Guys... this is a hilarious but painful experience. I was riding along Orchard Rd in front of 313 Orchard at around 7.30 pm and was picking up speed when THUD!! A low flying bird smashed through my visor window and into my right eye...

I wobbled for a while but was able to control the bike thereafter. Stopped at the side of the road and by the time I took off my helmet, my balaclava was soaked in blood... Darn bird (RIP) had caused a T-shaped tear on my top right eyelid and a swollen retina....

Two kind Samaritans (one of whom is a forumer here I believe, named Ben) called for ambulance and I got 6 rather complex stitches on my eye....

So, one rather unique reason why you should keep your visor down!

PS - My bike number is 5084... See if you guys can strike 4-D or the lottery. If strike, must share...

http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/12/37/94/32/17032010.jpg

At the side of the road wiping off blood...

http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/12/37/94/32/17032011.jpg

http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/12/37/94/32/17032012.jpg

http://i67.servimg.com/u/f67/12/37/94/32/18032010.jpg

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

• Replies 75

Guest johjoh

thats a really rare incident bro. Speedy recovery for your right eye.

Okay, will buy ur bike number.:angel:

interesting incident!!!

glad you came out ok from it other than the stiches & red eye... get well soon

my experience the other day... was doing down some road (cannot recall where liao) all of a sudden my left side vision was blurred!!!

and when i refocused onto my visor... it was... bird poop!!!

glad i had my visor down then!!!

Grounded... :/

oh my.. holy Sh1t.. i think you riding too fast.. bird didnt see.. lol..

i dun quite understand how pple (especially alot of uncles) ride with their visor up or without any visor.. i flip up my visor for a while all sorts of dirt particles are like flying into my eyes. or is it cos my eyelashes too short cannot trap any of the dirt. :cheeky:

have a speedy recovery.

wanaero/Chubb - My bike's a Triumph Sprint ST. The bird's probably a Jap Kamikaze one, thinking the war is still on and tried to destroy the first British vehicle it saw...

dragonforce - I flipped my visor up temporarily as I was stuck in Orchard Rd evening traffic. As the traffic opened up at the 313 Somerset/Peranakan pedestrian crossing, I twisted the throttle a bit & SMACK! Funny thing, I tried to make my way quickly to the roadside until I saw the CISCO warden guarding the bus lane... Still managed to abide by the rules and make my way to the Centrepoint driveway... Hahaha!

Ouch! That got to hurt alot bro. Get well soon.

Faster than fast,

Quicker than quick.

wanaero/Chubb - My bike's a Triumph Sprint ST. The bird's probably a Jap Kamikaze one, thinking the war is still on and tried to destroy the first British vehicle it saw...

dragonforce - I flipped my visor up temporarily as I was stuck in Orchard Rd evening traffic. As the traffic opened up at the 313 Somerset/Peranakan pedestrian crossing, I twisted the throttle a bit & SMACK! Funny thing, I tried to make my way quickly to the roadside until I saw the CISCO warden guarding the bus lane... Still managed to abide by the rules and make my way to the Centrepoint driveway... Hahaha!

lol.. actually sometimes i open my flip up helmet when approaching home.. short distance i still can tahan.. anything more than 2km my visor is definitely down..

PS: read about your bike loss. now this thing happen.. alamak. i feel for you.. but it will be all over soon i hope. tmr will be a better day. :cheers:

just today as i was coming home, i was riding with my visor up..

suddenly something hit my eyebrow n dropped into the small gap between my balaclava n my face..

it (darn insect) was crawling around n tickling my nose n lip all the way until i parked my bike.. abt 2-3min..

wow bro. that is a rare experience. good thing you were able to control your bike properly during the incident. get well soon.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

Okay this is very very coincidental, cause I saw you, and I saw the warden also. He was outside Orchard Emerald right! So sorry I didn't stop to help you, I didn't know you got hit by a bird.

Eh? You mean you saw me while I was still riding? The warden, as I recall cos my left eye was still open (haha!), was between Peranakan Place and Centrepoint. My point of impact was between Orchard Emerald and 313 Orchard...

Yes I did, along that whole stretch of road. But honestly, I saw your bike ah, not you. Hehehe. Ya somewhere along there, I just remembered that I went past him, then I saw the bike about 50m behind, parked at the taxi stand. How's the eye now?

dude, thats one nice ride you got there!

anyway, it is really a rare incident to have a bird go kamikaze on your face. but hey, glad you didn't slid or anything. must buy 4d ah.

you could have been blinded by the bird!(animal, not organ)

Once, not too long ago, i drove into a swarm of bees at about 50km//h. They splattered on my visor causing some vision problem. The bees were stuck on my pants and my jacket i had to slow down drastically to brush them off and hit my helmet to get the dead bees on my visor.

The scariest part was that when i arrived at my destication, i feel things craling on my neck. When i removed my jacket, 2 bees flew out from under my jacket! I didnt know how they got there in the first place! Lucky never kenna stung.

Anyway, BlackBandit, i have to agree with your on keeping your visor down and hope you get well really soon!

I've never dared to ride with the visor up at anything other than being stationary. This is why...

I've a vendetta against lorries carrying gravel too. The wind shear causes loose particles of dirt to fly back like bullets.

I tried to explain the need for preemptive protective gear like jackets and visors to car drivers, who refused to understand basic physics...

i only flip up my visor when there is a jam on the expressway at night. Glaring of backlight makes me lose focus. Other than that no sine i was hit by a bat before riding at 90km/h left lane expressway and it felt like getting punched..

wow, bro, u damn suay man... 1 incident after another...

u riding triumph now... cool..

rest well and recover soon, hope to see you on the road soon...

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg

that's why goggles are the best.. :angel: