I sure there is a handful (or 2 handfuls) of us here who owns 2 or more bike. I just wana find out:

1) Is it hard to maintain more than 1 bike?

2) Any advice on getting the "most" suitable bikes to own? (ie: both class 2 or one class 2B, one class 2 etc)

3) After having 2 bikes, do you think its still practical or you would advise people to just stick with one?

I am thinking of getting 2 bikes myself in the future. A definite one would be a class 2sports bike but the other one I am not too sure. Should I get another 600cc for transport and work or just get a 2B bike for the same purpose?

OR

Should I just get one bike and use it all the way? :pity:

• Replies 35

Account for finances, the liability, costs and hidden costs like depreciation say you were to sell it. Would you pay 4k(considering that you sell your transport bike, including maintenance costs) for 3 years of transport?

How about your sports bike? Is it reasonable to suffer depreciation of 2k a year for a bike you ride 6hours a week?

Something like that will help pave your thoughts, but if it were me I would get a fuel economic bike, perhaps a 35-50km/l for transport.

When the winds resist my impetus and sights become passing shadows. Every other sound is voided, all but the undeniable roar of my engine.

My physical vision recepts naught, but my mind is tranquil.

I see my inner soul.

1) There is no definite answer to your question. Rich people will say buy 2 bikes and mantainence is not a problem.

2) Some will say buy a Wave for transport and a CBR1000 for the track. Some will say buy a TDM900 for transport and a 1966 Vespa Sprint for weekend runarounds.

3) Again, the rich will say everything is practical because they don't feel the pinch. Do you think staying in a Condo is practical when a 4 room flat also provides shelter?

In the end, you will end up more confused. Just do what you think is right. If you want a sports bike, get it. Since you say you will surely get a second bike, just get it and don't think too much. You will be happier if you listen to yourself.

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

I am a believer of one @$$, one bike theory.

If I am going to spend lot of hard earned money to buy my dream bike, I'm sure as h3ll going to ride it everyday instead of letting it collect dust in the carpark while I ride a crappy transport bike.

End of the day, you need to have deep enough pockets first, then do whatever you like.

If you don't earn enough, stick to one set of wheels.

LOLS gotta pay two insurance, two road tax, inspection and season parking

21 dec 2009 - Class 2b

21 feb 2010 - NSR 150SP FT7058L (SOLD on 23rd dec 2010)

08 oct 2010 - Class 3

12 Jan 2011 - Gsxr 400RR FM9135X (SOLD on 5th Mar 2011)

27 Jan 2011 - Class 2a

16 mar 2011 - X1-R FBE1069X (SOLD on 30th Sept 2013)

07 June 2013 - Class 2

05 Oct 2013 - Gsxr600 k8

1377324_10151734614953002_668866713_n.jpg

You need to be clear why you need / want 2 bikes. Even if you use the sports bike for track, you can still stick to 1 bike by having a second set of wheels with road tires, if you do not mind changing wheels when required.

Keeping multiple bikes is no joke. Insurance and road tax adds up quickly, and more often than not, one or more machines may only get ridden once a year, to the inspection center (don't ask how I know). However if you are able to afford it, by all means go ahead. This will allow you to setup your bike the way you want it, and not having to live with compromise settings (eg. gearing, bodywork, tires, etc).

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

i'm sure it would be more difficult to maintain more than one car. but sometimes they do get annoying.

2) Any advice on getting the "most" suitable bikes to own? (ie: both class 2 or one class 2B, one class 2 etc)

This one really up to you. My choice would be at least 1 cheap ass transport bike that is really good at what it does (e.g. getting you around singapore cheaply)

3) After having 2 bikes, do you think its still practical or you would advise people to just stick with one?

How to say, this is really up to you. See whether you can justify the purchase and extra expense. aiya actually logically speaking its very hard to justify la. so just see whether u got the extra cash or nt lor. please also consider the bikes' COE as well.

u can try and if u find its hard to maintain then sell off 1

like that at most lost few thousand only

(oh but pls pay in full, like that easier to deal with if you want to sell)

if u want to go the 2 bike route, wld strongly recommend you to get a battery charger.

but anyway from my experience... more bikes == more hassle

up to you to see whether the hassle is worth it or not

Edited by swiftee

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

I used to own 2 bikes and i actually felt guilty when i'm taking up 2 parking lots at my home (hdb) carpark which is very limited and always full at night.

Not only that, visiting insurance office, road tax counter and inspection center twice a year is quite an hassle.

best is to stick to just 1 bike... one that fulfill all the needs. for me, one that has reasonable fuel efficiency for daily commute and can also be used occasionally for trips up north

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p48/allen_key/KS_400.jpg
I am a believer of one @$$, one bike theory.

If I am going to spend lot of hard earned money to buy my dream bike, I'm sure as h3ll going to ride it everyday instead of letting it collect dust in the carpark while I ride a crappy transport bike.

End of the day, you need to have deep enough pockets first, then do whatever you like.

If you don't earn enough, stick to one set of wheels.

:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:

Even if you can afford.. but seeing your big bike keep sleeping at it lot daily and paying every month is bored..

i agree with others say..best is to get one middle class like 400-600. atleast you get to ride it everyday with only one ass..

ppl with harleys usually have another car or bike

There is no right or wrong answer.

If you can afford it, go ahead. Else, stick with one bike. No one can say it's wrong to let spiders procreate in the air box.

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

well if you can afford it just carry on. most important is it makes you feel GOOD

GJ, how's ur cbr 600? :cheeky:

I want to FEEL GOOD too but still haven't find the right 2nd bike yet...:sian:

You need to be clear why you need / want 2 bikes.

going by that comment, it's quite clear that you are obviously very confused :angel:

Otherwise, why would you hang on to 6 bikes + 1 car.

To help clear your brain, I offer to take the XR250 from you, and I am not charging you a cent for this special favor. If need be, I can also take the other XR250 too.

PM to deal :p

I used to own 3 bikes at the same time. Rxz, vespa n xr4 . Den i sold off the rxz n vespa n got a wave. So became 2. No idea y ihv 3 bikes, but i guess i cant make up my mind. So it all boils down to affordability. I ended up wif only wave as my affordability level went down. Hehe.

going by that comment, it's quite clear that you are obviously very confused :angel:

Otherwise, why would you hang on to 6 bikes + 1 car.

To help clear your brain, I offer to take the XR250 from you, and I am not charging you a cent for this special favor. If need be, I can also take the other XR250 too.

PM to deal :p

Thanks to the ever-wise CONfucius, I have decided to sell my CBR, XR400, and Dominator. Hopefully I can be less confused after that. :angel::angel:

But wait! That Triumph XC800 is soooo tempting... o_O

if possible & affordable,i would like to own 1 1000cc bike & 1 cub.after the big bike wash and polish if it rain can ride the cub haha.i know this is just my day dreaming hahaha

TS, what bike are u riding and what's your mileage like per week?

Past: RXZ, KR, R1 07

Present : Wave S

How it feels like when you pass TP

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m1j2s91VkL1qcsknu.gif

I sure there is a handful (or 2 handfuls) of us here who owns 2 or more bike. I just wana find out:

I am thinking of getting 2 bikes myself in the future. A definite one would be a class 2sports bike but the other one I am not too sure. Should I get another 600cc for transport and work or just get a 2B bike for the same purpose?

OR

Should I just get one bike and use it all the way? :pity:

1) no, its not hard, cause if one spoil u still have the other one to ride.

i got one 2t bike and the other 4t, so if lazy want to buy 2t ($20

2) most suitable is one 4t cupkia due to its low maintanence and easygoing nature,

like if want to go to shop or go nearby or want to go for a short while or no mood for serious ride.

3) yes it is practical to have one economic bike and one leisure bike that eats alot of money.

i recommend 1 2b bike and the other is ur leisure bike..

600cc for transport in singapore?

2b bikes can already get fine for speeding and even revoke for excessive.

and 600cc tyre, chain, service $$$...

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4081/4931040347_0bda87b07d_b.jpg