Another police campaign coming? :)

Reported in the 'Today" newspaper this morning. But as Hartholomew pointed out to me, this situation would not be so bad if more shopping malls allowed motorcycle parking.

untitled.jpg

• Replies 70

If you sincerely believe there are not enough bike lots, what you can do is write to your Town Council Chairman. Their names can be found in the Singapore Govt Directory, at:

http://app.sgdi.gov.sg/listing_others.asp?t_category=TOWN_COUNCIL

This will alert them to the problem, that they may or may not know about, but will certainly have to address, if enough people bring it up.

For lack of parking spaces in the city area, you can send an email off to the URA. Again look up the contact details (including telephone numbers) in the online Govt Directory:

http://app.sgdi.gov.sg/index.asp

Either that, or just carry on complaining like everybody else in Singapore..... :)

seriously they are f up... i believe those bikes belong to despatch rider who will be parking for awhile due to delivery and etc...

can't they see the contribution of them? seriously in sg bikes are always an lower class....

you deserve better from me, i can be better, i will be better!

ya, rite.as if he never park his car illegally b4 n cause a massive jam on the rd.

1998-2000(APRILIA EXTREMA)

2000-2002(DR350)

2002-2003(HEXAGON)

2003-2007(SUPER4 VS)

2007-____(DL1000K3)

i've read that newspaper report on today.

obviously the person who took the picture is a person who:

1) Doesnt ride a bike

2) Doesnt ride a bike in CBD area

personally as a rider, i only laugh when i see such reports...

all the safety concerns listed by the writer is more or less.. crap.

probably i'll start writing letters soon to the forum to complain against those people who fart in public... saying they 'endanger my life'.

"The public's safety is at stake..."

wahahahaha. no comments. i hope the writer has half a brain more. but then, if he had half a brain more, he'd be halfwit.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg

Lets wait for a rule to ban bikes to the CBD , then we c how those business who uses despatch riders get badly affected .

C'mon , these business need low class bikers like us to send their items arnd rite ? Let c them using vans or cars to sent 1 document n get charged $10 per document couried , c if they complain anot .

Ppl oso need to earn $ to survive ,complaining abt bikers who really have no poroper place to park is akin to smashing their rice bowl , imagine a rider sending a document n earn a few dollars , then kana a $70 fine , gone case for the day liao .

Most carparks in CBD cater to car season parking cos a car parking lot may cost up to a few hundred per mth , cash cows for the management leh . So who cares abt parking for bikes .

Just give the writer a treat writer to Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City ~ motorcycle city of the S.E.A...:giddy:

Then he would realise how well organise our lovely, orderly Singapore is...:thumb:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg

crap la...

So many bikes, so little Lots..

Stupid HDB build so many empty MSCP.

Give so pathetic lots to bikes.. what do they expect?

Look at PS, how may lots for bikes? And stupid cathay do not allow bikes in.

During the New movie release, look at the bikes all outside.

Its not bikers bochup, we don't have a choice.

and the best thing is... we didnt even complain about the lack of lots in newspaper... and improvised parking space...

end up pedestrians who feel threatened write to TODAY.

IMO they should implement a Roax Tax for humans walking on the pavement... if you stop and take a call.. must put parking coupon.....

idiots...

no leh .. cannot lyk tat say .. tho i haven get to ride yet .. but sumtimes oso dun lyk pple to park on pavements .. sum pple very reckless .. nt every1 .. but wat u guys said are rite .. they shud build "bikeparks" .. let rider park nia .. no nid charge so much on the documents .. then despatch rider muz put coupon oso .. parking coupon can be claimed frm company .. then despatch company go charge other companies whom ask for the despatch service .. then c who will kp now ..

Just give the writer a treat writer to Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City ~ motorcycle city of the S.E.A...:giddy:

Then he would realise how well organise our lovely, orderly Singapore is...:thumb:

but in vietnam

u also cant park illegally

sure got ppl collect money from u when u park

The least that the writer/complainant should do before postin such a "story" is to find out from both parties first..Simply not tactful..:cheeky:

Singaporeans should learn to give and take..That way we can co-exist harmoniously..:cheeky:

surprising how some ppl r just full o shite...

speaking abt lots...enyone here living in punggol?went there once and felt that the lot for bike at mscp is smaller than normal..

no leh .. cannot lyk tat say .. tho i haven get to ride yet .. but sumtimes oso dun lyk pple to park on pavements .. sum pple very reckless .. nt every1 .. ..... ....

please revisit this thread after you:

1) start riding.

2) start riding to CBD area.

3) start riding to CBD Area as a despatch rider.

then maybe you will feel otherwise about the above truncated quotes.

the sender doesnt get the point. he probably don have a vehicle at all. and maybe seeing so many bikes on a pavement annoyed him. the part where he wrote he experience one..it feels...fake. and the part he writes abt safety at stake is..exagerrated..appalling

Yamaha 125Z-Oct 2006 to OCT 2010

HONDA CB400 SPEC 1 - OCT 2010..

what to do... not many parking lots for bikes because not profitable mah. charge cars for parking can make more money.

i wonder if we can use the excuse, "No parking space for bikes" when appealing for the $70 saman?

if it's legitimate... they should waive the saman and consider allocate some space for bikes.

Most of the opinions here are hopelessly biased. The writer is right yet few agree with him because of their own self-interest. Being self-interested is not wrong, but being self-righteous about being inconsiderate is.

If you're inconsiderate, you are. Nothing changes that. Riding your motorcycle on the pavement is beyond just inconsiderate. I find such idiots riding on the pavements in the city daily.

When I was walking on the pavement, this rider rode his bike along the 1m wide pavement. On half of the pavement was another parked bike, he was riding on the other half. He expected me, the pedestrian, to get out of the way.

When is it right to do that? Never. I ride my motorcycle to work and you don't see me riding on the pedestrian walkway, much less riding past pedestrians on the walkway. This type of rider deserves to be kicked into the bushes at the side of Raffles Quay pedestrian path.

Let me put it this way:

1. Just because it's convenient for you (or inconvenient for you to find somewhere else) doesn't make it right for you to cause a niusance or danger to others.

2. If you as a motorcyclist don't like other vehicles encroaching onto your path on the road, then neither do pedestrians like you encroaching onto their footpath.

3. If you don't like someone parking their bigger vehicle in a motorcycle parking space, then neither do pedestrians like you parking your motorcycle on the footpath.

He who hesitates is lost!

Most of the opinions here are hopelessly biased. The writer is right yet few agree with him because of their own self-interest.

Being self-interested is not wrong, but being self-righteous about being inconsiderate is. If you're inconsiderate, you are. Nothing changes that.

Riding your motorcycle on the pavement is beyond just inconsiderate. I find such idiots riding on the pavements in the city daily. When I was walking on the pavement, this rider rode his bike along the pavement and expected to go past.

When is it right to do that? Never. I ride my motorcycle to work and you don't see me riding on the pedestrian walkway, much less riding past pedestrians on the walkway. This type of rider deserves to be kicked into the bushes at the side of Raffles Quay pedestrian path.

Biased? BH! Although I too feel that we should not ride on the pavements, I feel that riders are being treated very unfairly. Everything also our fault. I'm sure alot of us here had encounters whereby cars just cut in our lane as if they own the roads.We are expected to give them the lane cos we are small and lower class? ****! And why are we not allowed to ride into Sentosa? So many things are so biased against us? You can't blame our fellow riders from from being grumpy about ppl complaining about us again.. Since when do you see in the papers where by bikers complain about drivers and others? Singapore is just too 'bike-unfriendly'.

Just my ten cents worth..no offence to anyone.

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

cheer up guys.. we all riders here.. yes, riding on pedestrian is WRONG.. but sometime it's really hard to avoid (for those despatch or those who really can't find a lot)

i do ride onto pedestrian, but slowly.. I know I'm wrong.. as myself also pedestrian, I also NOT HAPPY if bicycle overtake me from behind almost knocking me down..

I believe we riders can do our part.. if really wanna ride on pedestrian, kena fined (dun kbkp), and we "should" ride slowly..

well i personally dun think parking on pathway is anything wrong if dont obstruct the traffic.. (of course TP wont agree with me ya)