As there is a small drizzle in the morning, I decided not to wear raincoat and ride to work as it is not that far from my hse.

However I need to pass by a school on my way there and it was really jammed up and i have no space to squeeze as it is a small road. OMG! Don know how long i got stuck there.

When i reach my workplace, I was v wet.....omg!

nowadays as long as i see dark sky i will wear raincoat liao. dont want to be wet at work. lol :angel:

• Replies 25.1k

That's how the Pasir Gudang track workers bring me and my little Y125Z back to the pits when it seizes its engine on the track.

Or else its a long way to push a broken down bike back to the pits, in full leathers.

Now you may say they are irresponsible.. but you might not say the same if your bike broke down in the middle of NSH and this was the only to move your bike to the nearest town.

it is different when breaking down on the track and on the roads. On the track it is a more controlled environment. breaking down on roads has a lot of danger.

i had a punctured tyre at 3am in the night on Clementi Road. LL suckthumb, park the bike in the neighbourhood carpark and get a cab home lor and next day call the company to tow it. some money just cannot saved. recently, there was this Malaysian rider with a flat tyre tried to ride back to JB from Singapore. he end up banging into another bike causing death to the other rider, if i m not wrong. It is really not worth it.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

it is different when breaking down on the track and on the roads. On the track it is a more controlled environment. breaking down on roads has a lot of danger.

i had a punctured tyre at 3am in the night on Clementi Road. LL suckthumb, park the bike in the neighbourhood carpark and get a cab home lor and next day call the company to tow it. some money just cannot saved. recently, there was this Malaysian rider with a flat tyre tried to ride back to JB from Singapore. he end up banging into another bike causing death to the other rider, if i m not wrong. It is really not worth it.

Indeed it's not worth the danger trying to ride on a flat tyre or a faulty bike, especially with the common road speeds nowadays (more or less go flat out with a 2B bike to keep up with open-road traffic).

I carry an aerosol tyre reinflator in case anyone gets stuck on the highway with a flat but so far haven't encountered anyone to assist. I know all too well the feeling of being stuck somewhere and all the busybodies slow down and stare (what's there to see huh :p).

Speaking of staring, the cars and lorries now seem to be okay with me taking up one whole lane (reserve lanesplitting for emergencies). Lots of them get the hint of my riding style just wait for me to zoom past before following behind.

Way better than years ago where drivers don't care and cut in first, think later.

However, there are some very inconsiderate big bike riders who try and get my attention by cutting in front of me and going very slow whist tailgating the car in front very closely, like showing off their skill.

Considering that I usually can't maintain the safety standard 2-3 car length distance from the vehicle in front due to Singapore driving conditions, these people need to grow some sense of responsibility and concentrate on riding not do stupid things just because there's long hair coming out of my helmet :p

That's when I gun the throttle and lanesplit, because I'm not interested in big bikes :p

Indeed it's not worth the danger trying to ride on a flat tyre or a faulty bike, especially with the common road speeds nowadays (more or less go flat out with a 2B bike to keep up with open-road traffic).

I carry an aerosol tyre reinflator in case anyone gets stuck on the highway with a flat but so far haven't encountered anyone to assist. I know all too well the feeling of being stuck somewhere and all the busybodies slow down and stare (what's there to see huh :p).

Speaking of staring, the cars and lorries now seem to be okay with me taking up one whole lane (reserve lanesplitting for emergencies). Lots of them get the hint of my riding style just wait for me to zoom past before following behind.

Way better than years ago where drivers don't care and cut in first, think later.

However, there are some very inconsiderate big bike riders who try and get my attention by cutting in front of me and going very slow whist tailgating the car in front very closely, like showing off their skill.

Considering that I usually can't maintain the safety standard 2-3 car length distance from the vehicle in front due to Singapore driving conditions, these people need to grow some sense of responsibility and concentrate on riding not do stupid things just because there's long hair coming out of my helmet :p

maybe you were 'hogging' the lane?

maybe can try to move slightly away from the center of the lane and let him/her pass? after he/she has passed you, just move back and occupy the whole lane.. :) win win for both...

My SOP is to stick to middle lane (lane 2 on PIE) and 'fly formation' with the vehicle in front. As I'm on short gearing I have enough instant throttle response to maintain a very precise spacing with the vehicle in front the whole way.

As the average travelling speed in this 'following' mode is 60-80kph, there is no sense for a big bike to purposely cut in front and then ride less than 30cm away from the car in front.

Especially where they can't maintain position accurately making themselves a road hazard drifting left, right, forward and back randomly. I'd get sideswiped by these idiots eventually.

yesterday while riding....

almost got sideswiped by a KRR.

happened just outside KTM station towards robinson rd. we were on different lanes and pull away from the stop line when the lights turn green. the problem is he pulled away and starts to lane change without checking :sian: and i am just beside him. when i see him coming, i just move slightly to the left (he was on my right) and open trottle and clear myself away from the danger.

think he got the wrong idea and come catching up, did lots of stupid stunts which includes squeezing with a taxi on a lane while both of them are turning, zipping in and out of traffic at high speed.... at peak hour traffic. dunno wad the hell he's trying to prove :faint:

all i know is dat if he keeps this up, i will definitely live longer than him :angel:

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

My SOP is to stick to middle lane (lane 2 on PIE) and 'fly formation' with the vehicle in front. As I'm on short gearing I have enough instant throttle response to maintain a very precise spacing with the vehicle in front the whole way.

As the average travelling speed in this 'following' mode is 60-80kph, there is no sense for a big bike to purposely cut in front and then ride less than 30cm away from the car in front.

Especially where they can't maintain position accurately making themselves a road hazard drifting left, right, forward and back randomly. I'd get sideswiped by these idiots eventually.

'fly formation? meaning where were you?

middle of the lane? side of the lane? or wad? doesn't matter lane 1, 2 or 3..

while riding these few days!

1) saw a lady driver yakking away happily at a red light. went to her front, signal her "no handphone pls" signal.

She nodded and continue yakking happily. :faint:

2) Saw a couple or more riders w/o lights, particularly at night...

3) saw this young p plate punk rider already in the middle of the X-junction. (i.e. he intended to turn right.) While waiting for the lights to turn red (for the incoming traffic), he decided to go straight instead.

Therefore JUST GO LAH! NO NEED CHECK BLINDSPOT WAN! SCHOOL ALSO NEVER TEACH WAT! :faint:

technically he's right coz driving school really never teach us to check blindspot in such a unique situation, BECAUSE NOT SUPPOSED TO DO THAT IN THE FIRST PLACE! :angry:

blardee hell, he almost got kissed (very horrifically) by a car going straight in the same direction. Got horned emphatically by the driver, Pity his young pillion...

seems like a large minority of drivers still cant come to terms with bikes that actually drive in the middle of the lane, and try to squeeze up beside you?? really pisses me off.

while riding these few days!

1) saw a lady driver yakking away happily at a red light. went to her front, signal her "no handphone pls" signal.

She nodded and continue yakking happily. :faint:

2) Saw a couple or more riders w/o lights, particularly at night...

3) saw this young p plate punk rider already in the middle of the X-junction. (i.e. he intended to turn right.) While waiting for the lights to turn red (for the incoming traffic), he decided to go straight instead.

Therefore JUST GO LAH! NO NEED CHECK BLINDSPOT WAN! SCHOOL ALSO NEVER TEACH WAT! :faint:

technically he's right coz driving school really never teach us to check blindspot in such a unique situation, BECAUSE NOT SUPPOSED TO DO THAT IN THE FIRST PLACE! :angry:

blardee hell, he almost got kissed (very horrifically) by a car going straight in the same direction. Got horned emphatically by the driver, Pity his young pillion...

i don't get angry at all these anymore... cos as you stated... whatever you do, people also don't care... i don't even horn much anymore... dismantle the super loud horn and use back stock horn.... cos you horn also they don't care.

Tell them to check blind spot they don't care, chase them and tell them when they almost knock me down, they don't care. Horn them to warn them i'm coming through they don't care, continue to eat into the lane.

The only time they care is when you hit them.... cos they care whether or not you damaged their precious vehicle.

So if they don't care why should i care? In fact i should take EXTRA care to avoid all these koteks on the road... evasive action is preferred nowdays... because everyday is like that... and getting angry everyday over these things is tiring.

i don't get angry at all these anymore... cos as you stated... whatever you do, people also don't care... i don't even horn much anymore... dismantle the super loud horn and use back stock horn.... cos you horn also they don't care.

Tell them to check blind spot they don't care, chase them and tell them when they almost knock me down, they don't care. Horn them to warn them i'm coming through they don't care, continue to eat into the lane.

The only time they care is when you hit them.... cos they care whether or not you damaged their precious vehicle.

So if they don't care why should i care? In fact i should take EXTRA care to avoid all these koteks on the road... evasive action is preferred nowdays... because everyday is like that... and getting angry everyday over these things is tiring.

:lol: welcome to the club of "Press horn! -meow-". i already gave up honking long time ago. if got time to horn mights as well use for evasive actions.

'cept maybe for dire blindspot situations (X- junctions, view blocked by bus - the views of the IDIOTIC drivers, that is.)

i dunno if u finally get why i did not zhng the super bright led brake light for my box, using a diy low powered led instead. [super LOUD horns and Ultra BRIGHT lights attract unnecessary attention and us bikers DO NOT have enough metal to "play around"]

You never noe which IDIOT driver you bump into :angry:>

i'll say ur past actions are praiseworthy - even though u did not get to reap the fruit immediately, it probably got them thinking abt bikers' safety for a split second more than usual. That may have helped other riders in future. :smile:

And ranting here is imo much healthier than bottle up (and ultimately road rage). it also serve to teach new riders abt the dangers on the road as well as give us time to reflect on our actions on the road (and a venue to COMPRAIN! :lol:)

Edited by JackOHJack

this morning, as usual traveling the down the road towards office. Another rainy morning, so I tend to slow down more... (within speed limit)

I need to make a left turn ahead, but its within bus lane area still I proceed early. Going down the road, just before the left filter lane, sliver cab pop out from my right. (*usual no signal)

I squeeze my brake, realise that I start to fish tail... what makes thing worst I for no reason clutch in... (*gan cheong liao)... don't even have time to horn the taxi...

my left toe slam against the barricade, blue black now... god bless I manage to control the vehicle at last. :(

Toe ok or not? :(

Get well soon....

Next time can hold ground, bang into the cabby's window. :angry:

Thanks SH, well my left leg tremble at first... and painful... now is when i step on the ground it would trigger the pain.

lol actually I don't find any point confronting that "idiot"... just glad that I'm OK to share the tale with u guys. Ride safe! Beware of "idiots" :cheeky:

Fly formation? hmmm interesting. Btw big bike for example 1000cc and above cant be going 60-80kph for long period of time. The bike will overheat and the dissipating heat goes into the rider and irritate him/her even more. My SOP is 90km/h-100km/h. Riding behind = to tunnel vision riding. Thats very very dangerous as one will focus all your attention on the vehicles infront. I choose not to have my view blocked by vehicles infront. So that i can see far and could better prepare myself for any emergencies.

Thanks SH, well my left leg tremble at first... and painful... now is when i step on the ground it would trigger the pain.

lol actually I don't find any point confronting that "idiot"... just glad that I'm OK to share the tale with u guys. Ride safe! Beware of "idiots" :cheeky:

Got go X-ray? See if inside got hair line crack.

If step only, already got pain, not a good sign leh.:(

be careful to all riders at the slip road turning from Jurong East Central to Boon Lay Way. the road is super uneven. the worst thing is, lorries and vans tend to stop at the entrance of the slip road. in the evening, FTs tends to cycle/run accross heck care. so sick of that road.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

Fly formation? hmmm interesting. Btw big bike for example 1000cc and above cant be going 60-80kph for long period of time. The bike will overheat and the dissipating heat goes into the rider and irritate him/her even more. My SOP is 90km/h-100km/h. Riding behind = to tunnel vision riding. Thats very very dangerous as one will focus all your attention on the vehicles infront. I choose not to have my view blocked by vehicles infront. So that i can see far and could better prepare myself for any emergencies.

You are correct!

The only "safe" people to follow are guys (and gals) you ride convoy with on a regular basis. Normal local passenger cars are okay to follow so long as they're well driven (ie, not drifting around the lane) and have seen me wanting to tag along (when I let them move ahead of me first).

I realised my habit is try and see through or past the car in front to monitor traffic ahead. Not lanesplitting on rush hour highway = prepare to jam brakes!!

But thankfully most drivers this time of the year are more or less cautious and patient.

Especially when it's raining. Like, this morning. Visibility

this morning, as usual traveling the down the road towards office. Another rainy morning, so I tend to slow down more... (within speed limit)

I need to make a left turn ahead, but its within bus lane area still I proceed early. Going down the road, just before the left filter lane, sliver cab pop out from my right. (*usual no signal)

I squeeze my brake, realise that I start to fish tail... what makes thing worst I for no reason clutch in... (*gan cheong liao)... don't even have time to horn the taxi...

my left toe slam against the barricade, blue black now... god bless I manage to control the vehicle at last. :(

Unlucky for my colleague this morning.. want to siam the taxi, he himself skid n fall n his bike kiss a car rear bumper, lucky the driver is nice n put the blame on the reckless taxi which got away with the customer... taxi bloody stupid travelling at outermost right lane on 3 lanes road.. saw customer flag on the left die2 must take one disregard other road users... i can only curse tat taxi driver.. may god do the retribution on him..

Edited by kuwaiyert

[today while riding :(]

Time: early morning peak hour, 7.50am

Location: on PIE going towards changi, at around bedok exits.

Road condition: Relatively smooth traffic, 80km/h speed limit

Weather condition: Cloudy sky

What happened: I saw a bright flash from further ahead, coming from left side of my vision. At first i thought its lightning. When i passed by the same spot, i felt the same bright flash again! So bright that i was stunned for 5seconds. Suddenly, i realized.. It could be some TP hiding somewhere!! I checked my speedo, 100km/h. Too late. Hopefully its really lightning! :(

Speeding:

Exceeding 01 - 20km/h = $130 Fine + 4 Demerit Points.

Exceeding 21 - 30km/h = $150 Fine + 6 Demerit Points.

Edited by blackness

Thinking about taxi drivers cutting everyone path just to pick a customer makes me ponder that do we give the same treatment to drivers by simple lane splitting, here's an example:

PIE, rainy weather, stop-60km/h traffic flow.

driver on lane 2 paying attention to traffic in front, made a decision to switch to lane 1 to get out of the snail queue, tilt head to check blindspot since side mirror is rather blurry(while slowing moving forward) saw coast are clear with cars rather far behind, turned back head, signalled intention while still travelling forward, begun to etch out to lane 1 and at this very moment, VROOOM(with blasting horn) shoot past their very right side ear. driver jerked back to lane 2 with a thumping heart.

what say you comments?

Yesterday while Driving to Bedok along PIE from Orchard, saw 5 cars pile up 09:50pm .... :sian:

At the site there wasn't any Triangle placed on the road to warn other drivers.

When driving 1/2 way, suddenly everyone infront E-brake nearly cause a second pile up..... :faint:

Maybe that's why today that area got TP..... :sian:

Today while riding, on the way home turning into my house carpark, got a tow truck and a police bike, car and bike accident... hope the rider is ok. :pray:

Red and white sports bike, but the right side fairring all gone. Cracked to pieces all over the floor.... :eek:

Evening ride home:

Left the SLE because there was a major jam ahead for no reason whatsoever. All cars, vans, taxis and lorries insisted on giving way to me leading to awkward situations whereby I'm shifting towards the right of the centre lane to let people cut in front of me like they usually do.... but this time they refuse to cut in front and I wave to the patient drivers as I shoot ahead to make a space for them behind me, which they were okay to take.

At the junctions I keep noticing the van following me stops so far away a car could possibly fit in the gap.

Funny, it being heavy traffic and all.

Saw some typically slow L plate drivers under training @ Admiralty. Hogging the whole road leading to big queue on the right lane!

Hehehe so I pass slowly them and let them hear my "diy VTEC" sound while taking my time catching up with the Mazda 3 in front accelerating off. I short shift so my acceleration is slow and controlled, just wanted to hear my own sound not race off.

Next thing I knew the L plate was following me quite fast himself! LOL!!