Do you wear gloves to ride?  

425 members have voted

1. 1. Do you wear gloves to ride?

• Replies 271

i never wear glove last time... whole hand alot of scar alr

but one day i saw a very nice looking pair of gloves at motoworld n i said "wah" and bought it

so now i wear glove everyday. cause the glove is very cool (to me that is) :p

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Protective Riding Gears are to be used for riding!

Not for comfort, not for fashion, not for showing off your financial capability.

Neither the brand nor the price tag of the gear is going to determine the level of protection. When browsing for your gears, consider the material and strength test the product. Looking handsome or pretty in front of the mirror are for gays.

Would you drive a Go-kart on the highway? My analogy is to mock at driving a car without airbags and a roof suspended by the A & B pillar. if you won't, why ride with no protection?

Insufficient funds? Load of crap to me. Everyone fell in their life. Either by foot, cycling, sports or riding. There's no *touch wood* burn joss stick miracle to float you up in a fall. Don't empty your bag of luck. There ain't no top ups. Majority of motorcycle on the road looks aesthetically impressive. Does it come free? Seat wraps, Vinyl Sticker, paint job, replacing stock mirrors for cool looking sets, renthal bars, streetfighter looks, chrome this chrome that, matt black this matt black that, red theme, black theme, pink theme, the list goes on.... all that was mentioned does nothing to performance in braking, traction nor stability. we are all culprits of tipping our financial scale for beauty over purpose.

There is an unspoken aura of respect and guilt while at the junctions, meeting a fellow rider with basic protection (FF, armour jacket, glove, boots & jeans) and our eyes naturally roll down to the machine that they are straddling over.

Sports, Tour, Street, Dirtbike = Logical.

Scooter, Cruiser,

Does the gravel feel different when you fall from different objects?

Heat and discomfort when the gears are donned will be eliminated when the wind blowing and the adrenaline is pumping.

Riding only starts becoming Fun when worries are off our minds.

very well said..

for me, gloves is definitely a must.. it's a higher priority than a FF..

Protective Riding Gears are to be used for riding!

Not for comfort, not for fashion, not for showing off your financial capability.

Neither the brand nor the price tag of the gear is going to determine the level of protection. When browsing for your gears, consider the material and strength test the product. Looking handsome or pretty in front of the mirror are for gays.

Would you drive a Go-kart on the highway? My analogy is to mock at driving a car without airbags and a roof suspended by the A & B pillar. if you won't, why ride with no protection?

Insufficient funds? Load of crap to me. Everyone fell in their life. Either by foot, cycling, sports or riding. There's no *touch wood* burn joss stick miracle to float you up in a fall. Don't empty your bag of luck. There ain't no top ups. Majority of motorcycle on the road looks aesthetically impressive. Does it come free? Seat wraps, Vinyl Sticker, paint job, replacing stock mirrors for cool looking sets, renthal bars, streetfighter looks, chrome this chrome that, matt black this matt black that, red theme, black theme, pink theme, the list goes on.... all that was mentioned does nothing to performance in braking, traction nor stability. we are all culprits of tipping our financial scale for beauty over purpose.

There is an unspoken aura of respect and guilt while at the junctions, meeting a fellow rider with basic protection (FF, armour jacket, glove, boots & jeans) and our eyes naturally roll down to the machine that they are straddling over.

Sports, Tour, Street, Dirtbike = Logical.

Scooter, Cruiser,

Does the gravel feel different when you fall from different objects?

Heat and discomfort when the gears are donned will be eliminated when the wind blowing and the adrenaline is pumping.

Riding only starts becoming Fun when worries are off our minds.

very well said..

what?!... er imho head is more impt than hands

hands gone, still can survive

head gone... gg

even if wearing half-face... wld u rather have ur jaw and face gone or ur hands gone?

what?!... er imho head is more impt than hands

hands gone, still can survive

head gone... gg

even if wearing half-face... wld u rather have ur jaw and face gone or ur hands gone?

i think you got me wrong..

i'm wearing gloves daily, but wears a half-face..

i do have FF but they are for track and touring..

i do understand the dress for crash, but wearing spectacles hinders me from wearing FF, whenever i wear FF is when i wear contacts..

definitely will wear FF daily if i got my LASIK done..

FF without gloves and HF with gloves, which one is less safe??

do you wear FF with gloves daily then?

i did saw some young riders wearing FF with slippers!!

ultimately it's your own comfort in your own protection..

my daily riding with my boots/shoes, gloves and HF is definitely better than a FF without gloves wearing slippers..

Although I wear glasses.. I wear FF helmet, a little more troublesome but I guess the extra protection it provides makes the effort worth it.

Gloves on the other hand is something I can't get used to.. I find that it hinders my hand reaction timing.. anyone else here feels the same?

07-09 : NSR SP 150cc

09-10 : Piaggio X9 200 EVO A

Current Ride : CB 400 Super 4

i think you got me wrong..

i'm wearing gloves daily, but wears a half-face..

i do have FF but they are for track and touring..

i do understand the dress for crash, but wearing spectacles hinders me from wearing FF, whenever i wear FF is when i wear contacts..

definitely will wear FF daily if i got my LASIK done..

i did saw some young riders wearing FF with slippers!!

ultimately it's your own comfort in your own protection..

my daily riding with my boots/shoes, gloves and HF is definitely better than a FF without gloves wearing slippers..

I wear flip face with gloves every day. But if going for a game of tennis then im really sorry i have to wear shorts. But still with glove, buff and flip face. My frens laugh say im so exaggerating i say well flip face for my face at least as im wearing specs, buff so that if touch wood any very bad accident they can remove my helmet easier. Buff keeps my helmet more hygenic. Glove wise, no need to say been on the tarmac. But i really have no choice but to wear a shorts for sports.

Although I wear glasses.. I wear FF helmet, a little more troublesome but I guess the extra protection it provides makes the effort worth it.

Gloves on the other hand is something I can't get used to.. I find that it hinders my hand reaction timing.. anyone else here feels the same?

Well its all of getting use to la. Last time i also. But now i dun feel it take up alot of time to remove my glove if i were to take something out of my pocket. I just stop at traffic light see enough time take out glove take out wallet and take cash card. hahaha... Now seriously i can't ride without Flip face, glove and buff. If i didnt bring either of these i will never hesitate to go home get it then go back carpark. If not i will feel damn naked.

i do wear glove when i ride.

if im going to nearby coffee shop i just wear a open face helmet with soft gloves.,other than that i use a ff with better quality glove.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

i wear gloves, FF and mesh jacket for proper rides... what i meant by proper rides? commuting, rounding, going up north, etc..

i don wear gloves when i move my bike from mscp to void deck or bringing bike to nearby petrol station for air or petrol...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

i do wear glove when i ride.

if im going to nearby coffee shop i just wear a open face helmet with soft gloves.,other than that i use a ff with better quality glove.

Your that one is half cut water melon la. Hahaha....

i wear gloves, FF and mesh jacket for proper rides... what i meant by proper rides? commuting, rounding, going up north, etc..

i don wear gloves when i move my bike from mscp to void deck or bringing bike to nearby petrol station for air or petrol...

I tot the same as you in the past too. But mabbe i grow into a way that i really cannot dun wear. Well put it in a sense its good, put it in another way its troublesome but ok la few secs of my time so grow into it after sometime. Just wear it hahaha.

Your that one is half cut water melon la. Hahaha....

no.that 1 is the famous coconut helmet!

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

erm... ya

i've never bought any 1/2 face helmet b4... never saw the point

last time i used to wear ff w/o gloves... crashed twice... hands got scar la but was all scrape with flesh wound only

now i wear ff with gloves...

i wear my glasses everyday too

i wouldnt dream of crashing in a half face... after looking at the condition of my crashed full faces

in one crash i landed face down and was sliding on the road on my chin and knee... the injury on my hand was minor compared to the one on my knee. cant imagine if that was my face dragging there...

i dunno i prefer the scar on my hand than on my face

hehe i had that prob too!

bought full gear but found the gloves troublesome (but mainly cause i kept losing them) also it is inconvenient to go to a petrol kiosk and try to make payment wearing a pair of gloves

in the end i solved tt prob by buying a pair of gloves i really liked and that gives me extra motivation to wear them

then after wearing them for a while, i kind of got used to the weird feeling, and now it seems weird when i forget my gloves :p

maybe u can check the fit of your gloves, if they dont fit well they might hinder your hand movements

i wear full face, riding boot n glove everyday

sometimes i wear riding pants as well when rounding

as for riding bike from carpark to void deck....

sometimes i dont even wear helmet at all! (ya but its illegal la)

When browsing for your gears, consider the material and strength test the product. Looking handsome or pretty in front of the mirror are for gays.

Lol in that case, upz for plain helmets!

I am a fan of plain helmets too.

What for pay $100+ for a design... mad

Edited by swiftee

haha bro swiftee are u a safety officer?

anyways my previous gloves had knuckle guard so perhaps its the reason it hinders my hand movements.. I saw cmo previously had some1 bringing in those fox MX gloves? They look damn cool ! But dunno how is the fitting.. any1 here recommends it?

07-09 : NSR SP 150cc

09-10 : Piaggio X9 200 EVO A

Current Ride : CB 400 Super 4

anyways my previous gloves had knuckle guard so perhaps its the reason it hinders my hand movements.. I saw cmo previously had some1 bringing in those fox MX gloves? They look damn cool ! But dunno how is the fitting.. any1 here recommends it?

hmmm but the one with knuckles are protection leh. Without it its like hmmmm minimum protection lor. My glove also no hard knuckles cos i cant afford but i would love to try one.

i do wear glove everyday. had a crash few years back n a piece of skin just ripped from my palm n i really got a hard time taking shower for that period of time. so i think glove is a all time necessary gear to wear whenever u r riding on ur bike. wearing shoe when riding is also a must cos i dun really wanna loss a toe or something if anything 'bad" happens.

:thumb: good practise. Haha... i actually i dun mind ppl say i hum chee or hao lian. Cos (1) yes i am really hum chee cos my skin tear easily. (2) i not hao lian, but not wearing one i think you more hao lian. You hao lian you skin tougher. Hahahaha......

very well said..

ya with gloves and half face if fall can use hand to cover chin and let the glove tear. If wear FF no glove u cant stuff ur hands into ur helmet to protect them LOL!:cheeky:

then again about the part you mentioned wearing full gear got more adrenalin, i find i really ride more aggressively when i wear more gear. maybe think i look very "seh" or what so i ride a bit more madmanlike. and im on only a puny 2b scooter :faint:

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

i got both mesh knuckle and mx gloves. alot of mx gloves are rated only for protection from falls in dirt. its thinner/lighter and much more comfy but does not offer similar protection the roadbike thicker leather/mesh gloves.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

To me, gloves are a must. Been wearing them since learning days. So, riding without gloves feels a bit naked. Gloves, FF helmet, jeans and shoes for my daily commute. Still saving up for Drymaster.

Licence

Class 3 - 03 Jul 2009

Class 2B - 28 Jul 2010

Class 2A - 27 Jun 2012

Rides

2007 Honda CBF 150 - 30 Nov 2010 (FBB 5207 D) - Sold

2006 Hyundai Getz 1.1M - 27 Jun 2012 (SGF 7187 J) - Scrapped

2000 Suzuki DRZ400SY - 20 Apr 2016 (FV XXXX D)

I agree with Morpheuz.....personally after surviving few crashes and ultimately being 'rewarded' with a lower slipped disc, protection gears are no longer an option for me....its mandatory....btw a fellow colleague had a minor fall last week..wen i saw his knuckles, I really wonder how he goes thru washing his hands everyday....