Sick & Tired of Having Your Cash Card Stolen? Here's Some FREE Advice!

Recently, my cash card got stolen AGAIN. But this time, I learnt some valuable lessons so I'm going to share them with all of you.

I have tried everything - IU units with alarm, pasting stickers over the cover, padlocking and even attaching my cash card to a retractable clip.

My conclusion is that nothing really works unless you can get into the habit of checking your IU unit every time BEFORE you leave your bike.

IU units with alarms don't work after a while - the alarms break down. If you put stickers, the thieves can still lift up the cover and the police tell me it actually is more tempting to thieves. The same may be said for padlocking.

Attaching the card to a retractable clip (like those you use for security cards) is perhaps the best BUT it is a nuisance because it can be bulky and it's difficult to detach when you want to top up your card.

Here is one more solution, but it's only practical for those who keep their helmets in back boxes and under the seats of their scooters:

1. Buy a transparent plastic name/credit card holder. It doesn't matter if it's a hard case or soft.

2. Put heavy duty double-sided tape on the back of the card holder.

3. Stick the card holder in direct sight when you open your box or lift up your bike seat. Example, stick it on the side of the box near the hinge so that it is the first thing you see when you open the box to get your helmet.

4. Keep your cash card in the card holder.

This way, with just a little habit modification, you can teach yourself to always check the card holder while you are keeping your helmet, and if you are good about it, you really wouldn't need to carry around a spare cash card any more.

For those who do not have storage boxes or under seat storage, I recommend using the retractable clip method:

1. Buy the tiniest (preferably stainless steel) key rings you can find and a retractable name/security card holder.

2. Get the biggest sewing needle you can find. Heat it up and punch a hole through one of the corners of the card on the edge that sticks out of the IU unit when you put the cash card in.

3. Put the card on the key ring and attach the key ring to the end of the string on the retractable name/security card holder.

4. To use, push your cash card into the IU unit in the usual way and clip the retractable card holder to your shirt or pocket.

Another disadvantage of this method is that after a while, the string in the card holder will get worn out and will snap, but it is better than nothing.

Now, here is the MOST important thing - store your cash card number, the expiry date, your IU unit no. in your mobile phone, and if your cash card ever gets stolen again, report it to the police.

Give the cops the cash card number and your IU unit number and tell them where and how you usually use your cash card. If you always top up via ATM, give them the number of the bank account that you use to top up your cash card.

I know it's a pain to have to wait over an hour at the police station, but if you think about it, when you don't report the theft, we are letting the thieves get off too easy.

If we work together, we can teach the crooks that it isn't going to be so profitable to steal cash cards from bikes anymore.

Good luck!

PS - I also recommend that you go to the NETS site, register as a member and register your cash card online so you have proof that the cash card belongs to you and not to some thief who took it.

Previous Bikes:

Suzuki GN125 | Yamaha Virago XV535 | Suzuki Marauder GZ125 | Honda Phantom TA200 | Cagiva Mito | Honda Wave S 125 | SYM GTS200 | Honda CB400 VTECIII | SYM Joyride | Yamaha Virago XV400 | Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200R Roadster

Current Bikes:

Piaggio MP3 250/Yamaha 125Z

• Replies 48

gd effort for ur writeup..

for me, its just "back to basics".

remember to take out my cashcard after using. simple.

once in a while i'll forget. but well, if i forget, i cant blame anyone but myself.

its just like leaving a $10 note lying on ur bike.

u dont do it. period.

if u do it, u're just asking for it.

Me, I just set up an alarm on my phone. Everytime I need to use the card, I will set the alarm time, base on est time of trip. Times when I forget, my alarm will remind me.

Oh maybe its your bike. I got leave my cashcard in my IU a couple of times but never got stolen b4. I do have a habit of taking it out when i am done though.

One tip would be is not to store more than 20 bucks on it. That what i do. So if lost at least not so much. :) That's my tip!

i stick to the conventional way, remember to take out after use.

I got a saman for parking without a coupon at bike lot.... used that as the "sticker" for my IU cover.... just shove the whole thing inside.... People look at it will think, "haha tio saman.. Orr bee ah never put coupon" when the card is sitting nice and snug inside if you forgot to take out...

some people put the entire iu unit under the seat, can be detected by gantry but not carparks.

good for those who don't enter carparks often, don't need to be afraid of jackasses stealing your card.

I used to loose a few cash cards. Most frustrating is when I just topped up with $50 @%$#!

Since, I have a method that works for me 100% so far. No gadgets required.

I'm a guy. And as guys, by the time we have become adults, we have programmed our brains to never leaving behind our wallets (at least, it should be that way).

I basically make use of this wiring of our brain. My cash card is stored normally in my wallet which is kept in my back pocket.

Whenever I need to insert a cash card into the IU, I take the cash card out of my wallet...put the cash card into the IU...but I would not replace my wallet back into my normal back pocket position...maybe put in my hard box...or put it in my front pocket.

I would do my riding. When I reach my destination, supposed I had been day dreaming all the way... and I dismount...even when I forget to remove the cashcard from the IU...after walking a few steps away from the bike...the brain sends subconcious signal that I have left my wallet behind!...because the brain can't sense the wallet in the normal back pocket position.

I would then check 'Where's my wallet?'...'How come it's not in my back pocket?'...I do a search around and remembered where my wallet is...and also remember why it is not in it's normal back pocket....

"Aha! It's because I have taken the cashcard out of my wallet. And the cashcard is still in the IU."

So, if you trust yourself that you would never leave your wallet behind on the table, or in a friend's house, or at work, or in school...then this method should work for you as well ;)

Go try it!

Edited by endlessloop

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

i am a forgetful person. so what i do is, whenever i get off my bike, i will open up my IU and see if my cashcard is there. be it whether i put in my cashcard or not. of cos, i still forget at times. but the frequency is getting less often now.

I've never had any problem with my cash card. I attached the card holder to my ignition key. Everytime I pull out the key from the ignition and notice an empty card holder, it will remind me that my cashcard is still in the IU.

P1050632.JPG

I've never had any problem with my cash card. I attached the card holder to my ignition key. Everytime I pull out the key from the ignition and notice an empty card holder, it will remind me that my cashcard is still in the IU.

i lost 2 cards like this.... both times flew away...

Lolxxx. I have forseen this problem. That's why i reinforced the loop of the card holder with Scotch tape. Anyway, even if it flew away, it's only an empty holder.

i installed the cashcard beeper. if u switch off yr bike with a cashcard in it, it will hav a long beeping sound. bought from ah boy around 2 years ago and it for those old iu unit. forgest how much already.

I remember last time i used to padlock my IU, once i parked in town, forgot to take the cash card out but IU still padlocked, walked ard the corner abt 20m out of sight from my bike. Remembered i had forgotten and walked back to my bike. Found the plastic cover for my IU had almost been pried open. That was only like 1 to 2 minutes i was away from my bike. I believe these guys stake out carparks just for the thrill of stealing cash cards from us. Once they see us move off from our bikes they will come and inspect our IU for cash card.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4108/4834745460_c32390dc33_m.jpg

1994-1997 - Piaggio LM150

1997-1999 - Honda NSR 150 SP

2002-2004 - Honda Super4 VtecII

2004-2006 - Yamaha R1 2004

2006-2008 - Yamaha R6 2007

2008-2010 - Suzuki GSXR1000 K8

2010-Current - Yamaha FZ1S 2006

My cashcard kenna kapok today sia!

Sian. I know, my fault. :(

I got a saman for parking without a coupon at bike lot.... used that as the "sticker" for my IU cover.... just shove the whole thing inside.... People look at it will think, "haha tio saman.. Orr bee ah never put coupon" when the card is sitting nice and snug inside if you forgot to take out...

hahaha thats a good one! :lol:

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

The cheapest and most effective method .... confirm work :angel:

well, what if the person forgot to pull out his keys?

I many times got forget to pull out my keys before sia. Damn scary.

The cheapest and most effective method .... confirm work :angel:

this is the most simple/effective/cheapest way.:thumb:

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave