i too had my class 3 license before my 2b.

i didn't really go get a class 2b until much later, i had alwasy wanted to learn, and had put them off due to commitments in my life.

It was always this puzzling question of why so many people are so passionate about the ride, the feeling of making the bank into the corner, the feeling of being in the mercy of the wind, sun and rain, the feeling is so free.

I yearn for this freedom and bought my first bike, an aprilia. I didn't tell my parents, i just parked it in the driveway and waited for them to come home. Of course my ears hurt for the next few days, worst when my grandma knew.

My family lost a few members due to motorcycle racing, so yes my family were very against me riding.

But as a rider, i am convinced that each day i ride, i feel uncomfortable without my parents and family's blessing. So i yearn to one day have their blessings.

Eventually they didn't really say "I bless you, go ride"

But by their act of concern which i feel is a form of acceptance from them.

Words like:

"Raining leh, don't ride la.."

"Did you ride or did you drive today?"

"Going out so late? Better be careful."

These are some examples of phrases which i acknowledge that they have accepted me riding and have given me their blessing in a way and they too have accepted the dangers i am exposed to when i ride.

Anyway unfortunately i got into an accident, and yes i lost my bike, but thank God, i am ok, just brusies and abrations, my family didn't yell or create a big fuss for riding, but they were all showing concern to my well being instead.

I`ve known now that they have accept me riding and have accepted the dangers that comes with it. In fact i am very surprised by the reaction they have shown after the accident. LOL

Ride safe to ride another day :)

• Replies 124

i too had my class 3 license before my 2b.

i didn't really go get a class 2b until much later, i had alwasy wanted to learn, and had put them off due to commitments in my life.

It was always this puzzling question of why so many people are so passionate about the ride, the feeling of making the bank into the corner, the feeling of being in the mercy of the wind, sun and rain, the feeling is so free.

I yearn for this freedom and bought my first bike, an aprilia. I didn't tell my parents, i just parked it in the driveway and waited for them to come home. Of course my ears hurt for the next few days, worst when my grandma knew.

My family lost a few members due to motorcycle racing, so yes my family were very against me riding.

But as a rider, i am convinced that each day i ride, i feel uncomfortable without my parents and family's blessing. So i yearn to one day have their blessings.

Eventually they didn't really say "I bless you, go ride"

But by their act of concern which i feel is a form of acceptance from them.

Words like:

"Raining leh, don't ride la.."

"Did you ride or did you drive today?"

"Going out so late? Better be careful."

These are some examples of phrases which i acknowledge that they have accepted me riding and have given me their blessing in a way and they too have accepted the dangers i am exposed to when i ride.

Anyway unfortunately i got into an accident, and yes i lost my bike, but thank God, i am ok, just brusies and abrations, my family didn't yell or create a big fuss for riding, but they were all showing concern to my well being instead.

I`ve known now that they have accept me riding and have accepted the dangers that comes with it. In fact i am very surprised by the reaction they have shown after the accident. LOL

Ride safe to ride another day :)

you hv a nice family:)

agree... they are concern abt u :)

anyway things can be talk out, but u must do yr part too. Try to ride safely accident free and u save a lot. e.g worries yr parents might have, $$ on reparing yr bike and transport time :)

Be a biker FTW ....

I know im slow but im not a tortoise...

2005-FT***4T(Honda NSR150)

2007-FL***7J(Honda CBR400)

Hey kok,

You must know for yourself, the fundamental reason why you really want to learn riding despite knowing what might happen.

It is true that we can ride 'safe' and control a part of the risk involved in being on a bike. Still, we cannot deny that we cannot control the behaviour other motorists. We may ride the safest we can, but whether others drive safely or not is another issue.

We all understand that we will face a certain risk on losing our lives/ accident. The consequence of our choice to ride should this happen will invariably affect our love ones. Knowing this is what should keep us from rev-ing up that throttle and zippin past traffic. Should you decide to ride, just remember to control whatever 'risk' you can.

For myself, I've not told my parents that I've passed 2B and plan to ride. My dad got into a major accident in his 'hey' days and this = to a no no approval to my riding. I also do not want to worry them. Just like when I visited the states last summer, got a 10-yr old car and drove round. Told them only after I got back after 3 mths. Parents being parents (including us now or in future) would be worried about our only sons/daughters riding on the road.

Anyone got any idea how to siam letters from LTA/ summons/ Road Tax/ Insurance from being sent to your home? Any idea whether I can put a P.O. box address? How much to rent a P.O. box??

Hmm... PO box address to siam letters... Thats new... Maybe you can enquire at post office or just by making a call. If you can afford, of course should be no problem i suppose...

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

it helps to convince ur parents to let u take up riding if u already hav class3 license. many people hav this mentality tat a rider is more mature if he/she can also drive. if ur family dont hav a car, rent or borrow a car and take ur family for a ride... show them u r a safe driver/rider.

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg

lol kill your parents.

anyways the best is ask your parents for their permission and blessings. you ride bike they pray for your safety. if they dono anything you lan lan kena accident and lan lan you kill yourself you will just make your family even more depressed.

'07 - current - Yamaha Spark T135

Letting your parents know beforehand is always gd. At least you don't have to worry everyday about being caught riding.... it will distract you on the road which is even more dangerous.

Sad to say i was also one of those that did not tell my parents that i was riding until very much later...... It does not feel gd having to try n hide everytime you go home...... so ultimately i told them...... on the 1st day of Chinese New year..... lol....

The next few mths my mum kept telling me to sell off my bike but i didn't budge... now she just tells me to ride safely.....

Its better to let parents noe. Coz u cant hide for long anyway. And i dun understand why parents (including mine) ..to them bikes = danger.. dats one reason i alwys am a safe rider.. coz i care for my family who care for me.. in ur case its gd dat ur parents care abt u too... jus dun disappoint them.. :D

try toking to them..let them noe ur pnt of view on y u must haf a bike licence..they will give u lots or reasons y they dun wan u to ride..sometimes its not whether we r carefull anot or wat..sometimes is some other reckless drivers or riders who is not carefull..in results, either minor accident or even fatal accident..den how would ur parents feel? ur parents r the only 2 person in this world who loves u more den anything..

my mum at1st also dun allow mi to ride..but she noe my pattern 1 lah..when i wan something, they can't stop mi..i told my mum tat no matter wat i do also will die 1..its fated..if dun ride also will die, walk on street also will die..if heaven wan u to die now u also haf to die..no way to siam 1..until now, my mum still nags at mi whenever she c mi going out or wat..:cheeky: used to it le lah.,juz dun make them disappointed..ride wif care :thumb:

last yr, i take 2b only my mum know, i buy bike, my mum know, on the same day, she told my dad and there is nothing he can do about it.

just go take license first.

whether or not to buy bike, can plan in the future.

RXZ, wave and ybr are some of the gd fuel consumption bikes u can get within ur tight budget, easy maintenance too.

hmmm for me i took my bike lesson w/o my family knowing til e day i got my license and going to pay full cash for my bike den i informed them...at the very least they will nag at u say dun buy dun buy....so dangerous...but juz tell them, u've already paid for the bike and make a good promise to ride safe, last but not least, take one family member as ur pillion and show them how u ride...let them have a mind of peace...

anyway wat happens if bike breakdown or piston jam??where u gonna find money??Ans our same old trusty ATM...wic is our parents lah...

this above is wat had happen to me...i've recieved summons b4...insurance claims b4..but yet my parent juz tell me to ride safely...cuz at e end of the day...the issue parents have wif u is not about u riding...but that they are juz practicing a human instinct called protection...

i've condone ppl from riding or driving w/o license

and i'll condone ppl who have license to ride and drive, but no license given by parents...so the choice is urs...dun forget who gave u education and who fed u, and who earns the keep while ur stil in sch...

so long as 1 day our parents are alive..no matter how old we are, we are stil indebted to them for bringin us into this world...

good luck bro!wish u all the best!hope to see u ridin on the road! :goodluck:

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

took my riding lessons way secretly b4 my driving lessons bt I got my class 3 way b4 my 2b (7th TP)...i bgt my 1st bike (FZR) & rode for a yr w/o my parents knowing.. nt even when I "kissed" a comfort cab's backside & wrecked my bike, hid at a friend's place for a week to cover my injuries...

Bt eventually, like all bros have mentioned, u will be found out !

I stopped riding for abt 4 yrs now coz im driving bt i really missed riding & just recently bgt a bike...and yes u may have guessed... im still secretly riding with my helmet hidden in my car's boot....

As the saying goes in SAF...do anything u want...juz dun get caught.. & when caught... just have to face the music ! Gd luck ! :cheeky:

wow. okay let me share my story. i just turned 18 recently. i always had some kind of passion for riding. so just before my birthday i started to talk about licenses. saying that i think LTA revising the minimum age thing to 21 and stuff for cars. soon they too kinda believed it. so i went to enroll for 2b and told them.

they kept telling me taking a licence is always fine. they kept telling me that. "its good to have driving licences" and stuff. just before my TP my father came into my room and suddenly started talking to me about buying a bike. i was really suprised as i never told my father about buying one. He told me, "i think riding to school and stuff is unnecessary maybe you can use it for weekends and buy whatever bike you want and i'll pay for it." i dint know what to say, so i quickly said "aiyah TP still long away". lets talk about this later. haha.

guess what after i passed my TP quickly go hunting for bikes and bought it on the same day of viewing. haha. and its always best to let your family members know about your activities. they will be more prepared mentally in worst case scenarios. If they do not allow you to ride. Just try convincing them by telling them that getting a license will ease your army and stuff. Good Luck Man!

The street is for show, the track is for go. Put up or shut up

Sometimes its better to be rational in stating your reasons for wanting to ride. Things like passion etc will not cut it in the eyes of your parents. It helps if you travel 2-3hrs a day just to get to skool / camp. If you live next door to your skool, then skip trying to say you can go skool/camp more easily, geddit?

If you make sense in your explanations, it will slowly sink into them, make them realise that you know what you are getting into as well as becoming more responsible. If you've always disobeyed them, get into trouble here and there its not hard to see y they would believe you. Start showing more responsibility, in both your actions as well as the way you speak. That way they will realise that you have grown up and can take care of yourself.

Hi all bros, me newbie so tot share my experience also. I took my license and bought my 1st bike, a lc125 w/o parents knowing as my dad ever said if wanna ride a bike, wait till he "go" first! But i rebel and the funny thing is, after they know i got a problematic bike, my dad still went with me to a bike shop and loaned me money to get a new rxz and thereafter got my 2a and a vtec spec1! that was many years ago. Now driving but planning to get a bike as a weekend warrior as i still like riding very much. If not for my job, i would have continued riding :-)

Now

My mum is very against me riding. But my father is a rider.

My brother is also very keen to ride and so he took bike lesson against my mum's wish. After got the license, he psycho and psycho for a very long period before my parents finally accept.

So I actually hitched on to my brother's success. :cheeky:

Back to the topic, its best not to hide these issue without your parents knowledge. You will feel even more miserable for trying to control your mailbox on LTA letters or your bike installments.

And $400 allowance might not be enough to support a bike. Bike wear and tear, tyre changes, engine oil change will always comes in. Plus you are 25 years of age, the yearly insurance will kill you..

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

i am seriously contemplating on learning bike and buying a cheap one to ride to school as i travel from west to east everyday . my parents are seriously against me riding , so my rebellious streak has finally emerged:) just wanna know as a student who gets 400 a month allowance can maintain a bike . wads the cheapest upfront for gettting bike , insurance , license ,gear . and any got techniques to hide riding a bike ? helmet got helmet lock . etc . but will they mail any bike documents to letter box? is it safe to put house phone number when buying bike . real noob here . cant stand the travelling time everyday ... damn sian . i scared one day kena accident they will find out though . hahaha . any help is rlly appreciated . heard insurance quite ex also . esp under 25yrs old with no riding exp . thx . can sms me 98416525 if got any further help :)

pangz...

u below 25, still getting allowance from parent. Lidat wana buy bike, sum more haven learn yet.. rebellious streak.. u forget it la..

wana buy/learn bike using parent $$ yet dun let them noe, its not called rebellious. its called being irresponsible and childish.

grow up and maybe try again when u more mature n financially stable la.. think abt it, to do wat u are proposing now, the most impt qn is are you able to take the responsibilty urself in e case anything happen or you have to go running back to your parent..

Do it only when you are mature enuff to be accountable only to urself, both financially and also as an independent person to your parents..

sorry if i sound mean but i really feel its for ur own good..peace:nono: :nono: :nono: :nono: :nono: :nono:

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg

my parent dun allowed me too. but now and den. i tell them about bikes. last time i say i wan learn. they will say " STRAIGHT NO " but now i think getting better. they say study hard 1st.

i enroll first before bringing my helmet home, n they hv nth to say cos i've aready enrolled..

n i pass my tp.. when coming to buying bike:

i pay my deposit first before telling them.. they LL oso need to go sign for the paperwork..:angel:

http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb94/weiqiang240/photo.jpg

Live with the life you always taught us

diff case here.. daddy on bike, elder bro on bike... than me of course must on bike la.. no money get car ma... last friday fail my pract 1.. call my daddy told him "wah lao keep earning MY money lor.. no money let them cheat liao.."

then my father say "nvm lah.. wait i come back i sponsor u ur bike de practical.." whaha.. planning to get class3 after NS...

try to use ur own money lor.. well although many ppl say aiya FIRST time ma.. confirm daddy sponsor.. even bike olso daddy sponsor... but i still try to use my own poocket money and go do my pract.. DO until last week i left 50.. i throw into 2 practial lesson.. and whole week no money eat..lol but i got work part time la.. at least can ta han olso..

Yamaha 125z July 2008 - June 2012

Honda Wave 125r Sept 2012 - Nov 2015

Yamaha RXZ 135 Nov 2015 - present :thumb:

diff case here.. daddy on bike, elder bro on bike... than me of course must on bike la.. no money get car ma... last friday fail my pract 1.. call my daddy told him "wah lao keep earning MY money lor.. no money let them cheat liao.."

then my father say "nvm lah.. wait i come back i sponsor u ur bike de practical.." whaha.. planning to get class3 after NS...

try to use ur own money lor.. well although many ppl say aiya FIRST time ma.. confirm daddy sponsor.. even bike olso daddy sponsor... but i still try to use my own poocket money and go do my pract.. DO until last week i left 50.. i throw into 2 practial lesson.. and whole week no money eat..lol but i got work part time la.. at least can ta han olso..

use money fr parent to learn bike is normal.. but at least parents shd be aware and the person still using their daddy/mummy's money shd nt be so misguided to say they wana be rebellious/bad boy...o_O

i once saw some guy like mid twenties liao still bring his mum to ah boy there to buy helmet for him.. dun see anythin wrong abt that cos e guy maybe still schooling or wat. at least he mature enuff to let his parents noe wats he doing wif the money...

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg