QUOTE (thhbppt @ Feb 23 2006, 08:56 PM)

How often do i need to change spark plug?? Like running for 10k km?

change together with engine oil change.

abt 4000 to 5000 km

OK thanks! I must be gald that my biek still running. I have used for around 10k plus liao.

• Replies 133

Originally posted by terror@Feb 23 2006, 11:28 PM

what will happen if didn't change? how you know if the spark plug is failing?

Didn't change also never mind. Like the uncle uncle lor use until the spark plug see liao like this --> :faint: . Then If use until like dat make sure u keep spare plug and know how to change yourself. If don know then push bike lar.

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 24 2006, 01:54 PM

Didn't change also never mind. Like the uncle uncle lor use until the spark plug see liao like this --> :faint: . Then If use until like dat make sure u keep spare plug and know how to change yourself. If don know then push bike lar.

My experience with NGK is that it last longer than Denso... as it the strength of the spark fades less with time. If you use denso then you change 5k like jhawk2820 mention... for NGK it easily last 10kmin. My wave S already more than 50 000km I cange spark plug only 3 times. fuel consumption about 170km on 3litres 92petrol. mod only grounding cable.

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Originally posted by red rocket@Feb 25 2006, 11:48 AM

My experience with NGK is that it last longer than Denso... as it the strength of the spark fades less with time. If you use denso then you change 5k like jhawk2820 mention... for NGK it easily last 10kmin. My wave S already more than 50 000km I cange spark plug only 3 times. fuel consumption about 170km on 3litres 92petrol. mod only grounding cable.

yr is which version of wave...and wat speed u usually achieve?

i usually travel ard 70km on a normal city road...stop and go and got 150km full tank(before hit reserve).

and highway road 80km/h...160km....

MERGED THREAD

Topic : help needed

Description : problem with my 125z

i started my bike ytd n today in the morning and it backfire before it starts. but throughtout the day there is no problem when starting or riding my bike. i have been riding the bike for mths and doesnt occur this situation. can anyone solve this solution n tell me wats the prob. cos if it serious i need to go and visit a bike shop.

hmmm...don`t think its a major problem lah...change spark plug... :thumb:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Originally posted by v_strommer@Jun 20 2006, 10:52 AM

i thought the original spark plug recommnedation is C7HSA or C6HSA (NGK). maybe my wave is too old, FS plate. cost me $3.50 only.

I get this from the original thai wave-s manual.

Standard plugs for Honda Wave.

NGK CPR6EA-9

DENSO U20EPR9

Mine when i first bought the bike and after dat i open the plug it's an NGK plug which states CPR6EA-9. So i guess i will be sticking to dat.

when i bought my 2nd hand wave-s it was fitted with NGK CR8E, then i changed it to DENSO U20EPR9 myself. i found tat my wave was easier to cold start in the morning when using CR8E, usually jus 1-2press electric-start. after changing to DENSO U20EPR9 have to kick-start quite a few times.

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

Ive been using NGK platinum 'G' Power for 2 wks plus now.

I find that the plug gives good pick-up and can feel the diff (more power), but only when the engine is warm.

What I dont like about the plug is the difficulty in starting in the morning (cold engine). Usually I have to open the choke and ram the throttle a bit during warm up. And sometimes engine keeps dying despite opening the throttle slightly during warm up. When moving off after that, bike will keep seem to jerk repeatedly (loose power 3-5 sec.. then suddenly gain power) until the engine is 'warm'.

On my way back jus now it rained heavily. Though in 3rd gear and accelerating, bike suddenly lost power (5-6 sec) before gaining back power. I.e, very jerky. When i stopped at traffic lifht, engine died.Had to start a few times, use choke (waste battery, petrol).

I jus changed E.o,wash carb,change air filter 2 wks ago togehter with plug. So I conclude tt the plug is no good. Previous plug was CPR6EA-9 I think and morning start 1-2 times w/o choke.

So most likely I will go back to using the 'normal' plug next time.

In a Time of Universal Deceit, Telling the Truth is a Revolutionary Act

Originally posted by na3r1@Sep 15 2006, 03:49 PM

I find that the plug gives good pick-up and can feel the diff (more power), but only when the engine is warm.

What I dont like about the plug is the difficulty in starting in the morning (cold engine). Usually I have to open the choke and ram the throttle a bit during warm up. And sometimes engine keeps dying despite opening the throttle slightly during warm up. When moving off after that, bike will keep seem to jerk repeatedly (loose power 3-5 sec.. then suddenly gain power) until the engine is 'warm'.

On my way back jus now it rained heavily. Though in 3rd gear and accelerating, bike suddenly lost power (5-6 sec) before gaining back power. I.e, very jerky. When i stopped at traffic lifht, engine died.Had to start a few times, use choke (waste battery, petrol).

I jus changed E.o,wash carb,change air filter 2 wks ago togehter with plug. So I conclude tt the plug is no good. Previous plug was CPR6EA-9 I think and morning start 1-2 times w/o choke.

I also have tried the NGK G-Power Plugs. Ok lar not bad. For the morning cold start it's normal what to use choke then start. After a while need some time to circulate the engine oil to other parts of the engine dat's why need to warm up first.

Originally posted by na3r1@Sep 15 2006, 03:44 PM

i heard tat tis G-platinum plug is good 4 long distance travelling... city riding (stop-go traffic) better use heat rating '6' plug(stock). anyone noe y? :confused:

Originally posted by allen key@Oct 17 2006, 03:12 AM

i heard tat tis G-platinum plug is good 4 long distance travelling... city riding (stop-go traffic) better use heat rating '6' plug(stock). anyone noe y? :confused:

It's because HEAT rating 6 is HOTTER than 8 rating.

LIke the NGK G Power plug is CR8EGP

while the original is CPR6EA-9.

Cheers bro.

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Oct 20 2006, 07:41 PM

It's because HEAT rating 6 is HOTTER than 8 rating.

LIke the NGK G Power plug is CR8EGP

while the original is CPR6EA-9.

Cheers bro.

does NGK G-Power come in heat rating 6?

Originally posted by allen key@Oct 25 2006, 06:03 AM

does NGK G-Power come in heat rating 6?

Don know and not sure. Dat one u have to ask the uncle at the motorbike shop liao. :goodluck:

• 8 months later...

woohoo.. plug plug plugs... still using rating 6 plugs...

iridium plugs are for racer lah... like you lor...

me daily user... normal 7 bucks NGK plug is okie..

muhahha! :angel:

x1 standard plug is from yamaha their own plug available from yamaha dealer available in stock no need order...

check out the DIY session coming up real soon i will be organising just bring money wat plug u needed and venue we will arrange.

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg

Hello im new in here. Juz wanted to ask u guys. What if i used NGK Iridium spark plug on my std wave100R eh? will it cause any dmg to the piston in long run? cuz i heard tht some ppl use "powerful" spark plug on their bike then end up with a hole on their piston. Is tht true?

that is true i personally seen a couple before...

basically the most important is dat u fix in the spark plug is something similar as stock plug and not out of the range wan... another things i think it could be the cable dat cause it as well... but since ur bike fully stock den shouldnt b a prob la...

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg