hi guys, I just came back from JB Ah Guah Lane...first time being there on my zees...

I had planed to get my zee washed at Ka Kit Bukit the famouse bike washing shop there for SGD15 but 15RM can get my bike wash&wax at JB AGL is quite attractive. So decided to go JB at 9pm. When reached the custom, I saw a FL plate CBR400 friend asking for white card. I actually don't know how to go there and only brought a paper with printed google map direction. So I approach him and ask if he can give me some guidance. So happening he is also going to AGL so I am very happy to follow him all the way to that place and get my DRZ wash&wax. And he is very kind and brought me back to Singapore as well. Now I know how to ride to AGL and the CBR400 friend also showed me some pathhole on the road, quite dangerous even for my zees... I am so lucky that I met this kind CBR friend!

Now my zees looks quite nice and I am thinking about going back to AGL to wash my bike again, they have this promotion: wash 5 times, get one "Snow Wash" for FREE.

However I forgot to ask how much it is to install the box on my zee... next time I will go and ask around.

(BTW, finally I know why that place is called Ah Guah Lane, when I ride the bike around and come to the back side of those bike shops, I saw one Ah Guah walking in the dark...)

That area is one of the most crime infested area in JB and the bike shops there are doing a roaring business ripping Singapore bikers off.

The bike repairs or service may look cheap up front.. but you pay later for poor quality parts and workmanship.

NEVER leave your bike there overnight for repairs.... they will swop out the engine parts with "Malaysia Boleh" duplicates.

• Replies 7.7k

Hi Raptor, thank you for the reminder about the AGL, i will not let those mechanics touch my bike for repair or servicing, i think they spoiled the market and they deserve it.

However, pumping petrol and wash&wax my bike at AGL is still acceptable, buying small parts like not vital accessories from them is still OK.

It's also better if our SBF members or friends can go together to AGL so we can take care of each other's safety.

So if I really want to get reliable services for the big bike, I should do it in Singapore. But for E.O. change or other not so vital services, I may carefully choose those shops in JB, probably I have to go Kulai to do the servicing. Still we CANNOT leave our bikes there overnight. :)

Recommended "Must Read" Post:

How to "Live" with a Motorcycle in Singapore, a very detailed guide

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

any good decals shops to intro? my drz base white colour, kinda hard to find a good design =(

my last one was done at 21*, less than one year started to peel and bubble liao. kinda sad hai . . . didnt take care of my babe very well, even zeta hg sticker also coming off. kinda sad looking at it, seems that i fail badly as a owner, even when i did my maintenance faithfully

http://i44.tinypic.com/54c3gg.gif
Hi Raptor, thank you for the reminder about the AGL, i will not let those mechanics touch my bike for repair or servicing, i think they spoiled the market and they deserve it.

However, pumping petrol and wash&wax my bike at AGL is still acceptable, buying small parts like not vital accessories from them is still OK.

It's also better if our SBF members or friends can go together to AGL so we can take care of each other's safety.

So if I really want to get reliable services for the big bike, I should do it in Singapore. But for E.O. change or other not so vital services, I may carefully choose those shops in JB, probably I have to go Kulai to do the servicing. Still we CANNOT leave our bikes there overnight. :)

Even for EO, i wouldnt be doing over the border..

simple things like EO can also prove fatal if done wrongly, imagine they never screw back the nut properly, hence causing oil leaks..

Furthermore their EO was kept for dunno how long.. I was at a very popular shop, i saw their EO being manufactured in 2004 still on the shelf..

there's nothing at JB to risk my precious bike on.. the only times to cross over is only for track days on bike..

Hi can anybody tell me where to get IMS safari tank pls?

IMS tanks are rare in SG.. perhaps you wanna see if you can try to ship in via ordering thru ebay.. IIRC, IMS tanks only for DRZ-E and S only, not sure if the mountings are the same for SM..

Clarke and Safari make tanks for DRZ-SM..

any good decals shops to intro? my drz base white colour, kinda hard to find a good design =(

my last one was done at 21*, less than one year started to peel and bubble liao. kinda sad hai . . . didnt take care of my babe very well, even zeta hg sticker also coming off. kinda sad looking at it, seems that i fail badly as a owner, even when i did my maintenance faithfully

the stickers done at shops always do not have copyright..

you will see another similar if not exactly the same decals on another bike, else you are the one choosing the other person's decal..

I always like personalisation.. i always believed in my own unique bike..

therefore, told a friend i wanted a anime decal.. and here it goes..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v289/biting_point/DRZ/Image227.jpg

I'm 100% sure i wun see another bike running the same..

peeling is definately from acts of negligence, but the bubble shouldnt be works of a good quality decal..

the good thing abt DRZ is change its look by changing decals..!!

:thumb::thumb:

the stickers done at shops always do not have copyright..

you will see another similar if not exactly the same decals on another bike, else you are the one choosing the other person's decal..

I always like personalisation.. i always believed in my own unique bike..

therefore, told a friend i wanted a anime decal.. and here it goes..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v289/biting_point/DRZ/Image227.jpg

I'm 100% sure i wun see another bike running the same..

peeling is definately from acts of negligence, but the bubble shouldnt be works of a good quality decal..

the good thing abt DRZ is change its look by changing decals..!!

I think I'm one of the very few to have personally witnessed that hentai'ish anime decal of yours. I'm guessing that you chose that design coz it has a particular relation to your jobscope? Parked infront of Medical School somemore, haha! good one! :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v306/kohmm/IMG_3108-1.jpg

I think I'm one of the very few to have personally witnessed that hentai'ish anime decal of yours. I'm guessing that you chose that design coz it has a particular relation to your jobscope? Parked infront of Medical School somemore, haha! good one! :thumb:

haha.. well.. it's related somehow.. :angel:

not trying to gain attention or anything, but that's my standard parking area when i'm there..

haha.. well.. it's related somehow.. :angel:

not trying to gain attention or anything, but that's my standard parking area when i'm there..

Hi John, i'm abit paranoid about something. Could u pls advise me on 'falls' and what are the precautions to take after having committed one. I was just wondering if any parts would be affected, such as the fork going outta alignment and such. For starts, i know my handguards went off place.

Lets just say mine had a lil' accident..it was 5am in the morning, dark, and i was going at 40 in camp. Some bugger left the metal covers of the drain open and standing vertically in the drain and it was jarting out in the middle of the darn road. And i went head on at it.. (someone pls kill me)

WTF! Complain to CCO SM or something.. That's obviously a dirty prank and besides, the camp prowlers should've spotted it while doing their rounds. You should forewarn other riders or cyclists too.

LOL! I had the drain cover fitted back on after that f'ing painful fall. apparently my camp spans across discovery center and it didn't occur that much in my head, i was more concerned about the bike. there goes my sliders, i just bought them.. :cry:

Hey bro biting point. Can i noe where u bought ur rims n hw much izit

Marchesinis rims leh.

ard 3k :faint::faint::faint:

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a303/angelzero2/images.jpg

sorry guys i'm kinda noob to DRZ,can someone tell me what the fuel comsumption for DRZ?

i'm currently riding a super four, spec 1. Planning to change to a bike which is easier to maintain. Any recommentation?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2007-2009 Spark135

2009-2010 Super4 vtec 1

Live to Ride, Ride to Live:cool:

sorry guys i'm kinda noob to DRZ,can someone tell me what the fuel comsumption for DRZ?

i'm currently riding a super four, spec 1. Planning to change to a bike which is easier to maintain. Any recommentation?

IMO,

it depends on how much u wanna throttle. its kinda of hard to resist the temptation...:sian:

but then again here are mine. lowest at 19km/l and so far highest at 24km/l

Hi John, i'm abit paranoid about something. Could u pls advise me on 'falls' and what are the precautions to take after having committed one. I was just wondering if any parts would be affected, such as the fork going outta alignment and such. For starts, i know my handguards went off place.

Lets just say mine had a lil' accident..it was 5am in the morning, dark, and i was going at 40 in camp. Some bugger left the metal covers of the drain open and standing vertically in the drain and it was jarting out in the middle of the darn road. And i went head on at it.. (someone pls kill me)

At least it's less heartpain to fall on a DRZ than a sportsbike..

Check the lower triple clamp for any damages to the steering stop,

is your handlebar outta place when you riding after the fall,

any cracks on your bar clamps??

DRZ should be quite sturdy and can survive falls like this without much problems..

Which side you fell? if it's the left side, we can share buy a set of new axle sliders as mine was scuffed at MIMC on my right side..

I got it from MW thru Unique.

Marchesinis rims leh.

ard 3k :faint::faint::faint:

that time i had a irresistible offer at $2.6k with spocket..

definately more easier to maintain compared to Super4.. in fact cheaper too..

but you cant cruise at speeds like 120kph comfortably as on a S4 if you are on a DRZ..

big downside of this bike is not the uncomfortable high speed cruising, but the availability of so much accessories and parts over the net and shops locally..

For FC wise, i once get 32km/l on stock carb..

when on FCR, my average FC is 20km/l..

He's using marchesini rims. I think he mentioned it was 3k the last time, but i think he's being humble. =X Its not in the local market I think.

At least it's less heartpain to fall on a DRZ than a sportsbike..

Check the lower triple clamp for any damages to the steering stop,

is your handlebar outta place when you riding after the fall,

any cracks on your bar clamps??

DRZ should be quite sturdy and can survive falls like this without much problems..

Which side you fell? if it's the left side, we can share buy a set of new axle sliders as mine was scuffed at MIMC on my right side...

Wahh..super unlucky..ghost month somemore..

And I thought I could save up for my rad guards and a new chain.

When you visiting UM?

wahh..chgd bike outlook ah. no more blackie?

"when you open your mind to the impossible, sometimes you find the truth........" - Walter Bishop

thumb-yamaha-semakin-di-depan.jpg

He's using marchesini rims. I think he mentioned it was 3k the last time, but i think he's being humble. =X Its not in the local market I think.

The market price is $3.4k when i last asked for the set of rims with spocket.

I got it at $2.6k which I dun think there's any offer like this now..

for these rims, you can ship in yourself or order from local shops..

price wise almost similar either way..

these rims are not planned in my to-do list, but the price is too irresistible then.. furthermore, it not only enhances the looks but performance as well..

bike handles much better with the rims and the tyre pressures are more constant on these rims than the tube spokeys..

Wahh..super unlucky..ghost month somemore..

And I thought I could save up for my rad guards and a new chain.

When you visiting UM?

at least you had the experience now..

DRZ is tough..

SMSed you..

wahh..chgd bike outlook ah. no more blackie?

nahhhh.. only added some decals to the tank and shrouds, it's still black untill i add the rest of the parts with red decals.. :smile:

i'll be looking to ur red decals as well:clap:

I got it from MW thru Unique.

that time i had a irresistible offer at $2.6k with spocket..

definately more easier to maintain compared to Super4.. in fact cheaper too..

but you cant cruise at speeds like 120kph comfortably as on a S4 if you are on a DRZ..

big downside of this bike is not the uncomfortable high speed cruising, but the availability of so much accessories and parts over the net and shops locally..

For FC wise, i once get 32km/l on stock carb..

when on FCR, my average FC is 20km/l..

wa 2.6k with sprocket... definitely great offer.

i cant even get near to 28km/l on a stock carb.... damn... my riding style got until so jialat ma sigh...

bros....anibody know where i cn get acerbis led headlight..? n howmuch..? unique qoute me 120bucks...got other shops selling cheaper..?

kalau takot dipukol ombak...jgn beli rumah di tepi pantai...

23 Jan 2009 - 10 may 2010 : Aprilia RS125 (y2k)

10 may 2010 - 5 dec 2011 : Suzuki DRZ400SM K8

5 dec 2011 - current :Yamaha YZF R6 06

that's cheap..

i believe you are looking at this headlight..

http://www.motostrano.com/acerbisvision.html

see the price..

ok..so i'll just get it at unique den..tanks bro...

kalau takot dipukol ombak...jgn beli rumah di tepi pantai...

23 Jan 2009 - 10 may 2010 : Aprilia RS125 (y2k)

10 may 2010 - 5 dec 2011 : Suzuki DRZ400SM K8

5 dec 2011 - current :Yamaha YZF R6 06

Hi guys, today i went to a motorshop and they ask me to change my brake hose. They intro me GPR steel bake hose cost about $100/- for both front and rear. Total cost $130 plus wkmanship. However i came to know that VENHILL and HEL also the same price about there. Anyone know which is better....pls advise (GPR, VENHIL or HEL). Which shop to go...Tks

Class 2B - 23 Sep 2008

Class 2A - 10 Nov 2009 Suzuki DRZSMK6 (DEC 09 - MAR 12)

Class 2 - 01 Feb 2011 Ducati Hypermotard 1100S (Mar 12 - Jan 16), Ducati Hypermotard 821 (Jan 16)

Class 3 - 06 Nov 1998

Class 4 - 25 Feb 1999

Class 5 - 16 Dec 2008

Hi guys, today i went to a motorshop and they ask me to change my brake hose. They intro me GPR steel bake hose cost about $100/- for both front and rear. Total cost $130 plus wkmanship. However i came to know that VENHILL and HEL also the same price about there. Anyone know which is better....pls advise (GPR, VENHIL or HEL). Which shop to go...Tks

venhill and hel are definately in the higher end quality compared to gpr..

UM has them as well.

'He who is afraid to take risks will accomplish nothing in life'

-muhammad ali

www.facebook.com/ivan.mccall