what is the proper way to warm up a pulsar?

I've looked ard the forums and there seems to be multiple ways and too many chim terms for bike noob like me to understand. :(

Normally i just start engine, rev throttle 2 times, wait for my cigarette to finish, then off i go. Is that the proper way?

Regarding the scenario i mentioned about my bike engine stalling, is my bike normal? Is it spoilt? :( sighhhh.

I've looked ard the forums and there seems to be multiple ways and too many chim terms for bike noob like me to understand. :(

Normally i just start engine, rev throttle 2 times, wait for my cigarette to finish, then off i go. Is that the proper way?

Regarding the scenario i mentioned about my bike engine stalling, is my bike normal? Is it spoilt? :( sighhhh.

don't worry your bike is fine...

it is because your engine is cold or commonly known as cold start

it is ok to start the bike and once your finish your cigg it should be warmed up enough

what is your idling rpm when you start your bike?

if its too low it will affect your bike's cold start. the ideal rpm for when your bike is cold is in the range of 1-1.2k...

once you ride for some time the idling rpm for a warmed up engine is 1.4k+/-100

after you ride for a long period of time your rpm might be higher then the warmed up rpm of 1.4k+/- 100

for the choke don't worry that your rpm is high and soun like reving...

thats the purpose of the choke, in simple terms to give your engine a small "boost" to let it warm up faster by keeping the engine reving...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=199106&d=1301892942

Check your Idle RPM.

If too low adjust the Idle rpm by turning the Idle Adjustment Screw clockwise to increase the Idle RPM.

Adjust according to the manual to 1300 or 1400 +- 100.

Don't be too stingy lah to have the rpm too low .... idle rpm does not kill your mileage if you have the correct ideal rpm.

If your bike is a 1st hand new bike ... to pull a choke is not a MUST!! ... Older engine yes sometimes choke is necessary when cold start.

Warming up engine it's up to individual preference ....

how long does it takes you to finish your cige? ... 1 min, 2 min, 5 min?

DON"T WASTE MONEY ON CIGARETES!!!! ... that money can do lots of things with your bike!! ...

if you still want to SMOKE while waiting for your engine to warm up .. just put your mouth near the exhaust and take the puff from the exhaust!! ....

YESS .. it's the same thing ... BOTH KILLS YOU!!!! ...

Rather than to wait till your cige completed or waiting for 5 mins .... Warming up engine takes a min or so ... then rev slowly and ride slow till until a click or so or till you feel that your bike engine has enough warm up before you rev all the way .... with this method, you will not harm your engine, yet you save money on your cige and you save time on your journey !!! ...

hahahaha .. I'm born in 1964 and I'm NOT a SMOKER!! ... my bike accessories or maintenance I did for my bike is from the money I saved from what you have spent on your cige!!!! ...

CHEERS!!!!! hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahhaa

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

ok guys .... good nite!! ..... time for ZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

Dun paraniod lah, 1 stick of ciggy is enough. Same same here but its important to warm up ok. Nite nite

read my post on our cv carb .... http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/188463-Group-Singapore-BAJAJ-Team-(SBT)/page677

posted this video before too ..... for what is the choke for? .. check 05:00 on choke but wise you watch the video from start lah !! ....

cheers!!!

a refreshing vid to watch early in d morning.

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

anyone want to go KTM later to have a super late supper?

the food stalls will close 2ml for good...

drove der yesterday aftrnoon with a frend. tot of sitting n chilling there. but was shock dat ders lots of people der taking pictures like it was tourists spot. found out dat tuesday will be closed. i was so pissed off cos usually its not crowed and its a place to relax when it was opened around 10 years ago. now, when its going to close, lots of folks started to come n take pics. really, pisses me off biggest time. no seriusly, im pissed at the masses.

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

talk about O'ren, she went to fix the dampers at UM...

saw here there...

an update on her trip...

2ml's set off is cancelled as what i know from this afternoon

pushed back to Mon

wait for her to update here...

just a heads up in case anyone goes down in the morning 2ml...

Thank you for the update, sorry about this friends. Pillionette's dad visiting today (she forgot to tell him we are leaving today. :slapforehead: ). So we are leaving tomorrow instead.

@Lanzer thank you for you kind words and well wishes for the trip, I was super busy yesterday finishing preparing the apt, sorry I didn't reply.

@alvinyansg, hehehe I told you 30k servicing there is no way "change EO clean air filter" only ! It's good you made the changes, and opened. The bike, at least now you know what else is needed :thumb:

@mjbs64: yeah thanks for the advices and help yesterday on the bike :thumb: The tank cover looks great with the bike, I think it still looks like a red bike so don't worry, it's still splitFIRE ! :D Thank you again for getting the additives and dumper!

@yhang23: on a stock bike specs your rpm at 90 is normal. I have only one word for you: Sinnob. Best thing ever, will take your speed to 100km/h for 7rpm, with the right sproket size.

As for your engine dying off in the morning: Always warm up. It's not just for the engine it's for the oil as well to warm up and be more efficient. You were late say 10min to get your gf, if you had taken 5min to warm up, you would have saved the 20min you later spent playin with the choke.

When late, a rider should always accept it and just forget it. Let people know you are late. Don't rush and try not to stress. Tell yourself this is how it is now and ride as usual. And do all your checks on the bike before take off per usual as well :)

Pay no mind to kup kias. Or get one and play little crawling insect with them. (no offense to kk riders but there is a clear link in my head between how fast cockroaches crawl and kup kias rushing from everywhere around you in and put the customs..)

You bike is good at:

- pick up after stopping

- speed 90-100km/h on highway, also good torque at lower speed

- easy to handle and not too big for lane splitting

- can take on a lot of load (boxes and pillion and then some more)

Other bikes will give you better pick up at high speeds, lighter weight easier to squeeze and play cockroach with others, or better high speed, so you can always try another bike future. But take time to appreciate the pulsar and you'll like it :)

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

can reduce the stress on the engine. so when u go at 100km/hr its onli 7 rpm versus 100km/r at 8rpm now...dn worry bout pick up bah. its not a drag race at every traffic light. the torque will still be there

in search of the magical fuel penguins

Honda CB400F

BTWO

Lets all gather and chat over MURTABAK

Venus : Teh Tarik Corner @ Hj Karim AMK Ave 10

Date : Wed 29/6/2011

Time: 2130hrs onward till 2330hrs

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff350/Nemesis_5k/HjKarim.jpg

http://i538.photobucket.com/albums/ff350/Nemesis_5k/HjKarim2.jpg

Kindly please post your nick if you are coming...

1) Fredd

Please do take note to park neatly along the side of the pavement .. we don't want to invite uninvited guest do we? ... hehehehe

@yhang23 if u can come down for btwo, i can bring the iphone mount for u :D

CHEERS!!

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
What does the spinnob sprocket actually do? Gives u better top speed? Don't u sacrifice pick up this way?

3 basic points for sinnob

1) less vibration

2) less noise

3) less heat

some can say no vibration,no noise and no heat but we can't expect really don't have...

still will have but will be reduced by a lot...

once installed you will feel the difference instantly...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

BTWO

1) Fredd

2) Atipo ( Fredd can bring the lens cover?)

Please do take note to park neatly along the side of the pavement .. we don't want to invite uninvited guest do we? ... hehehehe

CHEERS!!

It feels good to walk again........................... riding even better.:)

Ride slow slow. Getting old already..................:cool:

what happened?

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Letting go a Brand New Unused Aluminum LED Gandguards & P200 Handle Riser

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/217647_1519021234368_1799652093_905469_6073281_n.jpg

Got it thru a senior member here @ $85.

Now letting go at $60 self-collect bishan area.

Interested please PM me.

(AW 8 X)

Wahhh. I wanna come for the outing! Hehe. Will try to make it. ;) hey fredd. I decided not to buy the iphone mount. Sry ah. Rather save money for sprockets. :x intend to slowly learn the roads by heart. I'm starting to know the roads around my area well! :)

What size sprockets do u guys use? Is there a such thing as a best size? How much do they cost? Need to change the chain also ah?

BTWO

1) Fredd

CHEERS!!

Last week i was all alone so sad

i sure will bring bro..u dun aeroplane me again like e last time..or else murtabak on u..hahahaha

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
Thank you for the update, sorry about this friends. Pillionette's dad visiting today (she forgot to tell him we are leaving today. :slapforehead: ). So we are leaving tomorrow instead.

@Lanzer thank you for you kind words and well wishes for the trip, I was super busy yesterday finishing preparing the apt, sorry I didn't reply.

@alvinyansg, hehehe I told you 30k servicing there is no way "change EO clean air filter" only ! It's good you made the changes, and opened. The bike, at least now you know what else is needed :thumb:

@mjbs64: yeah thanks for the advices and help yesterday on the bike :thumb: The tank cover looks great with the bike, I think it still looks like a red bike so don't worry, it's still splitFIRE ! :D Thank you again for getting the additives and dumper!

@yhang23: on a stock bike specs your rpm at 90 is normal. I have only one word for you: Sinnob. Best thing ever, will take your speed to 100km/h for 7rpm, with the right sproket size.

As for your engine dying off in the morning: Always warm up. It's not just for the engine it's for the oil as well to warm up and be more efficient. You were late say 10min to get your gf, if you had taken 5min to warm up, you would have saved the 20min you later spent playin with the choke.

When late, a rider should always accept it and just forget it. Let people know you are late. Don't rush and try not to stress. Tell yourself this is how it is now and ride as usual. And do all your checks on the bike before take off per usual as well :)

Pay no mind to kup kias. Or get one and play little crawling insect with them. (no offense to kk riders but there is a clear link in my head between how fast cockroaches crawl and kup kias rushing from everywhere around you in and put the customs..)

You bike is good at:

- pick up after stopping

- speed 90-100km/h on highway, also good torque at lower speed

- easy to handle and not too big for lane splitting

- can take on a lot of load (boxes and pillion and then some more)

Other bikes will give you better pick up at high speeds, lighter weight easier to squeeze and play cockroach with others, or better high speed, so you can always try another bike future. But take time to appreciate the pulsar and you'll like it :)

and dont forget, the digimeter and led tailight is superb at the price the pulsar is selling at...split seats, lights at the handebar assembly all go to make the pulsar worth it. u wont find these things on other bikes for the same price point.

in search of the magical fuel penguins

Honda CB400F

and dont forget, the digimeter and led tailight is superb at the price the pulsar is selling at...split seats, lights at the handebar assembly all go to make the pulsar worth it. u wont find these things on other bikes for the same price point.

Mine doesn't have any of those lol

http://i968.photobucket.com/albums/ae167/m0hs3n_2009/pulsar200ns.jpg

"The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool."

Mine doesn't have any of those lol

dude!ur is one of the legendary pulsar!

the legendary one is has silver engine block...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

hey.. how much does 2a cost? for fast learners on average?

2010 july 10-sept 14: Daelim Roadwin 125

16 sept 2010 - 5 oct 2012: Bajaj pulsar 200 DTSI

18 march 2013- ? : Honda NSR sp

I once set on a S1000r and the curse begun, u never wanna ride anything else besides sports bikes ever again!