just an update.

riding your typical 8 year old phantom. previous fc per liter in the range of 32-35km.

after adding 2t, fc per liter shot up to 41km per liter. YEAH 41 KM PER LITER. my riding style is same throughout. 100-110km highway riding. fast acceleration from traffic light.

i am not sure if this is because the mixture is leaning, or because the engine is running smoother or what but i am not ready to start believing in it yet. so i will probably run a few more cycles with and without 2t to see if fuel consumption really is any different.

and 1 thing i notice is that i have to shake my bike after leaving it stationary for long periods, cause i get the feeling the 2t will settle to the bottom end of the tank and flow slower than gas, so sometimes the power is abit lumpy.

what i do is engage brakes and push the bike up and down to shake the tank. lol. obscene yes.

• Replies 598

For those who read this topic and wanna achieve a smoother pickup or response, I would say a clean and properly lubed chain is the direct solution..

Not siding with those who disagree with adding 2t oil into a 4stroker because this is what I personally experience after I completely wash my chain and lube it again.. And of course maintain it

and 1 thing i notice is that i have to shake my bike after leaving it stationary for long periods, cause i get the feeling the 2t will settle to the bottom end of the tank and flow slower than gas, so sometimes the power is abit lumpy.

what i do is engage brakes and push the bike up and down to shake the tank. lol. obscene yes.

A little bit of 2T will blend very well with petrol, don't worry.

I read from American drivers' feedbacks that when the 2T oil initially start to clean up the engine it will behave like this, and after a while as the original carbon deposit is taken out of the engine, the 'lumpyness' will be gone.

I'm new to the world of 2-wheelers and this forum and in my quest to understand my machine better, I've been reading through this thread (and the forum) quite intently.

In my humble opinion, I feel that the general sentiment of this thread is a very negative and reserved one (not surprising, since it's a common plague in SG). While some have taken the effort to post reports in support of the thread with credible evidence, there are a few that exist to tear up these notions and are quick to dismiss them as "it's not convention, therefore it's not safe"; showing a stark difference between the "WHY??" and "WHY NOT??" attitudes.

Personally, I am in support of adding 2T to your engine. If anything catastrophic happens to my bike, it's valuable experience gained, otherwise, I've hit a jackpot; you can't really lose either way. Similarly, if I may digress, I ran in my brand new Derbi Terra Adventure hard, VERY VERY HARD, despite all the negativity/fore-warning in various forums/friends etc etc. While I'm only 5000km in, I've experienced no real problems with my bike (yet, as some will say); But if anything does happen, I will want to post about it, adding CONSTRUCTIVELY to the knowledge base in this forum.

There are always new frontiers to be discovered and I strongly urge readers to re-read the contents in this thread, thinking critically about the logic that goes behind the notion of adding 2T in 4 stroke engines. For me, as long as the logic is sound, based on my basic understanding of how engines work, along with references that some have so kindly posted, really, WHY NOT? =)

A little bit of 2T will blend very well with petrol, don't worry.

I read from American drivers' feedbacks that when the 2T oil initially start to clean up the engine it will behave like this, and after a while as the original carbon deposit is taken out of the engine, the 'lumpyness' will be gone.

2t cleans engine??/ some new effects.....?????????????????????????

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

Ezzyoiler seems to be VERY VERY negative about this topic.

But come on lah even though if you don't support, be a gd guy by juz leaving this topic to avoid being flamed or whatever...

Reading this post just gives me more knowledge abt 2T. Might wanna try adding it to my bike though. Its worth a try coz i want to overhaul my engine already. So im doing all this before over-hauling my bike.

Anybody heard abt atom power? It said to be a fuel saver and reduce engine wear n tear. Thought of buying it and giving it a try. Any reviews before i buy?

Honda CG 125cc. FK

Yamaha Rxk 135cc. FC

Honda XR 400cc. FW, FN

Ducati Monster 900cc. FL

MV Agusta F4 1000cc. FBE

Bmw GSA LC 1200cc. FBK

Vespa PX200 200cc. FN

Honda X-Adv 750cc. FBP

Ducati Multistrada 1200cc. AZ

😛

haha..just to make sure those who want to try...knows the consequences...

you dont have to thank me for it..just a public service...you can slam..i dont care...

bikes been in use over 100 years..

2 stroke bikes are on the way out..as they are unfriendly to the environment...

why?..the 2t cannot be burned away into nothing...

obviously you havent heard of the theory that you cannot destroy anything ..they just change to another form..

as for in this case..carbon...all sorts and type..thats why they are so unfriendly to the environment..

the manufacturers have given up on improving the 2 stroker as they just too expensive to pass current emmission standards.

so here we have smart alecks giving you all sorts of reason why adding 2t in 4 stroke bike is so good..

now even claiming that it cleans the engine and burnt into ashless by products...these are just crap..if you ask me..

for those who dont understand the complexity of the combustion engines shouild go back to school..not taking internet chatter as the absolute truth..

so those who claims this 30km/l to 40km/l...you can believe all you want...you think a 2 cent 2t can achieve such marvelous results...the oil companies will be doing it..the bike mfg will be advising you to use it.

evcen craP ADDITIVES scam do not make such outrageous claims..haha

go ahead to add 2 t in your 4 stroke engines..

its your bike not mine..

those who done it and met disatrous results are not talking..

the same will happen to you when your engine fails...as you would not want the world to know how silly you have been..thats why..the thread has no ending..

just waiting for some smart alect...to proclaim to the world what wonderful 2t is for the 4 stroke engines..all over again..

dont be surprised one day your post will be mentioned

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

There is no such thing as complete combustion in the REAL world of combustion engines. Close to complete combustion, yes, but not complete combustion.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combustion

In theory, complete combustion of petrol engines results in carbon dioxide and water being the only results. That being said, "Complete combustion is almost impossible to achieve. In reality, as actual combustion reactions come to equilibrium, a wide variety of major and minor species will be present such as carbon monoxide and pure carbon (soot or ash). Additionally, any combustion in atmospheric air, which is 78% nitrogen, will also create several forms of nitrogen oxides." (Wikipedia 2011)

So back to regular 4 stroke engines. Even if you burn petrol for 10 years of usage, you will see the bike, somewhere somehow will end up with carbon deposits. What more 2-cycle oil, where it was second designed to be combusted with petrol. The first usage of it is for it to lubricate the moving parts.

Let me just ask a rhetorical question. If you don't get it, i don't know how to put it much more simpler already. "If petrol, which was designed to be combustible, still ends up in incomplete combustion which results in carbon deposits, do you think 2-cycle oil, which was designed first to lubricate then to combust, results in LESS or NO CARBON deposits at all?"

PS: For those who have taken chemistry before and are familiar with the combustion equation, will definitely know the answer without even bothering to research on it.

2t cleans engine??/ some new effects.....?????????????????????????

Just serviced the carburetors of my bike today by the forummer S750WP.

The carburettors are damn clean (except the fuel tank metal rust which can be attracted by magnet)

Shell Advance 2T

http://www.shell.com.au/home/content/aus/products_services/on_the_road/oils_lubricants/advance/product_range/2_stroke/

Offers very good engine protection, cleanliness and low smoke

Helps prevent scuffing, ring sticking and deposit formation

Castrol Power RS TTS 2T

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9021708&contentId=7040552

Benefits:

Engine cleanliness and virtually smokeless exhaust

Mobil Extra 2T

http://www.mobil.com/Australia-English/Lubes/PDS/GLXXENPVLMOMobil_Extra_2T.aspx

Cleaner engines resulting in extended spark plug and valve life, reduced ring sticking, piston tightening and prevention of pre-ignition problems

Edited by byte77
Just serviced the carburetors of my bike today by the forummer S750WP.

The carburettors are damn clean (except the fuel tank metal rust which can be attracted by magnet)

Shell Advance 2T

http://www.shell.com.au/home/content/aus/products_services/on_the_road/oils_lubricants/advance/product_range/2_stroke/

Offers very good engine protection, cleanliness and low smoke

Helps prevent scuffing, ring sticking and deposit formation

Castrol Power RS TTS 2T

http://www.castrol.com/castrol/sectiongenericarticle.do?categoryId=9021708&contentId=7040552

Benefits:

Engine cleanliness and virtually smokeless exhaust

Mobil Extra 2T

http://www.mobil.com/Australia-English/Lubes/PDS/GLXXENPVLMOMobil_Extra_2T.aspx

Cleaner engines resulting in extended spark plug and valve life, reduced ring sticking, piston tightening and prevention of pre-ignition problems

Thanks for your objective review. Still on Shell Advance 2T and lovin it... along with turbodiesel oil. Just as I told the Phantom Knights last year, and mirroring what moto-tuners and engine builders in the USA and Thailand say, certain brands of HDEO have certain additive contents that make it perfect for motorcycle use.

This is also supported by official Shell representatives, who confirm certain properties of their HDEO "may be beneficial for ATV and motorcycle use".

Oil is like a tool. All tools are useful in certain ways, all tools are dangerous to some extent. The master of automotive tuning doesn't care about naysayers who love to create a culture of fear to prevent experimentation.

But this opposition actually -encourages- innovation and increases the level of technical understanding for everyone who dares challenge the norm and find a solution that works.

It's just like motorcycle video recording.

When I first started posting youtube videos of my rides everyone goes WTF and starts open flame wars (death threats included). Now, A LOT of people are shopping for HD cameras because guess what, video evidence is the perfect "insurance policy"! Even if we don't get into accidents often... cameras are just awesome for touring, capturing your friends' adventures forever electronically... and it's also such a great tactic to assign chase bikes to new riders in convoy, so we can use the videos to improve their riding technique and give them tips to improve their safety awareness.

Small amounts of 2T for assisted lubrication isn't going to blow up anyone's engine. Heck, we aren't asking our engines to run on methanol and water. Some bikes on the road today indeed have issues with dated design and less than optimal top-end lubrication.

Its up to the riders themselves to judge whether "kopitiam engineering" is desired to try and improve their overall efficiency. For a new bike fresh on the road with a sci-fi EFI system, definitely don't bother to read this thread.

But for some veteran bikes on the road with well known performance parameters (and limitations), who the heck cares? People get surprised at the results... and in my experience the contents of this thread are far less risky than the more interesting proposals on the forums, turbodiesel oil in bikes, racing parts, weight reduction, cosmetic modifications etc included.

certain brands of HDEO have certain additive contents that make it perfect for motorcycle use.

This is also supported by official Shell representatives, who confirm certain properties of their HDEO "may be beneficial for ATV and motorcycle use".

Shell Rotella EO for diesel engine? Is it available in SG and how much?

http://www.kawiforums.com/oil-lubrication/109849-shell-rotella-t-full-synthetic-3.html#post1447233

Edited by byte77
Shell Rotella EO for diesel engine? Is it available in SG and how much?

http://www.kawiforums.com/oil-lubrication/109849-shell-rotella-t-full-synthetic-3.html#post1447233

Rotella T is confirmed in the States to be a "universal" engine oil.

In the Asian and Australian market the equivalent oil is Rimula X. The mineral one, R3X which I'm testing now, was acquired from JB at 70+RM for 5 litres. Ultra cheap and so far, very good. Just a bit of carb adjustment needed and I'm enjoying the improved low to mid range torque. Running on HDEO requires me to lean the carburetor fuel-air mixture slightly otherwise there's way too much torque on the low range making the engine overheat on idle.

For the more superior Rimula R6 LM full synthetic, my group was offered a 50 gallon drum which is a bit... excessive. (they're meant for fleet maintenance) I wanted to start the testing with R3X and older bike first (my ah pek bike) anyway. Those with touring bikes and inline fours are trying to source for R6 LM in smaller packages.

High rpm performance doesn't seem to be affected, the bike goes from 0-110 at wide open throttle just like it always has. But between the extreme high rev ability of Pennzoil 10W40 and the Rimula's (10W40) superior low to mid range punch, I prefer the Rimula for everyday riding. It's torque that matters. Cruise at silly low RPMs and enjoy the fuel savings.

I swear by putting Motul 2T into my tank..

http://www.motul-canada.com/en/products/products_2stroke.shtml?panel=0

Best performance ever.. Never used the cheapo 2T like castrol or Mobil extra or shell before..

Regardless of price, as long as it is of low ash type bro.

The addiction to 2T oil for 4T bikers are like cigarettes for smokers.

There are many read-up online, it is advisable to refer to those with real-life experiments.

People like to bash an idea that they have no experience in.

Edited by byte77

I share ezzyoiler's sentiments. For me it is very simple.. For the average 4cyl, 4 stroker, straight petrol goes into fuel tank. Decent fully synthetic oil goes into the engine.

2t is a lubricant, not a fuel which means that it does not contribute to the combustion energy, yet it is taking up mass which could otherwise be fuel. so this combo cannot produce more potential power than one using straight fuel. If we consider the lubricating aspect of this.. last i recall in 4 strokers, the only place fuel goes into is in the combustion chamber unlike in a 2 stroker. Hardly any requirement for additional lubrication in that area. The potential problem i foresee is additional carbon or deposits around the combustion chamber, especially in crevices and in the area between the edge of the piston and the ring. This creates potential hotspots for some big banging action. The deposits can also wear out surfaces at a quicker rate, maybe around the valve seat area or the cylinder walls.

I like to question and experiment also, but this must not be done blindly or worst, ignorantly. sometimes the good saying remains.. if it's not broken, don't mess with it. :)

2t is used for 2 strokers, 4 stroke engines do not need it..

we have yet to see a smoke free 2 stroker exhaust as claimed by the oil giants' link

perhaps ezzyoiler does mean well, for the benefit of dazed and confused motorcycle owners..

Japanese Standard "The Big Naked"

14019723412_fffe6b3e9c_n.jpg

SMS 8 1 6 9 2 6 9 6

this is old school thingy :angel:

Adding little 2T oil into fuel tank for 4-stroke bike is subjected to:

1) the way you ride

2) the bike you ride

i have rode a CG 125 for 15 years and have been adding 2T for that bike till the day i sold it off ... no problemo at all :angel:

why ? 2T for this 125cc bike?

because of it's small capacity ... the engine was constantly at high range and in my younger days ... i need to get to places quickly :cheeky:

now, riding a cb750 ... dun need to put 2T while riding at home as the bike is barely near the power band when in Singapore.

Well, going touring in Malaysia with extended hours of high rev ... i will not hestiate to put 2T in tank for that extra lube :angel:

Life's Good ... Ride On :thumb:

I have been adding 0.8ml/l of 2t to my 5 year old Ybr 125. The results gained is really hard to believe. at 80km/h rpm is reduced from 8500 to 8200. about 300 rpm. Engine is much quieter and smoother. :)

When I bought my bike, it already had engine problems. The mechanic said my engine bearings are worn out. And you can hear the chik chik chik sound when engine is running. So i looked around to see if I can improve my ride.

Usually, engine roars and struggles anything above 80km/h. But when i run it with 2t, it does 85km/h with much less complain. I feel confident to open more throttle without damaging the engine. :thumb:

I alternated between tanks of 2t and no 2t in the beginning, out of fear that 2t will clog my fuel lines. o_O I always pump Caltex 98 to clean the engine too. However, performance of the engine drops back to normal whenever i revert back to using 100% petrol. Engine sounds rough and struggles near 80km/h. Roars and feel like blowing up when doing 85-90.

Nowadays, I always add 2t whenever I fill up. Its not expensive at all as 1 whole bottle of 2t will last you months. I feel the added smoothness = protecting your engine from wear and tear. I recommend giving it a try. No harm one. Its your bike right? You can feel it for yourself as we are very sensitive to our machines.

I have been adding 0.8ml/l of 2t to my 5 year old Ybr 125. The results gained is really hard to believe. at 80km/h rpm is reduced from 8500 to 8200. about 300 rpm. Engine is much quieter and smoother. :)

When I bought my bike, it already had engine problems. The mechanic said my engine bearings are worn out. And you can hear the chik chik chik sound when engine is running. So i looked around to see if I can improve my ride.

Usually, engine roars and struggles anything above 80km/h. But when i run it with 2t, it does 85km/h with much less complain. I feel confident to open more throttle without damaging the engine. :thumb:

I alternated between tanks of 2t and no 2t in the beginning, out of fear that 2t will clog my fuel lines. o_O I always pump Caltex 98 to clean the engine too. However, performance of the engine drops back to normal whenever i revert back to using 100% petrol. Engine sounds rough and struggles near 80km/h. Roars and feel like blowing up when doing 85-90.

Nowadays, I always add 2t whenever I fill up. Its not expensive at all as 1 whole bottle of 2t will last you months. I feel the added smoothness = protecting your engine from wear and tear. I recommend giving it a try. No harm one. Its your bike right? You can feel it for yourself as we are very sensitive to our machines.

ah boy's 2T sales goes up gradually nowadays. haha..

Edited by byte77

I am surprised to see old veteran from sgbike forums, Limsteel and MJ, in this thread, I always seek advice from that website during the days when I started to DIY.

Personal preference I will not add 2T to my current bike, as its FI, its already very fuel efficient in its class and the the engine feels smooth to me. But I will be adding fuel injectors cleaners instead, some says its not necessary as the fuel already contains additives to clean the injectors. So it all personal preference again.

But if I am riding a old bike where the engine feels rough I would not hesitate to try out the 2T.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf