Armoured Jackets - Is it practical?  

160 members have voted

1. 1. Armoured Jackets - Is it practical?

yiPeeE!!!

also, the G-Air is not waterproof.......got lobang how to keep water out? :?

Keeping water out also means keeping air out. Try wearing a water proof jacket in city start-stop traffic.

I gurantee you will think twice about putting it on the next time you ride. After a while you start dreading it and finally you leave it at home.

Well, at least that's the case for me. That's why I bought the G-Air. I have no qualms about putting it on even on the hottest of days.

Not be as good as a leather jacket, but it sure beats wearing a T-shirt...

I dunno about you, but I ride 100% of the time on dry days. Even if I get caught in the rain, I'll stop somewhere and wait or put my rain coat over it.

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/

• Replies 158

hmm....

chickenbackside....no hard feelings about the G-Air lar....i've got the feeling that you're quite unhapy leh....sorry if i offended you guys in any way.....didn't mean to....

i rode with the jacket i bought and it's not as hot as the rain gear @ driving skools leh....so far no sweat....but the jacket's real heavy and bulky.......

i really need a jacket that can guarantee abrasion resistance to a certain extent.....the heat and stuff i can take it....no problem....keke......

izzit? DUn know leh... :D

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

hmm....

chickenbackside....no hard feelings about the G-Air lar....i've got the feeling that you're quite unhapy leh....sorry if i offended you guys in any way.....didn't mean to....

i rode with the jacket i bought and it's not as hot as the rain gear @ driving skools leh....so far no sweat....but the jacket's real heavy and bulky.......

i really need a jacket that can guarantee abrasion resistance to a certain extent.....the heat and stuff i can take it....no problem....keke......

No lah! Not offended at all!! :D

I just voiced my own opinion of riding jackets only. I borrowed a friend's leather armoured jacket to try, and all I could think of is "I can't wait to get this bloody thing off!".

I wish my body can ignore the heat like you, but I cannot help it leh.

For me, I really don't mind paying for safety. I almost bought the hit-air until I went to the shop and took a look at it. I would probably die of heat stroke if I wore that thing man!

Don't worry my friend! We need different people with different thoughts to make our world interesting...

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/

Guest BoBOKik

I almost bought the hit-air until I went to the shop and took a look at it. I would probably die of heat stroke if I wore that thing man!

hmmm btw which model did u looked at.. cos i own the MM model, i dont find it very hot, even the JP model dat my frd own oso dont have dat much complains... as long as u are nt standin still under the hot sun, its just slightly warm, its not even hot or i dont even break a sweat

Guest Anonymous
yiPeeE!!!

i bought my very first Dainese jacket today! Got the 'Portland'.

Rode home from Serangoon and felt like driving a car! No wind and very comfy though a little warm. But it's not as warm as the yellow raincoats in driving skools though..... :D

Got the 'portland' rather than the 'skorpion' that is currently on sale. The 'portland' looks better and feels better. Design-wise it's better too...keke.....

One thing about the G-Air is that it's just good for protection for speeds up to less then 40 - 50 km/hr i guess....judging from the mesh material i doubt it would hold if you ever end up on the floor (chOi!).....touch wood....no wood touch plastic keyboard.........

also, the G-Air is not waterproof.......got lobang how to keep water out? :?

BTW, i am interested, how much you paid for it :?

hey vintage....

i paid $550 for it! i know it's kinda of a 'whopping' amount but i think it's worth paying for such a jacket cos it's meant to protect you in times of need....... :D like what chemical engineers say "who said safety was cheap?"

if you survey about, prices of armoured jackets start from about $400?

No lah! Not offended at all!! :D

I just voiced my own opinion of riding jackets only. I borrowed a friend's leather armoured jacket to try, and all I could think of is "I can't wait to get this bloody thing off!".

I wish my body can ignore the heat like you, but I cannot help it leh.

For me, I really don't mind paying for safety. I almost bought the hit-air until I went to the shop and took a look at it. I would probably die of heat stroke if I wore that thing man!

Don't worry my friend! We need different people with different thoughts to make our world interesting...

phEw!

haha...chickenbackside......phew....... :D

one thing about the jacket i got is that the Gore Tex material really does what it claims! i rode in the sweltering sun (in long sleeves by the way) @ orchard during half past noon and felt warm but didn't have the feeling that i was sweating...

one thing about the jacket is that you'll DEFINITELY SWEAT but you don't feel a thing cos of the Gore Tex material....iDEA!!!! i like it!!!! :o)

by the way, it's quite comfy......getting use to the fella liao.....keke......

I'm using the clover airtek, got it from chiap lee. It's mostly mesh, with cordura panels over the important bits like outside of arms, over CE armour etc. Lots of air through, not water-proof but is water-resistant, inner liner against wind and a bit of a drizzle.

Great value for money, something you can wear everyday. Price listed about $360, but i got it for less. Brought it up to 200 km/h and above, don't see why not, but you can feel the wind, unlike full cordura touring jackets. Only prob is the mesh traps bugs, but is a minor grouse.

Originally posted by Alvin@Mar 29 2003, 07:52 PM

phEw!

haha...chickenbackside......phew....... :D

one thing about the jacket i got is that the Gore Tex material really does what it claims! i rode in the sweltering sun (in long sleeves by the way) @ orchard during half past noon and felt warm but didn't have the feeling that i was sweating...

one thing about the jacket is that you'll DEFINITELY SWEAT but you don't feel a thing cos of the Gore Tex material....iDEA!!!! i like it!!!! :o)

by the way, it's quite comfy......getting use to the fella liao.....keke......

me still not used to my jacket.... super hot... not goin to wear in singapore.... can die under my sweat......

Originally posted by tingchiyen@Aug 17 2004, 07:33 PM

I'm using the clover airtek, got it from chiap lee. It's mostly mesh, with cordura panels over the important bits like outside of arms, over CE armour etc. Lots of air through, not water-proof but is water-resistant, inner liner against wind and a bit of a drizzle.

Great value for money, something you can wear everyday. Price listed about $360, but i got it for less. Brought it up to 200 km/h and above, don't see why not, but you can feel the wind, unlike full cordura touring jackets. Only prob is the mesh traps bugs, but is a minor grouse.

shucks! the airtek looks darn sweet!! but kinda pricey :weep:

anyway, has anyone checked out the X-strom leather/mesh jackets at Biketech21? the pics i saw on the net look good :thumb:

Originally posted by tingchiyen@Aug 17 2004, 07:33 PM

wat do u mean by not water proof but water resistance? :confused:

water proof means 100% water won't seep thru even in heavy storm. Water resistant means can only repel water slightly, will be soaked thru slowly...

heard joe rocket jackets not bad...

Bikes i've owned:

NSR150SP June 2001 - May 2002

NSR250 PGM IV April 2003 - 07 June 2004

2004 CBR1000RR 160704 - 19 March 2005

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Gilera Runner VXR 2006 19/01/07 - 22/07/08

Originally posted by [-tRuSt-]@Aug 30 2004, 07:25 PM

eh...u change ur avatar? not daijiro already ahz?

haha otherwise similar to urs....confusing....:cheeky:

Bikes i've owned:

NSR150SP June 2001 - May 2002

NSR250 PGM IV April 2003 - 07 June 2004

2004 CBR1000RR 160704 - 19 March 2005

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Gilera Runner VXR 2006 19/01/07 - 22/07/08

Guest Kraken72

Got my Hit-air jacket two days ago!...Now I'm a VERY poor man...but happy man...hee..hee..

I got the both the MV and HS2...

I've started rideing the MV together with my Dainese Air-Flow....wasn't as warm as I had expected...but having the knowledge that I'm "fully" protected feeling is great!...

I'm keeping the HS2 for rainy seasons (It's water proof!) or if I ever go on a tour up north on my TA200...:lovestruck:

I bought both with a pair of the model M glove for slightly over S$1K!!...But I believe it's worth every penny of it!!....

The moment I tested the jacket at Eggpakar, I knew I was sold!....the feeling of the airbag securing around your body and neck gives you a very sure sense of security...was a feeling that's hard to describe...you go to feel it yourself

As for the sweating part, I heard that you will soon get used to it...I hope I do!...

Originally posted by jockster@Mar 6 2003, 05:46 PM

Would like your comments on which armoured jackets are worth buying. I am refering to those practical ones which are usable in our climate yet provide armour the elbows, shoulders,etc.

So far I've heard of Dainese, Diadora and Clover. Any recommendations?

Also, I notice few bikers wear them in Sgp. Is it because it is impractical (too hot, etc) despite the saftey, or is it just the cost. Just send me your thoughts.

Hi all bikers!

I've just invested in an Alpinestars T-Venom Air-Flo Riding Jacket at $400 from LAB. It's quite a good practical riding jacket given that in this humid Singapore climate it's quite cooling to wear it. It comes with a inner liner which keeps you dry in the rain. It'll some how keep you dry in a rain but not a heavy downpour. You can keep the liner in your box or under your seat. Use it only when it rains. This jacket comes with all the amours that a racing jacket has.(elbows, shoulders and back protector). It's made of a heavy mesh material. So will withstand a certain degree of sliding in a fall.

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/8475/cbrnaked.jpg

hi guys

is there protective pants as well?

well at least protect the knees at least?

nov04 - oct05: TA200

dec05 - feb07: CB400SF4V3

now...MRT!

blog @ zandon.com

save the world

Only after the last tree has been cut down

Only after the last river has been poisoned

Only after the last fish has been caught

Only then will you find that money cannot be eaten

Taken from An old Cree Indian saying

u guys know of any jackets with shlders , arms protective pads if best with chest n back but cost ard $200?

<u>PASSION</u> : Strong emotion, Great enthusiasm.

Riders' passion is to ride.

Its NOT from point A to point B that a rider enjoy,

its DURING point A to point B that he enjoy..

http://www.hondahornet.co.uk/images/cb9001.jpg

• 9 months later...

Check out Fieldsheer jackets. I especially like the Mach-3 and Mach-4. They are mesh jackets made of abrasion-resistant fabric, and have CE armor on the shoulders and elbows, plus back foam pad. It even comes with a rain jacket in its waist pouch.

If I'm not wrong, Motoworld carries Fieldsheer.

Originally posted by rhema83@Jul 20 2005, 10:07 AM

Check out Fieldsheer jackets. I especially like the Mach-3 and Mach-4. They are mesh jackets made of abrasion-resistant fabric, and have CE armor on the shoulders and elbows, plus back foam pad. It even comes with a rain jacket in its waist pouch.

If I'm not wrong, Motoworld carries Fieldsheer.

Went down to Motoworld today; the two ladies there looked blankly at me when I asked "You have any Fieldsheer jackets?"

They said "Field what? You want bike accessory issit? U go downstairs lah!"

So I can confirm no Fieldsheer there...some nice selection from other brands on discount tho.

V4 > Inline3 > Inline4