Hi guys, just wanna know whether is it safe to ride between lanes.

As i'm still struggling for my 2B license, everytime i drive on the road, those blardy taxi drivers just filter without giving signal and i was wondering how bikes avoid such situation if riding between lanes?

• Replies 73

just ride slowly lor when riding in between lanes...that's wat i usually do especially when traffic jams...

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b108/Ayirock/spankers/1234.png

Originally posted by d3smond@April 29, 2007 01:33 am

As i'm still struggling for my 2B license, everytime i drive on the road, those blardy taxi drivers just filter without giving signal and i was wondering how bikes avoid such situation if riding between lanes?

Not advisable la. Sometimes car nv notice u n change lane.

But u know, i know. =)

Crazy

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1022863475.png

juz be more alert when squeezing and try not to stay in their blindspot for too long.. high beam works sometimes hehe :cheer:

-----------------------------------------

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

Selling tyre gauges(good for track use) PM me

For your case i think you should keep yourself in the middle of a lane for now. Learn the characteristics of drivers who mite wanna change lane eg: driver checking bindspot or keep looking at side or rearview mirror, vehicle slowly edging towards your lane and in cases of jams do look out for openings in your lane, do be extra careful cos u nv know when the driver in front of you mite decide the other lane is faster and swing out suddenly, so on and so forth.

When you understand these characterisitics you will be better able to predict if a stupid taxi driver is gonna change lane or not.

:goodluck: for your 2b.

ride safe.

Relax!

Yea. Try n stand by your hand n foot at the brake in case of anything. N nv be provoke by them easily. Try n keep cool when riding. Good luck too.:goodluck:

Crazy

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1022863475.png

It's not safe to squeeze in between 2 vehicles for sure.

If you are really rushing for time and need to squeeze in between lanes, then you really need to anticipate the situation wisely, just like getting ready to e-brake and swerve when needed.

Try to exit fast when squeezing in between buses or huge vehicles, you wouldn't want to be sandwiched right?

Getting good horns and lights do help as drivers will be more aware of you.

be prepare to stop or slow down when approaching any vehicles...

my advice for begininer is that stay at ur own lane till u master ur bike =p

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

keep a slow speed and a wise someone use to tell me..keep ur fingers on ur horns too..taxi drvers like to change lane witout warnin..when u see them move a lil,be prepared to horn the sh*t out of them...hehe..works wonders:cheeky:

Originally posted by excaliber@April 29, 2007 04:29 pm

keep a slow speed and a wise someone use to tell me..keep ur fingers on ur horns too..taxi drvers like to change lane witout warnin..when u see them move a lil,be prepared to horn the sh*t out of them...hehe..works wonders:cheeky:

Believe it or not.. I nv use my horn before at all. Hehe.

Believe it or not, when I press the horn, my finger will like kenna super glue like that, stuck there and cannot pull off. Especially if i see the fella gabra and kan chiong dunno want to steer where. :smile:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Originally posted by lthongs@April 29, 2007 09:35 pm

hmm wad if no horn?? can shout!??? *^%#E^#$!!!!! can they hear?

hEHE.. try la.. u jus make sure their windows are down if not they wil shout back at u.. I stil remmeber one guy overtook me to shout at me coz i jam brake wen red light. pls la. red light camera he stil can shout as if im at fault. i dun wan lose my p plate.. wat he know abt it. haiz. some drivers.. they tink they big shot.. !

If the traffic is moving, you only have to look out for other vehicles. Make sure you have high beam on and a good horn (nowadays many idiots don't even signal intention) look out for gaps forming to your left and right (got opening means can filter mah...not you but sure got veh cross your path). vehicle turning can see front wheel not straight..observe/lookout.

If traffic not moving go slow if you cannot see far at eye level side to side(vans, trucks and SUVs can block you from seeing the Jaywalkers/lazy pedestrians-crossing too far or overhead bridge/underpass too siong) cos I damn near send one to hospital when she dash into my path (Yes...say SORRY to me then run away while I'm trying to lift my bike..), bike some scratches, right arm and right leg need chinese doctor, Thank you Metz tourance. Also lookout for fellow two wheelers squeezing/changing lanes in traffic jam, some take for granted, no brother is speeding down the betweener lane he/she is cutting thru.

Its a no win situation for anyone if there is impact. If there is a slowpoke in your betweener lane you have two choices, either relax and follow his pace or cut out, overtake him in parrallel(in another betweener lane) and cut back in (Okay, okay...got another choice I don't advocate- horn and high beam the fellow to get out of your way like a BULLY does), the second choice has a higher risk, confidence cannot dictate that the traffic doesn't change.

g

Ride like everyone else on the road is an Idiot

Know your ride well if you wanna go fast

Enjoy your ride, Have Fun

Live to Ride ,Ride to Live

Originally posted by Ladyrider@April 29, 2007 10:02 pm

hEHE.. try la.. u jus make sure their windows are down if not they wil shout back at u.. I stil remmeber one guy overtook me to shout at me coz i jam brake wen red light. pls la. red light camera he stil can shout as if im at fault. i dun wan lose my p plate.. wat he know abt it. haiz. some drivers.. they tink they big shot.. !

haha.. i still rmb for mine was.. i was traveling at e way.. at the left most lane.. dunno my speed as i don have a meter but i know i was slow cos my bike cant speed.. then a car cut thru me and scroll down his window and shout. **** *** lar.. then scroll back quickly and drives off.. i was like wtf.. not my fault.. my bike cant speed... :faint:

Slow nevermind.... Pattern must be nice.... Bike must be BLING...

Originally posted by lthongs@April 30, 2007 12:04 am

haha.. i still rmb for mine was.. i was traveling at e way.. at the left most lane.. dunno my speed as i don have a meter but i know i was slow cos my bike cant speed.. then a car cut thru me and scroll down his window and shout. **** *** lar.. then scroll back quickly and drives off.. i was like wtf.. not my fault.. my bike cant speed... :faint:

wat a waste..i wud have tried to get infront of him and slow down on purpose..Ill be like..tts for bein a jackass!!! and always wait for ladies like me..Muahaha..-evil grinz-

I try not to, in fact after few months, never. Firstly, side collision occurs very easily, secondly, if i scratch other drivers' vehicles, got to compenstate right?? so ride er.. smartly n thrifty lah :sweat:

Originally posted by Ladyrider@April 29, 2007 06:01 pm

Believe it or not.. I nv use my horn before at all. Hehe.

riding for 2 1/2 years. have not try using horn to horn other vehicles.

but instead i use that time to brake.

i cant multitask leh. brake and horn at the same time.

Hello! Anyone there? :cheers:

normally i'll anticipate the movements of the car..keep ur eye point about 2 to 3 cars further up..watchout for their front tyres..make sure they're pointing straight..if u see them turning be prepared to brake n stop if necessary.

or u could get a white bike, white helmet n wear a white shirt..normally my white helmet enough to make them swerve back into their lane..haha

Originally posted by d3smond@April 29, 2007 01:33 am

Don't squeeze between lanes when you're riding in normal traffic, just ride like you learnt in the driving centre, this is the safest way. Ride behind the car, and keep a safe distance, and use your signal lights.

I also have to warn you about squeezing in between cars when stopping at traffic junctions to get to the front of the queue. Because you're riding a 2B bike, there's not much pickup power. Those taxis and some car drivers are very selfish, they won't care about your safety. They want to be #1 when the light turns green so that no obstruction, so they'll pickup very fast. IF you kena sandwiched between 2 vehicles that pickup faster than you, you're in real danger. Just don't do it.

If you're riding on the expressways, and there's a jam, don't take the fast lane, it's very dangerous. If you follow behind the car, you cannot brake in time if there's an emergency stop.

Either follow the car leaving ample distance on the slow lane, or if you've already familiarised yourself with your vehicle (about 2 - 3 months riding experience) you can try to follow behind other riders when they cut between cars. But do it carefully and never go faster than you're comfortable. If the bikes behind pressure you, just move in and let them go first. They have years of experience, you cannot go at their speed.

Wake up earlier if you have to, and take a longer route if necessary. Avoid CTE, PIE and even ECP during peak hours in the first week or two after you get your bike. Take quiet roads like TPE or just ride on regular roads.

Some people may say I'm very kiasee in the way I ride, but I've been riding for 15 years and only had one minor accident where I was going crazyily fast up a hill then kissed a car's bumper on the downhill when I couldn't brake in time. So if you want to stay safe and stay alive, ride like me! :D

I still ride very kiasee-ly even up till today, never want to take any risks.

ppl dun ride in between lanes 4 nth. like smooth traffic u ride in between lanes. imagine urself as a driver or rider. u dun know whether tat guy wanna steer right or left. n if u r squeezing between lanes, keep ur eyes on e rd rather den on ur mirror 2 see if any motor is tailgating u. any slight respond frm a car means a hazard. 4 mi, i will keep middle during a turn b it a steep 1 a not. coz u can thrust urself 2 stay in between e lanes but can u thrust e drivers on ur left n right?

I do that all the time... :sweat:

I don't recommand doing that though..

But share how I do it :sweat:

Before cutting in between vehicles, try to slow down and pace your speed with theirs. Accelerate when you feel comfortable and when there is enough space to sqeeze through.

i do squeezing eveeryday .. due to traffic jam! but juz be careful when u do tat =P

2007-=Honda NSR 150sp=-FR

2008-=Honda CBR 400=-FP

2008-=Suzuki GSXR 400=-FK

2009-=Yzf-R1 2004=-FX

2010-=Yzf-R1 2010=-FBE

2011-=Suzuki Gsxr 600 K7=- FBB

http://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge2.jpghttp://i193.photobucket.com/albums/z110/ahcongie/merge3.jpg

Originally posted by MiddleAgedBiker@May 08, 2007 10:39 pm

Don't squeeze between lanes when you're riding in normal traffic, just ride like you learnt in the driving centre, this is the safest way. Ride behind the car, and keep a safe distance, and use your signal lights.

I also have to warn you about squeezing in between cars when stopping at traffic junctions to get to the front of the queue. Because you're riding a 2B bike, there's not much pickup power. Those taxis and some car drivers are very selfish, they won't care about your safety. They want to be #1 when the light turns green so that no obstruction, so they'll pickup very fast. IF you kena sandwiched between 2 vehicles that pickup faster than you, you're in real danger. Just don't do it.

If you're riding on the expressways, and there's a jam, don't take the fast lane, it's very dangerous. If you follow behind the car, you cannot brake in time if there's an emergency stop.

Either follow the car leaving ample distance on the slow lane, or if you've already familiarised yourself with your vehicle (about 2 - 3 months riding experience) you can try to follow behind other riders when they cut between cars. But do it carefully and never go faster than you're comfortable. If the bikes behind pressure you, just move in and let them go first. They have years of experience, you cannot go at their speed.

Wake up earlier if you have to, and take a longer route if necessary. Avoid CTE, PIE and even ECP during peak hours in the first week or two after you get your bike. Take quiet roads like TPE or just ride on regular roads.

Some people may say I'm very kiasee in the way I ride, but I've been riding for 15 years and only had one minor accident where I was going crazyily fast up a hill then kissed a car's bumper on the downhill when I couldn't brake in time. So if you want to stay safe and stay alive, ride like me! :D

I still ride very kiasee-ly even up till today, never want to take any risks.

I ride a 2B NSRR. No problem squeezing at traffic light junctions leh. When i launch my bike nobody is in front of me, even the larger bikes keep their torgue in check, cause they just let me go. Taking off at 8k or 9k RPM leaves everybody behind and i do not need to keep track of them on my sides, only on my rear. So it really depends on riding style, not much on bike type. As with many riders always saying 2B not enough power on expressways to pull away from trouble, i clutch in high rev throw clucth, i dun see why not enough power. Currently waiting TP for 2A. Super4 may have more power, but you got to be in the right gear also, if not there is also a lag between opening throttle and power surge?

But i agree with your style of riding. Great attitude towards safety and a good 15 years of safe riding on the road. :thumb: You're someone i can learn much from :smile:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965