What you do if a war on Singapore is imminent??  

219 members have voted

1. 1. What you do if a war on Singapore is imminent??

• Stay and fight coz I have no where to run to.
    • Stay and fight coz I love this country.
    • Run like hell coz this country is not worth my life.
    • Run like hell coz we will lose anyway.

Originally posted by comics00@Sep 1 2005, 10:45 AM

nukes? bio? :faint: pls lah use alittle of you brain :sian: unless they dont wan anything from this land & just wan all sillyporean to die. btw u think its cheap or by anyway easy to develope, produce, storage nukes or bio weapons :faint:

NSF get paid peanut? where they get the $$ to go clubbing? buy motor cycle? sian gf? take taxi to & from camp? & think of all the time they have sleeping in the bunk & all those puss* kinda training :sian: pls lah go ask the NSmen who get $125/mth, get kick on the head or butt (physically), sign 14 extras & doing it on 7weekends continue (2mth never leave camp) then hopefully u will stop ur complaining

*ask not wat ur country can do for u but wat u can do for ur country

my family & friends live on this land, i will fight for their right to continue living here :gun:

my buddies will be out there fighting our enemies, i will be there fighting with them :gun:

Never shall i fail my comrades. i will always keep myself mentally alert, physically strong & morally straight & i will shoulder more than my share of the task whatever it maybe, 100% & then some.

Energetically will i meet the enemies of my country. i shall defeat them in the field of battle for i m better trained & will fight with all my might...... i will never leave a fallen comrade to fall into the hands of the enemy & under no circumstances will i ever embarrass my country.

Readily will i display the intestinal fortitude required to fight onto the objective & complete the mission, though i be the lone survivor

riight. if you say so.

SingaporeBikes Forum Rules & Regulations

Please use the search function if you have a question.

• Replies 124

Originally posted by enfant@Sep 5 2005, 08:43 PM

riight. if you say so.

pei say :cheeky: there is prob millions of ppl out there disagree with my statement :sweat:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

according to PM speech

our SAF/HOME TEAM are strong and tested, so that we r safe to sleep @ night

great encouragement.............

but

TESTED BY WHO???????????????

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@Sep 6 2005, 07:05 PM

according to PM speech

our SAF/HOME TEAM are strong and tested, so that we r safe to sleep @ night

great encouragement.............

but

TESTED BY WHO???????????????

Not tested by a real war, but via various deployments to East Timor, the urgent evacuation of Singaporeans from Cambodia a couple of years back, the deployment of medical teams on short notice to disaster areas.

And the one I personally think is the greatest test was during the Tsunami last year. NSmen, NSFs, regulars from all 3 arms were recalled during the year end holidays and rushed off to Meulaboh, Thailand and India in as short a time as 24 hours.

You would not believe the enormity of trying to recall people on such urgent notice, especially when most people are on leave and having fun. What was heartening was the fact that there are people, NSFs, NSmen, Regulars who volunteered to go. Coupled with the fact that the task force consist of people from various different formations, Engineers, medical, signal, Guards, Cdos, etc, etc on top of those from Navy and Air Force.

I cannot think of anything else short of a real war situation to demonstrate our resolve.

The fact that we were able to prepare and ship the right equipment, specialists skills to the area when we do not even know just what EXACTLY is needed tells me that we can prepare ourselves in the event of a real armed conflict with the ever present fog of war.

I hope I have explained sufficiently to clear your doubts. :smile:

Originally posted by AKG@Sep 6 2005, 10:49 PM

Not tested by a real war, but via various deployments to East Timor, the urgent evacuation of Singaporeans from Cambodia a couple of years back, the deployment of medical teams on short notice to disaster areas.

And the one I personally think is the greatest test was during the Tsunami last year. NSmen, NSFs, regulars from all 3 arms were recalled during the year end holidays and rushed off to Meulaboh, Thailand and India in as short a time as 24 hours.

You would not believe the enormity of trying to recall people on such urgent notice, especially when most people are on leave and having fun. What was heartening was the fact that there are people, NSFs, NSmen, Regulars who volunteered to go. Coupled with the fact that the task force consist of people from various different formations, Engineers, medical, signal, Guards, Cdos, etc, etc on top of those from Navy and Air Force.

I cannot think of anything else short of a real war situation to demonstrate our resolve.

The fact that we were able to prepare and ship the right equipment, specialists skills to the area when we do not even know just what EXACTLY is needed tells me that we can prepare ourselves in the event of a real armed conflict with the ever present fog of war.

were u involved ?

or wad u r relating now is wad he saw on tv or the magazine? ?

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

i forgot where i read da articles in newspaper/forum yrs ago, its said by US war expert. He estimated if malaysia arm forces were to attack singapore, they will retreat back to msia within estimated time 30mins. And Singapore still capable of making counter attack and KL will fall within 45mins, whole of msia will be conquered within estimated time 2hrs.

Not saying just msia, singapore arm forces was ranked 1 of da top in asian region.

I mean, those who vote to run like hell. Why wana run? It was just like, u'r da police holding a gun, da robber pointed his knife at u, and u drop ur gun to surrender.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

Originally posted by Shawn--@Nov 16 2005, 01:40 AM

i forgot where i read da articles in newspaper/forum yrs ago, its said by US war expert. He estimated if malaysia arm forces were to attack singapore, they will retreat back to msia within estimated time 30mins. And Singapore still capable of making counter attack and KL will fall within 45mins, whole of msia will be conquered within estimated time 2hrs.

Not saying just msia, singapore arm forces was ranked 1 of da top in asian region.

I mean, those who vote to run like hell. Why wana run? It was just like, u'r da police holding a gun, da robber pointed his knife at u, and u drop ur gun to surrender.

whole of msia conquered by spore? using wat? The max spore can do is to use air force to deter... once the soldiers go out of spore and try to conquer... spore is finished. Spore soldiers can't even fullly policed the whole of johor.. dun even think of whole msia..

And how many of the residents in spore are msians? 3 million citizens plus PR.. and 1 million of foreign workers.. or watever... but msian foreigners is at least 20%... conquered within 2 hrs... and spore is gone within the next 4 hrs.

Class 3 -> 26/12/2003

Class 2b -> 9/5/2005

Giving up ur life and fight for ur country is different from doing volunteer work. Is just like boy scouts doing volunteer work. hw difficult is doing volunteer work?

like my friend who works as commando in east timor... he was online everyday. veri xiong hor. The food he eats.. i also dun want to describe further.. and the pay he get.. kns...

Class 3 -> 26/12/2003

Class 2b -> 9/5/2005

talikng bout this, when i saw my s4 shaking hand with minister on tv during the tsunami thing, knew kana activated liao......wahahah

Loving my Tmax 530

Originally posted by comics00@Sep 1 2005, 10:45 AM

nukes? bio? :faint: pls lah use alittle of you brain :sian: unless they dont wan anything from this land & just wan all sillyporean to die. btw u think its cheap or by anyway easy to develope, produce, storage nukes or bio weapons :faint:

NSF get paid peanut? where they get the $$ to go clubbing? buy motor cycle? sian gf? take taxi to & from camp? & think of all the time they have sleeping in the bunk & all those puss* kinda training :sian: pls lah go ask the NSmen who get $125/mth, get kick on the head or butt (physically), sign 14 extras & doing it on 7weekends continue (2mth never leave camp) then hopefully u will stop ur complaining

*ask not wat ur country can do for u but wat u can do for ur country

my family & friends live on this land, i will fight for their right to continue living here :gun:

my buddies will be out there fighting our enemies, i will be there fighting with them :gun:

Never shall i fail my comrades. i will always keep myself mentally alert, physically strong & morally straight & i will shoulder more than my share of the task whatever it maybe, 100% & then some.

Energetically will i meet the enemies of my country. i shall defeat them in the field of battle for i m better trained & will fight with all my might...... i will never leave a fallen comrade to fall into the hands of the enemy & under no circumstances will i ever embarrass my country.

Readily will i display the intestinal fortitude required to fight onto the objective & complete the mission, though i be the lone survivor

it would be good if most regulars are like u.alot are just in SAF just for money.....so make use of nsf jialat jialat when they themselve noe sh*t.especially in non combat side....

Loving my Tmax 530

Originally posted by ah_tee@May 24 2005, 11:37 PM

i fight for the land my family lives on

not for my country

same here bro.

living legend??? who else but the welsh wizard...

Originally posted by hailang_82@Nov 20 2005, 01:14 AM

whole of msia conquered by spore? using wat? The max spore can do is to use air force to deter... once the soldiers go out of spore and try to conquer... spore is finished. Spore soldiers can't even fullly policed the whole of johor.. dun even think of whole msia..

And how many of the residents in spore are msians? 3 million citizens plus PR.. and 1 million of foreign workers.. or watever... but msian foreigners is at least 20%... conquered within 2 hrs... and spore is gone within the next 4 hrs.

wahh.. u'r better than US war expert leh.. :clapping:

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"

I think u r being brain-washed by SAF...

The article that u quoted... was in the Straits times... when those politicians in msia and spore are quarreling... we shld know hw indepedent Strait times is...

anyway, SAF strategy is based on counter-attack.. weapon-wise.. of cos they can counter-attack successfully... Conquering is another issue altogether.

The same war expert that u quoted was correct is saying they win the war in iraq.. But i still see soldiers being killed while they are still conquering the iraq.

anyway, Spore success is based on human resource. Those brains.. 20% of soldiers die.. is enough to kill spore economy.

And war itself is not onli abt weapons... the soldiers are as impt..

Class 3 -> 26/12/2003

Class 2b -> 9/5/2005

Originally posted by hailang_82@Nov 29 2005, 05:41 PM

I think u r being brain-washed by SAF...

The article that u quoted... was in the Straits times... when those politicians in msia and spore are quarreling... we shld know hw indepedent Strait times is...

anyway, SAF strategy is based on counter-attack.. weapon-wise.. of cos they can counter-attack successfully... Conquering is another issue altogether.

The same war expert that u quoted was correct is saying they win the war in iraq.. But i still see soldiers being killed while they are still conquering the iraq.

anyway, Spore success is based on human resource. Those brains.. 20% of soldiers die.. is enough to kill spore economy.

And war itself is not onli abt weapons... the soldiers are as impt..

Thats why i said u'r better than US war expert mah :clapping:

But i still see soldiers being killed while they are still conquering the iraq
Which country fought war without any of her soldiers KIA?

I'm being brain washed by SAF? Come on theres no link mate, i'm just stating out da fact. Since when SAF told me that about Singapore against malaysia issue? I just read it from article. True or not i would care less than u.

And war itself is not onli abt weapons... the soldiers are as impt

Then wads 3R generation warfare about? yeah soldiers are important too.. like what pioneer magazines talks about. In fact da near future Machine and technology are da killers now (yaya ...i know its da human doing da operating)

So are u going to said pioneer magazine only know how to said things out easily but not for real? wah FREN, i find u very "intelligence" LEH.

okie la.. malaysia BO LEH... suit u? keke

Without my mum and dad, I am nothing.

To protect my mum, my dad and my family, I shall fight till the end.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

I think it's not far-fetched to say majority of us will be standing on the fence, deciding which side to jump on (i.e run or stay to fight) when the real time comes.

For me, I too, have nothing to fight for. My mom has been long deceased, my dad is safely tucked in another country and my relatives, let's just say they are not aplenty nor close.

What's the point in fighting then? I could easily scoot off cos the only person I will worry about should be my gf (or wife if I am lucky enough).

However, I will still choose to stay and fight, rather than run and hide.

No, I am not patriotic, neither am I diplomatic. Neither am I going to lay my life down on a rifle for the safety of cabinet ministers or the lazing superiors I had back in the army.

I am fighting for the memories. Yeap, the memories.

Memories of my childhood, whereby my dad and late mom brought me to jalan-jalan around these island where I was born, the memories of my teachers who showed me how valuable education is, the memories of my fellow classmates (not just Malays, but EVERY racial offsprings )who became my dearest treasured buddies later in life who will be at my void deck within the hour if I call them for emergencies (tried & tested henceforth, my statement), memories of NDP, Chingay, the various multi-racial festivities whereby my Malay, Chinese, Indian and Eurasian neighbours who never fail to at least say their morning "Hi" to me sincerely and ask about my well-being through my parents and vice-versa.

These are my intangible treasures that I am fighting for. These people and the beautiful memories they had given me to cherish for life (no pun intended).

To say that we can conquer our neighbouring country, is far-fetched. A theory, is just a theory. As long as we can defend ourselves, that's pretty much our defense mode. Not to conquer but to counter.

For those who've seen too much combat movies, please, don't be misled. Our boys will NOT survive the jungle warfare in Malaysia. If I could recall, during one of the joint wargames with Malaysia, (to put myself in a safe pedestal, let me just pretend it wasn't me who was there but my friends yeah?), a section from SAF was putting hold, awaiting the enemy (here, it is the Tentera Darat Diraja Malaysia) on a hill. They've secured the place, swept it clean and ensured no enemies was found within a wide radius.

Before they know it, one by one had a bayonet along their neck from behind. Caught offguard, outwitted and severely outclassed. The reason? They couldnt even hear the Malaysian soldies creeping up behind them. How nasty. A fully grown fit Malaysian soldier who could move steadily in stealth, infiltrate from behind and whilst doing all these, not break a single dry twig in the jungle even though he's in proper heavy battle order. And that was just, A GAME. :)

During my first GMK lesson in Tekong, the CO stated that if we can't win with a matter of 3-4 days? We're gone.

Our Howitzers can carry the fire up to Penang while our counterparts up North have to travel a fair bit southern to smell our shores with their cannons.

That I believe. But to believe an angmoh (God forbid, he has not even served our tri-service NS, what he deduce is just from paper), could meant fatal eventually. Through overconfidence, a disaster is created.

But to say, we will lose hands down and don't bother to give a fight cos we'd lose eventually, I'd say might as well you pack up and leave now, please. Save us the trouble of having to fight alongside you or FOR YOU, for that matter, when the time is needed, since you claimed we have nothing to fight with and to fight for.

I understand sometimes I too have my doubts about our defense, but it's just a normal rant. Not something I will hold clearly and set my mind up with. When it's time to be tested, I'd say let's put a good show.

Isn't it the same as riding a motorcycle pals? How did you know you can't balance on two wheels if you did not even try doing it? Or to put it simpler, do you need to be in a circus to be able to balance nicely on two wheels?

My apologies for the long draft.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Well said, Naz.

I too will stay and fight for memories.

Originally posted by Naz@Dec 23 2005, 10:22 AM

I think it's not far-fetched to say majority of us will be standing on the fence, deciding which side to jump on (i.e run or stay to fight) when the real time comes.

For me, I too, have nothing to fight for. My mom has been long deceased, my dad is safely tucked in another country and my relatives, let's just say they are not aplenty nor close.

What's the point in fighting then? I could easily scoot off cos the only person I will worry about should be my gf (or wife if I am lucky enough).

However, I will still choose to stay and fight, rather than run and hide.

No, I am not patriotic, neither am I diplomatic. Neither am I going to lay my life down on a rifle for the safety of cabinet ministers or the lazing superiors I had back in the army.

I am fighting for the memories. Yeap, the memories.

Memories of my childhood, whereby my dad and late mom brought me to jalan-jalan around these island where I was born, the memories of my teachers who showed me how valuable education is, the memories of my fellow classmates (not just Malays, but EVERY racial offsprings )who became my dearest treasured buddies later in life who will be at my void deck within the hour if I call them for emergencies (tried & tested henceforth, my statement), memories of NDP, Chingay, the various multi-racial festivities whereby my Malay, Chinese, Indian and Eurasian neighbours who never fail to at least say their morning "Hi" to me sincerely and ask about my well-being through my parents and vice-versa.

These are my intangible treasures that I am fighting for. These people and the beautiful memories they had given me to cherish for life (no pun intended).

To say that we can conquer our neighbouring country, is far-fetched. A theory, is just a theory. As long as we can defend ourselves, that's pretty much our defense mode. Not to conquer but to counter.

For those who've seen too much combat movies, please, don't be misled. Our boys will NOT survive the jungle warfare in Malaysia. If I could recall, during one of the joint wargames with Malaysia, (to put myself in a safe pedestal, let me just pretend it wasn't me who was there but my friends yeah?), a section from SAF was putting hold, awaiting the enemy (here, it is the Tentera Darat Diraja Malaysia) on a hill. They've secured the place, swept it clean and ensured no enemies was found within a wide radius.

Before they know it, one by one had a bayonet along their neck from behind. Caught offguard, outwitted and severely outclassed. The reason? They couldnt even hear the Malaysian soldies creeping up behind them. How nasty. A fully grown fit Malaysian soldier who could move steadily in stealth, infiltrate from behind and whilst doing all these, not break a single dry twig in the jungle even though he's in proper heavy battle order. And that was just, A GAME. :)

During my first GMK lesson in Tekong, the CO stated that if we can't win with a matter of 3-4 days? We're gone.

Our Howitzers can carry the fire up to Penang while our counterparts up North have to travel a fair bit southern to smell our shores with their cannons.

That I believe. But to believe an angmoh (God forbid, he has not even served our tri-service NS, what he deduce is just from paper), could meant fatal eventually. Through overconfidence, a disaster is created.

But to say, we will lose hands down and don't bother to give a fight cos we'd lose eventually, I'd say might as well you pack up and leave now, please. Save us the trouble of having to fight alongside you or FOR YOU, for that matter, when the time is needed, since you claimed we have nothing to fight with and to fight for.

I understand sometimes I too have my doubts about our defense, but it's just a normal rant. Not something I will hold clearly and set my mind up with. When it's time to be tested, I'd say let's put a good show.

Isn't it the same as riding a motorcycle pals? How did you know you can't balance on two wheels if you did not even try doing it? Or to put it simpler, do you need to be in a circus to be able to balance nicely on two wheels?

My apologies for the long draft.

kudos to wat u have say....i oso fight for memory....

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

Gents (i assume all of us here are men :),

Good to hear that most of us will stay to fight on our own volition, and not because we can't run. Kudos especially to Naz and Throttle.

I don't think it's particularly important why chose to stay, but that we have chosen to fight for the liberty of our country, friends, and family.

For those of you who are interested there's a book called "Defending the Lion City" by Tim Huxley. I gotta say, it's a very interesting read, and very insightful. Without going into details, despite the shortcoming of our Armed Forces (eg conscript army vs professional army, and that we haven't been battle-tested), he essentially concluded that our strengths outweigh our weaknesses and more importantly overshadow the strengths of any potential aggressor to Singapore. The bottomline : We'd whip the collective assess of any potential threat to Singapore.

Will his predictions prove infallable? Heaven forbid only time will answer that question - and hope we never find out. But he does make a very convincing case.

More here if you are interested : http://www.allenandunwin.com/Exports/produ...ISBN=1865081183

Originally posted by madman@Jul 27 2005, 02:21 AM

while most would stay and fight, how about your love ones, especially those who are married and have young children. Will you be able to fight the war in peace, or will you be constantly be thinking of their safety?

It's gonna be hard, one hand, trying your best to fight the enemy, and the other, constant fear of not knowing your wife and childrens safety.... :sweat:

for a moment this came across my mind that someone would say "Ask the wife to report to u hourly/daily on ur mobile lor!" :smile: