[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

eh metal, say about how much distance btw? long journeys huh..fair enough to check in the day when sun is hot and night when the weather is chilly?

Probably a 10-15km ride should be enough. Your tires don't have to be smoking hot, but try to speed up the warming up process by accelerating hard and braking hard. Try it in the day would be better. During chilly nights, a ride from Jurong to Changi sometimes netts me only warm tires.

hi guys, im few weeks into riding my bike

would like to ask, what is the normal top speed of a phantom?

i top at abt 110. im not sure why is it so low. every gear wld only gimme abt 20km/h increase if i drag it. i've checked the EO, at normal level.

what else do i check? chain?(see if it's loose?)

What's your defination of drag? Throttle cannot twist anymore? I've had someone tell me his bike got problem...and end up the bike cannot go fast coz his 'drag gear' = open throttle a little more nia. You hit your top speed of roughly 130km/h on your meter (on a TA200) at full throttle...so if you're not very close to maxing out your throttle and get 110km/h..I suppose that's normal?

some use engine oil, some use wax or lubri etc...don't use wd40.. I use castrol lube now..

why dun use Wd40???

For an O-ring chain, the O-rings are meant to trap the lubricant to make the chain last longer. WD40 forces out the lube..and the O-rings are damaged and cannot function properly.

-How old is your bike?

2001 dec bike

-what petrol u pumping?

shell 95

-what EO u using?

idk man,just got my bike the shop change one.

-any signs or symptoms or clutch wear?

how to check?

-Original spockets?

no idea, how do i check?

pardon me, im a new rider. =)

The next time you change EO, at least find out la what you're getting in return for your hard earned $$.

Clutch wear can be detected in two ways. Mostly, people find a loss of power when they try to drag their gears..and this loss of power is experienced across all 6 gears. If the clutch wear is severe, the gears are liable to slip (ie u suddenly go into 'neutral' even though you were in gear 6).

If you're daring enough, the best way to find out is to rev the engine hard in as many gears as you can, then shut the throttle off, go down hard on the over-run, and whack the throttle open again. If it's going to jump out of gear, this is when it will do it.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Probably a 10-15km ride should be enough. Your tires don't have to be smoking hot, but try to speed up the warming up process by accelerating hard and braking hard. Try it in the day would be better. During chilly nights, a ride from Jurong to Changi sometimes netts me only warm tires.

aha new info :) ok la, i tried these few nights turn here and there..then stop at petrol kiosk for tyre air pump..still warm.. good :thumb:

What's your defination of drag? Throttle cannot twist anymore? I've had someone tell me his bike got problem...and end up the bike cannot go fast coz his 'drag gear' = open throttle a little more nia. You hit your top speed of roughly 130km/h on your meter (on a TA200) at full throttle...so if you're not very close to maxing out your throttle and get 110km/h..I suppose that's normal?

For an O-ring chain, the O-rings are meant to trap the lubricant to make the chain last longer. WD40 forces out the lube..and the O-rings are damaged and cannot function properly.

The next time you change EO, at least find out la what you're getting in return for your hard earned $$.

Clutch wear can be detected in two ways. Mostly, people find a loss of power when they try to drag their gears..and this loss of power is experienced across all 6 gears. If the clutch wear is severe, the gears are liable to slip (ie u suddenly go into 'neutral' even though you were in gear 6).

If you're daring enough, the best way to find out is to rev the engine hard in as many gears as you can, then shut the throttle off, go down hard on the over-run, and whack the throttle open again. If it's going to jump out of gear, this is when it will do it.

It's the knowledge that sepparetes us from the "sage":D Your siggy is really catchy.:D . Yo metalfyre great info, thanks heaps.:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

aha new info :) ok la, i tried these few nights turn here and there..then stop at petrol kiosk for tyre air pump..still warm.. good :thumb:

Eh..pump air supposed to do it when your tires are cold la deh~!

It's the knowledge that sepparetes us from the "sage":D Your siggy is really catchy.:D . Yo metalfyre great info, thanks heaps.:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

Don't liddat la..i will shy one. Many more here who know much more than me. :thumb:

Postman Eating Inc*

haha I know :) thats why I slack at the kiosk for toilet breaks and water etc before I go back to pump..another reason the water tap is there for cars to wet and cool down their tyres..don't like to wet mine though..let it cool naturally :]

haha I know :) another reason the water tap is there for cars to wet and cool down their tyres..don't like to wet mine though..let it cool naturally :]

huh???serious ah???i tot for my dog to drink and taxi drivers to wash their cars one leh.... o_O

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

no idea, long ago I already seen drivers use it to cool tyres etc..ya most use it wash taxi etc lol..purpose gone liao, drivers find their own purpose for the tap :p btw dude long time no see, you play soccer? :]

bros/sis help needed

i've gotten my bike for abt 3 weeks.

notice that the chain has started to rust!

time to chain lube right?

so can i just get a maxima chain lube and lube myself? any specific/effective to do it?

and also can i use wd40 to remove/clean the rust b4 application?

pls help chain getting noisy!

THANKS(hope i post in the correct section)

u shd be lubing regularly..not waiting till it rusts before u start considering lubing! Lube at least once a week, more frequently if your bike has been out in the rain. Since your chain is rusty, use kerosene or petrol to clean it first before applying a fresh, thick coat of lube. Then leave your bike for roughly 2 hours. The solvent should have dissolved by then, reducing the possibility of lube fling.

Postman Eating Inc*

can i use spray-on grease to lube my chain ?.

i only use that to spray on my chain after 2-3 days riding.

my riding would be from yshn to airport and back.

cleaning would only be done once every 2 weeks.

hrmm, am i doing the right thing or, should i change to wet lub/wax/EO or anything else rather than spray on grease?.

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.

Hi all PKs,

wanna ask wat r some of e safety acessories should b added to phantom??

i know e common 1 is crashbar.. anymore?? rear brake light?

If u serious regarding safety, get a rear crashbar too.....

PM madman or babycakes....

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg
can i use spray-on grease to lube my chain ?.

i only use that to spray on my chain after 2-3 days riding.

my riding would be from yshn to airport and back.

cleaning would only be done once every 2 weeks.

hrmm, am i doing the right thing or, should i change to wet lub/wax/EO or anything else rather than spray on grease?.

Spray-on grease? What's the grease supposed to be for? Is it chain specific? You need O-Ring chain lube if you're using an O-Ring chain, for instance.

Hi all PKs,

IMHO, any 'safety accessories' should be added to you, not the bike. Spend good money on a good, solid helmet, riding jacket and a comfy pair of protective gloves. Accessories like crashbars may protect you to a certain degree in low speed slides...but in certain instances also pose a hazard to those who are unaccustomed to the reduced clearance especially when banked over or lane splitting.

Postman Eating Inc*

well uh there's a picture of chains and sprocket and some other funny parts on the front can. heh.

bought it from esso. it's some jap spray on grease.

so would the picture be rigght?.

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.

Hi all PKs,

Hi metal_coin,

There are too many to list it out all here I guess.

But there's 1 very important safety accessories one mush have.

Be considerate, ride safely and be courteous always.

This will definately bring one home day in day out ride.

Er... how about a decent pair of glove so that one won't look like an errant rider on the road? Heh heh heh

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

hi fellow PKs,

After i collected my bike abt 2 mths ago, within one week i realised there's this 'rubbing' sound coming from the rear tyre but not sure what it causes it. then went back to the bike shop, the uncle checked for v long then changed for me the ball bearings saying they are spoilt, charged me $50. Then i rode for a few days no problem, then the sound came back.

I went to another bike shop my fren recommend one then the mechanic found alot of problems (air filter v dirty, spark plug turned black, choke cable & spring spoilt, gasket leaking, meter bulbs spoilt, brake pads v thin), shouldnt all these be checked by the 1st bike shop since i paid them fifty over dollars for full servicing and they should have let me know abt these faulty parts right?

nevertheless, i also changed the sprockets and chain at the 2nd bike shop then the mechanic said now should not have the sound anymore. Indeed after leaving the 2nd bike shop now everything smooth and no weird sounds from the rear tyre. which brings me to my point that the 1st bike shop might have changed the ball bearings which arent the cause of the problem, and my fault that i didnt See the so-called 'spoilt' bearings, pls advise on what i should do now. :(

Work to ride and ride to work :dot:

hi fellow PKs,

After i collected my bike abt 2 mths ago, within one week i realised there's this 'rubbing' sound coming from the rear tyre but not sure what it causes it. then went back to the bike shop, the uncle checked for v long then changed for me the ball bearings saying they are spoilt, charged me $50. Then i rode for a few days no problem, then the sound came back.

I went to another bike shop my fren recommend one then the mechanic found alot of problems (air filter v dirty, spark plug turned black, choke cable & spring spoilt, gasket leaking, meter bulbs spoilt, brake pads v thin), shouldnt all these be checked by the 1st bike shop since i paid them fifty over dollars for full servicing and they should have let me know abt these faulty parts right?

nevertheless, i also changed the sprockets and chain at the 2nd bike shop then the mechanic said now should not have the sound anymore. Indeed after leaving the 2nd bike shop now everything smooth and no weird sounds from the rear tyre. which brings me to my point that the 1st bike shop might have changed the ball bearings which arent the cause of the problem, and my fault that i didnt See the so-called 'spoilt' bearings, pls advise on what i should do now. :(

Well... The problem's rectified already, right?

Next time be more firm, and maybe ask for 2nd opinions before getting your problems 'repaired'. 2nd bikeshop says many things needa change, then go back to 1st bikeshop to change all that.

but the $50 at first bikeshop was for rear 'ball bearings' or for full servicing??

I have the best signature.

hi fellow PKs,

Hi oktray,

What I personally advise is this:

We learn from mistakes...

Don't ever go back to the first shop/mech you visited.

there's nothing you can do about it since it's been done.

You should get a trusted mech and get your bike check and ride safe.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Well... The problem's rectified already, right?

Next time be more firm, and maybe ask for 2nd opinions before getting your problems 'repaired'. 2nd bikeshop says many things needa change, then go back to 1st bikeshop to change all that.

but the $50 at first bikeshop was for rear 'ball bearings' or for full servicing??

the $50 at 1st bikeshop was for rear 'ball bearings', i paid the fifty over dollars (for full servicing) together with the insurance, transfer, inspection, road tax etc that they did for me. btw can i know what does full servicing usually include? i mean what parts do they check during full servicing? many thanks :)

Work to ride and ride to work :dot:

Hi oktray,

What I personally advise is this:

We learn from mistakes...

Don't ever go back to the first shop/mech you visited.

there's nothing you can do about it since it's been done.

You should get a trusted mech and get your bike check and ride safe.

Planet is one good place to go.... :thumb:

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg

yo oktray, can PM which shop/mech you buy/service the bike at? May be looking for a bike soon and dun wanna kanna chop also :D

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Hi all PKs,

safety accessories?

-good helmet, i've seen flip-up helmets opened up during accidents, so i would advice not to use.

-jackets and gloves to protect urself

-jeans would be enough (but i still ride with short pants sometimes) :D

crash bar protects ur bike in case of fall, it'll take the damage and impact so your bike and mostly the petrol tank would not be touching the gound.

hi fellow PKs,

i paid 35$ for ball bearings changed.. someone told me it's only 20$.

yours is worse case.. 50$ :giddy:

normal service from bike shops

-EO 1 liter + topup = 15$ (last time i use FUCHS Sikoline semi-sync)

-spark plug = 3/5/8 $ depends on plug type

-air filter = 20 $

-break pads = 25 $

speedo meter bulb is only 1 $ from Ah Boy, u can change urself, just take out 2 nuts.

this is how spoiled ball bearings look like

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=41555&d=1191752211

yo oktray, can PM which shop/mech you buy/service the bike at? May be looking for a bike soon and dun wanna kanna chop also :D

get from private seller... there are many good bikes on sales on sticky thread and in garage sales.