if let u choose AGAIN/ or 1st time which cl2 bike u will buy?

hi all

i am in-between of R6 and R1 , i really don know where to post my noob qns sorry. some said "r1 too powerful r6 will be just nice." some said "600cc ? y not just get a 1000cc"

but 600cc road tax insu etc etc cheaper. and now a days those new 600cc bikes are damn fast liao.

my officer clock a 280km/hr with his stock r6 07.

some say 1k bike more shiok than 600cc, i really know nuts of those road king bikes.

• Replies 74

hi all

i am in-between of R6 and R1 , i really don know where to post my noob qns sorry. some said "r1 too powerful r6 will be just nice." some said "600cc ? y not just get a 1000cc"

but 600cc road tax insu etc etc cheaper. and now a days those new 600cc bikes are damn fast liao.

some say 1k bike more shiok than 600cc, i really know nuts of those road king bikes.

R6 :thumb:

From my personal experience, i will advise you to get a R1.

my 1st class 2 bike was a Black raven '05 R6.

i got it because i like the look of it.

why i choose a R6 instead of R1?

like you i thought R6 will be enough, moreover i am using the bike a few times a month only.

like going out at night or short distance trips, or 2nd links runs.

but after i tried my friend's litre bikes, i seriously regret. should have just pay abit more and get the R1.

if you can afford it, go for the litre bikes.

R1. It's not about the horsepower, it's about the torque.

Only time i regret riding a litrebike is at the track.

THIS HITS THE BULL'S EYE

I wanted to buy a new CBR 600 RR then came here on the SBF along a R1 06 for sale and I fall in love with this bike ..... the end of the story .... ONLY TIME I REGRET ..... hahahaha.

On the track the beast is pulling and skidding you nearly cant tame it .... but its LUV and damned beautiful (R1 06-06)

If u really like going 299, juz get a litrebike.

Why waste the time n $$ on moDs?

Anyway, It's not how fast it will go, its how fast u can get there :)

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x23/Tyrael7/Bike/sig.jpg
i have a stupid idea of getting a r6 06 and heavy mob it , of cos not one shot la, no money.LOL i have a friend's r6 05 can reach 299..

how old are you?

your thinking sounds very "young" to me.

what's with the fascination about the 299 top speed?

a bike is not all about the top speed.

got a class 2 license?

test the R6 and a litre bike first before you made your decision.

like i said, i own a R6 before, it was not easy playing catch up with the litre bikes in NSHW.

Does Singapore Road really need 4us to ride these bikes?????

There's a bigger world out there.... :)

i have the same thinking ...

road a cbr600 8 months ago ....

i thought i will be enought .....

but after a few session with my frens 1000cc and up on th nshw ....

damn it sure is very slow .....

to me might as well stick with a rvf .....

then change to a hayabusa ....

nvr regret from the first day i bought it .....

nice speed in a much2 confortable riding posture than sportsbikes ....

When I rode a 750, I told myself it was enough. But when you are starting to get own3d by the litre boys, you will understand that it is never enough.

I've never heard the litre boys complaining of "too-much-power". Afterall, your right wrist is giving the control. People who always say "too-much-power" are usually the ones who are just comforting/convincing themselves for not getting a litre bike.

Litre bikes also give you much more rideability than the 600s, it has got much more low-end torque. Easier to pull away from silly Civics who try to cut into your lane. And if I'm not wrong... the FC is about the same.

Will never go back for non-litre sportsbike.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg
Does Singapore Road really need 4us to ride these bikes?????

if u are talking about transportation in Sg road... i dare to say that it is unnecessary for u get it...

how many gears u intend to go till.....gear 6 with a speed lets say 120 on a highway... sooner or later, it will be sick..coz u dont make use of the monster.

well, it's up to you.... got a chance must test the power... Alien sia

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

if u are talking about transportation in Sg road... i dare to say that it is unnecessary for u get it...

how many gears u intend to go till.....gear 6 with a speed lets say 120 on a highway... sooner or later, it will be sick..coz u dont make use of the monster.

well, it's up to you.... got a chance must test the power... Alien sia

thats why, get a Sparks and a R1, have the best of both worlds :thumb:

i have a stupid idea of getting a r6 06 and heavy mob it , of cos not one shot la, no money.LOL i have a friend's r6 05 can reach 299..

how heavy is your mod? do you know how much it cost to mod till similar power with R1 ?

if realli wan the power, get the R1

if realli wan cheaper tax, insurance then R6

maintainance wise is quite similar, both are thirsty bike (all fast bikes r thristy) 3L engine old, same oil filter, 4 plugs,

the $ you save buying a R6 is not realli significant compared to the power you get riding a R1..

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee204/douglastop/yamaha-r1.jpg

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/Diesem/Bikes/efcb.jpg

If u really like going 299, juz get a litrebike.

Why waste the time n $$ on moDs?

Anyway, It's not how fast it will go, its how fast u can get there :)

no point modding a R6 to run as fast as a R1.

you might need better petrol due to the higher compression.

your engine/gears will suffer more wear and tear.(lifespan will be shorter.)

modding is not as simple as many thinks.

there are many things which can go wrong.

when things go wrong or doesn't work, you will feel very frustrated as time and money are wasted.

why not just get a stock bike which can already do all these?

the chassis, suspensions, brakes, engine etc can sustain the speed much better.

hi all

Some statements are true.

For me 600cc are just enough cos I can pin the throttle out of the corner. 1000cc are just too much, u really need very good throttle control. I going back 600cc.In fact i pick the less powerful of all is still too much for mi. IF you dont track or corner then 1000cc might be for you. Not many can hold their rpm at 8-9000rpm before railing off the corner with rev towards red line.

Those who recommend 1000cc are typical straight line heros.I mean most not all. NSH is mostly where they ride. If you want straight line speed...i would suggest get Busa or ZX12-14....Those are killers for miles.

Depend really on what you want....Those who go to 1000cc and back to 600 or 750 really knows what they wanted.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

When I rode a 750, I told myself it was enough. But when you are starting to get own3d by the litre boys, you will understand that it is never enough.

I've never heard the litre boys complaining of "too-much-power". Afterall, your right wrist is giving the control. People who always say "too-much-power" are usually the ones who are just comforting/convincing themselves for not getting a litre bike.

Litre bikes also give you much more rideability than the 600s, it has got much more low-end torque. Easier to pull away from silly Civics who try to cut into your lane. And if I'm not wrong... the FC is about the same.

Will never go back for non-litre sportsbike.

Diagree .... but U say usually this is ok.

We have here in Dubai a phantastic track and they are usually all on 600 ccs as its really easier to handle. Money is here no issue and there are even ex pro racers who say the same about the power.

But put it all aside, R1 is one of the greatest bikes and I never heard any owner who regret the choice of this bike.

Diagree .... but U say usually this is ok.

We have here in Dubai a phantastic track and they are usually all on 600 ccs as its really easier to handle. Money is here no issue and there are even ex pro racers who say the same about the power.

But put it all aside, R1 is one of the greatest bikes and I never heard any owner who regret the choice of this bike.

That's assuming AhDidi is only going to track his bike

And if the original TS was such a hardcore trackie, he wldnt be asking for advice on which to get :)

Some statements are true.

For me 600cc are just enough cos I can pin the throttle out of the corner. 1000cc are just too much, u really need very good throttle control. I going back 600cc.In fact i pick the less powerful of all is still too much for mi. IF you dont track or corner then 1000cc might be for you. Not many can hold their rpm at 8-9000rpm before railing off the corner with rev towards red line.

Those who recommend 1000cc are typical straight line heros.I mean most not all. NSH is mostly where they ride. If you want straight line speed...i would suggest get Busa or ZX12-14....Those are killers for miles.

Depend really on what you want....Those who go to 1000cc and back to 600 or 750 really knows what they wanted.

True and false.

IMO, I can eat you raw with your 600 on 3rd gear up turn 5, through turn 6 and all the way before BMW/Turn 9 on PG. And my rev is still in range where you probably moan in your 600s. Talk about rideability, more torque also means less to downshift, the less to maintain your high revs to get that drive and punch out of corners. Nutshell, easier to control.

Besides, all these statements of yours are track-oriented, which does not apply to those who really owns a litre bike for daily use. I doubt the TS is going to buy a bike just for track. It is a pain in the ass to drop gear and put the engine through an ear wrenching screech to ride in twisties.

So from what I conclude from your statements, if they are true, 600s is only good for track. Not much practicality.

My 2 cents.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg