[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

wow guess what i saw today at j8...

i saw u cisco police giving out a fine ticket to a car that is waiting at a waiting bay with his hazard light on. but one thing...after he gave the ticket to that car, there is one bike parked on the pavement i thought i will go fine it also but he jux heck care and go back to his bike and rode off sia...y is this so??parking on pavment not illegal meh??

quoting esso "we're bikers too..."

by left and by right lar, even we do sales, sometimes we ignore those that are low commission.

• Replies 7.2k

Kee! Kee! Just realised something yesterday. The newest Phantom TA200 exhaust is round one, our version on it the tapered tailpipe with 2 holes. :)

Was looking at a brand new Purple 'TA150' downstairs, when I realised that it had no radiator! :eek:

Aieee??? Why like??? :confused:

So I Kay Po go and investigate, and confirmed its a TA200. :cheeky:

Plate FBB, cannot be TA150 liao, since TA150 no longer in production, some more the exhaust got stamp TA200.

The new Phantom 200 exhaust is round like TA150 that's all.

My equally noob friend ta200 bike dropped to the left, EO sorta poured out (200 ml or so) was wondering if it would cause any implications? never notice funny smoke. he's the bo chup type but i'm curious to know what should/can/may be done, in case it happens to me too.

both of us parked at a slope but i lazy to engage N, so got gear to hold it there, lucky for me probably.

where would it usually pour out from?

normally, only petrol will pour out/leak, Engine oil wont pour out if u drop ur bike.

wow guess what i saw today at j8...

i saw u cisco police giving out a fine ticket to a car that is waiting at a waiting bay with his hazard light on. but one thing...after he gave the ticket to that car, there is one bike parked on the pavement i thought i will go fine it also but he jux heck care and go back to his bike and rode off sia...y is this so??parking on pavment not illegal meh??

Cisco doesnt have authority to fine those who park on pavement. Their territory is on the tarmac.

My equally noob friend ta200 bike dropped to the left, EO sorta poured out (200 ml or so) was wondering if it would cause any implications? never notice funny smoke. he's the bo chup type but i'm curious to know what should/can/may be done, in case it happens to me too.

both of us parked at a slope but i lazy to engage N, so got gear to hold it there, lucky for me probably.

where would it usually pour out from?

Like kmax said, it's prolly petrol leaking out via the carb.

Kee! Kee! Just realised something yesterday. The newest Phantom TA200 exhaust is round one, our version on it the tapered tailpipe with 2 holes. :)

Was looking at a brand new Purple 'TA150' downstairs, when I realised that it had no radiator! :eek:

Plate FBB, cannot be TA150 liao, since TA150 no longer in production, some more the exhaust got stamp TA200.

I'm very surprised you didnt know despite the countless times the differentiated descriptions are posted online and the gatherings of Phantoms you had been part of. All Custom 4 versions and onwards have exhausts like that, plus the relocated ignition key blablabla :p

I have the best signature.

lol.. the new one is longer. FBB TA150 is hard to find, but sure have.. those who sell plate lor..

Cisco doesnt have authority to fine those who park on pavement. Their territory is on the tarmac.

I'm very surprised you didnt know despite the countless times the differentiated descriptions are posted online and the gatherings of Phantoms you had been part of. All Custom 4 versions and onwards have exhausts like that, plus the relocated ignition key blablabla :p

o.O what bout TP? so who got the authority on the pavement? neighbourhood police?

hahahha.. silent hunter spend too much time training his bumpy course he don't notice.. :p

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
o.O what bout TP? so who got the authority on the pavement? neighbourhood police?

Authority to fine on pavement is TP. If within the neighbourhood premises, HDB or TC also. There is more info in the Legality thread.

ps: Ever wondered why bikes rather up pavements than park alongside double-yellow lines?

I have the best signature.

haha.. i saw a scrambler parked at the road side alone the double yellow line, for more than 4 hours.. CCK there..

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif
Authority to fine on pavement is TP. If within the neighbourhood premises, HDB or TC also. There is more info in the Legality thread.

ps: Ever wondered why bikes rather up pavements than park alongside double-yellow lines?

i also wonder y...for tp i don seem to see them anywhere...oni sometimes when i m not riding like today den i saw 2 tp on their bikes...they look so stable sia...wonder what yamaha bike is theirs

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

i also wonder y...for tp i don seem to see them anywhere...oni sometimes when i m not riding like today den i saw 2 tp on their bikes...they look so stable sia...wonder what yamaha bike is theirs

Just asked a friendly TP escorting a convey at a traffic junction, the smaller version they ride is Super 4 Vtec III.

Bigger one with all the lights looking like a gold wing still don't know.

YASMAN: Really is don't know about the exhaust part. But know that they changed of ignition keyhole postioning and low fuel indicator light in the newer TA200. :)

normally, only petrol will pour out/leak, Engine oil wont pour out if u drop ur bike.

Like kmax said, it's prolly petrol leaking out via the carb.

carb overflow I guess ;)

we panic when the stuff poured out. we dipped our fingers into the puddle and smell (scared explode if remain there) there's zero petrol smell, and a little oily so we assume its EO.

shoulda known this fact before, :sian:

we panic when the stuff poured out. we dipped our fingers into the puddle and smell (scared explode if remain there) there's zero petrol smell, and a little oily so we assume its EO.

E.O is slimy, i mean sticky, could be some rain-water trapped in ur bike somewhere ?

*why dont u try light it up with ciggie butt or smthin.. hahah, then u should obviously know what it is.. hehhe j/k..

shoulda known this fact before, :sian:

E.O is slimy, i mean sticky, could be some rain-water trapped in ur bike somewhere ?

*why dont u try light it up with ciggie butt or smthin.. hahah, then u should obviously know what it is.. hehhe j/k..

:faint: lovely idea. hahaha

anyway if the experts insist its either petrol, or some other liquid then i guess i'll assume that its correct. thx!

ps. EO, in my limited knowledge is only slimy/sticky when its black. If its still goldy, its kinda like cooking oil with some dust within.

few days ago i posted smth on my bike engine roaring at the speed of 70kph...that time i was pillioning someone...but today i rode alone also at 70kph++ the engine also very loud..loud in the sense the vibration is super strong...what do i do now ar??izit cos gearbox or chain and sprocket?

Guest @h_püi™

70km/h engine roar very long?

when maintain 70km/h, what r your throttle turn? you rev abit like 1/4 of full turn or you rev alots but then counl'd pick up the speed?

hmm...i din realli rev all the way thou...i open about slightly more than 1/4, it will go faster but the engine vibrate until my hand will lost griping de...

inspect your own chain and sprocket, check if its lubed or not.Else let Ah Chong see it ;) no point we tell you how much of the throttle we turn and our engine will roar..Diff bike, diff tuning and such, results may vary for this case.

The very first thing I suggest you do is to check that there are no loose screws on your riser clamps, handlebars controls & balancer. That might amplify any 'normal' vibrations from the engine.

ok i will go try lubricating my chain

Hi all PKs, I jus bot TA200 FU plate at $1200, plus transfer $46, + insurance 3rd party $150.

Did not have time to go Planet or other safe workshop, so jus dropped by one in AMK industrial park 1.

Changed hand grip $20.

Changed pillion footrest $20, as the eagle rest keep knocking my calf when i "walk" my bike.

After one day ride i feel the front tyre too worn out and the steering like awkward. Went back next day change front Metz tyre production date 40week year 06. Charged $70.

While changing the mechanic ah chye tol me my front wheel bearing spoilt so i changed 1 set $30.

Did I get chopped or I could get much cheaper in Planet/Ah Koon?

Oso, my rear tyre pirelli thread ok but last owner never changed since july 2005. Maunfactured week 20 year 2004. Can continue using or is it hardened?

Btw the mileage low: 23 000 ++ km only.

I m thinking of sparying the bike to single color orange with the steel phantom logo on tank. How much and where do seniors recommend?

Thanks and Happy New Year.

that price is fair, by the price of your insurance.Your age group should be at the higher end aye? The items changed we can't tell you if its spoilt or not, since your mech told you and you changed, thats it.

Mileage 20+k for an FU plate? I think it could have gone one full cycle already, no offence. Where can you spray? Someone called bennydcode does spray jobs. You can find him in this phantom thread ;)

Enjoy your phantom.

last time also got this problem of vibration with my bike, but my problem was due to the front rim and tyre. the rim is slightly bent causing uneven rotation, manage to find a scrapped rim at planet for replacement. after changing the rim and fitting back my existing tyre, the mech. test the rotation of the rim at the test bench. u can see the tyre wobble as the wheel is rotated. changed the tyre as well and tested it again on the test bench, now the rim and tyre were quite smooth and evenly when rotated. test ride my bike and the vibration was gone.

actually i alrdy post it on other tread but nvm i put here also hope its not spamming...i send to planet to check today...ah chong say its engine knocking donno what izit...jux say muz upgrade my petrol den can le...so i intend to burn all existing fuel in my tank then top up with 98 grade if still like tat den he say muz overhaul(actually he ask me use v power)

One question about our Phantom's front forks.

Are the inside of the forks black?

I was polishing the forks, and saw that there are some nicks at the bottom half of my forks that are black in colour.

I was thinking of sanding the forks to get rid of the ugly black nicks before polishing, but was worried that the more I sand, the more black area will be exposed.

So is the silvery aluminium like surface just a coating or a solid aluminium block?