Same here bro. get my bike just about one week ago. use to memories the expressway and exit to take on street directory. however, due to being a newbie and kanjiong, i take one hour plus to get to vivocity the first time :faint: the roads in the city can be very confusing as most roads are one way. if you missed any turn, die. and the amount of petrol i used in the first week is ... :cry:

Now i learn to memories the name of major roads that i need to take and not just the expressway and exits because most sign board only indicate the direction of major roads. it also help to write them down just in case you got lost. this works well for me.

haha yaya. my petrol usage was crazy lah. i used 2-3 litres just to navigate around jurong west, back to jurong east. wth.. going up on expressway has become a trauma for me man. everytime i gotto turn in, i don't know when i'll get out.. 2-3 litres for others maybe can travel east to west 2 times liao.

Maestro

April 30, 2009 : Passed Class 2B

May 13, 2009 : Bought NSR150 Honda SP, laid up

June 12, 2009 : Purchase Insurance / Road Tax - FS4*3*R

• Replies 49

there is a system to roads in the cbd area....normally when you see a series of 1-way streets, they are balanced (i.e. one going north, the next going south)...though sometimes its not. look more clearly at your directory and you'll see little arrows showing you which way the streets go. takes awhile to understand but you'll get there eventually :-)

hmm good advice.. thanks bro.. :)

Maestro

Ha. I stay in Boon Lay but I also hoLLand when exiting from AYE towards boon lay. I think it is like tt one leh. As noobs, the area we know as science centre road might be known as Jurong Town Hall Rd in the expressway. The area i know to be Taman Jurong is known as Corporation Rd in the expressway signboard. And if you go to places like east coast park, there are hell lots of exits which all say East Coast Park. just that they refer to different places along ECP.

So sometimes it is not they nvr say, it is just that what they say and what we are used to saying is different. But gain a bit of experience along the way then it will make things a lot easier. ha.

Riders/Drivers are afterall different from Non-riders/drivers.

haha you more powderful.. yala.. don't know who do the town planning one..

learning through the hard way lor.. pollute the air abit, just to learn. hai! can't govt just do the boards properly man.

Maestro

holland at the beginning for experience ...

wah bro.. where you take those pics in your signature one ah? nice leh.. jiojio leh.

Maestro

i tink these type of road go a few times can memories..

i go suntec area i confuse like crazy..

here can turn there can turn

everywhere looks the same..

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

basically you need to ride more to get yourself wont "holland"..

put a map near you always and plan your route before you leave house.

bro. thanks! no box, can't put on vehicle. know of any one big page of foldable map or not?

haf, saw one at Giant selling at $8. around A4 size, but i think can further fold to put below ur seat perhaps.

best is to ask some experience rider to pillion you ard. and show your some places.

once you get the hang of it, then your turn to explore by yourself

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

how many of u here when 1st time got bike,roughly knows how to get from A to B? eg,from ur home to town,airport,east coast etc? basically the more prominent places.for me ever since young i love to know the routes whenever i travel in car with my family or on the bike with my dad..

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Plan, memorize or write down your route using street directory book, google maps, streetdirectory.com. Every expressway exit will have a road name and definitely an exit number... Try to also note the exits/turns before and after the one you are suppose to take, so that you know when its coming up and when you've missed it.

If you got problem doing all this, then you probably have a problem with topo-ing... Like that even if people hold yr hand and show you also difficult. Only other way is learn from mistake lor. If lagi cannot, can go BMW already.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

do you mean:

(a) you're also like me, always go "holland"; or

(b) you like to see me going "holland"?

wah if you're (b), do you work for the petroleum companies ah? lols.

haha. of cause i mean (a) la. lol

check out the streetdirectory, all expressway exits are marked with a number and alphabet eg. PIE exit to tampines avenue 5 is marked 4B, just look for 4B at all the PIE exits heading in the east direction if you are really that confused about the whole thing.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

oic.. thankiew for your advice! :)

Maestro

haha. of cause i mean (a) la. lol

hahahahaha.

Maestro

i don't know about others but for me i try to plan out in advance in my head where i'm going and the roads i'm gonna take..

so if "Hor-Lan" abit nevermind as long as i remember the important landmarks near the place i'm going.

example if i wanna go to great world city i remember "agar around" river valley area then go..

good to remember where the major landmarks in singapore are..

hope this helps.

http://i33.tinypic.com/2h3ok5w.jpg

i always 'holland' too.. before i leave my house i always check how to go first.. i know how to go from pt A-B. and A-C. but when you ask me to go pt B-C, i will get lost, most of the time. my mind needs to trace how i go from A-B then i agar from there, most of the time get lost as well.

online maps that might be useful:

streetdirectory.com

shownearby.com

google map

streetdirectory map can get at popular.

the map is not wrong! (Most of the time):cheeky:

anyway, we all hollanded, i am still hollanding from time to time. :lol: the key is when u holland, dun gan jiong! lok for nearest safe place to stop and take out map! :lol:

Happy hollanding! :lol:

i have been riding for 5 years and until now, i am still not really familiar with sg road hahaha..

many times like u, i "holland" a lot of time.. and wtf is holland?!

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

a street directory is an affordable n good investment. the roads in singapore will not change over nite. got time, just flip thru the street directory. n b4 u wanna go anywhere u r not sure of, do a planning using the street directory 1st.

GPS, unless u got the money to buy, no prob with that. most of the time GPS will plot a longer route rather than a shorter route.

In places like the United States where I stayed for a couple of years, all the roads were arranged in a grid. From east to west, we had parallel roads with names like 1st Street East 32nd Street, West 68th street, 101th avenue...Pretty straightforward directional road arrangement they had.

Back into Singapore, and thanks to one of our British forefathers who allowed haphazard messy road planning back in the 1800s, I'd first acquaint myself with the different towns of Singapore by reading the map, where that town is located in the entire island itself, and then actually trying to go there via the expressway(s) during my free time. You know, go to that town and acquaint yourself to which expressway exit to use to get there, instead of passing by (or accidentally going into) an exit, wondering where that exit will take you to in the future.

I'm a 'geography'-type person....love to read maps most of the time :p

P.S.: Try Malaysia. Navigating to JB, Kuala Lumpur or Sepang has a high learning curve. You need to get a hang of it. Even if you do, it's just the familiar and famous expressways that you're learning, excluding the millions of country roads that Malaysia has.

actually i tried to follow that. but it displays signboards for some exits, and not for other exits. not too sure about the rationale though.

i'm trying to look for a landmark to know that it's the correct exit i wanna get out to, and usually it's the signboard but in this case signboards ain't very helpful to me.

so just wondering if that's the case for all expressway, and i've to really learn through experience. its more of a transport bike for me, so my routes are pretty static. so just wanna know if there's an easy way to recognize this, just in case i need to travel to elsewhere when the need arises lor. :)

sorry for very late reply, try zooming in to "6", u can see the road name and exit

I always have a streetdirectory when i go out. The only time i dun need it is travelling to & fro my gf hse... :)

Always be Alert & stay Focused when riding. :)

I always plan my new trips accordingly. If i'm not in a hurry, just read the road signs. Singapore is so small, the signs are so huge, you will find your way back eventually. :)

When you just feel like riding to nowhere aimlessly, you will always end up somewhere you know. :(