Hi all.. Just bump into this thread... Nice to see so many safety ppl sharing their experience here.. Me currently taking SD at BCA.. Ending this July... Been in this line not long.. arnd 15years.. Yup after arnd 14years in this line then I thinking of upgrading myself...currently wrkng as a SC in Jurong island....been in jI for the past 10years in few projects, some shut down... But still learning new things... But so far, it's a great career for me.. For my experience if you wanna stay in this line, it's not just you need to know ppl, it vise versa, ppl also must know you...then you will come to a point when you receive a call from a company who wants to hire you...no need to find job, the job will find you.. Networking is very inportant in this line, you can't find good paying company in the newspaper... Cheers!!!!!

• Replies 2.3k

I have a friend who have Arch degree but choose to work as Taxi driver. he told me driving taxi is more relax and freedom and he can earn at least $200 profit after less cab rental and petrol....so $200 for 1 days therefore he work 6 days so $200X 30days so he earn $6000 per mth.

In that case, kindly start a new thread titled "Benefits of a Tower Crane Operator and Taxi Driver".

I earn more than that, working as a WSHO; 5.5 days week from 8:30am to 5pm, before CPF contribution from my employer. With full medical benefits, annual & medical leave, medical/transport/cellular claims, insurance, bi-annual bonuses, endless paid seminars/courses/trainings, etc.

FYI, I take cab to/from anywhere/everywhere before I got my 2B license last Sept.

I've always heard of complains of their job, how many pals had gone to return key and how their health suffered from long hours of driving, how "hands stop, mouth stop".

I had a classmate who started his consultant company, earning 5 digits per month just by kopi sessions with clients.

There's also multiple (HONS/Masters) grads that go work as hawkers and earn alot.. you want to start asking people to go sell char kuay teow?

I'm not sure about your age, but from your previous posts, your mindset is simply "your lollipop definately looks nicer than mine".

Maybe it's time for you to start changing your attitude, so you can achieve something in life.

PS: Criminals can also earn alot.. how about go be robber? Maybe faster? Kindly read up on the penalties, in case get caught. Might want to do a Risk Assessment too.

SafeSG.com - Bringing WSH Professionals Together

In that case, kindly start a new thread titled "Benefits of a Tower Crane Operator and Taxi Driver".

I earn more than that, working as a WSHO; 5.5 days week from 8:30am to 5pm, before CPF contribution from my employer. With full medical benefits, annual & medical leave, medical/transport/cellular claims, insurance, bi-annual bonuses, endless paid seminars/courses/trainings, etc.

FYI, I take cab to/from anywhere/everywhere before I got my 2B license last Sept.

I've always heard of complains of their job, how many pals had gone to return key and how their health suffered from long hours of driving, how "hands stop, mouth stop".

I had a classmate who started his consultant company, earning 5 digits per month just by kopi sessions with clients.

There's also multiple (HONS/Masters) grads that go work as hawkers and earn alot.. you want to start asking people to go sell char kuay teow?

I'm not sure about your age, but from your previous posts, your mindset is simply "your lollipop definately looks nicer than mine".

Maybe it's time for you to start changing your attitude, so you can achieve something in life.

PS: Criminals can also earn alot.. how about go be robber? Maybe faster? Kindly read up on the penalties, in case get caught. Might want to do a Risk Assessment too.

That sums it up. Period. And cheers to ALL WSH professionals who stood on their ground when the going gets tough.

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Sir,

I think he is referring to "occupational hygiene".

Hi, ani90,

Correct me if I am wrong. :)

Yes Occupational health/Hygeine :) no community around..

hello bro

first of all don't smoke people here by saying your friend open safety consultant company earning 5 figure per month...do you know what is the risk of not getting payment from client who use your service? u say like very easy just open and business keep coming in......

u claim that you earn more than my friend who drive taxi driver, sure or not....5.5 days week can earn more than $6K .....don't bluff lah

nice to see you joining the group, great to know you are constantly upgrading yourself too. You know what? Im in JI as well! just completed my level D and going to grad from my Master degree in end of this year. Hope to see you around :).

hello bro

first of all don't smoke people here by saying your friend open safety consultant company earning 5 figure per month...do you know what is the risk of not getting payment from client who use your service? u say like very easy just open and business keep coming in......

u claim that you earn more than my friend who drive taxi driver, sure or not....5.5 days week can earn more than $6K .....don't bluff lah

Risk of non-payment, everybody have that risk. You so sure all companies pay salaries on time? You so sure passenger will pay taxi driver when reach destination? You so sure tomorrow your boss won't go bankrupt? Client don't pay, there are legal means to deal with them, B2B style. Company don't pay salary, there is MOM. Passenger run and disappear, police ask you, who? You LPPL suck thumb.

Taxi drivers have other risks too, if you've done a general risk assessment for them. From health issues due to ergonomics, holding their bladder due to rush hours/traffic jams, fatigue, to being robbed, being stabbed, assaulted by road bullies, etc. Of course, traffic accidents due to fatigue can also result in death, perm/temp disabilities, huge medical bills, loss of income, payments for repairs.

As for my earnings, need me to show you my latest IRAS filing? I won't post it publicly on the internet but you are welcome to meet up whereby I will show you face to face when I receive it. And of course with additional supporting evidence for viewing would be, my namecard, employment agreement, employee pass, WSHO license, ECO license, etc.

I can also get my friend, to drive and pick you up in his brand new Audi Q7 and go for an internship kopi session with his client, if he allows.

Not the most expensive car, I know.. but definitely not your average Joe too.

I'm not the highest paid WSHO here. There are other seniors that got better package than me.

It's the same as all profession. There are highly paid bankers, there are also lowly paid ones.

Again, this only shows 1 thing..

You can doubt our claims but you don't allow others to doubt your claims.

You can go to the extreme and push people away saying all sorts of nasty things, but you cannot stand criticism from others.

Seems like Singapore revolves around you and you only.

Stop being so full of yourself, behind the computer, being a keyboard warrior.

Feel free to arrange for an appointment with me and welcome to reality.

To all old birds, just joined a fairly big company, with bizsafe star, OSHA18000 and etc...First week there, it seem like there was no system in place? My Manager who is also RSO, have no solutions to many of the system, just keep on saying operations push to to safety and we tried to push back. i kinda of taken back by this kinda of approach whereby everythings like wayang. Haiz.He holds the same level A,B,C and D, whereby I finished my level C in Jan 2013.

My Manager was tasked to conduct a general safety briefing to new tech coming into the company. he just google and dl a ppt from web, change the company name good to go. Ask me to go through and conduct the briefing on Sat for 3 technicians.

I understand due to lacked of experience, I need to start from below and tio arrow to many things. May I know izzit the real world, that no one is actually interested in safety, just wanna cover his backside because of WSHA. Or mine is an isolated case. Need some encouragement here cos my primary objective to mitigate all risk. I just started my degree in EOHS. So I know how some of the risk can affect the employees, especially in the lower level.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

To all old birds, just joined a fairly big company, with bizsafe star, OSHA18000 and etc...First week there, it seem like there was no system in place? My Manager who is also RSO, have no solutions to many of the system, just keep on saying operations push to to safety and we tried to push back. i kinda of taken back by this kinda of approach whereby everythings like wayang. Haiz.He holds the same level A,B,C and D, whereby I finished my level C in Jan 2013.

My Manager was tasked to conduct a general safety briefing to new tech coming into the company. he just google and dl a ppt from web, change the company name good to go. Ask me to go through and conduct the briefing on Sat for 3 technicians.

I understand due to lacked of experience, I need to start from below and tio arrow to many things. May I know izzit the real world, that no one is actually interested in safety, just wanna cover his backside because of WSHA. Or mine is an isolated case. Need some encouragement here cos my primary objective to mitigate all risk. I just started my degree in EOHS. So I know how some of the risk can affect the employees, especially in the lower level.

No an isolated case.

Had a similar manager in my last company too. Just that he don't Google for things. He just task you to do, he comment, you rectify, he put his name and submit to management. He got his compliments from above and nobody know nuts about who the f**k you are.

That experience taught me how to protect my works.

Dear hachi, can understand your situation but be mindful of what you posted over forum. Being a safety officer also requires you to be diplomatic and confidential in certain company matters. You have only just started this job in this company and previously mention working at certain venue, I already know who is your manager. This line is quite small, whatever you posted may also be read by your manager or your management and future employer as well. Hence, it is better not to pin point how ur manager does things, instead, focus on how you would handle such a situation such as mitigate risk for those employees working frontline. Hope you dun find me being nosey.

thank you for your advice. nowadays cannot underestimate the social platform trail..

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

nice to see you joining the group, great to know you are constantly upgrading yourself too. You know what? Im in JI as well! just completed my level D and going to grad from my Master degree in end of this year. Hope to see you around :).

Hi, alan,

Can I kay-poh a bit??

I may have asked you before. Sorry, my memory failing me.

You took Masters in ...??

Masters in EHS? From NUS?

Thanks. :)

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

No an isolated case.

Had a similar manager in my last company too. Just that he don't Google for things. He just task you to do, he comment, you rectify, he put his name and submit to management. He got his compliments from above and nobody know nuts about who the f**k you are.

That experience taught me how to protect my works.

But I am kinda of excited, cos I can start implement systems which can help the workers or the company. My manager can take all the credits he wants. I am ok. Rather than maintaining the system, I set them up. Just park under a new Director last Thursday, seem like a reasonable person. Hopefully she can support my safety systems to mitigate the risk of the workers. Of course bring the company to a higher level of safety culture. When the going gets tough, the tough gets going.

Up for this thread......

hi hachi,

i am not any particular person, just a newbie in this industry too. just to note to encourage u and to jiayou! :)

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

hi hachi,

i am not any particular person, just a newbie in this industry too. just to note to encourage u and to jiayou! :)

Same here just joined the industry not long ago...

HID .....

Right light at the right place on right time inspire riding confidence

so how much you earning as WSHO?

Risk of non-payment, everybody have that risk. You so sure all companies pay salaries on time? You so sure passenger will pay taxi driver when reach destination? You so sure tomorrow your boss won't go bankrupt? Client don't pay, there are legal means to deal with them, B2B style. Company don't pay salary, there is MOM. Passenger run and disappear, police ask you, who? You LPPL suck thumb.

Taxi drivers have other risks too, if you've done a general risk assessment for them. From health issues due to ergonomics, holding their bladder due to rush hours/traffic jams, fatigue, to being robbed, being stabbed, assaulted by road bullies, etc. Of course, traffic accidents due to fatigue can also result in death, perm/temp disabilities, huge medical bills, loss of income, payments for repairs.

As for my earnings, need me to show you my latest IRAS filing? I won't post it publicly on the internet but you are welcome to meet up whereby I will show you face to face when I receive it. And of course with additional supporting evidence for viewing would be, my namecard, employment agreement, employee pass, WSHO license, ECO license, etc.

I can also get my friend, to drive and pick you up in his brand new Audi Q7 and go for an internship kopi session with his client, if he allows.

Not the most expensive car, I know.. but definitely not your average Joe too.

I'm not the highest paid WSHO here. There are other seniors that got better package than me.

It's the same as all profession. There are highly paid bankers, there are also lowly paid ones.

Again, this only shows 1 thing..

You can doubt our claims but you don't allow others to doubt your claims.

You can go to the extreme and push people away saying all sorts of nasty things, but you cannot stand criticism from others.

Seems like Singapore revolves around you and you only.

Stop being so full of yourself, behind the computer, being a keyboard warrior.

Feel free to arrange for an appointment with me and welcome to reality.

Hi MH bro, Yup I doing my master in NUS partner with John Hopkins University in US :)..

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: to you lah.

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

Hi, anyone did any safety campaign, safety promotion and etc? How do you present it to the management. I was tasked to do it, I learned in level C but the actual implementation I do not know how to do it. Can I send in safety proposal first and seek management consideration? Any old birds can guide me along? Or send me their safety proposal for my reference? Pm me is ok, thanks in advance.

HID .....

Right light at the right place on right time inspire riding confidence

$3000 per month for WSH officer

then u should be very easy to satisfy wat. how come still so unhappy?

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

that was my salary when i was a newly registered safety officer in 1996. after 17 years, if such is the starting pay of a newly registered safety officer, i think our garmen screw up big time.

if you factor inflation, newly registered safety officer, who normally comes with at least 2 years of working experience, 3k is very minimal. or should i say in today's cost of living, just to get by.

wat can i say? our leaders suck? we picked them.

$3000 per month for WSH officer

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f