[Archived - 2009] All About Cosmetic Mods

Originally Posted by madman

BIG GAS TANK for Honda Phantom

Capacity is approx 20 L.

It is a new tank, material similar to our stock gas tank.

The shape will be similar to a dragstar 400 gas tank.

You can use back your original gas tank cap cover, so no need to have extra set of keys or purchase a set of gas cap (cost $100+). Save the money and the convenience.

It will come in standard gloss black color. It will be cheaper if you want it raw (no finishing/ paintwork).

Lets start the ball rolling.

Price will be from $450 for unfinished tank. $480 for gloss black finishing.

Those who confirm, need to pay $250 as deposit 1st then balance pay upon collection.

I will contact you on how to make payment. So kindly leave your hp number with your nick.

Those riding the new Phantom TA200 (Fire Edition), kindly state TA200FE.

The tank needs a bit of modification, so do let us know.

The rest, ta150 and older models ta200 are ok.

1) madman / 9858 6442 / no paintwork / ta150

thanks !

Got any thing that is even bigger? Like 25-30 L? :D

If have confirm buy!

• Replies 4.3k

the bike so slim, how to add in a 25L, not to mention 30L tank? have you ever imagine how big the tank will be?

20L tank is about the size of the dragstar tank, 25L gonna be even bigger than that, aesthetic wise, it just wouldnt look good. so, lets be more practical.

Ok, since it is going to be fabricated, can we customise it to be double the capacity of the stock phantom tank?

11.2 L X 2 = 22.4 L

I will be satistfied if it's twice the current capacity.

Actually I have been considering the offer made by another shop, but to get the tank to be 25 L or more tank will be very tall, and might get hit by the handle bars at full turns, so that's one of the risk to consider.

The 2nd will be like what you've mention, the appearence of a very "big head".

So if the tank can be 22.4 L I will take it. :smile:

The tank Madman is proposing is ~20L.

22.4L is just 2.4L off.... Just carry the excess 2+L in bottles and shove them in your box or something lah... 20L not enough meh?

I have the best signature.

lol damn 20L 0_o

do you want to travel around the world?:D

with my standart ~10L on my ta200 i can ride about 3weeks:D:D:D

i make about 370km with the 10L and your bike should be aournd the same or?

da rider^^

indeed, 20L can reach Hatyai from Sinkapor w/o topping up liao loh... still want a bigger one go all the way to Phuket meh?

sorry, just cant help you. there's a limit to how big a tank can go for our ride, as you yourself mentioned. i dun tink any builder can make one which is exact 22.4 L... it is all estimated until tank is done, and liquid is poured in to measure, or fix it up on the tank and pump in petrol.

Having a very big top, wouldn't that make the bike a bit more unstable as it shifts the centre of gravity higher ??

TA200 April 2008 - 16 Oct 2009

Dragstar XVS400 Classic 16 Oct 2009 -

1 John 4:10 (Amplified Bible)

10 In this is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation (the atoning sacrifice) for our sins.

Yea thats true... so you really got to have some good biceps or fantastic technique to manhandle the bike heh.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Having a very big top, wouldn't that make the bike a bit more unstable as it shifts the centre of gravity higher ??

Yup, I doubt there'd by any noticeable difference when cruising straight but the cornering experience might be very different. The large mass of petrol would "roll over" to the heavier side and shift the CG towards the inside of the turn. It's not a big deal, because with some practice, you get used to it.

So petrol-stingers out there :lol: go get the tank!

hey madman, do u have any 2nd/3rd/4th hand wide handlebar for sale?

might be interested.

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

still looking for phantom parts? thought the bike is going on sale?

yes. im in the process of trying to pshyco my dad to let me keep this bike.

but for now, im sourcing for parts, if can keep, ill continue with some mods. thinking of changing the outlook of my bike. hahah

125zi

but for now, im sourcing for parts, if can keep, ill continue with some mods. thinking of changing the outlook of my bike. hahah

:goodluck: with the :argue:

Hmm actually i found it odd, you got your bike an entirely new engine, THEN you (or your parents) want to let go off it coz of the repairs the bike brought upon you. Might as well use it, at least for some time. Or rather, sell off to shop without those repairs.

I have the best signature.

indeed, 20L can reach Hatyai from Sinkapor w/o topping up liao loh... still want a bigger one go all the way to Phuket meh?

sorry, just cant help you. there's a limit to how big a tank can go for our ride, as you yourself mentioned. i dun tink any builder can make one which is exact 22.4 L... it is all estimated until tank is done, and liquid is poured in to measure, or fix it up on the tank and pump in petrol.

Just trying to stretch my Malaysian Riggit lah. :cheeky:

With a bigger tank, can go in JB to pump just twice a month instead of every weekend. :smile:

If the tank is going to be build from scatch, please tell the builder to build mine bigger, safer to err on the bigger side. (Better to be 21 L than 19 L)

If that can be arranged, desposit of $250 can be done anytime.

Hmm... you'll also be hauling around additional 7+kg of fuel for that larger tank. Not sure how will that affect your fc...

my bro is on the heavy side also used to ride phantom.. based on hunter's pic his weight + another 7kg should be ok for the phantom..

Hmm actually i found it odd, you got your bike an entirely new engine, THEN you (or your parents) want to let go off it coz of the repairs the bike brought upon you. Might as well use it, at least for some time. Or rather, sell off to shop without those repairs.

i thought of that already.

and i WANT to keep this bike.

well, cant blame me for having weird parents. :cheeky:

somehow, they scared the same problem will arise again, and more money need to be spend, again.

hopefully it will all go well if i keep this bike.

125zi

i thought of that already.

and i WANT to keep this bike.

well, cant blame me for having weird parents. :cheeky:

somehow, they scared the same problem will arise again, and more money need to be spend, again.

hopefully it will all go well if i keep this bike.

dun worry bro my advise to u now is try to not speed and let ur new engine run in properly,:goodluck:

The pain of discipline is nothing like the pain of disappointment

Yes take care of the bike and it will take care of you.

3 more days to bikefest event... Gr8...

my new project have commenced. will be revealed next yr...hahaa...

too many custom stuffs...

3 more days to bikefest event... Gr8...

my new project have commenced. will be revealed next yr...hahaa...

too many custom stuffs...

time for us to look at your current parts le... SALE SALE!!!

yes, current parts will be on sale in due course. already some parts are missing...not stolen but sold off. :D

Pink Harley?

it will be when the time comes...wahaha... it's like a trademark liao. no pink, no me... :cheeky: