[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

I dunno coz didn't bother to bring to repair. Everytime I kana is during heavy rain...just stop under some bridge, take out the plug n clean it..put back can ride off again. Haha. The most later on I change the plug. $6 nia.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

If you're scared, bring your bike to a couple of motordiams to see what they say. Don't commit to just one.

okay.. noted. thanks.. :thumb:

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/205650/images/300x200/2848almeriaij070-01.jpg

..i lovin' it..:thumb:

ya apparently so.. :( any idea how much it costs to repair?

FOC, unplug e spark plug cable and blow into it real hard, and fix it back on, so once ur bike is satisfied, it'll fire up...sheesh

anyway u can try using those white tapes dat seals piping and wound it a few times on e sparkie's thread and it'll sorta provide a water proof seal, but not 100% fool proof though...

wan 100% water tight, use silicone easy to remove also...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

FOC, unplug e spark plug cable and blow into it real hard, and fix it back on, so once ur bike is satisfied, it'll fire up...sheesh

anyway u can try using those white tapes dat seals piping and wound it a few times on e sparkie's thread and it'll sorta provide a water proof seal, but not 100% fool proof though...

wan 100% water tight, use silicone easy to remove also...

but try not to overdo the white tape thing, cuz if u wrap ard e whole thread ur spark plug also wont come to live, cuz of open connection cuz by e white tape...

J. P. Morgan

but try not to overdo the white tape thing, cuz if u wrap ard e whole thread ur spark plug also wont come to live, cuz of open connection cuz by e white tape...

o.O so the white tape will reduce contact point, therefore power loss?

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
o.O so the white tape will reduce contact point, therefore power loss?

it'll not reduce contact point, but scared cover all e contact points den no current flow den sian

J. P. Morgan

icic.. i scared is later power loss cos lesser contact point.. :cheeky:

okie i need to study liao.. :giddy: monday and tues exam sia.....

I dunno coz didn't bother to bring to repair. Everytime I kana is during heavy rain...just stop under some bridge, take out the plug n clean it..put back can ride off again. Haha. The most later on I change the plug. $6 nia.

Hey PKs, so is it common for TA200's engine to die off shortly after ignition... when ur bike is parked unshelthered in a rain?

Cos my bike engine died after I started it.. and it was raining. I had to throttle a fair bit to ensure the engine doesn't die off.

My spark plug is the $5 kind from Ah Koon's..

Hey PKs, so is it common for TA200's engine to die off shortly after ignition... when ur bike is parked unshelthered in a rain?

Cos my bike engine died after I started it.. and it was raining. I had to throttle a fair bit to ensure the engine doesn't die off.

My spark plug is the $5 kind from Ah Koon's..

Is it a one off event or always happen at this type of scenerio?

If it's one off, then could be some rain water got to your spark plug.

If always, either it's not installed properly, or the seal or something is spoilt. Get it checked. $5 or not, doesnt matter. Even a $15 plug also will give problem f water gets in there.

Is it a one off event or always happen at this type of scenerio?

If it's one off, then could be some rain water got to your spark plug.

If always, either it's not installed properly, or the seal or something is spoilt. Get it checked. $5 or not, doesnt matter. Even a $15 plug also will give problem f water gets in there.

I just got my TA200 late last mth.. so rather early to tell. But so far that's just once. Happened after I left my bike parked in the rain. I usually park under shelther. So quite likely is what madman says.. water-ed spark plug. Thanks!!

Another noob qn!!

My mileage/litre seems 'wanting' for a TA200. So far i calculate abt 28km/l dunno whether correct anot. I take total distance travelled from last gas top up divided by litres pumped in today. What could be the reason for this? I drive quite si-wen. Max speed 80-90km/h. But maybe i pickup from zero to move off quite fast. Tyres are 200 kPA both front n back.

I pump Shell 95. Using Motul Semi-Syn EO. How can I improve my mileage???

Another noob qn!!

What is the right gear to use for what speed? I see the Phantom manual... nvr write!

1st gear: ?? - ?? km/h

2nd gear: ?? - ?? km/h

3rd gear: ?? - ?? km/h

4th gear: ?? - ?? km/h

5th gear: ?? - ?? km/h

6th gear: ?? - ?? km/h

ehh dude yr tyre pressure, i am using 220 front and 230 rear, some recommend around this..give it a go perhaps?

for yr gear and speed, i don't know how to tell ya but well you rev till you hear the high rev sound or maybe go by feeling to ride? cuz everyone has a different style. the gear/speed thingy stated in yr btt book from driving centre roughly there or maybe different..you choose ;)

Err, some noobie question bout TA 200

How long before should I change my EO? what is the difference between mineral, full synthetic and semi sythetic oil?

As for the chain, what is the difference between O ring and X ring? The mech said my chain is making alot of noise so gotta change, he offered x ring at $160.

Even after changing EO at my usual motor tiam, the gears are still quite hard to kick up, feels like as if never change EO like that.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

econbizer, i think you miscalculated. Try jB's suggested tyre pressures and see. As for which speed for which gear, i suggest just go by feeling.

I have the best signature.

Thanks jB and YasMan,

I'll give the tyre pressures a shot! I was thinking maybe coz I occasionally pillion ride.. so that will prob affect FC as well.

I'm currently using motul semi-syn.. I'll give other brands a shot n c if got improvement..

I always pillion my gal around and my FC isn't adversely affected. If you do pillion regularly, you'll have to check your chain's tension on a regular basis...more often than not that's where you get your loss of power.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Err, some noobie question bout TA 200

How long before should I change my EO? what is the difference between mineral, full synthetic and semi sythetic oil?

As for the chain, what is the difference between O ring and X ring? The mech said my chain is making alot of noise so gotta change, he offered x ring at $160.

Even after changing EO at my usual motor tiam, the gears are still quite hard to kick up, feels like as if never change EO like that.

i've used some a lil above average(not so ex either) maxima fully syn at 18 bucks (ah koon) liddat and now using some cheapo $3 EO from ah boy(think not even semi)..some brand called ultilube or sth..white bottle..bet your gear changing can never be as bad as mine now LOL..

imagine kicking down gear and the lever never "click" then you can't engage anything and have to kick down and try to lift up a lil to engage..dunno how to explain..just use at least semi then you'll be at ease..they all reco maxima :thumb:

how yr mech know about the noise? you never lube? i believe some still debating whether x or o ring is better :cheeky:

Thanks, I never lube until the mech told me my bike's chain is making noise, Hell, I got no idea how he know my chain is making alot of noise.

he quoted me $160 for x-ring which I got no idea whether if its cheap or not.

Anyway, i just changed my EO for $17, semi-syn at some neighbourhood motor tiam and my bike felt better.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Thanks, I never lube until the mech told me my bike's chain is making noise, Hell, I got no idea how he know my chain is making alot of noise.

he quoted me $160 for x-ring which I got no idea whether if its cheap or not.

Anyway, i just changed my EO for $17, semi-syn at some neighbourhood motor tiam and my bike felt better.

semi syn for 17? IMO u kena tok... i changed castrol gold semi syn at planet for 12.. :cheeky: