hypothetical scenario : say you're travelling on the expressway and there's a *ahem* white car in lane 1. Lane 2 is clear by a long stretch.

Do you

1) Accelerate up close behind the *whitie* and tailgate so he'll change to lane 2. Problem is, he's travelling at the legal limit and if you manage to reach him, technically you're speeding.

2) Follow behind guai guai, while other cars tailgate you.

2a) Drop into lane 2 when cars tailgate, but problem is other cars are coming up in lane 2 too. lane 3 is full of heavy gravel-trucks spitting bullets off their cargo.

3) Overtake the *whitie* on the left going via lane 2. Thing is, to overtake the fella on the left, means you got to be travelling faster than him, which means speeding. (Maybe it's a trap?) Or overtake very very very slowly, slower than paint dries.

And, for the kicks of it, do what most aggressive people do

4) High-beam the s*** outa the fella and overtake on the left, then go in front and jam brake.

For the moment, ignore the fact that the *whitie* is road-hogging.

Actually overtaking on lane 2 u might end up slower than following behind unless you can manage to come back to lane 1 later. Usually everybody drives on lane 1 and lane 2 is quite empty, but with even slower traffic haa haa.

I've seen many cars trying to overtake hoggers on lane 1 but end up kena blocked later by even slower hoggers on lane 2, then no choice have to come back to lane 1 again which may end up behind the original lane 1 hogger haa haa.

We R One!

• Replies 25.1k

I've seen this happen on the TPE once, during my Yamaha Hell Riding days:

Chevrolet is going at steady 90kph on lane 1 (that's 110 on my bike's speedo) and a BMW 135 is tailgating and flashing him like crazy. He can't overtake due to the heavy traffic. After 5 minutes BMW 135 couldn't take it and decided to cut to lane 3 within 2 seconds, blast ahead at max acceleration and cut back to lane 1.

All would work out well if it were a Fast & Furious movie but in the real world both cars ended up having similar average speed and the BMW's tyres visibly deformed over 20 degrees for a moment as the BM driver swerved back into Lane 2 to avoid crashing into the Chevy, a devastating side on high speed collision narrowly averted.

In the end, the calm Chevrolet driver wins as he's practically in front of everyone going at a reasonable speed and I happily draft behind his huge body to my benefit. There were 6 or 7 cars behind us following at a safe distance and none of them let the BMW rejoin Lane 1.

Silly BMW driver can flash, honk, rev impatiently behind all he wants and goes nowhere.

Is true, about lane 2 generally being clear, but overtaking leaving you stuck behind other cars. happens all the time.

the question i was posing, i guess, is if lane 2 is visibly clear ahead, we're talking easy overtaking which will allow you to get ahead of the veh in lane 1. and the whitie I was talking abt, it's license plate doesn't start with S** or G** or whatever normal plates we see around. gov veh yeh.

In summary, if it was definitely ok for you to overtake, given the road conditions, and you would need a suitable 100-110kmph to overtake the veh (which may then nab you for speeding. which of the above 4 options would one choose to take.

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

I've seen this happen on the TPE once, during my Yamaha Hell Riding days:

Chevrolet is going at steady 90kph on lane 1 (that's 110 on my bike's speedo) and a BMW 135 is tailgating and flashing him like crazy. He can't overtake due to the heavy traffic. After 5 minutes BMW 135 couldn't take it and decided to cut to lane 3 within 2 seconds, blast ahead at max acceleration and cut back to lane 1.

All would work out well if it were a Fast & Furious movie but in the real world both cars ended up having similar average speed and the BMW's tyres visibly deformed over 20 degrees for a moment as the BM driver swerved back into Lane 2 to avoid crashing into the Chevy, a devastating side on high speed collision narrowly averted.

In the end, the calm Chevrolet driver wins as he's practically in front of everyone going at a reasonable speed and I happily draft behind his huge body to my benefit. There were 6 or 7 cars behind us following at a safe distance and none of them let the BMW rejoin Lane 1.

Silly BMW driver can flash, honk, rev impatiently behind all he wants and goes nowhere.

Well, you know the usual excuse, his wife was giving birth. Heh. Lane 1 to 3 and back is a tad extreme an overtaking maneuver. Thankfully he didn't barge his way into your lane eh?

SBT #1149 Price List

seldom see whitie on lane 1..

with or w/o orleng strips?? blue/blue lamps or blue/red lamps??

seldom see whitie on lane 1..

with or w/o orleng strips?? blue/blue lamps or blue/red lamps??

w/o orleng, blue/red. but not bling-king:D

SBT #1149 Price List

to riders out there

pls be careful when using the junction where alexandra road turns into depot road. some construction truck dropped a lot of sand and gravel onto the junction. ride safe :(

Edited by gwzc_mk2

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

to riders out there

pls be careful when using the junction where alexandra road turns into depot road. some construction truck dropped a lot of sand and gravel onto the junction. ride safe :(

constructions going on next to the junction.. what to do..

call LTA and report bah.. heard they will send in cleaning party to clear up the road and impose warning to the contractors..

will try to take a look later during lunch at the junction..

w/o orleng, blue/red. but not bling-king:D

i will overtake from the left. traffic ops not under their jurisdiction.. or bloody hi-beam them.. :angel:

you hog, i high beam...

but if blink blink, of course guai guai la... :p

to riders out there

saw your previous iteration of this post.... take care man, don't think too much.... Things will work itself out if you perservere!!! :angel:

to riders out there

not forgetting the west coast highway flyover going up to ECP also, there alot of sand.

nowadays nothing much whilst riding. eversince coming back from indonesia, see the traffic there, here is much better. obviously got alot of brainless a.h0les. saw an increase of a.holes blocking me to lanesplit recently..

I saw a guy riding a 2b bike and eating double cheeseburger while riding (:

Then he stopped at the traffic light eat cheeseburger and sms also, too cool. haha

i'm wondering.. the bike got clutch ? if no clutch then still can make it... if got clutch, then that's something ..

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

saw your previous iteration of this post.... take care man, don't think too much.... Things will work itself out if you perservere!!! :angel:

thanks man :thumb:

i hope things will turn out as i hoped

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

i will overtake from the left. traffic ops not under their jurisdiction.. or bloody hi-beam them.. :angel:

you hog, i high beam...

but if blink blink, of course guai guai la... :p

First few sec i'll beam then a few sec later horn a few time only. Don't move, i'll beam and horn at the same time.:angel::angel::angel:

See blink blink, then i'll beam beam only. (Oh... "blink blink" my flash got intermitent contact problem, sometime flash by itself. Going to bring it to the workshop coming weekend for a check out. Huh? why it happen again?? No la, last weekend workshop never open la, but it seem to me it ok now la, intermitent issuse la.):angel::angel::angel:

LTA very efficient with the cameras on expressway..

1 car broke down on lane 1 AYE heading towards tuas, just before normanton exit..

the LTA recovery tow truck came within 10mins..

the driver was quite surprised when the tow truck came, and i believe he asked the technicians how they know his car broke down?

the tech just pointed across the road to the EMAS camera mounted on 1 of the lamp-post..

dun pray pray hor.. ah gong is watching you... :angel:

1 car broke down on lane 1 AYE heading towards tuas, just before normanton exit..

the driver was quite surprised when the tow truck came, and i believe he asked the technicians how they know his car broke down?

the tech just pointed across the road to the EMAS camera mounted on 1 of the lamp-post..

So its the same when you ride on the road shoulder when you think no one is looking. Especially at the jam packed exit from SLE into BKE every morning. Its better to ride like you going towards the Turf club and cut in the last minute then to ride on the road shoulder.

Suddenly a summon for $150 plus 6 bonus points comes in your mailbox 2 weeks later and you remember you don't see any TP or LTA parked at the roadside taking your number down.

Dun pray pray... I know coz I kena 4 years ago. :faint:

Was riding back from dinner earlier tonight and the stretch of Lornie Road (towards Upper Thomson) was packed as usual. That was around 7:30pm. I was splitting carefully when this Busa rider came by on the other split lane...going really fast...and honking at other bikes in front.

I don't know that the rush was...but I didn't think it was a good idea to do that lor.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
So its the same when you ride on the road shoulder when you think no one is looking. Especially at the jam packed exit from SLE into BKE every morning. Its better to ride like you going towards the Turf club and cut in the last minute then to ride on the road shoulder.

Suddenly a summon for $150 plus 6 bonus points comes in your mailbox 2 weeks later and you remember you don't see any TP or LTA parked at the roadside taking your number down.

just like an STD, you don't know you got it until you feel the burning sensation.

at least they put it to good use..

zZ, i gotta watch my riding style more then. :cheeky:

Was riding back from dinner earlier tonight and the stretch of Lornie Road (towards Upper Thomson) was packed as usual. That was around 7:30pm. I was splitting carefully when this Busa rider came by on the other split lane...going really fast...and honking at other bikes in front.

I don't know that the rush was...but I didn't think it was a good idea to do that lor.

:lol: busa = must ride fast ma. :faint:

just like an STD, you don't know you got it until you feel the burning sensation.

-_-"'

Experience speaks I guess !

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

just my two cents bro, if you see a faster bike behind you when you're on lane 1.5, just give way. like me, it pisses me off when im lanesplitting on lane 1.5 just to have a J-plated bike lanesplitting at a speed slower or equal to the surrounding cars and refuses to give way. in that case he might as well ride in lane 2 right?
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg
just my two cents bro, if you see a faster bike behind you when you're on lane 1.5, just give way. like me, it pisses me off when im lanesplitting on lane 1.5 just to have a J-plated bike lanesplitting at a speed slower or equal to the surrounding cars and refuses to give way. in that case he might as well ride in lane 2 right?

usually when i see a bigger class bike behind me, and i'm the 'lead' bike.. i will try to siam to a full lane as soon as there is an opening and safe window for me..

no point holding everyone back..

the most dulanz is uncles or those guys who lanesplit so slowly until i have to take aggressive techniques to overtake them.. :dot:

simon.... that's what i do every morning at lornie road... PIE.... have to horn those half awake drivers while lane splitting.... Today i went to wake my friend up at eunos there.... then we took PIE.... i also lead bike... horn all the other people, to let them know, "Jagar i'm coming thru!".... But of cos not horn other bikes out of the way la....

actually, he wasn't behind me...he was on the other split lane...still...i don't see a need for anyone going at those speeds...especially with a pillion and without any gear other than a helmet.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

Firstly, i can't agreed with you all more. But at least let them have the time to seek a place to move to full lane, safe.

I can't "tahan" ppl come close to my back, and i've seem him waiting for a chance to move over for him to pass while he keep horning, flashing.

There is these busa, "i know the pickup is very power" coming from far closing to me, i've seem him and tried to make way for him, but @#$%^ revving his stuip pipe which is so loud behind me. First time i "tahan" looking for the chance for me to move safety to lane 2. @#$%# revving his stuip pipe again, this time even worst. My wire went loose liao, shock circuit. Finally a space for me to move so i move and let him go first, then fellow behind him.

He pick up, i go close to him from behind see how fast he goes. Once he's spliting speed go below 80, i let him taste his own medicine, listen to how my two stroke engine roar, he tried to break away, i'll still follow close, don't look down on my two stroke engine, you busa so how? this type of tacffic condition see how fast you can go. Till a point he almost bend into two car with his girlfriend (pillion) behind him, seeing this i slow down and let him off, shock circuit back to normal.

When lane spliting, if the bike infront of me is slow, normally i'll give him some time to seek for a safe gab to move and i make sure they are safe then i pass. I'll still sign thank you to them. Why? They make an effort to do it, just a bit of time needed.

actually, he wasn't behind me...he was on the other split lane...still...i don't see a need for anyone going at those speeds...especially with a pillion and without any gear other than a helmet.

Firstly, i can't agreed with you all more. But at least let them have the time to seek a place to move to full lane, safe.

I can't "tahan" ppl come close to my back, and i've seem him waiting for a chance to move over for him to pass while he keep horning, flashing.

There is these busa, "i know the pickup is very power" coming from far closing to me, i've seem him and tried to make way for him, but @#$%^ revving his stuip pipe which is so loud behind me. First time i "tahan" looking for the chance for me to move safety to lane 2. @#$%# revving his stuip pipe again, this time even worst. My wire went loose liao, shock circuit. Finally a space for me to move so i move and let him go first, then fellow behind him.

He pick up, i go close to him from behind see how fast he goes. Once he's spliting speed go below 80, i let him taste his own medicine, listen to how my two stroke engine roar, he tried to break away, i'll still follow close, don't look down on my two stroke engine, you busa so how? this type of tacffic condition see how fast you can go. Till a point he almost bend into two car with his girlfriend (pillion) behind him, seeing this i slow down and let him off, shock circuit back to normal.

When lane spliting, if the bike infront of me is slow, normally i'll give him some time to seek for a safe gab to move and i make sure they are safe then i pass. I'll still sign thank you to them. Why? They make an effort to do it, just a bit of time needed.

Which begs the question.... Do we as riders of small bikes, wear "rust coloured glasses" (see in a negative light) when we see big bikes shooting off quickly???