hmmmm.....well this is maybe 1 thing i have to learn is throttle control...my throttle control is very lousy.........esp with gloves....

you should wear the one on the Malacca trip :thumb:

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q77/ruddin66/siggy.jpg

Multiply:ruddiani.multiply.com

• Replies 78

aiyoh bro...me in spore liao....

of kos....will practice more....last thing is to hit any disastrous event when on track man......

S'pore..........Y not practice yesterday, trackday 3hrs lota of time to practice ma.......hehehehhehe:thumb:

Md Alseri aka asjunior

TSK 55

NOTHING LAST FOREVER

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r109/asjunior/bersamaMSF5.jpg

you should wear the one on the Malacca trip :thumb:

Aiyo Ruddin.. Stop critising bingai lah.. Durian Glove is still better than nothing for him at dat time wat.. But now u see.. He become leather gears importer lei.. Soon when he slimmed down he will bcum no.1 supplier for chicks.. hahahahahaaaaa... :cheeky:

http://photos-519.friendster.com/e1/photos/91/53/29333519/29650247456167l.jpg

S'pore..........Y not practice yesterday, trackday 3hrs lota of time to practice ma.......hehehehhehe:thumb:

wanna go...but my passport at embassy liao....:cry: wednesday flying off again...

Aiyo Ruddin.. Stop critising bingai lah.. Durian Glove is still better than nothing for him at dat time wat.. But now u see.. He become leather gears importer lei.. Soon when he slimmed down he will bcum no.1 supplier for chicks.. hahahahahaaaaa... :cheeky:

all u guys fault lah....see ...now i UPGRADE....hahhahahahaahha

Bro Bingai know I only joking...hehehehe.

:btw: Doc Dol...really miss such occasion like Melaka trip....haizz....long time never go short trip.....riding and makan. :thumb: :thumb:

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q77/ruddin66/siggy.jpg

Multiply:ruddiani.multiply.com

sibingai, a few things I learned from 5th rider:

1. If you're in a corner and in wrong gear, ride it out. slowly ease off the throttle and slowly recover yourself. Do not panic and clutch in. That's dangerous, because there's no more control at the rear tyre.

2. Relax in a corner, dun let your body be tensed up and rigid. Keep your legs and arms relaxed, so you can react if anything goes wrong.

3. You can slowly set yourself targets: Maintaining a certain rpm in a corner, i.e. 7000rpm for a start. Be comfortable, then slowly increase. When I took his 5th rider's lessons, he told me start off with 9000rpm in corners.

4. For blipping, you can start practising on the road, that's what I did. For a start, When you see a red light, close throttle, clutch in slightly past biting point rev your throttle (rpm high enough to match gear speed) and drop gear, and carry on with each gear. When you more used to it, can brake and blip at the same time.

5. Like all the more seasoned trackies (esp my hero:Hart) have said: Throttle easy on, easy off. Never a sudden burst of power.

6. Sequence before entering a corner: shift body, knees gripping tank, prop up, shutting throttle, braking, clutch, gear shifts, releasing clutch, turning bike/release brake, commit to turn.

7. Gearing for the turns:

Turn 1: 2nd/3rd gear

Turn 2: 4th/5th gear

Turn 3: 2nd/3rd gear

Turn 4: 3rd gear

Turn 5: 2nd gear

Turn 6: 3rd/4th gear

Turn 7: same gear as Turn 6

Turn 8: 3rd/4th gear

BMW: 2nd/3rd gear

Ah gong: 2nd/3rd gear

A couple of things I took from the SMSA advance Riding course that Charn conducted. Hope it especially helps those new of track.

RIDE SAFELY ON THE ROAD, BURN RUBBER AT THE TRACK

:btw: Doc Dol...really miss such occasion like Melaka trip....haizz....long time never go short trip.....riding and makan. :thumb: :thumb:

U organise lah.. i join in but please no super high speed on the highway lah.. Nice convoy riding below 200km/h shud be fine with me.. :giddy:

http://photos-519.friendster.com/e1/photos/91/53/29333519/29650247456167l.jpg

U organise lah.. i join in but please no super high speed on the highway lah.. Nice convoy riding below 200km/h shud be fine with me.. :giddy:

i wanna go i wanna go..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

5. Like all the more seasoned trackies (esp my hero:Hart) have said: Throttle easy on, easy off. Never a sudden burst of power.

Hey Father John,

Ok, I Belanjah you dinner at Forum Coffee Bean on Sunday & then one trackday at PG.

HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA!

I am flattered dude. Thans Thans.

MY local hero is Charn... hey man please come back!

Hartholomew Mamola

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

For riders, by riders, NOT SOME GREEDY F*CK OUT TO MAKE A BUCK

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

sibingai, a few things I learned from 5th rider:

4. For blipping, you can start practising on the road, that's what I did. For a start, When you see a red light, close throttle, clutch in slightly past biting point rev your throttle (rpm high enough to match gear speed) and drop gear, and carry on with each gear. When you more used to it, can brake and blip at the same time.

7. Gearing for the turns:

Turn 1: 2nd/3rd gear

Turn 2: 4th/5th gear

Turn 3: 2nd/3rd gear

Turn 4: 3rd gear

Turn 5: 2nd gear

Turn 6: 3rd/4th gear

Turn 7: same gear as Turn 6

Turn 8: 3rd/4th gear

BMW: 2nd/3rd gear

Ah gong: 2nd/3rd gear

A couple of things I took from the SMSA advance Riding course that Charn conducted. Hope it especially helps those new of track.

Father John / Hart

First off, thank you both for sharing such valuable information. :thumb:

Just to clarify when you blip the throttle, do you downshift to the desired gear before clutching out or do you let out the clutch one gear at a time. E.g. approaching turn one and in 4th gear, do you blip and downshift straightaway to gear 2 or in consecutive steps?

PS: Hart - I'm very impressed with your posts. Informative, logical and mature would be apt adjectives. :bow:

Live to Ride!

Hey Father John,

Ok, I Belanjah you dinner at Forum Coffee Bean on Sunday & then one trackday at PG.

HAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA!

I am flattered dude. Thans Thans.

MY local hero is Charn... hey man please come back!

Hartholomew Mamola

That does'nt sound right with the Hahahaha......will take the blanjah comment with a whole buket of SALT. I still remember when I just started tracking, there was this wild, crazy man who rode a green monster and was doing 1:45 at pg. Somehow I managed to understand his werid noises and even laughed at them. He even became a friend. I believe his name is: H-A-R-T. Hahahahahaha

Charn's into a new phase of his life. Am really glad for him, :cry: to see he no more racing, but just accept it.

Father John / Hart

Just to clarify when you blip the throttle, do you downshift to the desired gear before clutching out or do you let out the clutch one gear at a time. E.g. approaching turn one and in 4th gear, do you blip and downshift straightaway to gear 2 or in consecutive steps?

PS: Hart - I'm very impressed with your posts. Informative, logical and mature would be apt adjectives. :bow:

Blip and downshift at the same time. When you blip, you are countering the deceleration torque and so:

1. The torque transmitted to the rear wheel is less than if you just dropped gear at such a high rpm. Illustration: If you throw something from a lower height, the force is lesser than if thrown from a higher height.

2. I'll suggest dropping a gear at a time, some would suggest 2 gears at a time. If you do so, the bike may fish tail a bit. Esp if you new, drop a gear at a time, break earlier before the corner and into appropriate gear.

3. DO NOT adjust your biting point very near to the handlebar. I made that mistake and paid for it. I had to change my entire clutch basket. Adjust it a bit further so that just clutch in a bit and the clutch is disengaged. Also faster for gear changing.

4. Personally, I just clutch in just slightly past the biting point, so that I can release the clutch quickly and so dun lose too much power.

Btw, Hart's posts nformative, logical and mature would be apt adjectives? Hmmmmm.......some of the time.....hahahahahhah j/k j/k Hart. Next time treat you drink at BikeTech21

thx for the info....even thou its just in words....as im quite tied up w werk...i wouldnt have time to practice it yet on track...but will try these out when im there....will apply the theory to practical..

Father John / Hart

Hey Seal,

Not a problem!

It all depends, some people drop 3 gears at a time, some 2. Personally, I go one at a time and clutch for each one very quickly. Do take note that you have to blip more, the more gears you drop at a time as the difference in road, engine & gear ratio speeds will be greater.

Best bike to learn blipping on - 125z!!!!! Run into a bend and blip down 3 gears! Sounds like a GP500! I loved it!

PS: Thank you!

Hartholomew Mamola

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=23316&dateline=1271137474&type=profile

That does'nt sound right with the Hahahaha......will take the blanjah comment with a whole buket of SALT. I still remember when I just started tracking, there was this wild, crazy man who rode a green monster and was doing 1:45 at pg. Somehow I managed to understand his werid noises and even laughed at them. He even became a friend. I believe his name is: H-A-R-T. Hahahahahaha

Charn's into a new phase of his life. Am really glad for him, :cry: to see he no more racing, but just accept it.

Hey FJ,

No kidding lah, I will belanjah you at Forum Coffee Bean.

(But that does not mean that the food will have to be bought from there!!!

MUAH AH AH! I'll bring some leftovers from home!)

Eh ayyyy, dont reminisce of the past yo! Make me cry! I miss my Ninja!

It's been good knowing you too buddy!

Sigh, the only hope I have left is to kidnap Charn's kids and blackmail him to ride...

Muah ah ah ah!

(Kidding! Kidding!)

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

After saying all this, I must say that in time, as we get faster, we reach the limits of certain things, which is the proper time to upgrade your running gear. I feel that this is the best way to imrpove as a rider, when you are sure that this is the limit, not just adding things to your bike to make IT faster while YOU remain the same.

Like Joe said when I complained about my bike: "Just get used to it."

Hope this helps.

Hartholomew Mamola

Hart, one of the best thing ever said......could I have it as a signature please? :lol:

You strengthen what I always try to tell myself.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Hart, one of the best thing ever said......could I have it as a signature please? :lol:

Hey man, by all means!!! Patent Royalties do apply!!!! Muah ah ah!!!

You strengthen what I always try to tell myself.

Glad to know we are on the same page comrade!

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

Fr John & Hart,

Thank you for the clarification. Will work on this at the next track session.

Cheers :thumb:

Welcome Seal!

Have a good one!

hAnG lOoSe,

Hartholomew Mamola

The REV Club

Hi...I'm a newbie...Would like to ask what's blipping?Can someone explain to me?Let's say i'm nearing turn 1 at 4th gear 11k of rpm...Do i brake abit and lean and enter the corner or i just half the clutch with full throttle and lean and enter the corner?Till i enter the corner then i let go the clutch and play with the throttle?By the way i'm riding a 2 stroke bike...Please advice me...

Quote Father John: Sequence before entering a corner: shift body, knees gripping tank, prop up, shutting throttle, braking, clutch, gear shifts, releasing clutch, turning bike/release brake, commit to turn.

A question on sequence. Shiting posture refers to align left butt with centre of bike and right butt hang off for a right turn only right? Cause you mention knees gripping tank before prop up and braking.. that means the right knee is still not stuck out yet? When do you stick the right knee out for right turn? After braking and before turn? or before braking?

Am only working on posture now.. mostly no brakes drill. Trying to achieve better corner speeds and lean angle without brakes first.

Lastly, on blipping the throttle. I'm practicing on public roads every day as practice. Would like to clarify. I clutch in, rev to match rpm, and CLOSE THROTTLE as i release clutch? usually i find this avoids engine brake kicking in already. But as i clutch out with the throttle closed after blipping... the rpm drops gradually as with normal closing throttle... after releasing clutch then i open throttle very gradually to hold speed before i corner/turn on public road.. Off course.. I'm far far away from my limits. just practicing.. My friends say i should open throttle to blip and keep in open while i release clutch.. won't this cause the bike jerk forward? i tried and got that response.. Btw.. S4 nia.. actually dun need blip but i'm just praciticing the right stuff...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Quote Father John: Sequence before entering a corner: shift body, knees gripping tank, prop up, shutting throttle, braking, clutch, gear shifts, releasing clutch, turning bike/release brake, commit to turn.

A question on sequence. Shiting posture refers to align left butt with centre of bike and right butt hang off for a right turn only right? Cause you mention knees gripping tank before prop up and braking.. that means the right knee is still not stuck out yet? When do you stick the right knee out for right turn? After braking and before turn? or before braking?

Am only working on posture now.. mostly no brakes drill. Trying to achieve better corner speeds and lean angle without brakes first.

Lastly, on blipping the throttle. I'm practicing on public roads every day as practice. Would like to clarify. I clutch in, rev to match rpm, and CLOSE THROTTLE as i release clutch? usually i find this avoids engine brake kicking in already. But as i clutch out with the throttle closed after blipping... the rpm drops gradually as with normal closing throttle... after releasing clutch then i open throttle very gradually to hold speed before i corner/turn on public road.. Off course.. I'm far far away from my limits. just practicing.. My friends say i should open throttle to blip and keep in open while i release clutch.. won't this cause the bike jerk forward? i tried and got that response.. Btw.. S4 nia.. actually dun need blip but i'm just praciticing the right stuff...

sounds very familiar with how i practiced when charn taught me this stuff.

as for ur questions with the knees....it depends. during a race, say breaking at turn 1, front riders will open their leg more then u can imagine to block riders at their back, forcing riders to take tighter and riskier lines often leading to mistakes.

as a track day rider, ur leg should be pretty much closed all the time. more grip to the bike, more stability.

for the blipping question, it depends again...say pg turn 2. approaching 5th gear full throttle......close throttle and brake at 100m mark, drop gear just before entry....here, when u blip, ur throttle wont be shut when u release clutch, but maybe 50% open. can be done as there is rolling speed.

but turn 3, when u drop gear,4th to 3rd, after blip, throttle shut when release clutch, 3rd to 2nd, throttle about 20-30% open when release clutch.

myself at turn 3, i close throttle.....clutch in, blip twice as i drop 2 gears at once, open throttle when release clutch.

the bike jerking forward opens when i loose too much speed(when i brake too early).

also to add, many of us are very conservative with the blip....we dun really rev it much. scared engine spoil?@?@? go with huge revs