[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

get a friend to help you lift up the rear wheel..then lube.

should ask Blacknese aka jani to lift up heavy-a$$ phantom :p

• Replies 7.2k

if no jack, how do we lubricate the chain other than the push bike method? is it necessary to buy chain spray or can just use any oil? singer for instance?

use EO lor. but must NOT be used EO.

http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/pp/rndops/web/ship/gif/rad70.gif

hi guys i've a question,

recently my rear brakes is giving me probs. sometimes when i ride halfway my rear brakes will just fail. when it fails it's like there's no pressure(and brake doesnt work) at all just the spring effect.

i check the brake fluid its just at the upper level or slightly below.

i've been to bike shops to ask and they cant seem to diagnose the problem.

it's on and off so kindly dangerous.

i feel u better go bled the fluid once again. probably got air so like tat lo...

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

hi guys i've a question,

recently my rear brakes is giving me probs. sometimes when i ride halfway my rear brakes will just fail. when it fails it's like there's no pressure(and brake doesnt work) at all just the spring effect.

i check the brake fluid its just at the upper level or slightly below.

i've been to bike shops to ask and they cant seem to diagnose the problem.

it's on and off so kindly dangerous.

It could be the rear brake pump has a intermittent fault.

Send to planet to check it out.

Bike without brakes is dangerous.

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

Do sideboxes mounted on phantoms interfere with the footrest for pillions? and is there any difference if I mount say, E33 givi sideboxes and the E21 ones?

http://i511.photobucket.com/albums/s351/thenation_bucket/whowatches.jpg

is there any difference in wearing a size 44 pants when you are only size 34? :lol:

your bike will be wider, more heavy.

I lift my bike alot lor....until now my back got worse... :dozed:

think once was good enough to have an impact on my back :lol:

ur brake lines may have air in them

oh my, think I need to sneeze the air out of my cleavage.Oops! I meant my lines :cool:

haha I see...not recommended for a new rider then?

not recommended also will see many on the roads install,

pros and cons, "protect" you when you fall, someone here can tell you that. And also being bulky also means you'll have problems squeezing WITH EASE for some time till you get used to it and also between neighbourhood pillars etc.Not to forget pathetically small lots squeezed with lotsa kups.

The "singer" jinggle came to my mind when i read this man. Dun just use any oil bro, there are proper stuffs for certain things. Some bros here use engine oil for it. There is also wax and spray. I tried using some spray last time but i dun feel that its effective. Using GP1 chain wax now....and i think and feel "personally" that its good enuff for me. Can be gotten at bikeshops for 8 or 9 bucks i think.

Gonna try that.. how often should it be done?

Btw, how do u guys clean the engine section? Lots of black marks on mine.. had an mishap with the engine oil & it looked stained now... anyway to make it shine?

Liverpool revival has started....

is there any difference in wearing a size 44 pants when you are only size 34? :lol:

your bike will be wider, more heavy.

Heavy will depends on wat u put inside.....wider definitely...

haha I see...not recommended for a new rider then?

I had them E33s on my phantom and a super wide beach bar on it.....i still manage to squeeze through traffic....

It takes atleast a week to get used to lah......but if ur big sized or able to control the weight of the phantom at low low speeds....go for it....if u not confident just get an E21...or a saddle...

http://i28.tinypic.com/5kokk3.jpg
but the mech told me semi best to use for 2k so just chang lo. so i don have to every 2k or so go and do full servicing ya?anyway full servicing include wat?jux routine checks and stuff?

the idea to change at 2k, is because unlike some other bikes, our phantom uses EO for everything incl the horrible gearbox. the gears are in constant high pressure contact. It affects the film strength. Something like the oil becomes less able to maintain its viscosity. 15w50 can behave like 10w15.

read it somewhere and described similarly by a couple of mechanics. It is recommended to use average EO and change every 2k, rather than fully syn and change at 5k. No matter using Esther or PAO or whatever, oil suffers at the gearbox.

my 2 cts worth.

ps. bluesurfer, you have sought at least 10 opinions already, still undecided what to do for the servicing arh?

the idea to change at 2k, is because unlike some other bikes, our phantom uses EO for everything incl the horrible gearbox. the gears are in constant high pressure contact. It affects the film strength. Something like the oil becomes less able to maintain its viscosity. 15w50 can behave like 10w15.

read it somewhere and described similarly by a couple of mechanics. It is recommended to use average EO and change every 2k, rather than fully syn and change at 5k. No matter using Esther or PAO or whatever, oil suffers at the gearbox.

my 2 cts worth.

ps. bluesurfer, you have sought at least 10 opinions already, still undecided what to do for the servicing arh?

eh??service wat??change eo jux diy lo...read the manual le...shld be easy...as for the overhaul ar??use until realli chui first ba:P where to get mobil1 eo ar??my friend told me its good

class 2B : 27 November 2007

class 2A : 21 April 2009

class 2 : 21 October 2010

class 3 : 21 August 2007

"Change is a decision u make and not a thought in your mind"

" there can only be transformation when you have change your thoughts"

eh??service wat??change eo jux diy lo...read the manual le...shld be easy...as for the overhaul ar??use until realli chui first ba:P where to get mobil1 eo ar??my friend told me its good

I am using Mobil 1 10W50. It is good at least better then the previous semi-synthetic that I have used. Bought it at Giant on promotion for 54$ 5L.

But as norman wrote you can,t keep it longer than other semi oils coz viscosity and oil quality breaks down. Honda suggest for 4000km then change.

If you commute often and short trips then change at 3k coz short trips, stopping at traffic lamps etc heat the engine more then long trips.

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Gonna try that.. how often should it be done?

Btw, how do u guys clean the engine section? Lots of black marks on mine.. had an mishap with the engine oil & it looked stained now... anyway to make it shine?

clean lor.. lol...

Heavy will depends on wat u put inside.....wider definitely...

I had them E33s on my phantom and a super wide beach bar on it.....i still manage to squeeze through traffic....

It takes atleast a week to get used to lah......but if ur big sized or able to control the weight of the phantom at low low speeds....go for it....if u not confident just get an E21...or a saddle...

or mount a plastic file for your notes.. :p

mobil lor.. :faint:

Attached is a part of the phantom manual for simple inspaection and replace of worn parts. I stand for inspect and R for replacement. C is for clean. The numbers stand in thousand KM

Hope this help

Phantom maintenance.doc

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

eh??service wat??change eo jux diy lo...read the manual le...shld be easy...as for the overhaul ar??use until realli chui first ba:P

den why change eo???dun change lor...use til burn up den pour in lor...no need to open the EO nut so leh chey.

Svcing is not meant for overhaul, its a measure to prevent ur bike from totally being unrideable. IE checking of brake pads, brake fluid, EO level, throttle freeplay and what nots.

there's a mixed up between svc and overhaul, both can mean the same things and might not. So look clearly and carefully.

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

Attached is a part of the phantom manual for simple inspaection and replace of worn parts. I stand for inspect and R for replacement. C is for clean. The numbers stand in thousand KM

Hope this help

its good to use as a reference, nv eva use it as a benchmark. its crappy in the sense that the guide is based on ballpark figures.

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan