I've yet to pass my 2b but i'm curious.

when you guys say more expensive, what do you mean? the parts? FC will be about the same as a car?

right now, i ride a bicycle, spent 6k on it. spent another 3k on my road bicycle. parts like chains(40-80 bucks) and suspension forks/shocks (700-1.5k). tyres cost me 60 a piece, mtb tyres 140-170 a pair.

if you compare what i spend on my bicycle, which of the class 2b/2a/2 will it fit in?

im 30 so my insurance probably won't be that high, i checked with ntuc, a phantom at my age is about 330 for 3rd party fire and theft. road tax?

i'm planning to get a ducati m400 next yr, 2nd hand since they dont make them anymore, would that be a good idea. i just like the way it looks and from the looks of the discussion, a class 2 is probably a bad idea for me since i dont fit the "passion" criteria. mainly for how the ducati monster looks.

• Replies 121

when you guys say more expensive, what do you mean? the parts? FC will be about the same as a car?

right now, i ride a bicycle, spent 6k on it. spent another 3k on my road bicycle. parts like chains(40-80 bucks) and suspension forks/shocks (700-1.5k). tyres cost me 60 a piece, mtb tyres 140-170 a pair.

if you compare what i spend on my bicycle, which of the class 2b/2a/2 will it fit in?

im 30 so my insurance probably won't be that high, i checked with ntuc, a phantom at my age is about 330 for 3rd party fire and theft. road tax?

i'm planning to get a ducati m400 next yr, 2nd hand since they dont make them anymore, would that be a good idea. i just like the way it looks and from the looks of the discussion, a class 2 is probably a bad idea for me since i dont fit the "passion" criteria. mainly for how the ducati monster looks.

most ppl doesn't even spend that much on 2B bikes. chain and sprocket for motorcycle is 150+ 2B to class 2 is about the same price, depends on the quality u want. tires are 300-500$ got 2A and class 2 bikes depends on the quality again. but tires change like once per 2 years, chain and sprocket can last longer, depends on how to take care.

Ducati bikes usually consume more petrol. so I guess for 400cc around 18km/l? super4 consume around 22-25km/l, 1000cc bike generally consume around 15km/l.

Normal service like changing EO class 2A and 2 bikes are the same around 4litre of EO change every 5000km, 2B only 1 litre 3000km. 2B bikes has less spark plugs too.

Hi.

I spent a lot on my bicycle for quite a long time before I took up motorcycling.

Spent close to 3k on my bicycle, more if you count the parts that I swapped out/broke/replaced, etc.

From my experience, your second hand 2b bike is likely to cost less than your bicycle, even with COE in the equation. I got my 2b bike (4 years old) at about 3k.

The difference would be petrol (of course) and regular maintenance. Certain areas of maintenance with regards to bicycles can cost more than a motorcycle's.

There shouldn't be much to do for your phantom, but your Ducati would be a different story. Old or new, high cc or low cc, a Ducati part is likely to cost more. I considered getting the m400 too because of its looks, but decided I'd go for a cb400 instead which has more customization options and more part availability in Sg. It was rather difficult finding parts for my previous bike (fz150i). That, and I didn't like Ducati that much.

Maybe you should check out the ducati forums and ask the experienced owners about maintenance costs?

IG: @adrielwrites

Getting a cl2 bike is like asking yourself what it's like to get a GF when you're single. It is to satisfy the unsatisfied and curious feeling nudging inside you. But you're worried you got no time for friends, no spare cash to pursue your hobby, the fear of losing etc. but once you got it, you'll be like "ok I'll got it and life isn't that much diff" And that's it. But as always, it's always your passion that puts you through just like how you're willing to sacrifice for your gf/wife. If it's really what you want, I believe you know how to get it. No $$? Get part time job or save/work harder. you know what to do cause to get cl2, you gonna be at least 21? If it's what you want, riding will always make you forget how hard you work for it.

To be there's are no cons, only test of your passion. Fc high? You expect high performance machines to sip petrol? Power comes from combustion, more combustion = more power = more fuel = more $$. Maintenance high? You look at the complexity of the engine, shocks and accessories compared to 2B bike and expect the same price? Power is never enough but what matters most is power when you need it like overtaking at 90km/hr with 100kg pillion etc.

I held 2A for 10yrs but finally go get my cl2 last month cause I wanna satisfy the itch at least once than to regret when I'm old. And the sound of cl2 exhaust is like whoa! Got this neighbour who just got his R6, can always hear him stationary revving his engine at night (my unit faces the MSCP) lol. So now I'm saving till July and make my purchase, woot. Even if the exp is bad, at least I can sell it and move on rather than spend my whole life guessing what it feels like.

So to answer your qn, I'll say pros and cons are subjective to individual but the common ones are

Pro= poweeerrrr, the feel, the silly grin when you start the engine and your reflection whenever you stop beside a reflective surface

Cons= high chance to lose license and your HP may run out of memory to store hp numbers

Nothing to lose.

Your normal saloon car will cost more than a top end bike irregardless. COE alone can cover that bike's maintenance for a lifetime. Car maintenance also more costly than a bike's, I'm talking insurance, road tax and parking. Cars can drag their timely mechanical maintenance longer than bikes, you still can drive a car with almost bald tyres, on a bike you will skid and die.

As far as Ducatis go, its better to get one new than 2nd hand, 2nd hand = older model = more problems, not only because its used but also because its an older model with belting or dry clutch, older gen system etc.

To put Class 2 bike's use in Singapore into perspective, a litre sportsbike can break highway speed limits in first or 2nd gear.

Wah. Don't be so hardcore lah bro. Hahahah! But its true.

though I'm riding a CLS2 bike I can never get enough of it... its my fun ride!

That's the whole point. Fun ride

Everyone dies eventually and the time we have is limited.

If you want a taste of 400, 600, 1000cc machine and can afford it, then why not?

Since we already took the step of motorcycle riding and ownership, I don't see the point of holding back and stick to

Sure, it is "overpowered" and "pointless" in sg context, but I prefer it that way than be 'underpowered' and have constant questions of 'what-ifs' as each 1000cc litrebike zoom past.

You does not need to speed like a maniac to enjoy it. It's the power on demand, the surge and perhaps, the instant gratification when you twist the throttle.

Give a try on a 1000 and if you think there is still a need for debate, you need a check on your pulse rate.

Well, there are always people who prefer vanilla. Nothing wrong too.

There is no need for deep philosophy or reasons.

End of the day, no need think so much abt pros/cons. Wanna ride Class 2 just do it, after all its individuals money.

Having said that, it does feel as though drivers seem to take notice more and give way when I'm riding my duc compared to when i ride my yamaha 250

End of the day, no need think so much abt pros/cons. Wanna ride Class 2 just do it, after all its individuals money.

Having said that, it does feel as though drivers seem to take notice more and give way when I'm riding my duc compared to when i ride my yamaha 250

Honda fit loves to tailgate me on highway which i really dk why..

http://i1078.photobucket.com/albums/w492/gadgetzempire/20140302_020723_zps982aa101.jpg

yes it is true. I have notice more cars giving way to me when I am riding bigger bike. When riding 2B bike they bascially treat me like invisible. even I horn they just cut into my lane. after changing to 2A and class 2 altho it still occur but mush less frequent.

Honda fit loves to tailgate me on highway which i really dk why..

Sometimes on the highway, speed limits is stated 90km/hr, however for any defensive riding riders out there, following the same speed as most drivers / cars are the safest even if it goes below or exceed the speed limit.

hard for me to explain it, but when you ride slower than wad most vehicles is moving, u get alot of annoyed drivers and some pattern kings that will start tail gate u etc, that's why sometimes when i ride 60km/hr on expressway, no one tail gates me because thats wad all vehicles is moving at.

and when you ride faster than most vehicles, get ready to jam brakes on those other reckless F1 drivers and you will bound to speed even more in between lanes even if your already at 100km/hr because when u speed, ur mind gets into ecstacy with just the speed and kept going faster and faster and faster.

I used to ride like that until there is once i swerved and cut thru everything and facing a totally empty road ahead. i asked myself "Who am i competing with ? but myself" and grateful that all my experience in past doesnt lead me to an accident.

Class 3 29 April 2009[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2B 11 March 2010[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2A 02 July 2012[TP Attempt: 1]

Class 2 On-Training[TP Attempt: TBA]

TA-200 Honda Phantom 2010~2013

GSR Suzuki 400R 2013~Present

I used to dream and hope wondering what's the feeling of riding a bike more than 15 yrs back.

Initially I got my Class 2B licence - Wonderful

Later got my Class 2A licence - Lagi Shiok

followed by my Class 2 licence but haven got a chance to get a Class 2 bike.... accident came.

Now.... got Class 2 bike liao. A bit sianz. But then..... come to think of it, better than taking the public transport. Squeeze here and there.

Riding to me is about passion. If you have the passion, you will work hard to get a class 2 bike to know how it feel like so you won't regret. I rode nsr sp to s4 to R6 to fz1 and now jupiter. Cost of big bike is definitely higher than a small bike, be it petrol, maintenance or accessories. But if you really have the passion, you won't feel the pain when riding it. What I really like riding big bike is the power and stability. :)

Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

Ride safely. Be courteous. =)
"Who am i competing with ? but myself"

#quoteoftheday

` ` ` ,=; ` ` ` ` ` ` `

` ` `/_____ ` ` ` ` ` `

` `()[_____\,,,,. ` ` `

` `_//\=x(_)\/ __ ` ` `

` / `\ \{}}}/ / `\ ~ ~`

`| () | \(_)=| () |~ ` ~