if this bugger had an accident and you happen to see it, will you help or you heck care cos you think he deserves it?

help ba, dou he rides like he deserves it, he probably do not want it to happen. just sometimes we do things that we also dunno why..

even ex-offenders also get 2nd chance right?

Jackjack is rite ! Dont use cheap2 bolehland whatever-land tires !

Changed frm duro to battlax and thank god , its wayt better.

Today whilst riding , i wanna emphasize tat bikers NEVER haf the right of way. Whilst riding home with my partner oN PIE, we were riding in typical staggered formation. I was in front coz my bf wont trust me riding behind him. A car on our left suddenly signalled n change lanes when we are IN HIS WAY ! my bf ducked to th right to avoid d farker and thank goodness i was aware of what's happening coz i swerved away too and my bf was really real close to hitting me.

I was soooo furious. Turned and give him d sweet finger. Farker got d cheek to lane change to lane 1 , get in front of us. I anticipated tt he gonna jam on his brakes but he juz swerve to lane 3. Pfft. Wanted to follow him n confront him but he siam into bukit timah rd exit.

Inside his car got meimei. Surely wanna impress her. Wonder if he got d guts to ride a bike .... Tsk ..

Thank goodness me n partner reach our destination safe n sound.

Further down PIE , saw a car on shoulder. Maybe kna book for LED blue lites on his car. Obigoot ....

ride safe and safer. refrain from middle-fingering drivers pls. even if they do anything to u, at most get $0.20 fine, 1second jail. worth it?

let the truckers do the job, just stay nimble and out of the way. kinda like taichi..

egg crush rock = u become liquid form again.

erm..... most of battlax for 2b is made in thailand one :p

izzit? got shadow? wu ya boh? i seriously did not noe that.. from my understanding, the battlax that cub and sp use are made in japan, hence the price.. compound also worlds apart..

Today while riding to work, cruising at 1st lane as the road was clear throughout. The lorry carrying LPG on the middle lane "twitching" and it seems to edging towards right. My distance between lorry and myself approximately less than 40m, so I tap my horn "sounding" my presence on 1st lane. Sadly the lorry kept edging out, (*not sure if he didn't check blindspot, sleeping or simply ignore me) I swerve to the lorry right and bypass him. (*gotta admit the distance between me and lorry on its right was rather close)

Afterwhich, I think back am I committing a mistake?

1) why don't I tap more brake and slow down?

2) why don't I filter to the left instead?

Actually I'm not too sure if I'm able to brake in time and avoid a collision. Secondly, swerve to the left suddenly would I cause inconvenience to others? I'm not trying to pin point mistake but trying to figure how can I avoid this.

Any views on the situation? :(

i gotta say depends on the horsepower. some of us ish want to throttle but no power.. lolz..

if u can sense the lorry coming out at 40m, u have learnt to observe, but not to act, yet. if he came out at say 3m, i'll probably just whack throttle. but if he started edging out 40m away, i'd have tap-braked and maintain distance. in this sense the distance to whack or brake depends on horsepower-weight ratio. :lol:

another factor is whether there are any taligators behind u.

i faced this before. sometimes i brake and slow down, or sometimes i throttle and speed up then swerve away. No reason why i do so, i think it is just reflex.

but come to think of it, if i brake, it might not be enough, cause im riding a 2b bike, and i feel my brakes does not have much braking power. however if i throttle and speed up, my bike might not have enough power to get out of the 'sandwich' safely and quickly too.

often after that i will question myself why i never do the opposite, but after a few times i told myself to trust my instincts. hopefully i won't be wrong :thumb:

if u r riding to the point that u feel ur bike's brake like not makan, U R RIDING TOO FAST? :smile:

• Replies 25.1k

erm..... most of battlax for 2b is made in thailand one :p

i didnt know that .. ahah

but at least it's much more trustworthy than DUROOOOOO ....

I will let my hair down and they instantly slow down :p

do you by chance travel on AYE ? saw a longhaired uncle phantom riding guai2 relek2 behind cars bfo ....

who knows that's you =p

hee. i do that too. Following a car with at least two cars length behind. I hate it when i lost my 'protection' and will always go find another one. hahaha. But i dont do that in the night as i noticed some drivers dont like being followed. Strange....

but wont you always get cut in by other cars who cant stand seeing a big space infront of you?

ride safe and safer. refrain from middle-fingering drivers pls. even if they do anything to u, at most get $0.20 fine, 1second jail. worth it?

let the truckers do the job, just stay nimble and out of the way. kinda like taichi..

egg crush rock = u become liquid form again.

izzit? got shadow? wu ya boh? i seriously did not noe that.. from my understanding, the battlax that cub and sp use are made in japan, hence the price.. compound also worlds apart..

if u r riding to the point that u feel ur bike's brake like not makan, U R RIDING TOO FAST? :smile:

it's just the spur of the moment reaction. even if we ride safe, others are bochup, also at losing end. everyday also i kena drivers drive like lacer, swerve here and there probably to get to work faster. they swerve here swerve there, got buffering space. but please lei, we are in that bugger's way, still wanna lane change and push us out of the lane? if slowly lane change that kind, still okay lah, but this, is really signal then charge into the next lane. nevermind lah, as long as me & bf both reach our destination in one piece, our bike also still in one piece, can already.

yesterday got accident at jurong going into AYE. car kiss car. the bumper very jialat. LADY DRIVERRR . ahaa face so blur2 ...

then bumped into this malay lady on X1, pillioning her mother. two thumbs up fr her ! (=

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

this early morning while riding back to sg after a pump and makan ride to Indah...

just entered highway when bike starts to sputter and eventually die off... i think siao liao... got some big problem issit, start to worry on tow charges and how to get back to sg...

stopped by side, checked fuel tank, got fuel, turn fuel petcock to 'reserve' position. wait a while for petrol to go into carb, kick a few times, finally got it started! so it's just bike hit reserve... heng it's not cdi or rectifier or coil spoil lor...

ride so long already, this is the 1st time i hit reserve while on the move so abit taken by surprise. hahahaha!

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

http://172.31.254.243/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Pandora's Kitten :3 http://172.31.254.243/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png

I will let my hair down and they instantly slow down http://172.31.254.244/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/smilies/icon-tongue.gif

do you by chance travel on AYE ? saw a longhaired uncle phantom riding guai2 relek2 behind cars bfo ....

who knows that's you =p

http://172.31.254.243/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by ohayo http://172.31.254.243/www.singaporebikes.com/forums/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png

hee. i do that too. Following a car with at least two cars length behind. I hate it when i lost my 'protection' and will always go find another one. hahaha. But i dont do that in the night as i noticed some drivers dont like being followed. Strange....

but wont you always get cut in by other cars who cant stand seeing a big space infront of you?

No I don't use the AYE - My bike usually has well kept chrome, sh1t everywhere else and has roses on it. Can't miss me :p

I'm always on the BKE or SLE -> AMK Ave 5 in the morning, 6.30pm on the CTE northbound in the evening cos I love the 25 cents ERP and relatively friendly traffic.

As for getting cut by other cars, at first yes it's a bit of a patience game to let the rushing drivers have the space but eventually people get used to you and offer you right of way (even if you let the other car go first). You'll even spot some familiar vehicles on the road who follow the same schedule as you do, if you're anal about timing as I am. I usually team up with pickup trucks with "FT" passengers in them cos I can exchange funny hand signals with them and make fun of the sleeping workers if the road has cleared and they start noticing me tailing them.

My practical top speed is in the range of 90kph cos anything faster on a rebuilt ah pek bike is scary. And I don't like wasting fuel on this 2 valve SOHC motor which sucks at high revs anyway. So indeed modern 125ccs especially with EFI have more horsepower than me.

Young lady on a black FBC R6 along Changi Road just now. Open face with cigarette in hand. Hot: short shorts and sneakers. Not hot: short shorts and no mirrors. I still don't understand how one can ride without mirrors. Looked like a long scar on right thigh. If it's from a previous accident, then I can only shake head.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Young lady on a black FBC R6 along Changi Road just now. Open face with cigarette in hand. Hot: short shorts and sneakers. Not hot: short shorts and no mirrors. I still don't understand how one can ride without mirrors. Looked like a long scar on right thigh. If it's from a previous accident, then I can only shake head.

perhaps only death will be able to teach her but by then it will be too late to make amends...

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

like tat cause more danger on road -_-

because ppl will keep see her then nv see the car infront

ytd about 11pm+ was traveling towards tuas along pie, saw a worst car accident in my life. it cause pie super jam at pie at about 2300H-0000H. 2 lane were closed . what i saw is the car was flip 4 or 3 wheels facing the sky,burned badly,crushed badly. other car was turned over and its head was facing towards changi direction. then i saw 1 lady rider squeezing slowly and behind got 1 (tot he got 10life) biker revving and revving behind the lady rider. because she blocked his small path

erm... the guy revving behind the lady rider one of the j-plated lacers?

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

This did not happen in Sg but pls slow down at cross junction..

http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/1/26/1720945/3M-CarbonFibre-Vinyl-GTR1400.jpg

Ride safe, Live to ride another day !

This did not happen in Sg but pls slow down at cross junction..

his bike more powerful than the lorry he bang into harr? the lorry can slanted abit summore...

that guy super lucky ...

@Pandora's Kitten :3,

eeeyerr i dont like to follow behind lorry carring FT, kena stare one kind.

somemore stare like want to eat. maybe 10 years never see female. heee~

yesterday whilst riding, go here go there, enter and exit KPE 6 times. sauna siaa !

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

eeeyerr i dont like to follow behind lorry carring FT, kena stare one kind.

somemore stare like want to eat. maybe 10 years never see female. heee~

And I thought I was being suspicious. I think it's cos they are bored sitting at the back with nothing to do except getting the wind in their face bah. While not all of them do it, some of them really like to stare.

i faced this before. sometimes i brake and slow down, or sometimes i throttle and speed up then swerve away. No reason why i do so, i think it is just reflex.

but come to think of it, if i brake, it might not be enough, cause im riding a 2b bike, and i feel my brakes does not have much braking power. however if i throttle and speed up, my bike might not have enough power to get out of the 'sandwich' safely and quickly too.

often after that i will question myself why i never do the opposite, but after a few times i told myself to trust my instincts. hopefully i won't be wrong :thumb:

hello :D looooooong time no see :D:D

wanna join us again for tonite???

Yup long time no see, I'll PM you my number... :)

Quite a while since our last super short outing.

brake more and slow down.. if the vehicle behind you is not paying attention, you may get rear-ended.. offending vehicle will usually don't bother to stop.

brake too much, you may induce a skid and fall. offending vehicle will usually not notice.

filter left abruptly, do you have enough time to do the necessary safety checks and signaling? split second decisions is required for this.

not say the best way, but it would be good to drop a gear and throttle up immediately. unless you are talking about on the expressway.. any 2b bikes will be able to throttle up faster than a car in short distance..

if all above fails, just brace for impact and claim the fella's insurance big time.

All in all good ideas, but I feel that so long you get out of the incident fine and without causing too much duress to other road users, it's a win-win situation for all.

In your situation, you barely had time to think, I wouldn't think its your fault having been caught in the same situation myself a couple of times, "Should I brake, throttle, go between lanes, or change lanes" and even though there were a couple of close shaves, as long as you get out of that situation without injury, in my honest opinion, you did the right thing.

Ride safe.

I will let my hair down and they instantly slow down :p

I will also tag along with the more steady drivers on the road. Play nice with them and they'll let you 'shadow' them from behind and that's very useful cover in FIBUA type situations during rush hour.

The challenge is to setup a "front cover" and a "rear cover" vehicle (who likes to follow you) and you have a mini motorcade for mutual protection! The only thing missing is of course, machine guns in the windows :p

Anyone who tries to cut into my lane is instantly counterattacked by the allied vehicles :p

Note: I do not follow other motorcycles; the only riding style I trust is mine.

Thanks everyone for offering your important opinion on my problem faced. I'll stress myself to slow down and filter away appropriately. No rush.

By the way I wonder how long you guys would wait if you find that the vehicle on the side has the intention of filtering into your lane?

That's very dangerous lor, not saying our chances of falling are that frequent but protection for ourselves lor. Dress up for riding still not very strongly cultivated among us.

Thanks everyone for offering your important opinion on my problem faced. I'll stress myself to slow down and filter away appropriately. No rush.

By the way I wonder how long you guys would wait if you find that the vehicle on the side has the intention of filtering into your lane?

I will look at the vehicle. All local drivers love to keep efficiency in mind and will try and accelerate to cruise speed ASAP so predict their moves appropriately.

I will shift to the right side of the lane, turn on hazards for a few seconds and slot myself in such a way that (Example) 2 filtering cars can accelerate in front of me and the third forms up behind me. Coordinating your speed is the key to letting everyone drive at an efficient speed, without getting in anyone's way.

Sometimes a polite driver will hesitate to "cut" in front of you. I will wave at him to go ahead and take the spot I opened for him, or if he's giving me a wide clearance then I will gun the throttle and accelerate out in front. Once he forms up behind me I will move to the next slower lane and let the car overtake if he wants.

All in all the whole 'personal exchange' takes just a couple seconds because as a local driver/rider I know exactly what both of us want. Just keep in mind that some drivers are NOT used to motorcycles giving way to them, but they will all be very receptive of your assistance. Remember, a horn and a middle finger does nothing to solve today's motoring issues.

A friendly wave and competent riding/driving is potent diplomacy. I don't really care about what other bikers do - the road is the unknown frontier to me and only my immediate surroundings (and vehicles therein) concern me. With the motorcycle's superior acceleration and agility, don't hesitate to use it to assist other motorists in need.

I will not only point out the urgent drivers on the road and give way to them but spot for very new riders or drivers and help them to change lanes by signaling left behind them so they can 'swap' their position with mine on the next faster lane. For riders - when I was new on the road nothing was as great a morale and safety boost by having a more experienced biker 'fly formation' in one of my mirrors (staggered formation). So, I return the favour these days.

Never believe that as a biker.. you have the right of way... even though you have the right of way.

Always assume they will not give way to you and be prepared to take evasive action all the time. Because if they do give you the right of way... all is well... but if they do not... you are already physically and mentally ready to take evasive action.

This is the motorcyclist's key to survival on Singapore roads.

this is absolutely true.

i will bear this in mind.

this is absolutely true.

i will bear this in mind.

Your avatar is a good reminder to everyone.....that shoes should be worn when riding motorcycles.... even if its going to the provision store 500 metres away.

Again... its dress for the crash not the ride.

Your avatar is a good reminder to everyone.....that shoes should be worn when riding motorcycles.... even if its going to the provision store 500 metres away.

Again... its dress for the crash not the ride.

So far any regular pants which best suit riding purpose? I saw an ad on air bag vest on MCA wondering should we get one for ourselves?

I will look at the vehicle. All local drivers love to keep efficiency in mind and will try and accelerate to cruise speed ASAP so predict their moves appropriately.

I will shift to the right side of the lane, turn on hazards for a few seconds and slot myself in such a way that (Example) 2 filtering cars can accelerate in front of me and the third forms up behind me. Coordinating your speed is the key to letting everyone drive at an efficient speed, without getting in anyone's way.

Sometimes a polite driver will hesitate to "cut" in front of you. I will wave at him to go ahead and take the spot I opened for him, or if he's giving me a wide clearance then I will gun the throttle and accelerate out in front. Once he forms up behind me I will move to the next slower lane and let the car overtake if he wants.

All in all the whole 'personal exchange' takes just a couple seconds because as a local driver/rider I know exactly what both of us want. Just keep in mind that some drivers are NOT used to motorcycles giving way to them, but they will all be very receptive of your assistance. Remember, a horn and a middle finger does nothing to solve today's motoring issues.

A friendly wave and competent riding/driving is potent diplomacy. I don't really care about what other bikers do - the road is the unknown frontier to me and only my immediate surroundings (and vehicles therein) concern me. With the motorcycle's superior acceleration and agility, don't hesitate to use it to assist other motorists in need.

I will not only point out the urgent drivers on the road and give way to them but spot for very new riders or drivers and help them to change lanes by signaling left behind them so they can 'swap' their position with mine on the next faster lane. For riders - when I was new on the road nothing was as great a morale and safety boost by having a more experienced biker 'fly formation' in one of my mirrors (staggered formation). So, I return the favour these days.

Thanks for sharing again, perhaps the traffic condition we face day in day out partially due to lack to communication among road user... if each and everyone of us contribute that big heart giving way as and when needed, regulate speed and courtesy wave should help alot alot.

it really depends on how you read the traffic. tell tale signs, they are driving on the edge of the lanes.

anticipate their next move at all times, and keep your left thumb on the horn, standing-by to tap it..

not exactly true.. some drivers love to take their own sweet time to change lane, even when you are driving a cager.. want to change, dun wan to change, slowly slowly..

either that, or they love hogging the 1st lane.. :sian:

is sg roads really that bright that warrants the need NOT to turn on their headlights?

every night if i'm out on the road, confirm will see 1-2 vehicles who did not switch on their headlights.

complacent or plain dumb?