Guest IceLkipz

Just to share with fellow riders about my personal experience with 3 motorbike shops.

ALBERT MOTORS: GOOD

In 2006, I bought a brand new Phantom 200cc bike under hire purchased from Albert Motors. At that time,the salesman was Royston. OTR,the bike downpayment was $1000 only and 3 yrs of installment at $200 per month. After sales package was good with 3 service free inclusive of bike cover,raincoat,helmet and box. I received ORIGINAL bike insurance certificate and in details receipt of payment after each successful installment paid. There was a time,I got financial problem,I called them up to inform my situation. Mr Andrew allowed me time to raise fund for my bike and did not even charge me unnecessarily after I did partial payment.No warning letter or nuisance call was documented.

I- M******G: Frightening experience

In 2008,I bought a brand new KRR under hire purchased from this shop. The management and explanation of bike price,insurance and monthly installment differs from each salesperson right up to the so call Manager. I remembered vividly how the friendly,more reasonable so call Manager confirmed me a price,a good price to me and when I actually came back to pay the said amount,another SLICKER,SHORTER,ASSHOLz came to quote a higher amount,giving so much accuses of admin fee,lanchio fee,****cup fee and watever till I have to fork out about $200 extra before I could OTR the bike. I was not given the original Insurance certificate and always get those cheap,stationary receipt type with consistent LATE FEE payment.

Even after clarification,there is always a HIDDEN COST somewhere.

I lost my job and I cant pay up.I came to them asking for reloan or a possible reduction of installment which was $200 per month of a KRR!!! however they turned me down and instead die die,I have to settle.

I failed to settle although they knew my financial situation.When they finally REPO my bike,they turned into Tailong style and harassed my guarantors and even came to their house,threatening to seal and confiscate the units just over a KRR!!! The best thing,they picked up one of my guarantors and pressured him till he cant work.

I will never recommend any of my friends to this bike shop. Its such a fcuk up experience with CON-Gangster style sales personnel.

I settled my outstanding with them and really regret knowing them.

AsPhoon Toh Guan: GREAT!!!

After my bad experience, I was introduced to AsPhoon Toh Guan by a friend. I have with me,just $1000 for R15,brand new and I knew,other bike shops already quoted me minimum $1500. I tried my luck and to my astonishment, Asphoon,salesman,Ah Nam and this sweet lady,Shirley were good to my small budget and allowed me to buy the bike.

I paid $1000 at 12pm and by 6pm,the same day,the bike was ready for me to collect. The salesman explained to me in details the bike cost,the insurance,misc fees and finally gave me a Helmet,Raincoat and bike cover.Not to mention the friendly and patient briefing of my new R15 specifications.After transaction done,I got ORIGINAL insurance certificate,in details billing form and bike purchase receipt in complete details.WOW!!! No hidden cost,nothing to scare a customer.

We even had a good chit chat and when we discuss about payment wise,they are willing to give allowances in monthly payment and even if we are in financial situation,provided with valid documentations,they are most willing to negotiate and let us keep the bike until unless or otherwise of the worst case scenario.

They even washed my bike and polished it before letting me ride it home. I really happy to know them and now I know why ASPHOON is the favor choice!!

• Replies 22

oh bro sad to hear from u~~ u mean that I-m******g not good shop~~ my krr brought from asphoon toh guan.. there sale is :thumb: =)

Class 2B ~ 09 June 2010 (2nd attempt passed)

Class 2A ~ ?

Class 2 ~ ?

Kr 150 ~ 19 June 2010 ~ 3 Jan 2014

Yamaha Fz16 Naked ~ 16 Jan 2014 ~ ?

oh bro sad to hear from u~~ u mean that I-m******g not good shop~~ my krr brought from asphoon toh guan.. there sale is :thumb: =)

o.0

hw much ? coe ? full cash ?

pm if u mind

Guest IceLkipz

I must share this true experience so that others will be saved!

I'm still a new rider, bought my first hand brand new spark from toh guan. howcome yours buy 12pm, 6 pm can collect. mine takes a week? The salesman say today buy tomorrow can collect. I bought the bike at around afternoon too, then if not by the day I bought, should be the next day, the next day also not ready...

I'll be frank here, no offence though.

TS - why do you always buy brand new 2B bikes whenever you change bikes?

1) It seems like you're source of income is rather unstable as seen from your first and second bike.

2) Depreciation for new 2B bikes is a killer. You could have easily lost a few thousands whenever you change bike.

Based on your 3rd bike stated, I don't think you are even fit to get a new bike with only 1000 at hand - you'll need more spare cash at hand in case **** happens - like losing your job.

Frankly, based on your 2nd bike experience, you are also partly at fault even though the shop sucks at customer service.

Are you still a student? Get a 2nd hand bike la. Or at least buy a bike that you can pay up in full. If can't afford a model that you like then dun use future money - dun buy.

Guest IceLkipz

Zat Tazzi: I actually confirmed the bike and done the paperwork 1 day before thus I just have to pay the downpayment and finalized the paperwork.That explains why I got the bike in a shorter time.

Kaiq: Bro,I noted your kind advice but your point was inaccurate against my actual situation. :>

Sometimes we dont know in this forum, who are the people who actually get commission from certain shop to promote their shop.I have a friend who actaully bought a bike on installment on recommendation from another friend. Now my friend is real noob and so bought from one of the "good" named shops and guess what after 3 months still the bike not useable. The friend's friend said its good and after mech did service, my friend tried it and not happy with bike. I also tried, and I wasnt happy with it either.

Guest IceLkipz
Where is thiss I-motoring bro? I wana avoid thaat shop too. Seems like a F-up one bro. I pity u.

Avoid it bro.. I am sharing this out of good faith. We are bikers and we dont deserved to be treated as if we owns the loan sharks.

Do your calculation before buying. It's not about paying the mimimum downpayment you can be quote by 'luck', and meeting the installment deadline.

If a $200/mth target can't be met, is the bike really necessary to eat grass over, or all the conflicts with the shop necessary? Just my opinion, seems you're doing ok so far.. so :cheers:

Anyone can ride a bike. Being a biker, is a state of mind.

Well, i certainly dun get rebates, discounts or any form of monetary benefits from ASP..

From the day I started riding, I had been buying bikes from ASP, new and 2nd hand.. never once I had any problem with the intensive installments and any DP or repayment issues..

until I changed once because ASP do not have the bike i want at that point of time I wanna change..

I've learnt my lesson and thus will be only buying from ASP for my CL2 bike..

**dun rephrase my words here into political views**

they are totally different..

Sometimes we dont know in this forum, who are the people who actually get commission from certain shop to promote their shop.I have a friend who actaully bought a bike on installment on recommendation from another friend. Now my friend is real noob and so bought from one of the "good" named shops and guess what after 3 months still the bike not useable. The friend's friend said its good and after mech did service, my friend tried it and not happy with bike. I also tried, and I wasnt happy with it either.

There are exceptions of course - shops like Planet Motors are almost everyone's favourites because it's one of the few shops that solve problems on bikes the proper way - identifying the root cause and fixing it in one session.

It's a humble old-style business that believes in just fixing your bike. The labour charges are almost excessively cheap given the fact they can overhaul engines in a day (even on Saturday, if you go early enough) and throw in lots of discounts/added "just because it's already dismantled" services at low rates.

Don't need to pay people commission to advertise.

Other shops with notoriously bad service should learn from Planet. As for I-M, they have been consistently getting bad reviews from the majority of people who have been there.

---

Back on topic to A S Phoon.

I'd like to visit them to get a new bike too but... The 2011 CBR150i is not being exported to Singapore! Grrrrr.

Hassen, you still buying brand new 2B sports bikes ?

come on bro.. why spending on such and racing on the street...

buying new bike.. spending $$ on changing parts... modding to go faster.... racing with SP, RS ?

haiz... :nono:

I'll be frank here, no offence though.

TS - why do you always buy brand new 2B bikes whenever you change bikes?

1) It seems like you're source of income is rather unstable as seen from your first and second bike.

2) Depreciation for new 2B bikes is a killer. You could have easily lost a few thousands whenever you change bike.

Based on your 3rd bike stated, I don't think you are even fit to get a new bike with only 1000 at hand - you'll need more spare cash at hand in case **** happens - like losing your job.

Frankly, based on your 2nd bike experience, you are also partly at fault even though the shop sucks at customer service.

Are you still a student? Get a 2nd hand bike la. Or at least buy a bike that you can pay up in full. If can't afford a model that you like then dun use future money - dun buy.

I work with lot of "installment" people in my work. Recently have one colleague, earn less than 2k, wife not working,2 kids, own a new kia forte. When his 4 rooms BTO came last month, HLE not approved as when they applied there were 2 people working, cant get house, AHG have to give back with interests. KBKP time are bad, why HDB like this.

Drive taxi part time, say no car cannot make it....

I told him if you work too hard and have some mishap on the road how????

Best, cos my insurance will pay for all the troubles....

I was like hmm.......

You are the one that over commit in the first place.......

My work place have lots of people earn less than 2k, own car and bike. When sick of the item just pass it to one of his friend that envy him and COI. Loan pass here and there. Even I am their supervisor I just ride my humble scooter.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Each to their own...

Live between your means... below it...and not above... it...

I have enjoyed AS_Poon Service with my ex-bike... friendly staffs... Can't & Won't Comment about the other two shops... Get the idea?

BTW, the funny thing is ...... these shops has such "famous.... Re_Pu_Tay_Tion! Why & how can they hold out for soooo long? I really wonder....???

To Me....

It's not How fast you go... It's how FAR you Travel...:thumb:

It's the Rider! Not the Bike! o_O

My Experience with Albert is total crap. Gave me inccurate COE expiry. Promised me so many things. But nvr keep their werd. Once left my bike there frm morning to so called install all da promised parts and end up dey dun even bother to inform me dey didnt do anything and has da cheek to tell

me to leave da bike there again. Got fed up and bought all spare parts myself. Imo every shop will do dis kind of ****. Juz depends on ur luck.

My Experience with Albert is total crap. Gave me inccurate COE expiry. Promised me so many things. But nvr keep their werd. Once left my bike there frm morning to so called install all da promised parts and end up dey dun even bother to inform me dey didnt do anything and has da cheek to tell

me to leave da bike there again. Got fed up and bought all spare parts myself. Imo every shop will do dis kind of ****. Juz depends on ur luck.

I bought my bike from M 1 Motoring too,and yes the service is really crap.First i downpayment a KRR and told them that ill get it after i got my class 2B license but i failed once so i called them up and asked if they can wait,they replied yes.In the end after i pass my 2B license when i went back to the shop they told me that guy that is in charge has sold away my KRR and quit the job alr(Runaway).Really dont go that shop cuz they do like a lot of empty promises such as like installing things for u free or as a package and stuffs in the end they wont even do it.Not recommended to buy from them.Anw albert,M1 motoring they are from the same boss so makes not much diff for me.

-Class 2b (Spark 135-March 2010)

-Class 2A (RVF 400 2011 - 2013)

-Class 2(Cbr 600rr 2013 -???)

-Class 3

Once a rider, always a rider! :cheeky:

Guest IceLkipz
I bought my bike from M 1 Motoring too,and yes the service is really crap.First i downpayment a KRR and told them that ill get it after i got my class 2B license but i failed once so i called them up and asked if they can wait,they replied yes.In the end after i pass my 2B license when i went back to the shop they told me that guy that is in charge has sold away my KRR and quit the job alr(Runaway).Really dont go that shop cuz they do like a lot of empty promises such as like installing things for u free or as a package and stuffs in the end they wont even do it.Not recommended to buy from them.Anw albert,M1 motoring they are from the same boss so makes not much diff for me.

Bro,sorry,but the next time,u should put down any cash unless u have everything ready.

I agree on that one too :)

Money make the World go round :)

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/Foxin489130.jpg

Yeah lor..that time no experience plus kan jiong also! But now i know alr no pain,no gain afterall ! xD

-Class 2b (Spark 135-March 2010)

-Class 2A (RVF 400 2011 - 2013)

-Class 2(Cbr 600rr 2013 -???)

-Class 3

Once a rider, always a rider! :cheeky: