Hi bros, izit true that thicker tyres are safer? If it is then wad are the 2b Bikes available which have relatively thicker tyres? I know phantom is one of them..what else?

• Replies 45

u mean wider ? more contact on e road so more grip.. but if ur tire useless one make no diff ba.

Hi bros, izit true that thicker tyres are safer? If it is then wad are the 2b Bikes available which have relatively thicker tyres? I know phantom is one of them..what else?

better brakes are safer....

2B bikes ah.

RS125 lor.

front 110/70. (i believe can use 120/60 which is what super4s are using.)

rear 150/60. (i think older sportsbike and older cb400s are using this size too)

Of coz thicker tyres are safer. But dun get into a misconception dat smaller tyre means ur unsafe or u can't corner deep. A good cub rider can outcorner a S4..

yea rvf 110/70 rear 150/50 or 60 i think .. but more contact on e road = slower . lolz so depends on u

aprilia can fit 120/70, 160/60.. =) but too big n fat n too slow.. ideal size wld be 110/70 & 140/60... great for corner and power..

biggest tyre width for 2b bikes gotta be rs125/mito125... else u can purchase a phantom and customise it to those chopper look super fat tyre... x=

Deeper thread refers more rubber to burn, wider in size refers to more grip in corners.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

I hate to be the party pooper here... but the theory is going all wrong here.

It is the compound of the tyre that determines the grip....not the size or thread depth. Similarly... alot of grooves does not mean alot of grip as far as for road riding. Dirt riding is the complete opposite.

A 'fat' tyre can have more contact on the asphalt but it becomes useless in the dirt. Dirt bike tyres are 'thinner' to allow them to dig into the dirt instead of 'float' on top of them.

The best gripping tyres are the softer compounds.... but they don't last long. Those tyres that lost a long time... don't have much grip.

Putting on DOT race compound tyres and riding on the roads is actually a total waste of money. Normal road riding does not generate enough heat in the DOT race tyres to reach their operating temperatures where their grip is at the best.

But then again... alot of people like to put on DOT race tyres but they never go track so they never really make full use of the tyre's capability. Go read the thread on "Choosing the right tyre for you" in the "On the Track" forum.

BTW - the DRZ400SM uses a 120/70 front and a 140/60 rear.

TW200 look at the rear tyre!!!

wider tyres are dangerous when raining, the wider base make the tyres floating in the water. Its called Hydroplaning or aquaplaning.

balding tyre is worst:cheeky:

well. i guess i can say i use one of the smallest tyres here.

i use a Dunlop TT900 60/80 or which they call 'Sotong' tyres. I do not see any problem with it be it rain/shine. Just that they say you cant corner too low, or you will buang. But tried cornering and looks fine.

Well. I have to say it depends on the tire too. Comparing IRC and Dunlop. Quality wise definelty Dunlop will top the chart. Price pays the quality. And whether its dangerous or not also depending on the road. You can have $4000 tyres but what i know, tyres cant escape oil, and ive once fell from cornering an oil patch.

Thats all!

i think it's the rider that control the bike... u can counter back mah... it really buang mean fated liao...

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/7937/bleachswimsuitci9ga7.png

Kawasaki KRR150

i heard tyres also effect top speed?

small tires lighter mah... then u got lesser weight on your bike... so u can go faster...

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/7937/bleachswimsuitci9ga7.png

Kawasaki KRR150

wider tyres are dangerous when raining, the wider base make the tyres floating in the water. Its called Hydroplaning or aquaplaning.

what rubbish are you sprouting?

do you even know what are the threads/grooves for?

a wide tyre and a thin tyre, both go over a puddle of water.

which one do you think can channel the water away faster?

I hate to be the party pooper here... but the theory is going all wrong here.

It is the compound of the tyre that determines the grip....not the size or thread depth. Similarly... alot of grooves does not mean alot of grip as far as for road riding. Dirt riding is the complete opposite.

A 'fat' tyre can have more contact on the asphalt but it becomes useless in the dirt. Dirt bike tyres are 'thinner' to allow them to dig into the dirt instead of 'float' on top of them.

The best gripping tyres are the softer compounds.... but they don't last long. Those tyres that lost a long time... don't have much grip.

Putting on DOT race compound tyres and riding on the roads is actually a total waste of money. Normal road riding does not generate enough heat in the DOT race tyres to reach their operating temperatures where their grip is at the best.

But then again... alot of people like to put on DOT race tyres but they never go track so they never really make full use of the tyre's capability. Go read the thread on "Choosing the right tyre for you" in the "On the Track" forum.

BTW - the DRZ400SM uses a 120/70 front and a 140/60 rear.

please don't go out of topic.

when we are comparing the width of the tyres, we have to assume all other things being equal.

that means we assume the compound is the same, the wider tyre will have a bigger contact patch which equates to more grip.

i agreed, chill bro

TW200 look at the rear tyre!!!

180/80, damn wide and fierce looking. haha.

please don't go out of topic.

when we are comparing the width of the tyres, we have to assume all other things being equal.

My apologies for going off topic.

I know nothing about contact patch of tyres and their relation to their profiles.

You are right... the wider the tyre, the better the grip, rim size is immaterial.