He once mentioned $10 if i remembered correctly.

• Replies 3.9k

83rd time at Planet!

16/06/2011

9:50am

weather:Good:

mood: Guess what just arrived in the mail! :D

Went there yesterday to fixed up my DR800's fuel pump using the rebuild kit after receiving it in the mail the night before. :)

On the way there, Speedo meter suddenly become ZERO! KNN Either speedo cable broke or came loose.

No choice go there first use RPM meter to determine the speed first.

At Planet, it was already a full house even at this hour.

So push the bike in to DIY! :angel:

But when I remove the fuel cock to access the fuel pump, the fuel started flowing out, I quickly plug the opening with my finger and called "Help!!!!" :help:

Ah Chong was walking pass and asked what's wrong, then when he saw what happened, he said "Wah Lao!" And quickly got a pair of pinchers to "Kiap!" the fuel hose. Then he used a spark plug to plug up the hole! :lol:

Then he guided me along as I dismantle the fuel pump and replaced all the parts inside. :)

I had a hard time putting the pump back after assembly, Armani was there too, and asked me why I shivering. (Shivering because using all my strenght to push the cables blocking the fuel pump mah) :(

Then Ah Chong see already want to laugh, because I used the wrong bolt, a short one, that why cannot reach! :cheeky:

He picked up the bolt besides me, then I remembered the fuel pump was attached using the long bolt with a spacer! :lol:

And in less than a min job done! :smile:

Then I asked Ah Chong for a fuel filter, because my filter already very clogged with debris from the rusty tanks. Got to show you guys a pic of it someday.

Then it's time to replace the speedo cable. But no stock, Ah Chong even took out all the cables, but all too short. No choice got to source for one then DIY fix on. :(

But the repairs total bill was only $10 including the cost of the new fuel filter. :)

Paid and quickly rush off to Ban Hock Hin to adjust my wind screen!

Update: Today while riding, my Phantom speedo cable also broke..... :(

why planet so many ppl wan, the place so lousy no skill and expensive and yet still got ppl go...like me so stupid, stay in woodlands still travel to ubi and let him carrot from 2006 till now....wah lan eh, i hate that PT boss of mine....*^*#^#$(*&)#%(@*((@#

pui, shop so dirty n messy like **** like that...always give wrong solution to all my bike problem pui pui pui!!!!

I HATE PLANET!!!!

but i love Bafang.....lol

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

phantom speedo cable loose or broke.

if loose is easy fix. cause happened to me before, the nut went loose and slided down the speedocable to the front wheel there.

broke then differetn story ah.

why planet so many ppl wan, the place so lousy no skill and expensive and yet still got ppl go...like me so stupid, stay in woodlands still travel to ubi and let him carrot from 2006 till now....wah lan eh, i hate that PT boss of mine....*^*#^#$(*&)#%(@*((@#

pui, shop so dirty n messy like **** like that...always give wrong solution to all my bike problem pui pui pui!!!!

I HATE PLANET!!!!

but i love Bafang.....lol

Ya very lousy. Q for 1 hour, hands so dirty yet still touch my bike

Spent 8 hours at planet for the following

Installation of TA150 back suspension set (from @yeukeong , ebay purchase)

Replace clutch pack (Ah Chong special clutch)

Replace front forks (Honda original) and lower front suspension by 1 inch.

Pennzoil Titanium 4T (from Motoworld)

Although some people made some negative comments on my choice of oil, expensive handlebars ($500 one), fully synthetic oil, custom suspension and type R stickers here and there, the result of a day's labour is well worth the expense.

The bike corners naturally, not like a "cruiser" anymore but sharp and precise in wet and dry, the new clutch pack has no engine braking (surprise!!) and the Pennzoil synthetic oil makes the engine sound like a world war 2 machine gun. Absolutely brutal.

Total cost was $260 for new clutch pack and Honda original front forks, plus $40 for the almost showroom-polish TA150 rear suspension from @yeukeong . Oh, and $5 for the Gilera windshield that gives my bike an "Intruder 1800" style front end. Kopitiam version.

intruder style windshield.jpg

I tried to ask Ah Chong to bring in a Custom 4 front fork plus gaiters but that would require me to buy the bottom end of the forks too - can't do that right now as I already sent the lower parts for chroming last year and the chrome is still perfectly intact.

With his permission I filmed ah chong doing the usual road test of my bike lol.

admire your knowledge.

Musta spent alot on that ride.

The china man working attitude sucks.

The smaller dude with the spectacles? He appears to be still under training.

He's the one that did my 'racing' clutch replacement a few days ago. He was very easy to joke with and looked to like his job. This was however a Thursday afternoon/evening where the crowd was more or less manageable.

last week, he serviced my phantom's front brake disc + chg brake pad for jux $20 on my phantom.. cheap n good service!

then, my top overhaul took 3 days.. kinda slow, but ah chong told me in advance alr.. so it was quite okay, looking at their manpower, i understand... well, for the honest prices and diagnosis, i feel planet is not bad.. they r not the hi-tech-alot-of-tools-and-machinery kind of shop.. they r jux normal and honest bikeshop..

well, my bike came back super dirty, but dats their nature la.. if u want clean workshop, planet is nt d plc.. jux look at their NO TOOLBOX policy.. haha! u can bring hm a spanner n they wouldn't even notice.. lol!

plus, ah chong actly told me he wants to chg all the cables (throttle, clutch.. ) cux like quite old alr and i said ok.. well, he forgot! but i guess dats wat too much workload does.. even on a busy saturday, he took several minutes to chat wif me n explain to me abt running in.. so it was quite satisfied.. seeing hw busy they were, i jux went ahead to buy my own clutch cable n chg myself..

:) ups for great bikeshop wif funny boss and mechs!!

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

its mentioned somewhere in this thread that if you want superstar treatment for your bike, go elsewhere. i'm personally going to continue to visit his shop for repairs

When touring, its usually the rider that give way first before the bike itself.

got box got tour.

last week, he serviced my phantom's front brake disc + chg brake pad for jux $20 on my phantom.. cheap n good service!

then, my top overhaul took 3 days.. kinda slow, but ah chong told me in advance alr.. so it was quite okay, looking at their manpower, i understand... well, for the honest prices and diagnosis, i feel planet is not bad.. they r not the hi-tech-alot-of-tools-and-machinery kind of shop.. they r jux normal and honest bikeshop..

well, my bike came back super dirty, but dats their nature la.. if u want clean workshop, planet is nt d plc.. jux look at their NO TOOLBOX policy.. haha! u can bring hm a spanner n they wouldn't even notice.. lol!

plus, ah chong actly told me he wants to chg all the cables (throttle, clutch.. ) cux like quite old alr and i said ok.. well, he forgot! but i guess dats wat too much workload does.. even on a busy saturday, he took several minutes to chat wif me n explain to me abt running in.. so it was quite satisfied.. seeing hw busy they were, i jux went ahead to buy my own clutch cable n chg myself..

:) ups for great bikeshop wif funny boss and mechs!!

yeah! he's honest !!! Hard to find bike shop owner like him.

Subaru Impreza 1.6i (SGU) [2006 - ???]

Honda CBR150R (FW) [2009 - 2009]

Honda NSR150SP (FT) [2008 - 2010]

Yamaha T135 (FBE) [2010 - ???]

CBR125/NSR125/CBR150/NSR150/T135 Manuals --> http://www.scribd.com/xbfish

anyone saw ah chong's maserati before? was told by the mechanic he drove one..

upgrade already? last time he drove nissan sunny, then changed to merc.. haha :cheeky:

Subaru Impreza 1.6i (SGU) [2006 - ???]

Honda CBR150R (FW) [2009 - 2009]

Honda NSR150SP (FT) [2008 - 2010]

Yamaha T135 (FBE) [2010 - ???]

CBR125/NSR125/CBR150/NSR150/T135 Manuals --> http://www.scribd.com/xbfish

84th time at Planet! :)

03/08/2011

04:30pm

weather: Shady

Went to Planet to get my Phantom back in shape. Been riding with a broken speedo cable, so can only judge the speed by pacing other vehicles and by the engine sound. Anyway, inspection for road tax coming, so got to fix it up, as well as change the rear brake pads, got sound already, been riding slow and using only the front brake. :cheeky:

Changed speedo cable because it was broken, headlight because no high beam, only low beam... :sian:

Change the brake pads and engine oil too. The mech who did the change was the China uncle.

Total cost $44

The guy did an ok job. On the way out, Ah offered to push the bike out for me, but cannot go out because there was another bike being serviced 1/2 way at the slope. So got to wait. I told Ah Chong too bad my bike wasn't a SP if not sure can go out. Then Ah Chong ask me how come? I told him SP= Super Puma mah, can fly out! :lol:

Once out of Planet, I did a U-Turn, because the right signal not working! :cry:

The China mech helped to trouble shoot to a faulty earth wire and gave me a lenght of used wire to DIY myself. So I DIY lor, since DIY is free one. :cheeky:

While DIYing, met a fellow NIE grad who was at Planet too.

After that I rode like a bat out of hell with a green KR rider who was also on the way to Yishun. Ahhh.... Long time never ride fast already... :thirsty:

anyone saw ah chong's maserati before? was told by the mechanic he drove one..

wow! upgrade again.. lolx.. his shop making money! let's go discount discount.. LOL.. :p

84th time at Planet! :)

03/08/2011

04:30pm

weather: Shady

Went to Planet to get my Phantom back in shape. Been riding with a broken speedo cable, so can only judge the speed by pacing other vehicles and by the engine sound. Anyway, inspection for road tax coming, so got to fix it up, as well as change the rear brake pads, got sound already, been riding slow and using only the front brake. :cheeky:

Changed speedo cable because it was broken, headlight because no high beam, only low beam... :sian:

Change the brake pads and engine oil too. The mech who did the change was the China uncle.

Total cost $44

The guy did an ok job. On the way out, Ah offered to push the bike out for me, but cannot go out because there was another bike being serviced 1/2 way at the slope. So got to wait. I told Ah Chong too bad my bike wasn't a SP if not sure can go out. Then Ah Chong ask me how come? I told him SP= Super Puma mah, can fly out! :lol:

Once out of Planet, I did a U-Turn, because the right signal not working! :cry:

The China mech helped to trouble shoot to a faulty earth wire and gave me a lenght of used wire to DIY myself. So I DIY lor, since DIY is free one. :cheeky:

While DIYing, met a fellow NIE grad who was at Planet too.

After that I rode like a bat out of hell with a green KR rider who was also on the way to Yishun. Ahhh.... Long time never ride fast already... :thirsty:

green kr? hmmm.. from planet also? lolx...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)