[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

Guest @h_püi™
1l is enuff ar??phantom eats eo veri fast izit??den normally if 2k km change eo then will 1l be enuff?

by right 1L is enough..

but you are right that phantom "eat EO" so i advise you after you reach 500Km you check your EO level.. not enough top up abit by abit..

for me..

after i change EO and after 1000Km i will check the EO level and it will sure fall below or almost below the required level. so i top up additional 50ml of EO (you need to buy additional bottle of EO to perform the top up yourself) then it will sure last till my next EO change

so for my total is 1L and 50ml of EO

Guest @h_püi™
another qsn about veh inspection...when i noe when to go for inspection?

ok i know your is a Old TA200 bike so as wat replay mention it will send you letter.. maybe 2 - 3 month before your annually roadtax expire. (does not apply if you are renewing 6 month road tax)

Inspection is once a year thing.

but for New bike. the inspection will come 3yrs after your brought your first hand bike. then subsequenly will be yearly inspection

whoa, seems high... my overhaul would cost me bout 600 only.. but that's cos i duno what they will change.. seeing your air filter price i nothing to say liao... DIY air filter only 10..

some shop charge more than 22 SGD for air filter. u know where...

wanna ask smth...normally when u pillion ppl rite, what speed can u reach b4 the eng starts roaring like crazy ar??i hit 70kph cannot go up anymore sia...what could the problem be?

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

depends on how heave ur pillion + ur weight.

i can go upto 145 km/h (downslope, not in sg)

need to drag gear from gear 4... then 5.. and 6..

with pillion (my gf) 100 km/h (in sg, still comfortable ride)

about 155kg lo total weight...go down slope i open trottle engine roar le and its 70kph den have to close trottle slightly...is engine having problem sia...

some of the items seems pricey :giddy: why did you tow to that shop may I ask?

firstly cuz its a Sunday, this is one of the few shops that open on a sunday.. second cuz i have never been to any bike workshops in my whole life. dont know where are all the motordiams!

yea the second quote i got is around that price... 500ish..

btw what is "drag gear"? means rpm too high still using the lower gears or like going up a slope bike no power already still dun down gear,

my riding style is i use highest gear to cruise, and when there's a gradual slope, i maintain trottle and go up. but can feel the bike like less power and then reading on speedometer drop

is this bad? cuz sometimes if drop gear the rpm still too high, i dare not drop gear

wanna ask smth...normally when u pillion ppl rite, what speed can u reach b4 the eng starts roaring like crazy ar??i hit 70kph cannot go up anymore sia...what could the problem be?

haha me and my pillion total about 110+kg hit about 100+km/h then start roaring..its norm for phantom..get used to it or get ride of it ;)

firstly cuz its a Sunday, this is one of the few shops that open on a sunday.. second cuz i have never been to any bike workshops in my whole life. dont know where are all the motordiams!

yea the second quote i got is around that price... 500ish..

btw what is "drag gear"? means rpm too high still using the lower gears or like going up a slope bike no power already still dun down gear,

my riding style is i use highest gear to cruise, and when there's a gradual slope, i maintain trottle and go up. but can feel the bike like less power and then reading on speedometer drop

is this bad? cuz sometimes if drop gear the rpm still too high, i dare not drop gear

lol hurry get to know where are they or they'll get to know your money :]

yea thats dragging gear..to high rpm..try it and you'll know..

hi jb,

so its normal izit??total weight of 155++ at 70kph its alrdy roaring and cannot push any further...cos i worry it might be engine fault den can go claim warrenty..left few days b4 warrenty ends

loud as in i open a bit more trottle den got a feeling like i m dragging gear 6 or the engine might jux burst into flame...lol

hi jb,

so its normal izit??total weight of 155++ at 70kph its alrdy roaring and cannot push any further...cos i worry it might be engine fault den can go claim warrenty..left few days b4 warrenty ends

loud as in i open a bit more trottle den got a feeling like i m dragging gear 6 or the engine might jux burst into flame...lol

with a combined weight of 150+kg, and on a ta200 is quite straining for the engine..try opening your throttle slowly and pull the speed up..instead of whacking your throttle..roaring is a definite thing..perhaps you bring down to planet motors for ah chong to ride and he'll tell you whats wrong ;)

How loud the engine is, is very subjective leh... What's loud to yu may not be loud to others.

:lol: I couldn't help chuckling when reading your post. I "think" my bike is very soft :p

with a combined weight of 150+kg, and on a ta200 is quite straining for the engine..try opening your throttle slowly and pull the speed up..instead of whacking your throttle..roaring is a definite thing..perhaps you bring down to planet motors for ah chong to ride and he'll tell you whats wrong ;)

i went to let him check once...he rode ard the cp and say engine no problem... but was wondering...how fast can he ride on carparks...hmm...tis type of loudness and stuff can be check jux by slow riding??my friend say mayb my spark plug is a cheapo de so will affect also..

haha another one who doubts..if you fear so much, get a better performance bike or a first hand ;)

If you don't trust the mechanic's diagnosis, go to other motordiams and get 2nd, 3rd, 4th opinions lor...

Or learn how to DIY & fix your bike yourself

hmm...ok la...i tink cos of the 'fake' chain and sprocket that he told me tat cos this whole mess ba...now saving up to change that...tat time he point out to me all the chiong parts of my bike so i trying to save up to change it...thx guys

last sat my bike suddenly power loss on the way to camp, then got sounds.. as if something broke, got cling cling sound. as i travel further the engine really no power. and engine was hotter than usual

so i send it to this bike shop called AHM performance @ Eunos on sunday. left my bike there then they called me say my piston jam (btw piston jam bike still can move meh? hmm..) and connecting rod lose and spoilt... so gotta do full overhaul

they did the following (stated on the receipt)

- change piston and ring $80

- change piston pin $20

- rebore engine block $18

- press con rod $18

- con rod full complete $98 (dunno what is it, i think its installation)

- change crankshaft bearing $80

- change whole set of clutch pads $80

- change timing chain $48 (dunno why need this..)

- change chain tensioner $45

- full overhaul gasket set $80 (isnt it just applying the gasket on the engine block only? )

- grinding inlet, outlet exhaust valve $20 (dunno whats this)

- 2 bottles of engine oil $32 (say overhaul need 2 bottles, subsequent then use 1 bottle will do)

- change spark plug $6

- service carb $25

- change air filter $22

- change rear brake pads $25

- labour $90

total $795

are the pricing for the things did reasonably priced? wonder if i've been carrot-ed...

after that i enquired full overhaul from another motordiam in that area... the price quoted was much lower sia...

It's just a top overhaul, shouldn't be so expensive ba.

Very subjective. Ppl like kiamh ride his pok pok david's son until 1/2 deaf liao...and thinks his bike is soft. Other ppl maybe just remove the wax from their ears and think 50km/h bike very loud liao. If you hit 70km/h with pillion and cannot go up liao, check your chain 1st of all. If adjusting the chain tension doesn't help, then it could be your clutch or gear worn out liao. But then again, if that were the case, you'll experience a loss of power even when riding solo.

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

no need to ride fast to check engine condition..

normal idelling sound, clutch biting point and moving off, chain movement sound, gear changing sound.. all are basic symptoms for ur bike.

if something goes wrong, most propably it's identifiable..

wow guess what i saw today at j8...

i saw u cisco police giving out a fine ticket to a car that is waiting at a waiting bay with his hazard light on. but one thing...after he gave the ticket to that car, there is one bike parked on the pavement i thought i will go fine it also but he jux heck care and go back to his bike and rode off sia...y is this so??parking on pavment not illegal meh??

My equally noob friend ta200 bike dropped to the left, EO sorta poured out (200 ml or so) was wondering if it would cause any implications? never notice funny smoke. he's the bo chup type but i'm curious to know what should/can/may be done, in case it happens to me too.

both of us parked at a slope but i lazy to engage N, so got gear to hold it there, lucky for me probably.

where would it usually pour out from?