:thumb: hey guys..

I need some suggestions and advice regarding the above.. I'm thinkin of upgrading to a 400cc 2A bike...

what bike to choose is the problem!.. :dot: :dot:

Im basically considering these 3: - (any other suggestions most welcomed!):thumb:

Super4

Monster 400

Drz400sm

the bike is tended for day to day commuting and regular trips up north...prob once a month at least... preferably can reliable and comfortable to ride all the way up to thailand. :cool:

I also carry a pillion almost every where...so tats another consideration.can anyone suggest/advice which would be the best choice of bike and why??

also does anyone know the top speed and/or confortable cruise speed for these bikes???

thanks a million guys...

hope to learn somethin new from the vetrans...

PS: all comments will be appreciated. :cheers:

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20

• Replies 47

Get a Super Four :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

U can Cruise with this baby... with top speed 2...

Plenty of Accessories 2 mob...

Spare PArts are much easily 2 find...compare 2 a Italy model...

With Pillion>? the bike is big enough :cool: :cool: :cool:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9092/transformeryc8.jpg

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4070/img0143cv.jpg

Of these 3, I think Super4 is the only one that can tour long distance, but you need to fit a windshield. If you are those type that travel to tour off road trails, then the dirt bike more suitable.

For long distance touring, you want to cruise at higher speeds along NS at up to 130-150. Super4 is the only one of this lot can reach this speed for prolong duration and remain comfortable to rider/pillion.

At NS speeds, the wind blast will be very strong. It will be very tiring to the rider if the bike has no wind shield. For S4, the common low screen type will allow you to cruise at above speed (eg: Givi brand). Cruiser's more upright riding positions is even worse than S4 in coping with wind blast, unless fitted with a large windshield. For the dirt bike, I think you just have to have strong arms and strong chest :)

If you carry a pillion, cruisers and dirt bikes tend to have a very small pillion pad as a seat. So pillion butt will ache faster and has little room to move about. S4 has a full sized seat for pillion.

Long distance trip + pillion => large luggage capacity. Hard luggage is not a must for touring but of course, it will be more convenient than soft luggage. Although most of the time, you will leave your luggage in the hotel, the inconvenience of soft luggage is when you are loaded with luggage, you can't just park the bike, leave it and go sight-seeing. Whereas with a lockable hard luggage you can.

Both S4 and cruiser can fit up to 3 hard boxes. Cruisers can too, but will loose their classic lines. Both S4 and cruiser can fit these soft luggage options: tankbag, throw-over side panniers. I think dirt bike cant fit tank bag so you loose some luggage capacity.

You might also be caught in heavy rains which you need to ride through, and also ride up and come down on very steep hilly mountains (you can't avoid them because they are the attraction esp in thailand). So it is good if you have a bike with good brake system. Cruisers have longer braking distance. S4 has a very powerful brake system. If you fit off road tyres on your dirt bike, you will lose braking effectiveness. If you fit road tyres, you loose some off road capability.

Downside of S4 is that when not touring, it may not be as pretty as a cruiser. And it is kind of common.

Advantage of dirt bike is that you can go off road. S4 and cruiser can travel badly paved or unpaved road too. But dirt bike can go anywhere. Depends on your touring preference. To me, most touring destinations do not need you to go off road. It is a nice-to-have and seldom use capability unless you purposely seek to tour trails.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

i saw some transalps 400 .....at looi

I would even consider the Honda NX-4.

For touring, simplicity is the key to reliability. It will happily do 110kph all day with your pillion and all your barang barang, with almost no maintenance. Naturally, speed is not it's forte, but if you need to rush from destination to destination, I would suggest that you fly:angel:

As we are speaking, there is one for sale through word of mouth. Contact "AJ"

Of these 3, I think Super4 is the only one that can tour long distance, but you need to fit a windshield. If you are those type that travel to tour off road trails, then the dirt bike more suitable.

For long distance touring, you want to cruise at higher speeds along NS at up to 130-150. Super4 is the only one of this lot can reach this speed for prolong duration and remain comfortable to rider/pillion.

At NS speeds, the wind blast will be very strong. It will be very tiring to the rider if the bike has no wind shield. For S4, the common low screen type will allow you to cruise at above speed (eg: Givi brand). Cruiser's more upright riding positions is even worse than S4 in coping with wind blast, unless fitted with a large windshield. For the dirt bike, I think you just have to have strong arms and strong chest :)

If you carry a pillion, cruisers and dirt bikes tend to have a very small pillion pad as a seat. So pillion butt will ache faster and has little room to move about. S4 has a full sized seat for pillion.

Long distance trip + pillion => large luggage capacity. Hard luggage is not a must for touring but of course, it will be more convenient than soft luggage. Although most of the time, you will leave your luggage in the hotel, the inconvenience of soft luggage is when you are loaded with luggage, you can't just park the bike, leave it and go sight-seeing. Whereas with a lockable hard luggage you can.

Both S4 and cruiser can fit up to 3 hard boxes. Cruisers can too, but will loose their classic lines. Both S4 and cruiser can fit these soft luggage options: tankbag, throw-over side panniers. I think dirt bike cant fit tank bag so you loose some luggage capacity.

You might also be caught in heavy rains which you need to ride through, and also ride up and come down on very steep hilly mountains (you can't avoid them because they are the attraction esp in thailand). So it is good if you have a bike with good brake system. Cruisers have longer braking distance. S4 has a very powerful brake system. If you fit off road tyres on your dirt bike, you will lose braking effectiveness. If you fit off road tyres, you loose some off road capability.

Downside of S4 is that when not touring, it may not be as pretty as a cruiser. And it is kind of common.

Advantage of dirt bike is that you can go off road. S4 and cruiser can travel badly paved or unpaved road too. But dirt bike can go anywhere. Depends on your touring preference. To me, most touring destinations do not need you to go off road. It is a nice-to-have and seldom use capability unless you purposely seek to tour trails.

i agree with endlessloop. s4 is probably one of the best overall 2a bikes, but the lack of windshield is a shortcoming for touring trips. speed, handling and comfort are there, except that the windblasting at you when you exceed 130-140 isn't enjoyable for long trips. personally, i prefer the posture of maxi-scooter for such trips.

Good advice above. Will add my own.

Super 4 gets my vote. The single cylinders can get a bit vibey; whereas the Super4 will give you a better ride. The only thing about it is that the rectifier is prone to problems, so you may want to carry one along. More importantly, the Super4 can hold its value fairly well, parts are easy to get, and you do not want to lose too much when you sell the machine when upgrading to a Class 2. In fact, older Super4 are pretty good value as depreciation can be as low as $500 if you buy well.

Stay focus on what you mainly do; not what you might do; otherwise you will drown in the sea of confusion and advice.

cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Super 4 lah. Tested and Proven by lots of bikers up to Thailand. Just install windshield and hard boxes; which can be detached and used for luggage to check into hotel. comfortable speed 160km/h anytime.

Bike owned:-

Honda Rebel 125, Honda Phantom 150, Honda CBF 150,

Honda Super4 verS, Honda CB 750,

Honda ST1100 PE, Honda STX 1300,

PGO I-ME 150 Wel,

Yamaha X1, Yamaha Spark 135 LE, Yamaha MX135,

Yamaha Dragstar XVS 400 Classic, Yamaha XJ6 Diversion F,

Harley Nightster 1200

Get super4 den go Get the kind of windshield which those civil defence super 4 have.

POWER!! man...

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

Wah....tats fast and efficient!! thanks for all the advice guys! realy didnt expect this much replies.... sincerely appreciate it.

yea I get the point overall. I can see why the S4 will be the most suitable choice.

Jus wondering though....the Gsr400...heard is pretty high maintainence right? interms of finance and repairs??

the only issue i have with the S4 is honestly the riding position.

Im currently rolling with a vara125...so the position is very comfortable and the bike is extremely stabe. reliability is not an issue at all. with semi-off-road tires...I can almost go anywhere (including thailand). but the lack of power is the main concern. fully loaded with pillion and luggage i can barely hit 110km/h...and it does get tiring on the NSH after prolonged periods.

I would most prefer a translap 400...but then again....parts are very hard to find and the resale value is pretty bad...if you find a buyer tat is.

so yea...

ultimately I will seriously consider the S4...

once again...really appreciate all teh comments and suggesations guys.

cheers!:cheers:

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20

for touring, scooter also can, doesnt matter what u ride, it's the rider that matters. recently one guy ride KSR110 all the way up to thailand... :thumb:

but if u wanna go fast, get a fast bike lor..

NX400, translap 400, bandit 400, SV 400: all are good bikes for 2A.

same goes for ducati monster 400, DRZ 400.

dont worry about parts for translap.. pm our hero AJ, he can advice you where u can find parts for rare bikes..

one of my friend seriously recommend SV400 over super4... handling, speed, too bad i couldnt find affordable and reliable one.

u can have all the glamour on ducati monster 400..

GSR 400 is a good bike... and the best advantage of not so common as S4 on the road. maintenance ? well, Engine Oil, Spark Plag ofcuz need to change, petrol need to top up, other than that... (if i remember correctly, flareon1982 change from vara 125 to GSR)

just get something which suits ur budget, dont burden urself with long term loans for a bike which u might wanna change for class2.

Wah....tats fast and efficient!! thanks for all the advice guys! realy didnt expect this much replies.... sincerely appreciate it.

yea I get the point overall. I can see why the S4 will be the most suitable choice.

Jus wondering though....the Gsr400...heard is pretty high maintainence right? interms of finance and repairs??

the only issue i have with the S4 is honestly the riding position.

Im currently rolling with a vara125...so the position is very comfortable and the bike is extremely stabe. reliability is not an issue at all. with semi-off-road tires...I can almost go anywhere (including thailand). but the lack of power is the main concern. fully loaded with pillion and luggage i can barely hit 110km/h...and it does get tiring on the NSH after prolonged periods.

I would most prefer a translap 400...but then again....parts are very hard to find and the resale value is pretty bad...if you find a buyer tat is.

so yea...

ultimately I will seriously consider the S4...

once again...really appreciate all teh comments and suggesations guys.

cheers!:cheers:

if u maintain, the bike, treat it well, i dun c any prob selling it..

Once A Rider,aLways A RideR

very inspirational ride.

a distance of over 10,000km travelled, under $1000 spent.

Solo trip, and navigating without GPS assist.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

Initially i was looking for SV400 or Transalp...i believe this bike in term of it characteristic and features....should be better for touring but couldnot find a good sv for sale...while cant find a shop selling transalp...hmm i went to looi too that time...now they are selling...damn...

anyway i got a spec 3....well not bad...a good choice for me!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

gsr 400 high maintenance? so far so good, there's nothing much to maintain less the oil change, plug change n those wear n tear parts which is almost the same to other bikes.

comparing S4, maintenance of gsr is slightly higher is due to the slightly bigger engine oil sump n bigger rear tyre. parts is abit steep in price cos its a PI bike. other then that, almost the same for both bikes.

Initially i was looking for SV400 or Transalp...i believe this bike in term of it characteristic and features....should be better for touring but couldnot find a good sv for sale...while cant find a shop selling transalp...hmm i went to looi too that time...now they are selling...damn...

anyway i got a spec 3....well not bad...a good choice for me!

SV400? there is only 10 units available in singaopore rite?

its a V engine. not as easy as inline 4 engine. anyway, the bike is about 6 to 7 years old. can't expect it to b in very good condition.

super 4 is the best !!!!! haha .. high resale price ... lower depreciation lol

Human is limited by fear... and only if we have courage, we will have a chance to overcome fear.

Partners in my life.

TA200 -2007 till 2010

SUPER4 - 2010 early -2010 end

Fz6 - 2010 -2012

R1 - current