

http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01008_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01003_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01004_0088.jpg http://www.aprilia.com/upload/modelli/scooter/t/p01006_0088.jpg

Ask Aprilia a Question Here....

Ride a piece of "Junk", nobody steals a piece of junk right?

Just joking lah. :smile:

Seriously, I would say avoid parking in multi storey car park.

Open car park with lots of human traffic is safest.

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

one day i found my bike lying on the floor on the side.. some coolant leaking out..

so what the heow happened?

i found out the sponge grip that put on the levers.. $3 type.. was halfway taken out of the lever...

the stupid thief worth $3 tried to pull out the spongegrip and ended up pulling my bike onto the floor... realising the mess the created he ran off...

What The Heow....

http://www.jdmcivic.com/v4/images/mainimage.jpg

ok part 2...

i had to fix the damages... a mirror, balancer and footpeg...

scratches on fairings... unfixable..

2 days later...

the $3 thief was back.. determined to succeed this time.. he brought some oil lubricant with him.. managed to steal my $3 spongegrips...

left me with 2 levers full of oily stuff...

what the heow again....

http://www.jdmcivic.com/v4/images/mainimage.jpg
Originally posted by jonathanlim@Jul 12 2005, 05:14 PM

tink alarm will deter small time thiefs who go after helmets, parts, etc...

but will not help much in the event where big timers wan the whole bike....

putting extra locks is not a bad idea but where and wat to lock? tyre to fork, fork to handle, handle to tank, tank to frame, frame to seat, seat to fork, fork to tyre again??? and if forget to remove??? will it get in the way during riding??? will it cause accident???

cover is one of the best and cheapest option.... once the bike is covered, others not sure wat bike it is... take extra time to uncover = risk of getting caught....

the longer time a thief spend on a bike = higher risk of getting caught.....

brightly lited area, lots of human traffic, all good ideas... but it is not possible to find such ideal parking place all the time.... even tings get stolen at cine carpark.... tat place well lited, lots of human traffic rite....

long time ago, me had a mini lock on my IU wif my cashcard inside... park at PS... went for a movie... cum back cashcard gone.... my IU cover was broken.... dunno how the thief did it.... btw it was broken nicely somemore....

nowadays, me got myself a Cash Card Reminder, buzzer goes off when cash card is in IU and key is at off..... tis remind me to take my cash card....

my 2 cents worth...

May I know how much does the cashcard reminder cost? Where did you get it installed at?