When you use a degreaser on the chain, you strip it completely bare of protective lubricant, which is why you need to apply chainlube liberally in order to make sure all parts are protected. What happens with liberal chain lube application is that things mess up quickly again, so back to square one. Waste chainlube, waste effort.

I am using and highly recommend GT85 for chain cleaning, fast and efficient and you do not have to spray on a ton of chainlube afterwards. More on application tips and user results:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=77610

• Replies 325

Originally posted by RobbenArjen@April 03, 2007 10:19 am

guys don mind me asking,where u guys get ur kerosene or petrol.. pump from station ?

they buy kerosene from any diy shop...cost ard $2 a bottle i gues....all you need is a paint brush with soft bristle...not hard ones......jus pour abit into an unwanted cup and use the brush to wash the chain ....to ensure even washing, you can first jack up ur bike using a car jack, following that, start spinning the tyres and then simply align ur brush to the chain ...the kerosene and the brushing action will do the job ............

however pls note that these are highly flammable liquid, no smoking pls! and always before i do this, i make sure that the area under the chain which is the ground area is already covered with cif (a dishwashing abrasive liquid) to make sure that the kerosense is cleaned away properly and wun cause hazard to others...

best if u do this at the washing bay bro ........

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

however pls note that these are highly flammable liquid, no smoking pls! and always before i do this, i make sure that the area under the chain which is the ground area is already covered with cif (a dishwashing abrasive liquid) to make sure that the kerosense is cleaned away properly and wun cause hazard to others...

best if u do this at the washing bay bro ........

actually petrol wont light up if there is no live fire.. if u throw yr cigarette butt in oil it wont light up. u need a spark. dont believe all the sh*t in the movies.

Live A 100%

U Gotta Ride

kerosene is the best and cheap solutions

Slow rider Live longer:dot:

VtecII 2002 - 2011 :thumb:

Fazer1N 08 - 2012

yes..or u can trty diesel??

can use petrol

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_03_10010403706.gifhttp://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z52/jim_lkf/mz_091005_10010661780.gif

If u have seen before the DID chain packaging,they state kerosene as a cleaning agent...but after that must wash with soap n water and then dry the chain and finally give a good lube...

Yup. Must wash off the chain thoroughly if you use diesel or kerosense. These solvents don't evaporate and will prevent chainlube from sticking properly.

I always recommend GT85, just wipe down, no need to wash off. Effective with a fraction of the time and effort.

Yup. Must wash off the chain thoroughly if you use diesel or kerosense. These solvents don't evaporate and will prevent chainlube from sticking properly.

I always recommend GT85, just wipe down, no need to wash off. Effective with a fraction of the time and effort.

Bro can i cnfirm if i use GT85 to clean the chain,dun need to wash with water n soap after that?? can juz follow up with lubing the chain??

wont the chemicals in the GT85 "eat" up the o or x rings?? :confused:

Yes, not need to wash. Just wipe, the GT85 will quickly evaporate leaving Teflon to protect.

Been using this stuff since 95', ride bicycle time, it very safe, harmless on seals. Lots of customers using this stuff to clean and lubricate everything, not just O/X ring chains.

where to get GT85 ?

Mustafa. lots of maxima products as well.

i'm using a De-Greaser to clean my chain and then lube it again with chain spray.

does the job right?

i think it's the same as cleaning using WD40.

Yes, not need to wash. Just wipe, the GT85 will quickly evaporate leaving Teflon to protect.

Been using this stuff since 95', ride bicycle time, it very safe, harmless on seals. Lots of customers using this stuff to clean and lubricate everything, not just O/X ring chains.

Hi ANR,

Just a simple question hope you can answer.

If I use GT85(which i loooove very much) to clean the chain, and then I use MAxima Chain Wax, will the wax stay on the chain or will it be repelled by the GT85 leftovers? :confused:

Thanks in advance.

Hi ANR,

Just a simple question hope you can answer.

If I use GT85(which i loooove very much) to clean the chain, and then I use MAxima Chain Wax, will the wax stay on the chain or will it be repelled by the GT85 leftovers? :confused:

Thanks in advance.

I do it all the time, no issues. GT85 mixes with the solvent base of Maxima Chainwax. After awhile, all solvent will evaporate and the chainwax will setup to be fling resistant. To accelerate the process, I usually run thru the chain with a rag before spraying on the chainwax.

where to get GT85? how much is it?

http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o119/yeochris/IMG_0825-1.jpghttp://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o119/yeochris/IMG_3362asmall-2.jpg

both my xiao bai... ^_^

can use petrol

although using petrol to clean the chain will make the chain have a very clean look, but i strongly discourage you to use petrol becoz it will damage the the rubber O-RING or X-RING in between the chain

where to get GT85? how much is it?

yo, yeo. long time no see u post. u nv see my post meh. :sian:

mustafa hab. still got other place lah. but tink mustafa hab a lot of other products.

I do it all the time, no issues. GT85 mixes with the solvent base of Maxima Chainwax. After awhile, all solvent will evaporate and the chainwax will setup to be fling resistant. To accelerate the process, I usually run thru the chain with a rag before spraying on the chainwax.

no issues if i use scottoiler right?? tot of buying the GT85.. normally i just use degreaser and water, dunno will spoil chain or not..

Scottoiler itself should keep the chain pretty clean, just that everywhere else is very oily and dirty. You will find it helpful in cleaning up the rims, spray it on paper towels and wipe.

i use GT85 on my chain to clean it. it work like kerosene but unlike kerosene u need to use alot of water to wash off. but for GT85 u don't need to wash off with water. can buy at Mustaffa centre. good stuff. intruduce by a friend.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=38090&dateline=1183211119&type=profile