Harley Riders gather

Guest easyrider

Originally posted by cgl@Nov 15 2006, 11:39 AM

Just want to let this off my chest...

One more week before my Sportster lands here!!

It's going to be a looooong week. Never been so long without a bike in 14 years. :sian:

Hi same here, except tat she's already ready for me to collect but I wana wait till next week to get her out officially..... I'm so excited!:lovestruck:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg

Originally posted by Ah Fai@Nov 15 2006, 11:49 PM

Hi guys, I am newbie here, hope I can join in the discussion.

I have gone to HD dealership for a few times & read through a few pages of this thread.

Really have the temptation to sell my Z1000 & get a sportster 1200 :p

Sure or not?

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@Nov 16 2006, 09:18 AM

Sure or not?

Was asking myself the same question. I know that Ah Fai wants to get a cruiser next, but a Sportster?

Originally posted by Jess1717@Nov 16 2006, 08:21 AM

Hi same here, except tat she's already ready for me to collect but I wana wait till next week to get her out officially..... I'm so excited!:lovestruck:

Why "officially"?

You would see your baby at least one week before me.

Which model is yours?

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

Originally posted by gohjohan@Nov 16 2006, 12:04 PM

Was asking myself the same question. I know that Ah Fai wants to get a cruiser next, but a Sportster?

The temptation is there, The HD classic sound & the heritage is unmatched.

The XL 1200C Custom have the best of both worlds, a "sporty-style", have enough space to ride in-between city traffic & yet have the "cruiser-style" for the foot peg is much in front. The low point for me will be the front single brake system and cleaning/chrome of the engine & spoke wheel.

The XL 1200R Roadster looks great too, black colour engine with sportier rims means less cleaning (I guess), with double front brake system. The low point for me will be the peanut fuel tank = visit petrol station more often.

For me, choosing a new bike is a big decision as I will have to sell my Z1000 away due to financial constraint. Thought I am still happy with my Z1000 but sitting on a HD in the showroom really makes me grin & a wow :smile:

Sometime.... as you guys have said... my heart will take over my brain... :D

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Current ride: Harley Wide Glide, Aprilia Tuono V4R

True that riding in a big group of the same make gives a sense of comradrie (wrong spelling, i know).

But at the end of the day, its not so much about the kind of bikes you ride with, but more about the people who you ride with. Good company works much better in long haul rides.

Cheers man!

Originally posted by cgl@Nov 16 2006, 12:15 PM

Why "officially"?

You would see your baby at least one week before me.

Which model is yours?

I can get her out since last week, but wana do it next week for certain reason. Mine the 2007 XL 883R:smile:

http://www.mvagusta.com.au/welcome/images/F4CC1.jpg

Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@Nov 16 2006, 05:15 PM

My other bike is a HD Sportster 1200 but i seldom ride it.

Think i need to join the HD group & ride it more often.

Any HD group ride?

hey buddy, wanna join kruzer? hehe..

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

Originally posted by Shiner@Nov 16 2006, 07:12 PM

hi fruitcakepablohoney,

I'm a little purturbed by your avatar.....

Is that a guy pulling down the trunks of another guy and looking gleefully about it?

To each his own i guess.

Don't let that worry you dude! I'm no faggot ok?

Those who knows me will confirm it lah! kekeke :cheeky:

http://i102.photobucket.com/albums/m87/fruitcakepablohoney/DSC02554-1.jpg

i understand that the HD dealership dont take bikes of other makes for trade-ins.is it the same for the other hd shops ie sunburst,sumsoon? bikes usually fetch a better sale if u trade-in as opposed to selling it off for cash. it's rare to find harleys in the 'usual' bike shops .just the occasional sportster.

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif

Originally posted by cgl@Nov 15 2006, 11:39 AM

Just want to let this off my chest...

One more week before my Sportster lands here!!

It's going to be a looooong week. Never been so long without a bike in 14 years. :sian:

hi cgl,

may i ask how much is ur

1)downpayment for ur sportster?

2)ur monthly installment?

and

3)how long is your loan?

thank you

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif

Originally posted by mamat@Nov 17 2006, 06:57 PM

i understand that the HD dealership dont take bikes of other makes for trade-ins.is it the same for the other hd shops ie sunburst,sumsoon? bikes usually fetch a better sale if u trade-in as opposed to selling it off for cash. it's rare to find harleys in the 'usual' bike shops .just the occasional sportster.

It’s isn’t just Harley Davidson bikes, most agents I know of don’t take in bike to trade in as well even though it is of the same brand. (e.g. Kawasaki, Honda and Yamaha. Not sure about Suzuki)

Reasons why you would find the one, two pieces Harley Davidson bikes at those non-agent shops are usually owner themselves selling and quitting from the biking scene; traded in for a non-Harley Davidson performance bikes or the bike itself is in a bad shape not worthy for pricey repair etc.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by nights@Nov 7 2006, 03:07 PM

Its no madness, I am sure most of us shared the same phenomenon when preparing for the arrival of their new bike. Anyway, I have only tried the below two products. Thumb up in my opinion.

http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/B0009JKGJC.01._AA280_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/P/B000AR7EYS.01-AK0ZM7RBMAG9B._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_V63333297_.jpg

went to carrefour today...could not find the 3M cleaner and polish!!

where can i buy it? anyone?

Originally posted by paithorn@Nov 17 2006, 09:08 PM

went to carrefour today...could not find the 3M cleaner and polish!!

where can i buy it? anyone?

It is available at Carrefour but, not with the car care section. The product is shelf along with the home D.I.Y section. My apology for not making this part clear.

Four wheels move the body. Two wheels move the soul.

Originally posted by nights@Nov 18 2006, 02:22 AM

It is available at Carrefour but, not with the car care section. The product is shelf along with the home D.I.Y section. My apology for not making this part clear.

ok then, thanks

Originally posted by mamat@Nov 17 2006, 07:05 PM

Anyone riding Fatboys? or any of the softails.care to share some reviews?especially if it's ur first harley.

Yup. Change the handlebars to longer pull backs if your arms are short and stubby like mine. The Fat Boy is suited for day trips, not long haul riding, but with the right accessories, that can be changed.

As a 1st Harley, I'm trying to maintain it in tip top condition and yes, there's chrome to be polished.

Originally posted by Jess1717@Nov 22 2006, 08:24 AM

So excited.... will be collecting my new ride a few hours later :bouncefire:

It's something to do with the date, isn't it? Which is why you chose today to pick it up?

Originally posted by Jess1717@Nov 22 2006, 08:24 AM

So excited.... will be collecting my new ride a few hours later :bouncefire:

I'm so envious! Still don't know when is mine coming.

Post some pics!

Originally posted by gohjohan@Nov 22 2006, 09:10 AM

It's something to do with the date, isn't it? Which is why you chose today to pick it up?

Now I understand liao!